DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07/11/2024, wherein claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
1. Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldstein et al. (U.S. 2010/0255902) hereinafter Goldstein.
Regarding claim 1, Goldstein discloses a bezel comprising a frame secured to a housing of a bill validator, a camera device attached to the frame for taking images of a user's face and a cover attached to the frame for concealing the camera device, the cover being made of translucent and optically reflective materials, wherein the cover attached to the frame defines a dark room in which the camera device is arranged (Goldstein Figs. 1-2, [0096]-[0097], [0115], [0081], [0088], [0098]-[0099]: a camera 32 may be mounted within a housing 22 having a frame of a device 20 and located behind display glass or the like so as not to be visible to a use of device 20 to capture images of user for identity, hence include image of user’s face. Hence, the display glass is a cover made of translucent and reflective materials to be able to capture images from behind the display while also being hidden from the user. The housing 22 of the display is a dark room; [0091], [0108]: bill acceptor or validator 28 for accepting paper currency).
2. Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deaville et al. (U.S. 2022/0335402) hereinafter Deaville.
Regarding claim 16, Deaville discloses a bill handling apparatus comprising a bill validator that has a housing, a bezel attached to the housing of the bill validator, a camera device attached to the bezel for taking images of users' faces (Deaville Figs. 5-7, [0149], [0156], [0158]-[0159], [0116], [0127]: unattended payment system or bank note acceptor 500, 600, 700 having housing and imaging sensor 501, 601, 701, respectively, on frame or bezel to take pictures of a face of a user inserting an object inside the banknote acceptor 500), a scanner for scanning surface images of the bill inserted into the bill validator (Deaville Figs. 5-7, [0152]-[0156], [0159], [0168]: the imaging sensor 501 can also capture an image of the object 505 inserted in the banknote transport path using reflective surface 503), and a validation memory for storing a pair of the images of users' faces taken by the camera device and surface images of the bill scanned by the scanner (Deaville [0155]: the images of the user and the inserted object are stored in the memory of the banknote acceptor wherein the image of the user 504 can be associated with the inserted object 505 as in [0149], [0170]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 8 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Goldstein et al. (U.S. 2010/0255902) hereinafter Goldstein, in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. 2014/0090953) hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 2, Goldstein discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame comprises a back plate vertically arranged in front of the bill validator, an inlet rim horizontally attached to the back plate for guiding a bill inserted into the bill validator, and a table attached on top of the inlet rim for supporting the camera device.
However, Johnson discloses wherein the frame comprises a back plate vertically arranged in front of the bill validator, an inlet rim horizontally attached to the back plate for guiding a bill inserted into the bill validator, and a table attached on top of the inlet rim for supporting the camera device (Johnson Figs. 1-2, 6-9, 15-22, [0177], [0100], [0088], [0094]: bezel assembly for data reception 100 which can be used for a bill validator and having a horizontally protruding tongue 140; Figs. 1-2, [0094], [0101], Claim 1: dispensing slot 128 with back portion 120 including back plate 130 that is connected to the bill validator. Hence, inlet rim which is horizontally attached to a vertical back plate as in Fig. 18 for guiding bill inserted; [0097]: casing 110 includes outer walls 112, 114, 116, 118 and front portion 122. The wall 114 is above the dispensing slot 128; Figs. 17-20, [0141], Claim 1: a hood 526 attached on top of the tongue 540 for supporting a camera 582. The hood 526 is the front portion 122 that is connected to the wall 114 as in Figs. 1-2, hence the wall 114 is a table attached on top of the inlet 128 for supporting the camera).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein, and further incorporate having the frame comprise a back plate vertically arranged in front of the bill validator, an inlet rim horizontally attached to the back plate for guiding a bill inserted into the bill validator, and a table attached on top of the inlet rim for supporting the camera device, as taught by Johnson, for the user to effortlessly insert object to the validator device (Johnson [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Goldstein and Johnson disclose all the limitations of claim 2.
Goldstein discloses the inlet rim of the frame is formed with an insertion opening in communication with a bill inlet in the bill validator (Goldstein [0091], [0108], Figs. 1 and 4: bill acceptor or validator 28 having inlet and inserting opening for accepting paper currency).
