DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of restriction requirement in the reply filed on 9/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the applicant disagrees with the assertion that the inventions aren’t linked to form a single generative concept. Additionally, the applicant states that the examiner has not established a prima facie case for limiting the application to only one of the groups, and showing that there would be a serious search burden, according to MPEP § 808.02. Also, the applicant suggests that there is a special technical feature that makes a “contribution” over the prior art presented.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the lack of unity was made evident a posteriori, due to the fact that the presented groups (I and II, as discussed in the restriction requirement, and hereinafter) contained common technical features. If any of these common technical features make a “contribution” over the prior art, with respect to novelty and inventive step, then it would be considered a “special technical feature.” None of the common technical features make a “contribution” over the prior art of Dodson, in view of Palomino Jr. In regard to the argument made about the “the liquid pick up zone, so as to cover, the at least one dirt inlet,” the dirt inlet was not within the common technical features in the groups and as a result is not taken into consideration. Assuming, arguendo, examiner has provided a second prior art analysis of In et al., in view of Dodson, Miller, and Palomino Jr.
Additionally, under the Unity of Invention framework, an examiner is not required to exemplify that there would be a serious search burden. A search burden relates to the proper restriction requirement (MPEP § 808.02), which is not related to this case.
As a result, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted (please select one of the following):
Group I, claim(s) 1-12, drawn to a cleaning element for attaching to a cleaner head, which cleaner head has a structured portion and at least one dirt inlet
Group II, claim(s) 13-17, drawn to a cleaner head to which a cleaning element having a plurality of guiding elements and a liquid pick-up zone is attachable
Claim 18 is generic (this claim will be examined along with the elected group).
Groups I and Il lack unity of invention a posteriori because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a cleaning element comprising a liquid pick up zone, plurality of guiding elements, and a cleaner head comprising at least one dirt inlet and a structured portion, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), as modified by Palomino, Jr. (US 5074008).
Dodson teaches (Figure 1) the cleaning element (Column 2, line 9, cleaning pad 22) attachable to
a cleaner head (Column 2, line 3, apparatus 10). Cleaning element comprising liquid pick up zone (any area of cleaning element is a liquid pick up zone; Column 3, lines 17-19), plurality of guiding elements (Column 3, lines 51-54, front edge portion 132 and rear edge portion 134). Dodson also teaches the cleaning head comprising a structured portion (Column 2, lines 8-9, frame 20) and at least one dirt inlet (Column 2, line 54, intake opening 75).
Dodson does not teach a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head.
Palomino, Jr. teaches (Figure 1) a dust mop attachment for vacuum cleaners that includes a
fastener (Column 3, lines 22-35, hook and loop fastening material straps 12) for securing the aligned cleaning element (Column 3, lines 7-9, mop element 13 and frame member 16) to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaner head (Column 3, lines 28-32, vacuum attachment 15 or vacuum suction head or nozzle 21) following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaning head.
Dodson and Palomino, Jr. are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of details or accessories of suction cleaners, e.g. mechanical means for
controlling the suction or for effecting pulsating action. It would have been obvious to a persona of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dodson with the teachings of Palomino, Jr. Doing so would improve the cleaning structure by adding a
mechanical fastening means to further secure the aligned and joined cleaning head to the cleaning
element (Column 3, Lines 22-35).
Because the common technical features does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Dodson (EP 1752079 A2) in light of Palomino, Jr. (US 5074008), there is lack of unity between Groups I
and II.
