Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the102 rejection have been considered and they are not persuasive. Fu clearly teaches each and every limitation in the claims.
For example, applicant argues, page 3,
Fu discloses PUCCHs carrying UCI, and fails to disclose PUSCH carrying UCI. …
Fu fails to disclose the above-mentioned distinguishing technical features (a) and (b).
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fu teaches
(a) in case that time domain resources of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)
carrying first UCI overlap with time domain resources of multiple physical uplink shared
channels (PUSCHs) (Fu, fig. 9, [0129], a PUCCH carrying a UCI with priority 1 (or a first UCI), overlaps with multiple PUSCHs; there are three PUSCHs simultaneously overlapping with the PUCCH transmitting the UCI) and
(b) the multiple PUSCHs comprise a PUSCH carrying second UCI ( fig. 9, [0129], the UCI with the second priority is multiplexed on PUSCH2-2. Here, when an UCI is multiplexed on a PUSCH, the PUSCH carries the UCI).
Applicant argues, page 3,
Fu fails to disclose the above-mentioned distinguishing technical features (c) and (d).
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fu teaches
(c ) selecting a PUSCH without carrying the second UCI from the multiple PUSCHs preferentially, and transmitting the first UCI on the selected PUSCH without carrying the second UCI (fig. 9, [0129], PUSCH2-1 is selected to multiplex with the first UCI, PUSCH2-2 is selected to multiplex with the second UCI. That is, PUSCH2-1 is transmitting the first UCI without carrying the second UCI. This is also acknowledged by the applicant in the remark, page 3, 4th para., “when overlap occurs, two UCIs with different priorities are respectively multiplexed on two different PUSCH2-l and PUSCH2-2”. That is one UCI is carried by PUSCH2-1 (without carrying the other UCI) and the other UCI is carried by PUSCH2-2 (without carrying the one UCI); or,
(d) selecting a target PUSCH for carrying the first UCI (fig. 9, PUSCH 2-1) from the multiple PUSCHs (fig. 9, PUSCH 2-x) and determining a corresponding UCI transmission mode based on UCI carried on the target PUSCH.
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner can only show one of the claimed options.
Applicant argues, page 4,
Fu fails to disclose the above-mentioned distinguishing technical features ( e ).
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fu teaches
(e ) wherein the PUCCH and the PUSCH carrying the second UCI have different priorities (fig. 9, [0129], there are three PUSCHs with the second priority simultaneously overlapping with the PUCCH transmitting the UCI with the first priority), or
the first UCI comprises first priority UCI and the second UCI comprises second priority UCI (fig. 9, [0129], a transmission of UCI with the first priority and a transmission of UCI with the second priority; that is, one UCI has the first priority UCI, the other UCI has the second priority UCI).
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner can only show one of the claimed options.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fu (US 20230189273).
Regarding claim 1, Fu discloses a method for uplink control information (UCI) transmission, performed by a terminal, comprising:
in case that time domain resources of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) carrying first UCI overlap with time domain resources of multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) (fig. 9, [0129], a PUCCH carrying a UCI with priority 1 (or a first UCI), overlaps with multiple PUSCHs; there are three PUSCHs simultaneously overlapping with the PUCCH transmitting the UCI) and the multiple PUSCHs comprise a PUSCH carrying second UCI ( fig. 9, [0129], the UCI with the second priority is multiplexed on PUSCH2-2. Here, when an UCI is multiplexed on a PUSCH, the PUSCH carries the UCI),
selecting a PUSCH without carrying the second UCI from the multiple PUSCHs preferentially, and transmitting the first UCI on the selected PUSCH without carrying the second UCI (fig. 9, [0129], PUSCH2-1 is selected to multiplex with the first UCI, PUSCH2-2 is selected to multiplex with the second UCI. That is, PUSCH2-1 is transmitting the first UCI without carrying the second UCI. This is also acknowledged by the applicant in the remark, page 3, 4th para., “when overlap occurs, two UCIs with different priorities are respectively multiplexed on two different PUSCH2-l and PUSCH2-2”. That is one UCI is carried by PUSCH2-1 (without carrying the other UCI) and the other UCI is carried by PUSCH2-2 (without carrying the one UCI); or, selecting a target PUSCH for carrying the first UCI (fig. 9, PUSCH 2-1) from the multiple PUSCHs (fig. 9, PUSCH 2-x) and determining a corresponding UCI transmission mode based on UCI carried on the target PUSCH (fig. 9, UGI transmission mode is that UGI is transmitted on PUSCH2-1),
wherein the PUCCH and the PUSCH carrying the second UCI have different priorities (fig. 9 – [0129], there are three PUSCHs with the second priority simultaneously overlapping with the PUCCH transmitting the UCI with the first priority), or the first UCI comprises first priority UCI and the second UCI comprises second priority UCI (fig. 9, [0129], a transmission of UCI with the first priority and a transmission of UCI with the second priority; that is, one UCI has the first priority UCI, the other UCI has the second priority UCI).