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose the table is formed on top of the inlet rim, and the cover comprises a curved upside for concealing the camera device within the dark room, and a rectangular casing integrally connected to the bottom of the curved upside to insert a bill into an insertion opening of the rectangular casing in the cover and an opening of the inlet rim so that an inlet sensor provided in the bill inlet of the bill validator detects insertion of the bill.
However, Johnson discloses the inlet rim of the frame is formed with an insertion opening in communication with a bill inlet in the bill validator, the table is formed on top of the inlet rim, and the cover comprises a curved upside for concealing the camera device within the dark room, and a rectangular casing integrally connected to the bottom of the curved upside to insert a bill into an insertion opening of the rectangular casing in the cover and an opening of the inlet rim so that an inlet sensor provided in the bill inlet of the bill validator detects insertion of the bill (Johnson Figs. 1-2, [0094], [0101], Claim 1: dispensing slot 128 with back portion 120 including back plate 130 that is connected to the bill validator; Figs. 1-2, [0097]: casing 110 includes outer walls 114 and front portion 122 which are on top of the inlet 128; [0108], Fig. 7: indicator lights 170, 172 can be set within the walls of the front portion 122 or they can be enclosed within the front portion 122 with only the glow viewable through the material of the front portion 122. Hence, the front portion 122 can be of translucent material; Figs. 17-20, [0141], Claim 1: hood 526 attached on top of the tongue 540 for supporting a camera 582. The hood 526 is the front portion 122 that is connected to the wall 114 as in Figs. 1-2. Hence, the camera can be set within the walls of the hood 526 or can also be enclosed within the hood 526 and viewable through the material of the hood 526 as similar with the lights 170, 172 when there is desired to cover the camera with translucent cover so the camera is hidden from the user as disclosed by Goldstein. The hood 526 then is a cover that has a curved upside for concealing the camera within a room, and a rectangular casing integrally connected to the bottom of the curved upside to insert the bill into opening 528 as in Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method having the camera is disposed in a dark room within a translucent cover, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson, and further incorporate having the table is formed on top of the inlet rim, and the cover comprises a curved upside for concealing the camera device within the dark room, and a rectangular casing integrally connected to the bottom of the curved upside to insert a bill into an insertion opening of the rectangular casing in the cover and an opening of the inlet rim so that an inlet sensor provided in the bill inlet of the bill validator detects insertion of the bill, as taught by Johnson, for the user to effortlessly insert object to the validator device and the camera can monitor the inserted object (Johnson [0087], [0141]).
Regarding claim 8, Goldstein and Johnson disclose all the limitations of claim 6.
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame comprises a connector arranged behind the inlet rim and secured to the frame in front of the bill validator, the connector serves to guide the bill inserted into the inlet rim toward the bill inlet in the bill validator to allow the inlet sensor to steadily detect the bill through the connector.
However, Johnson discloses wherein the frame comprises a connector arranged behind the inlet rim and secured to the frame in front of the bill validator, the connector serves to guide the bill inserted into the inlet rim toward the bill inlet in the bill validator to allow the inlet sensor to steadily detect the bill through the connector (Johnson [0095]: the bezel assembly for data reception 100 including inlet 128 is attached to bill validator 230; Figs. 1-3, [0098]: a rear portion of top surface 144 of the tongue 140 is aligned with bottom interior floor 124 of the casing 110 and forms an elongated runway to assist the consumer in positioning the note properly for insertion and feeding the note into the bill validator 230, hence a connector behind the inlet and secure to frame; Fig. 18, [0141]: there is a connector part connected to hood 526 behind the inlet, which is a horizonal part connected to the curved hood 526, hence a connector secured to the frame to guide bill inserted).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson, and further incorporate having the frame comprises a connector arranged behind the inlet rim and secured to the frame in front of the bill validator, the connector serves to guide the bill inserted into the inlet rim toward the bill inlet in the bill validator to allow the inlet sensor to steadily detect the bill through the connector, as taught by Johnson, to assist the consumer in positioning the note properly for insertion and feeding the note into the bill validator (Johnson [0098]).
