DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claim amendment filed 07/30/2026. Claims 60-66, 68 and 70-78 are pending with claims 60, 68, 70 and 71 currently being amended, and claims 67, 69 and 79 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 60-64, 68 and 70-73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama et al. [US7900923], hereinafter Toyama, in view of OPPENLANDER et al. [US2714510], hereinafter OPPENLANDER.
Regarding claim 60, Toyama discloses a card randomizing device (all figures), comprising:
a first deposit bay for receiving partially randomized cards (Fig. 4A, compartment 20);
a second deposit bay for receiving partially randomized cards (Fig. 4A, compartment 30);
a receive bay, configured to receive from a user a deck of cards to be mixed, the receive bay located between and adjacent to the first deposit bay on a first side or the receive bay and the second deposit bay on a second side of the receive bay (Fig. 5A, compartment 10);
a first translation element configured to deliver one or more cards from the receive bay to the first deposit bay (Figs. 8A & 8B, central roller 750 and the right-hand rollers 738, col. 9, lines 2-7, “The pulley driving the central roller 750 is arranged such that the central roller 750 also rotates in a clockwise direction. The lowermost card of a deck of cards, resting on the central roller 750 and the right-hand rollers 738 will be urged towards the right-hand compartment 20 through a slot 1100 in the lower right-hand side of the central compartment 10”);
a second translation element configured to deliver cards one or more cards from the receive bay to the second deposit bay (Figs. 8A & 8B, col. 9, lines 7-12, “Rollers are also present on the left-hand side of the central compartment 10 and may rotate in the same direction as the rollers previously described. The left-hand rollers may contribute to the initial urging force for transporting the card from the central compartment 10 to the right-hand compartment 20”); and
at least one motor configured to alternately drive the first translation element and the second translation element (col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line 2, “When the motor 710 is actuated and rotates in a clockwise direction as viewed from the front in FIG. 8, pulley 730 also rotates in a clockwise direction and similarly drives the rollers 738” and col. 9, lines 13- 20, “When the motor 710 is actuated and rotates in a counterclockwise direction, the direction of rotation of the rollers 738 and 750 is reversed, and the lowermost card of the deck of cards will be urged towards the left-hand compartment 30 through a slot in the lower left-hand side of the central compartment 10. Thus, by controlling the direction of rotation of the motor 710, the cards may be dispensed or ejected into one or the other of the side compartments”).
However, Toyama does not disclose wherein the first deposit bay and the second deposit bay are foldable over the receive bay to achieve a closed position that forms a rectangular box.
Nevertheless, OPPENLANDER teaches in a like invention, wherein the first deposit bay and the second deposit bay are foldable over the receive bay to achieve a closed position that forms a boxlike form. (Figs. 3 & 6, col. 2, lines 69 – 70, “Thus there will be produced a compact boxlike form”).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the options to choose any boxlike form, which would be depending on the customized design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the option of a rectangular box provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem for a given card shuffler. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the boxlike form disclosed by OPPENLANDER, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well because both OPPENLANDER’s shuffler and the applicant’s invention hold the rectangular shape compartment for cards in the middle and fold on the two ends in the same way to form the boxlike form when in a closed position.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the card randomizing device, as disclosed by Toyama, to have the first deposit bay and the second deposit bay foldable over the receive bay to achieve a closed position that forms a boxlike form, as taught by OPPENLANDER, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 60 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration depending on the customized design choice, which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER .
Regarding claim 61, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 60, wherein the first and second translation elements are friction wheels (Toyama, Figs. 8A & 8B, “rollers 738”).
Regarding claim 62, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 60, further comprising: a gear train connecting the motor to the first translation element and the second translation element (Toyama, col. 8, lines 12-14, “As may be seen in FIG. 6 B and in more detail in FIG. 7, the cam 420 is rotatably moved by a gear train 500 coupled to the motor 460”).
Regarding claim 63, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 60, wherein the first deposit bay is coupled to the receive bay by at least one hinge (OPPENLANDER, Fig. 1, pins 26 and 27).
Regarding claim 64, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 63, wherein the second deposit bay is coupled to the receive bay by at least one hinge (OPPENLANDER, Fig. 1, pins 34 and 35).
Regarding claim 68, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 67, wherein the first deposit bay folds at a first hinge, and the second deposit bay folds at a second hinge at the closed position (OPPENLANDER, Figs. 1 & 6, pins 26 and 34).
Regarding claim 70, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 69. However, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER does not explicitly disclose wherein the rectangular box in the closed position has a height in the range of two to three decks of cards.