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner can only show one of the claimed options.
Claims 8, 15, 22 are rejected similarly as claim1 noting that Fu discloses a processor, memory, and transceiver (fig. 3).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, 23, Fu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the PUSCH without carrying the second UCI preferentially comprises any of the following:
a combination of selecting the PUSCH without carrying the second UCI preferentially and selecting a PUSCH with a same priority as the PUCCH preferentially (fig. 6); or a combination of selecting the PUSCH without carrying the second UCI preferentially and selecting a PUSCH supporting multiplexing transmission of different priorities preferentially (fig. 7, 9 [0129], PUSCH 2-1 without carrying the second UCI, while having different priority of the first UCI);
or a combination of selecting the PUSCH without carrying the second UCI preferentially, selecting a PUSCH with a same priority as the PUCCH preferentially, and selecting a PUSCH supporting multiplexing transmission of different priorities preferentially.
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17, 24, Fu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the corresponding UCI transmission mode based on UCI carried on the target PUSCH comprises:
transmitting the first UCI on the target PUSCH in case that the target PUSCH does not carry the second UCI (fig. 9, PUSCH 2-1); or,
performing transmission according to any of the following in case that the target PUSCH carries the second UCI: dropping the second UCI and transmitting the first UCI on the target PUSCH; or,
dropping a part of the second UCI, and transmitting the first UCI together with remaining part of the second UCI on the target PUSCH; or,
dropping a part of the first UCI, and transmitting the second UCI together with the remaining part of the first UCI on the target PUSCH; or,
transmitting the first UCI and the second UCI on the target PUSCH; or,
dropping the target PUSCH; or,
dropping the PUCCH.
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Regarding claim 4, 11, 18, 25, Fu discloses the method of claim 3, wherein after dropping the target PUSCH, the method further comprises:
dropping all other PUSCHs overlapping with the PUCCH in time domain resources, and transmitting the PUCCH carrying the first UCI; or,
selecting another target PUSCH for carrying the first UCI from remaining PUSCHs overlapping with the PUCCH in time domain resources, and determining the corresponding UCI transmission mode based on UCI carried on the another target PUSCH (fig. 9, [0129]).
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in claim 3 and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options (in fact, the option in this claim could be ignored as it is not selected by the examiner in claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 19, 26, Fu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first UCI and the second UCI satisfy any or any combination of the following conditions:
UCI comprised in the first UCI and UCI comprised in the second UCI comprise UCI that does not support multiplexing transmission; or,
the first UCI comprises hybrid automatic repeat request-ACKnowledgment (HARQ-ACK) and/or channel state information (CSI), and the second UCI comprises HARQ-ACK and/or CSI ([0145], the types of UCI may include, but are not limited to, HARQ-ACK, CSI) and/or,
in case that UCIs carried on the PUCCH have different priorities, a priority of the PUCCH is high priority or a third priority; or,
in case that UCIs carried on the PUSCH have different priorities, a priority of the PUSCH is high priority or a third priority, wherein the third priority is a priority type other than high priority and low priority; and/or,
the multiple PUSCHs are PUSCHs unable to be transmitted simultaneously with the PUCCH.
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474