Claim 3 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Goldstein et al. (U.S. 2010/0255902) hereinafter Goldstein, in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. 2014/0090953) hereinafter Johnson, further in view of Schultz et al. (U.S. 2021/0052205) hereinafter Schultz.
Regarding claim 3, Goldstein and Johnson disclose all the limitations of claim 2.
Goldstein discloses the camera device comprises a camera body for supporting a lens to allow lights reflected from the user's face to pass through the lens (Goldstein [0096], [0098], [0102]: camera 32 to capture image of user collected through a lens that is directed in the direction of the area of the user).
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the table of the frame is formed with a screwed hole, the camera device comprises a bracket extending from the camera body and formed with a perforation, a screw is attached into the screw hole of the table and the perforation of the bracket to rotatably mount the camera body around a shaft of the screw so that the camera body rotates to change the horizontal direction of the lens in the camera device.
Schultz discloses wherein the table to attach a camera is formed with a screwed hole, the camera device comprises a bracket extending from the camera body and formed with a perforation, a screw is attached into the screw hole of the table and the perforation of the bracket to rotatably mount the camera body around a shaft of the screw so that the camera body rotates to change the horizontal direction of the lens in the camera device (Schultz Figs. 1-2, [0032]: base 206, i.e. table, to mount camera system and having screw hole such as screw hole 254 as in Figs. 2A-2F, [0042]; Figs. 2E-2F, [0039]-[0042]: camera chassis 238 includes camera hole 248 to mount the camera and hole 250 on a side of the chassis, hence a bracket extending from camera body and having a perforation 250. Hollow shoulder screw 242 is inserted into hole 250 of the cassis 238 and screw hole 254 of the base to allow the camera to rotate around the screw along direction indicated by arrow 251, hence camera rotate to change horizontal direction around shaft of the screw 242).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson, and further incorporate having wherein the table of the frame is formed with a screwed hole, the camera device comprises a bracket extending from the camera body and formed with a perforation, a screw is attached into the screw hole of the table and the perforation of the bracket to rotatably mount the camera body around a shaft of the screw so that the camera body rotates to change the horizontal direction of the lens in the camera device, as taught by Schultz, for simple system to allow full rotation of camera and maintain connection of the camera with other device (Schultz [0054], [0038]).
Claims 7 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Goldstein et al. (U.S. 2010/0255902) hereinafter Goldstein, in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. 2014/0090953) hereinafter Johnson, further in view of Itako et al. (U.S. 5,964,336) hereinafter Itako.
Regarding claim 7, Goldstein and Johnson disclose all the limitations of claim 6.
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet sensor detects a bill inserted into the opening of the inlet rim to produce a detection signal that is used to trigger a conveyer in the bill validator and to simultaneously drive a shutter built in the camera device for continuous shooting of the camera device.
Johnson discloses wherein the inlet sensor detects a bill inserted into the opening of the inlet rim to produce a detection signal that is used to simultaneously drive a shutter built in the camera device for continuous shooting of the camera device (Johnson [0142], [0148]: one of camera 582, 584 can be used to identify presence of an object at the inlet 528 and the other camera can records image of the presented object; [0150]-[0151]: initiate scanning process of the camera when a proximity sensor 590 identifies an object within the viewing window of the camera 382).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson, and further incorporate having the inlet sensor detects a bill inserted into the opening of the inlet rim to produce a detection signal that is used to simultaneously drive a sensor to sense the bill, as taught by Johnson, to use the camera only when there is object inserted to reduce power consumption of the system (Johnson [0150], [0038]).
Itako discloses the inlet sensor detects a bill inserted into the opening of the inlet rim to produce a detection signal that is used to trigger a conveyer in the bill validator and to simultaneously drive sensor for continuous sensing the inserted bill (Itako Figs. 3-4, Col. 15, lines 15-40, Col. 5, lines 45-67: detect the inserting of bill by means of an optical sensor or the like that is located in the vicinity of inlet slot 3a and transfer bill to the bill storage section 20. When a bill inserted through the slot 3a is detected, conveyor belts 35 is started to drive to transfer the bill along a transfer path through light beams and sensors 7a and 7b are started to detect the transferred bill for authentication as in Col. 13, lines 20-55, Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson, and further incorporate having the inlet sensor detects a bill inserted into the opening of the inlet rim to produce a detection signal that is used to trigger a conveyer in the bill validator and to simultaneously drive a sensor to sense the bill, as taught by Itako, wherein the sensor is the camera in Goldstein and Johnson, for easily attached and detached sensor section with power saving (Itako Col. 2, lines 25-31, Col. 13, lines 15-40).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Goldstein et al. (U.S. 2010/0255902) hereinafter Goldstein, in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. 2014/0090953) hereinafter Johnson, further in view of Itako et al. (U.S. 5,964,336) hereinafter Itako, further in view of Kamio et al. (U.S. 2021/0286978) hereinafter Kamio.