Assuming, arguendo, the additional prior art analysis is provided:
Groups I and Il lack unity of invention a posteriori because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a cleaning element comprising a liquid pick up zone, plurality of guiding elements, and a cleaner head comprising at least one dirt inlet and a structured portion, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), in light of Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465A), Palomino, Jr. (US 5074008),
In et al., teaches a cleaning element for attaching to a cleaner head (Figure 1 and 2), which cleaner head has a structured portion (See Annotated Figure 1) and at least one dirt inlet (Detailed Description, main suction port 14, guide projection 11 and through holes 9a), the cleaning element (Detailed Description, mop member 8) comprising: a cleaning material (Detailed description, mop member is made of cloth) for contacting a surface to be cleaned, wherein the cleaning material comprises a liquid pick up zone (Detailed Description, mop member 8 absorbs contaminated water) alignable with, so as to cover, a dirt inlet (Detailed Description, covers the secondary dirt inlet by guide protrusion 11a and through holes 9a), and a cleaning liquid application zone (Detailed Description, water is also supplied by mop member 8 though natural leakage) for applying cleaning liquid (Detailed Description, water (W)) to the surface to be cleaned.
In et al., fails to teach the cleaning element covering all dirt inlets, a plurality of guiding elements cooperable with said structured portion to join and align the cleaning element with the cleaner head; and a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head via the guiding elements, wherein the fastener is spaced apart from the plurality of guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Dodson teaches (Figure 1) the cleaning element (Column 2, line 9, cleaning pad 22) attachable to a cleaner head (Column 2, line 3, apparatus 10). Cleaning element comprising a cleaning material (Column 3, Lines 13-16, air-permeable material or perforated pad that is not air-permeable) for contacting a surface to be cleaned, wherein the cleaning material comprises a liquid pick up zone (any area of cleaning element is a liquid pick up zone; Column 3, lines 17-19), Dodson also teaches the cleaning head comprising a structured portion (Column 2, lines 8-9, frame 20) and at least one dirt inlet (Column 2, line 54, intake opening 75); A plurality of guiding elements (front edge portion and rear edge portion 134) cooperable with said structured portion (frame 20 has mounting flanges 60 and 62, locking tabs 64 and 66, which is what allows the pad to cooperate with the cleaning head) to join and align the cleaning element with the cleaner head.
In et al., and Dodson are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., with the teachings of Dodson. Doing so would allow for the cleaning element to be further installed and engaged with the cleaning head (Par. 0015)
In et al., as modified by Dodson fails to teach the liquid pickup zone alignable with, so as to cover, the at least one dirt inlet (covers one but fails to cover all inlets); and a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head via the guiding elements, wherein the fastener is spaced apart from the guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Miller teaches a cleaning element for attaching to a cleaner head (Figure 1), which cleaner head has a structured portion (Column 3, lines 7-21, resilient bonnet retaining plate 42) and at least one dirt inlet (Column 1, line 70, to Column 2, line 2, elliptical opening 11), the cleaning element (Column 3, lines 3-6, air pervious polishing bonnet 40) comprising a cleaning material (Column 3, lines 3-6, formed of lambs wool or similar material) for contacting the surface to be cleaned, wherein the cleaning material comprises a liquid pick up zone (any area of the bonnet is considered the liquid pick up zone) alignable with, so as to cover, the at least one dirt inlet (Fig. 2, air pervious polishing bonnet covers the elliptical opening entirely).
In et al., and Miller are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson, with the teaching of Miller’s covered dirt inlet. This would allow the cleaning element to be tightly forced against the floor surface when the vacuum cleaner is operated and suction is set up. (Column 3, lines 24-28)
In et al., as modified by Dodson and Miller fails to teach a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head via the guiding elements, wherein the fastener is spaced apart from the guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Palomino, Jr. teaches (Figure 1) a dust mop attachment for vacuum cleaners that includes a fastener (Column 3, lines 22-35, hook and loop fastening material straps 12) for securing the aligned cleaning element (Column 3, lines 7-9, mop element 13 and frame member 16) to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaner head (Column 3, lines 28-32, vacuum attachment 15 or vacuum suction head or nozzle 21) following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the
cleaning head.
In et al., and Palomino, Jr., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson and Miller, with the further teachings of Palamino Jr’s fastening members. Doing so would allow for the cleaning head to be properly and adequately secured to the cleaning element (Column 4, lines 1-9).
