DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 10 Aug. 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the feature 134 of US20180008111 is not equivalent to the claimed first air inlet door. This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not particularly pointed out what structure the feature 134 is lacking.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2008/0201895 (hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus (100) with a dust collection function (¶3), comprising:
a mobile platform (platform comprising wheel 111) containing an accommodating chamber (chamber within housing 110), the mobile platform being configured to automatically move along an operating surface (¶47); and
a cleaning module (module comprising 115 and 300) comprising a dust box (box comprising 300, 120, and 342) and a main brush module (115), wherein the dust box is detachably assembled in the accommodating chamber (where the dust box is fully capable of being detached give the proper force), and comprises a first air inlet door (340) and a second air inlet door (120), and the first air inlet door and the second air inlet door are located on a first sidewall (as labeled below) and a second sidewall (as labeled below) of the dust box, respectively, and are configured to provide intake airflows in different directions during dust collection (as shown in Fig 3; ¶67).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First sidewall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second sidewall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all the limitation of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the first air inlet door and the second air inlet door are located at asymmetric positions of the first sidewall and the second sidewall, respectively (as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all the limitation of claim 2. Kim further teaches wherein the second air inlet door is disposed at a position close to a lower edge of the second sidewall, and a lower edge of the second air inlet door is lower than a lower edge of the first air inlet door (as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all the limitation of claim 2. Kim further teaches wherein the second air inlet door is disposed close to a rear sidewall of the dust box, and the first air inlet door is disposed close to a front sidewall of the dust box (as shown in Fig 3.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rear sidewall)][AltContent: textbox (Front sidewall)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all the limitation of claim 3. Kim further teaches wherein shapes of the first air inlet door and the second air inlet door are at least a rectangle (as shown in Fig 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art Kim US 2008/0201895 which teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus (100) with a dust collection function (¶3), comprising a mobile platform (platform comprising wheel 111) and a cleaning module (module comprising 115 and 300). Kim does not teach wherein the first air inlet door rotates approximately around a first rotating shaft, the second air inlet door rotates approximately around a second rotating shaft, and the first rotating shaft is approximately perpendicular to the second rotating shaft.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art Kim US 2008/0201895 which teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus (100) with a dust collection function (¶3), comprising a mobile platform (platform comprising wheel 111) and a cleaning module (module comprising 115 and 300). Kim does not teach wherein the first air inlet door is of a rectangular structure, and long edges of the first air inlet door are longitudinally disposed; and the second air inlet door is of a rectangular structure, and long edges of the second air inlet door are transversely disposed.
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art Kim US 2008/0201895 which teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus (100) with a dust collection function (¶3), comprising a mobile platform (platform comprising wheel 111) and a cleaning module (module comprising 115 and 300). Kim does not teach wherein the dust box further comprises a first opening and a second opening, the first opening is configured as a dust inlet during dust suction and a dust outlet during dust collection, and the first opening and the second opening are approximately located on a central axis of the automatic cleaning apparatus in a front-rear direction.
Claims 9-13 depend upon claim 8.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776