Regarding claim 9, Goldstein and Johnson and Itako disclose all the limitations of claim 7.
Goldstein discloses wherein the camera device comprises a photocell for converting image information through the lens into electric signals, the bill validator comprises an interface for receiving the electric signals from the photocell to forward the received signals to a validation controller in the bill validator (Goldstein [0096], [0127]: the camera 32 provides output signal representative of image information collected through a lens which can comprise analog or digital signal; [0113], [0214]: a device controller 44 to control the device including user tracking; [0394]: each monitoring system of the device can communicate with the game controller; [0063]: the controller can collect the image information and transmit the information; [0091]: bill validator 28 for accepting paper currency; [0032], [0116], [0131]: wireless communication interface and wired data communication interfaces).
Johnson also discloses wherein the camera device comprises a photocell for converting image information through the lens into electric signals, the bill validator comprises an interface for receiving the electric signals from the photocell to forward the received signals to a validation controller in the bill validator (Johnson [0141]: controller 572 for operating digital cameras and obtaining and recording images provided by the cameras, interpreting the recorded images and communicating with the bill validator 230 or other processor; [0147]-[0148]: transmission interfaces).
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose the interface is connected to a host server for storing face images of dangerous visitors and to a warning device for generating visual or acoustic alarm signals on the periphery, the host server compares the image information forwarded from the photocell in the camera device with the face images of the dangerous visitors to stop operation of the bill validator or trigger the warning device when the host server detects coincidence between the image information from the photocell and the face images of the dangerous visitors.
Kamio discloses the interface is connected to a host server for storing face images of dangerous visitors and to a warning device for generating visual or acoustic alarm signals on the periphery, the host server compares the image information forwarded from the photocell in the camera device with the face images of the dangerous visitors to stop operation of the bill validator or trigger the warning device when the host server detects coincidence between the image information from the photocell and the face images of the dangerous visitors (Kamio [0022]-[0023], [0029], Fig. 1: a face detection system 100 includes camera C1 to take images of people, a server S1 and database DB. Images captured from the camera are transmitted to server S1; [0046], [0053]-[0059], [0062]-[0063]: processor 21 of the server S1 stores face images to a blacklist database of suspicious persons. When a person registered in the blacklist database is detected, the server S1 generates an alert notification screen on a monitor; [0050], [0084]: the server S1 compares the face image with each of plurality of face images registered in the database DB; [0034], [0047], [0056], [0063], [0117]-[0122], Figs. 6-8: When it is determined that the face image is the same or similar to any one of the face images registered in the blacklist database of suspicious persons, the server S1 generates alert notification on a monitor such as the terminal device P1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson and Itako, and further incorporate having the interface is connected to a host server for storing face images of dangerous visitors and to a warning device for generating visual or acoustic alarm signals on the periphery, the host server compares the image information forwarded from the photocell in the camera device with the face images of the dangerous visitors to stop operation of the bill validator or trigger the warning device when the host server detects coincidence between the image information from the photocell and the face images of the dangerous visitors, as taught by Kamio, to efficiently supporting monitoring service targeted for people (Kamio [0315]).
Regarding claim 10, Goldstein and Johnson and Itako and Kamio disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Goldstein discloses the validation controller stores the information of the surface images of the bill in a validation memory (Goldstein [0219]: memory to stores image data).
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the bill validator comprises a passageway communicating with the slot and bill inlet of the inlet rim in the frame, however, there should be a passageway from the slot and bill inlet to a bill storage in Golstein [0001].