Because the common technical features do not make a contribution over the prior art in view of In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), in light of Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465A), Palomino, Jr. (US 5074008), and there is lack of unity between Groups I and II.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-18 were previously pending. Claims 5-6, 10, 14, 17, and 18 are currently amended, yet 12-17 are withdrawn as a result of the restriction requirement. No new matter was added.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the cleaner head" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret the cleaner head as “a cleaner head”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), and Keck (US 20050138749 A1).
Regarding claim 1, In et al., teaches a cleaning element for attaching to a cleaner head (Figure 1 and 2), which cleaner head has a structured portion (See Annotated Figure 1) and at least one dirt inlet (Detailed Description, main suction port 14, guide projection 11 and through holes 9a), the cleaning element (Detailed Description, mop member 8) comprising: a cleaning material (Detailed description, mop member is made of cloth) for contacting a surface to be cleaned, wherein the cleaning material comprises a liquid pick up zone (Detailed Description, mop member 8 absorbs contaminated water) alignable with, so as to cover, the at least one dirt inlet (Detailed Description, covers the secondary dirt inlet by guide protrusion 11a and through holes 9a), and a cleaning liquid application zone (Detailed Description, water is also supplied by mop member 8 though natural leakage) for applying cleaning liquid (Detailed Description, water (W)) to the surface to be cleaned.
Annotated Figure 1: Structured portion of Cleaning Head
In et al., fails to teach the cleaning element covering all dirt inlets, a plurality of guiding elements cooperable with said structured portion to join and align the cleaning element with the cleaner head; and a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head via the guiding elements, wherein the fastener is spaced apart from the plurality of guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Dodson teaches (Figure 1) the cleaning element (Column 2, line 9, cleaning pad 22) attachable to a cleaner head (Column 2, line 3, apparatus 10). Cleaning element comprising a cleaning material (Column 3, Lines 13-16, air-permeable material or perforated pad that is not air-permeable) for contacting a surface to be cleaned, wherein the cleaning material comprises a liquid pick up zone (any area of cleaning element is a liquid pick up zone; Column 3, lines 17-19), Dodson also teaches the cleaning head comprising a structured portion (Column 2, lines 8-9, frame 20) and at least one dirt inlet (Column 2, line 54, intake opening 75); A plurality of guiding elements (front edge portion and rear edge portion 134) cooperable with said structured portion (frame 20 has mounting flanges 60 and 62, locking tabs 64 and 66, which is what allows the pad to cooperate with the cleaning head) to join and align the cleaning element with the cleaner head.
In et al., and Dodson are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., with the teachings of Dodson. Doing so would allow for the cleaning element to be further installed and engaged with the cleaning head (Par. 0015)
In et al., as modified by Dodson fails to teach the liquid pickup zone alignable with, so as to cover, the at least one dirt inlet (covers one but fails to cover all inlets), and a cleaning liquid application zone adjacent the liquid pickup zone; and a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head via the guiding elements, wherein the fastener is spaced apart from the guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Miller teaches a cleaning element for attaching to a cleaner head (Figure 1), which cleaner head has a structured portion (Column 3, lines 7-21, resilient bonnet retaining plate 42) and at least one dirt inlet (Column 1, line 70, to Column 2, line 2, elliptical opening 11), the cleaning element (Column 3, lines 3-6, air pervious polishing bonnet 40) comprising a cleaning material (Column 3, lines 3-6, formed of lambs wool or similar material) for contacting the surface to be cleaned, wherein the cleaning material comprises a liquid pick up zone (any area of the bonnet is considered the liquid pick up zone) alignable with, so as to cover, the at least one dirt inlet (Fig. 2, air pervious polishing bonnet covers the elliptical opening entirely).