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the options for the rectangular box in the closed position has a height in the range of two to three decks of cards, which is a common-sense choice to support the randomization of two to three decks of cards for most of the card games and having a reasonable size. Applicant has not disclosed that this option provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the card randomizing device disclosed by the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well because both Toyama and OPPENLANDER’s card randomizing device and applicant’s invention disclose the same structure for shuffling cards for most of the card games and folding the device in the same way for storage.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the card randomizing device disclosed by the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER to obtain the invention as specified in claim 70 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration while fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER.
Regarding claims 71 and 72, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 69. However, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER does not explicitly disclose wherein the rectangular box has a width of at least 1.8 inches, a length of at least 2.4 inches, and a depth of at least 0.6 inch (claim 71) or wherein the width is in a range of 2 to 3 inches, the length is in a range of 2.7 to 4.2 inches, and the depth is in the range of 1 to 3 inches (claim 72).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the options for the rectangular box in the closed position has the size as claimed in claims 71 and 72, which depends on if the device is customized for randomizing different number of decks of cards and if the device is customized for different sizes to meet different preferences from the users. Applicant has not disclosed that this option provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the card randomizing device disclosed by the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well because both Toyama and OPPENLANDER’s card randomizing device and applicant’s invention disclose the same structure for shuffling cards for most of the card games and folding the device in the same way for storage.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the card randomizing device disclosed by the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER to obtain the invention as specified in claims 71 and 72 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration while fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER.
Regarding claim 73, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 60, further comprising: a switch configured to start the at least one motor (col. 16, line 65 – col. 17, line 3, “Ancillary equipment such as a power supply, which may be batteries, a AC-DC converter (battery eliminator), an AC power supply, or the like, are not shown as they are well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, as are the various types of motors, display and control interfaces”).
Claim(s) 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama, in view of OPPENLANDER, further in view of Chan et al. [US5660605], hereinafter Chan.
Regarding claim 74, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER discloses the card randomizing device of claim 73. However, the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER does not explicitly disclose wherein the switch includes a touch sensitive switch.
Nevertheless, Chan teaches using a touch sensitive switch to control the motor for appliance (abstract, “The electrical circuit conducting power to the motor includes a touch sensitive switch for on-off control”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the card randomizing device, as disclosed by the combination of Toyama and OPPENLANDER, to have the touch sensitive switch to control the motor, as taught by Chan, in order to have easier operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 75-78 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. A thorough search of the prior art fails to disclose any reference or references, which, taken alone or in combination, teach or suggest, in combination with the other limitations:
“wherein the first deposit bay comprises a first bottom panel and a second bottom panel, the first bottom panel and the second bottom panel of the first deposit bay configured to be connected by a first hinge; …wherein the second deposit bay comprises a third bottom panel and a fourth bottom panel, the third bottom panel and the fourth bottom panel of the second deposit bay configured to be connected by a second hinge;… wherein the first and second deposit bays are configured to be slidable between an extended position and a compressed position; wherein a portion of the first bottom panel and the second bottom panel of the first deposit bay is exposed in the extended position, and a portion of the first bottom panel of the first deposit bay that is exposed in the extended position is positioned underneath the receive bay in the compressed position; and wherein a portion of the third bottom panel and the fourth bottom panel of the second deposit bay is exposed in the extended position, and a portion of the third bottom panel of the second deposit bay that is exposed in the extended position is positioned underneath the receive bay in the compressed position” (claim 75).
Claims 65 and 66 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant argues “Nowhere does Oppenlander disclose or suggest a card shuffler that can “achieve a closed position that forms a rectangular box,” as recited in amended claim 60. In fact, modifying Oppenlander to achieve a closed shape that forms a rectangular box would appear to require rendering Oppenlander inoperable for an intended purpose of creating a clearance between the open shuffler compartments and a supporting table surface to avoid the table surface interfering with grasping the cards in the compartments” (p. 3). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The “intended purpose of creating a clearance between the open shuffler compartments and a supporting table surface to avoid the table surface interfering with grasping the cards in the compartments” in OPPENLANDER is achieved by having the pivot pins 34 and 35 (for compartment R2) and pins 26 and 27 which connect the side walls higher than the table surface (Fig. 6). This is totally UNRELATED to the closed boxlike form. Any boxlike form box with such pins higher than the table surface to connect the side walls would achieve the same result. Thus, modifying OPPENLANDER to have rectangle box would NOT make it inoperable. As being analyzed in the rejection, it is a mere design consideration to modify OPPENLANDER’s boxlike form to obtain the invention as specified in claim 60.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YINGCHUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711