Johnson discloses the bill validator comprises a passageway communicating with the slot and bill inlet of the inlet rim in the frame, however, there should be a passageway from the slot and bill inlet to a bill storage (Johnson [0095]: objects are inserted into dispensing slot 128 and are received and then mechanically transported by a transport system into the bill validator 230, hence, there would be a passageway communicating with the slot and bill inlet).
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose a conveyer for transporting the bill inserted into the bill inlet to the back of and along the passageway and a scanner for scanning surface images of the bill moved along the passageway.
Itako discloses a conveyer for transporting the bill inserted into the bill inlet to the back of and along the passageway and a scanner for scanning surface images of the bill moved along the passageway (Itako Figs. 3-4, Col. 15, lines 15-40, Col. 5, lines 45-67: detect the inserting of bill by means of an optical sensor or the like that is located in the vicinity of inlet slot 3a and transfer bill to the bill storage section 20. When a bill inserted through the slot 3a is detected, conveyor belts 35 is started to drive to transfer the bill along a transfer path through light beams and sensors 7a and 7b, i.e. scanner, are started to detect the transferred bill for authentication as in Col. 13, lines 20-55, Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson and Itako and Kamio, and further incorporate having a conveyer for transporting the bill inserted into the bill inlet to the back of and along the passageway and a scanner for scanning surface images of the bill moved along the passageway, as taught by Itako, wherein the sensor is the camera in Goldstein and Johnson, for easily attached and detached sensor section with power saving (Itako Col. 2, lines 25-31, Col. 13, lines 15-40).
Claim 15 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Goldstein et al. (U.S. 2010/0255902) hereinafter Goldstein, in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. 2014/0090953) hereinafter Johnson, further in view of Itako et al. (U.S. 5,964,336) hereinafter Itako, further in view of Kamio et al. (U.S. 2021/0286978) hereinafter Kamio, further in view of Deaville et al. (U.S. 2022/0335402) hereinafter Deaville.
Regarding claim 15, Goldstein and Johnson and Itako and Kamio disclose all the limitations of claim 10.
Goldstein discloses and stores in the validation memory user's face image information taken by the camera device (Goldstein [0219]: memory to stores image data).
Goldstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet sensor generates a detection signal each time a bill is inserted into the bill validator, the validation controller drives the conveyer, scanner and camera device, and stores in the validation memory the bill surface image information scanned by the scanner.
Itako discloses wherein the inlet sensor generates a detection signal each time a bill is inserted into the bill validator, the validation controller drives the conveyer, scanner and camera device, and stores in the validation memory the bill surface image information scanned by the scanner and user's face image information taken by the camera device (Itako Figs. 3-4, Col. 15, lines 15-40, Col. 5, lines 45-67: detect the inserting of bill by means of an optical sensor or the like that is located in the vicinity of inlet slot 3a and transfer bill to the bill storage section 20. When a bill inserted through the slot 3a is detected, conveyor belts 35 is started to drive to transfer the bill along a transfer path through light beams and sensors 7a and 7b are started to detect the transferred bill for authentication as in Col. 13, lines 20-55, Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson and Itako and Kamio, and further incorporate having wherein the inlet sensor generates a detection signal each time a bill is inserted into the bill validator, the validation controller drives the conveyer, scanner and camera device, as taught by Itako, wherein the sensor is the camera in Goldstein and Johnson, for easily attached and detached sensor section with power saving (Itako Col. 2, lines 25-31, Col. 13, lines 15-40).
Deaville discloses stores in the validation memory the bill surface image information scanned by the scanner (Deaville [0155]: the images of the user and the inserted object are stored in the memory of the banknote acceptor wherein the image of the user 504 can be associated with the inserted object 505 as in [0149], [0170]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Goldstein and Johnson and Itako and Kamio, and further incorporate storing in the validation memory the bill surface image information scanned by the scanner, as taught by Deaville, to track the inserted object (Deaville [0194]).
Claim 17 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Deaville et al. (U.S. 2022/0335402) hereinafter Deaville, in view of Beck (U.S. 2016/0292854).