In et al., and Miller are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson, with the teaching of Miller’s covered dirt inlet. This would allow the cleaning element to be tightly forced against the floor surface when the vacuum cleaner is operated and suction is set up. (Column 3, lines 24-28)
In et al., as modified by Dodson and Miller fails to teach the cleaning liquid application zone adjacent the liquid pickup zone; and a fastener for securing the aligned cleaning element to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the cleaner head via the guiding elements, wherein the fastener is spaced apart from the guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Palomino, Jr. teaches (Figure 1) a dust mop attachment for vacuum cleaners that includes a fastener (Column 3, lines 22-35, hook and loop fastening material straps 12) for securing the aligned cleaning element (Column 3, lines 7-9, mop element 13 and frame member 16) to the cleaner head following alignment and joining of the cleaner head (Column 3, lines 28-32, vacuum attachment 15 or vacuum suction head or nozzle 21) following alignment and joining of the cleaning element to the
cleaning head.
In et al., and Palomino, Jr., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson and Miller, with the further teachings of Palamino Jr’s fastening members. Doing so would allow for the cleaning head to be properly and adequately secured to the cleaning element (Column 4, lines 1-9).
In et al., as modified by Dodson et al., Miller and Palomino Jr. fail to teach a cleaning liquid application zone adjacent the liquid pickup zone.
Keck et al., teaches a combination dry and absorbent floor mop/wipe (Figure 1) wherein the cleaning sheet (Par. 0029, cleaning sheet 100) has adjacent zones (Par. 0029, first side 111 and second side 121) for attracting dirt, dust and other debris, whilst the other region is designed to absorb fluids (Par. 0029). The two adjacent zones are made of various materials (Par. 0029, first material 110 and second material 120).
In et al. and Keck are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person who has ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, and Palomino Jr., with the further teachings of Keck et al.’s cleaning sheet with dual zones of different materials. Doing so would allow for the cleaning element to comprise of different materials to accomplish different aspects of cleaning (Par. 0029).
Regarding claim 5, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., and Keck et al., teach the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the fastener comprises a hooks-loops fastener portion, or wherein the fastener is arranged on the upper side of the cleaning element facing away from the surface to be cleaned.
Palomino Jr. teaches the fastener comprises a hooks-loops fastener portion (Column 3, lines 22-35, hook and loop fastening material straps 12), or wherein the fastener is arranged on the upper side of the cleaning element facing away from the surface to be cleaned (See Annotated Figure 2).
Annotated Figure 2: Fastener on Upper Side
In et al., and Palomino, Jr., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson and Miller, with the further teachings of Palamino Jr’s fastening members. Doing so would allow for the cleaning head to be further secured to the cleaning element (Column 3, lines 22-35).
Regarding claim 18, In et al., ), as modified by Dodson, Miller , Palomino Jr., and Keck teaches a wet cleaning apparatus comprising:
In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), as modified by Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), and Keck (US 20050138749 A1) teaches the cleaning element of claim 1 (See Rejection of claim 1); a cleaner head (See Rejection of claim 1); and an underpressure generator (In et al., Description, cleaning main body 1) for supplying suction to the at least one covered dirt inlet (See Rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), Keck (US 20050138749 A1), and Petit et al (DE 102011107648 A1).
Regarding claim 2, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., and Keck et al., teach the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein said cleaning element is elongated so as to define a length of the cleaning element, and wherein said plurality of guiding elements is arranged along said length.
Petit et al., teaches wherein the cleaning element (Par. 0070, flat mop cover 3) is elongated (See Figure 3; Cleaning Head is Elongated) so as to define a length (See Annotated Figure 3) of the cleaning element, and wherein the said plurality of guiding elements (Par. 0071, pockets 8) is arranged along said length (See Annotated Figure 3).
Annotated Figure 3: Plurality of Guiding Elements Along Length
In et al., and Petit et al., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Petit et al. Doing so would allow for the ends of the structured portion of the holder to be insertable in the cover for alignment and adequate security (Par. 0072).
Regarding claim 3, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., Keck et al., and Petit et al., teaches the cleaning element of claim 2.
In et al., further teaches wherein each pf the liquid pickup zones and the cleaning liquid application zone (the entirety mop element 8 is the pickup and application zone such that it is parallel with the length of the element) are elongated so as to each longitudinally extend parallel with said length of the cleaning element.
Regarding claim 4, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., and Keck et al., teach the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the plurality of guiding elements comprises a plurality of pockets, wherein each of said plurality of pockets is arranged to receive and engage a tooth of a plurality of teeth included in said structured portion.
Petit et al., teaches a flat mop cover (flat mop cover 3) with a plurality of guiding elements (Par. 0071, pockets 8), wherein each of said plurality of pockets (Par. 0071, pockets 8) is arranged to receive and engage a tooth (Par. 0072, Fig. 4, end of wing 2) of the plurality of teeth (Par. 0072, Fig. 4, ends of wings 2) included in said structured portion (Par. 0072, Fig. 4, mop cover holder 1, and wings 2).
In et al., and Petit et al., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Petit et al. Doing so would allow for the ends of the structured portion of the holder to be insertable in the cover for alignment and adequate security (Par. 0072).
Regarding claim 6, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., and Keck et al., teach the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the fastener comprises a hooks-loops fastener portion, or wherein the fastener is included in a section of the cleaning element that is configured to flex around an edge of the cleaner head to enable the fastener to be secured to said edge or an upper side of the cleaner head that faces away from the surface to be cleaned.
Palomino Jr. teaches the fastener comprises a hooks-loops fastener portion (Column 3, lines 22-35, hook and loop fastening material straps 12).
In et al., and Palomino, Jr., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified by Dodson and Miller, with the further teachings of Palamino Jr’s fastening members. Doing so would allow for the cleaning head to be further secured to the cleaning element (Par. 0018).
In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., and Keck et al., fails to teach wherein the fastener is included in a section of the cleaning element that is configured to flex around an edge of the cleaner head to enable the fastener to be secure to said edge or an upper side of the cleaner head that faces away from the surface to be cleaned.
Petit et al., teaches wherein the fastener (tabs 9) is included in a section of the cleaning element (Par. 0074, Fig. 6, flat mop cover 3) that is configured to flex around an edge (See Annotated Figure 5) of the cleaner head to enable the fastener to be secure to an un upper side of the cleaner head (Par. 0074, Clamp Shaped Form Elements Secure Tabs on Upper Side of Cleaning Head) that faces away from the surface to be cleaned (See Annotated Figure 4).
Annotated Figure 4: Fasteners Flex Around Edge to Top Side
In et al., and Petit et al., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Petit et al. Doing so would allow for the holder to be adequately fixed/secured to the cover for use (Par. 0075).
Regarding claim 8, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., and Keck et al., teach the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the cleaning material in the cleaning liquid application zone comprises tufts formed from fibers, and a backing layer supporting the tufts.
Petit et al. teaches the flat mop cover to be able to be made via tufting, formed from tufts, fringes, or strands of several yarns (Par. 0037). Tufts are formed from either fibers, yarns or fringes (Par. 0069, 5,6,7 respectively), and backing layer (base layer 13 supports tufts) to which fibers, yarns, or fringes can be applied (Par. 0069).
In et al., and Petit et al., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Petit et al. This would be done because dirt particles would be surprisingly easily absorbed by the fibers, yarns, or fringes (Par. 0012).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al., in view of In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), Keck (US 20050138749 A1), and Milanese (CN 209074472 U)
Regarding claim 7, In et al., in view of Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., Keck et al., and teaches the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach comprising a protrusion arranged to protrude from a periphery of the cleaning element such as to enable a user to trap the protrusion against the surface to be cleaned and thereby immobilize the cleaning element for said joining and alignment with the cleaner head, and wherein the periphery from which the protrusion protrudes is spaced apart from the plurality of guiding elements across said cleaning material.
Milanese teaches a Heat-type Surface Cleaning Device wherein the cleaning pad further has a protrusion (Detailed Description, 386) that a user can place their foot on the protruding part and remove the mop device from the pad.