Regarding claim 17, Deaville discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Deaville discloses wherein the bill validator comprises a timer for generating clock signals, an inlet sensor for detecting a bill inserted into a passageway in the bill validator to generate a detection signal, and a validation controller for storing in a validation memory a pair of the face and bill surface image information together with the time indication that the inlet sensor generates the detection signal (Deaville [0155]: the images of the user and the inserted object are stored in the memory of the banknote acceptor wherein the image of the user 504 can be time-stamped and associated with the inserted object 505 as in [0149], [0170]; [0269], [0274], [0279]: a time the banknote was inserted or timestamp can be stored; [0162]: the payment system can include a smart electric lock 910 that can provide the time of the visit to access the system).
Deaville does not explicliy disclose the bill validator comprises a timer for generating clock signals.
However, Deaville discloses generating timestamp for the captured images as disclosed above.
Furthermore, Beck discloses a timer for generating clock signals such as image time stamps (Beck [0015]-[0116]: clock generator or timer can be used to determine image time stamps).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Deaville, and further incorporate having a timer for generating clock signals, as taught by Beck, for sufficient synchronization of images (Beck [0016]).
Claim 17 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Deaville et al. (U.S. 2022/0335402) hereinafter Deaville, in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. 2014/0090953) hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 17, Deaville discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Deaville discloses wherein the bill validator comprises a timer for generating clock signals, an inlet sensor for detecting a bill inserted into a passageway in the bill validator to generate a detection signal, and a validation controller for storing in a validation memory a pair of the face and bill surface image information together with the time indication that the inlet sensor generates the detection signal (Deaville [0155]: the images of the user and the inserted object are stored in the memory of the banknote acceptor wherein the image of the user 504 can be time-stamped and associated with the inserted object 505 as in [0149], [0170]; [0269], [0274], [0279]: a time the banknote was inserted or timestamp can be stored; [0162]: the payment system can include a smart electric lock 910 that can provide the time of the visit to access the system).
Deaville does not explicliy disclose the bill validator comprises a timer for generating clock signals.
Johnson discloses a timer for generating clock signals and with the time indication that the inlet sensor generates the detection signal (Johnson [0154]: a clocking circuit 592 used to identify a time in which an image of inserted object is obtained by the camera 582, or control the timing of a pulse for obtaining images by the camera. Hence, timer for generating clock signal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Deaville, and further incorporate having a timer for generating clock signals and with the time indication that the inlet sensor generates the detection signal, as taught by Johnson, to identify time of inserted object detection or control and detection time (Johnson [0154]).
Claim 18 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Deaville et al. (U.S. 2022/0335402) hereinafter Deaville, in view of Nachi (JP 2006031454 – see translation attached).
Regarding claim 18, Deaville discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Deaville discloses an interface arranged within the bezel and a mobile terminal in remote communication with the interface, wherein: the interface forwards the face and bill surface image information stored in the validation memory to a transceiver of the mobile terminal (Deaville [0030], [0129], [0161], Fig. 9: the payment system is connected to a remote computing device and can send images taken to the remote computing device in real-time, hence interface for communication; [0290]: network interface; [0293]: the payment system can be coupled to external devices via network including cellular link or wide local area network).
Deaville does not explicitly disclose the mobile terminal that has a display to indicate the face and bill surface image information received from the interface.
Nachi discloses an interface arranged within the bezel and a mobile terminal in remote communication with the interface, wherein: the interface forwards the face and bill surface image information stored in the validation memory to a transceiver of the mobile terminal that has a display to indicate the face and bill surface image information received from the interface (Nachi [0096]: an ATM having camera to take facial images as unique image information; [0098]-[0101]: the ATM transmit the unique image information to the customer’s mobile phone 4 which receives the information including the facial image and display the information including the facial image on the mobile phone; [0084]: wireless communication, wireless LAN, Bluetooth,… and other communication can be used, hence ATM has interface for communicating information with remote device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Deaville, and further incorporate having the mobile terminal that has a display to indicate the face and bill surface image information received from the interface, as taught by Nachi, for a remote user to be able to view and confirm the person being imaged (Nachi [0103], [0105]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Deaville et al. (U.S. 2022/0335402) hereinafter Deaville, in view of Kamio et al. (U.S. 2021/0286978) hereinafter Kamio.