In et al., and Milanese are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Milanese. Doing so would allow the user to easily remove the cleaning pad without having to touch the pad (Detailed Description, Description of Figure 24 and 25).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al., in view of In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), Keck (US 20050138749 A1), and Palmtag (US 20190239713 A1).
Regarding claim 9, In et al., in view of Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., Keck et al., and teaches the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the cleaning material in the liquid pick-up zone comprises a woven fabric, and wherein the woven fabric is a woven microfiber fabric.
Palmtag teaches a bathroom cleaning device with removable washable and reusable head and method of use wherein the cleaning element (Par. 0031, cleaning head 26) may comprise of a unique or combination of a materials, with the list of materials including woven fabrics and microfibers (Par. 0038).
In et al., and Palmtag are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Palmtag’s materials. Doing so would provide an apparatus that has a combination of materials (woven fabrics and microfibers) specifically chosen for optimally cleaning specific areas (Par. 0038).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al., in view of In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), Keck (US 20050138749 A1), and Chappas (US 20060214323 A1)
Regarding claim 10, In et al., in view of Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., Keck et al., and Chappas teaches the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the cleaning material has, at least in the liquid pick-up zone, a limiting pore diameter as measured using ASTM F316 - 03, 2019, Test A[[ or]] greater than 15 pm or a limiting pore diameter material as measured using ASTM F316 - 03, 2019, Test A less than 105 pm.
Chappas teaches a wipe formed by providing nanofiber precursor fiber layer with preferred properties of a pore diameter of greater than about 20 microns (Par. 0043).
In et al., and Chappas are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Chappas. Doing so will allow for the wipe to have increased liquid uptake and retention properties (Par. 0043).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), Keck (US 20050138749 A1), and De Wit (US 2019/0380553 A1).
Regarding claim 11, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., Keck et al., and teaches the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the cleaning liquid application zone comprises a first applicator portion and a second applicator portion, wherein the liquid pick-up zone between the first applicator portion and the second applicator portion.
De Wit et al., (US 2019/0380553) teaches a cleaning device with a surface interaction layer wherein the cleaning liquid application zone (Par. 0032, cleaning fluid channels) comprises a first applicator portion (Par. 0032, cleaning fluid channel CFC1) and a second applicator portion (Par. 0032, cleaning fluid channel CFC2), wherein the liquid pickup zone (Par. 0032, dirty fluid channel) is in between the first applicator and second applicator portion (See Annotated Figure 5).
Annotated Figure 5: Pick Up Zone in Between Two Application Portions
In et al., and De Wit et al., are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of De Wit. Doing so would produce a cleaning element that disallows that both movement directions would ensure that the surface is wetted first and then after the dirt can be drained (Par. 0027)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al., (KR 940001037 Y1), Dodson (EP 1752079 A2), Miller (US 2873465 A), Palomino Jr., (US 5074008 A), Keck (US 20050138749 A1), and Lucas (US 20200345197 A1).
Regarding claim 12, In et al., as modified by Dodson, Miller, Palomino Jr., Keck et al., and teaches the cleaning element of claim 1.
In et al., fails to teach wherein the cleaning material is thinner in the liquid pick up zone than in the cleaning liquid application zone.
Lucas teaches a cleaning pad for an autonomous cleaning robot (Figure 4a), wherein the cleaning pad (Par. 0045, cleaning pad 100) has in some cases a forward portion (Par. 0045, forward portion 208) that is thicker than the rear portion (Par. 0045, Rear Portion 210).
In et al., and Lucas are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor of domestic washing and cleaning. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of In et al., as modified, with the further teachings of Lucas. This would be providing a cleaning element with one zone that is thicker than the other to facilitate better compression of the debris being cleaned as the cleaning pad passes over (Par. 0045).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kisela (US 70848804 B2) teaches a suction wet jet mop.
Sako (US 6966098 B2) teaches a cleaner with an electric dirt collection mechanism with a wiping cleaning action.
/Daniel Lundy/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
10/8/2026
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723