Regarding claim 19, Deaville discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Deaville discloses a host server in communicative connection to the bill validator (Deaville Fig. 39, [0292]: electronic device 3900 is one example of the payment and banknote acceptor system wherein the system 3900 include servers and storage 3912 used for storing content such as banknote data).
Deaville does not explicitly disclose wherein the host server stores the image information of users' faces taken by the camera device for customer management with a blacklist or royal customer list.
Kamio discloses host server stores the image information of users' faces taken by the camera device for customer management with a blacklist or royal customer list (Kamio [0022]-[0023], [0029], Fig. 1: a face detection system 100 includes camera C1 to take images of people, a server S1 and database DB. Images captured from the camera are transmitted to server S1; [0046], [0053]-[0059], [0062]-[0063], [0128]: processor 21 of the server S1 stores face images to a VIP database of loyal customer or a blacklist database of suspicious persons).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Deaville, and further incorporate having the host server stores the image information of users' faces taken by the camera device for customer management with a blacklist or royal customer list, as taught by Kamio, to efficiently supporting monitoring service targeted for people (Kamio [0315]).
Regarding claim 20, Deaville discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
Deaville discloses a host server in communicative connection to the bill validator.
Deaville does not explicitly disclose a host server in communicative connection to the bill validator for storing face images of dangerous persons, wherein: the host server receives image information of user's face transmitted from the camera device, compares the image information of the user's face with the images of dangerous persons stored in the host server, and stop operation of the bill validator or drive a warning device when the host server detects coincidence between image information of user's face and the image of dangerous person to generate visual or acoustic alarm signals on the periphery.
Kamio discloses a host server in communicative connection to the bill validator for storing face images of dangerous persons, wherein: the host server receives image information of user's face transmitted from the camera device, compares the image information of the user's face with the images of dangerous persons stored in the host server, and stop operation of the bill validator or drive a warning device when the host server detects coincidence between image information of user's face and the image of dangerous person to generate visual or acoustic alarm signals on the periphery (Kamio [0022]-[0023], [0029], Fig. 1: a face detection system 100 includes camera C1 to take images of people, a server S1 and database DB. Images captured from the camera are transmitted to server S1; [0046], [0053]-[0059], [0062]-[0063]: processor 21 of the server S1 stores face images to a blacklist database of suspicious persons. When a person registered in the blacklist database is detected, the server S1 generates an alert notification screen on a monitor; [0050], [0084]: the server S1 compares the face image with each of plurality of face images registered in the database DB; [0034], [0047], [0056], [0063], [0117]-[0122], Figs. 6-8: When it is determined that the face image is the same or similar to any one of the face images registered in the blacklist database of suspicious persons, the server S1 generates alert notification on a monitor such as the terminal device P1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Deaville, and further incorporate having a host server in communicative connection to the bill validator for storing face images of dangerous persons, wherein: the host server receives image information of user's face transmitted from the camera device, compares the image information of the user's face with the images of dangerous persons stored in the host server, and stop operation of the bill validator or drive a warning device when the host server detects coincidence between image information of user's face and the image of dangerous person to generate visual or acoustic alarm signals on the periphery, as taught by Kamio, to efficiently supporting monitoring service targeted for people (Kamio [0315]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior arts of record individually or in combination fail to discloses within the context of the claim the feature of wherein one and the other of the table in the frame and the bracket of the camera body respectively comprise an annular protrusion and an annular groove, the camera body is rotated around the shaft of the screw relative to the table in the frame to engage the annular protrusion in one or the other of the table in the frame and the bracket of the camera body with the annular groove in the other or one of the table in the frame and the bracket of the camera body for fixation of the camera body against rotation as cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, the prior arts of record individually or in combination fail to discloses within the context of the claim the feature of the camera device continuously shoots changing face images of the users to forward to the validation controller in the bill validator the information of user's face images that have the mutual concordance rate of 0.9 or more in a pixel unit with one another, and the validation controller stores the information of the user's face images in the validation memory as cited in claim 11.
Claims 5 and 12-14 are objected because they depend on objected parent claims 4 and 11, respectively, as set forth above.
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2486