DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara et al. (US 20150366086; “Kajiwara” hereinafter) in view of Matsumoto (US 20180138615; “Matsumoto” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kajiwara (figs 9A-9B) disclose a dirt-proof electric connection between a first installation area (106) and a second installation area (105, 107) of a component (figs 9A-9B), which comprising: a housing (103 including 104) having surrounding walls (walls of the case 103 including partition wall 114 and 109), a printed circuit board (91) with a first free end (111) and a second free end (112) (fig. 9A), wherein the printed circuit board connects the first installation area and the second installation area (figs. 9A-9B); at least one plug (92, 97) which is electrically connected to the printed circuit board at the first free end or at the second free end (par. [0063]), wherein conductor tracks (113) electrically conductively connect the at least one plug at the first free end and the second free end (par. [0063]); and a plastic encapsulation (101, 102; “Insulating resin members 101 and 102 are respectively formed, by transfer molding of a thermosetting resin”, par. [0062]) which seals the printed circuit board between the first free end and the second free end (par. [0065], fig. 9B, also see par. [0062] and [0064]), and rests against an inner side of the walls of the housing of the component in a first transversal direction and a second transversal direction (“Side surface portions of the board 91 protruding from the insulating resin members 101 and 102 are fitted to the groove-shaped side surface guides. The board 91 is fitted to the side surface guides and pushed until the insulating resin member 101 hits the opening 114a of the partition wall 114”, par. [0065]; also par. [0064] and fig. 9B).
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose the conductor tracks on an outer surface of the printed circuit board.
Matsumoto teaches a circuit board (11) comprising conductor track (signal pattern 12, ground patterns 13) disposed on the circuit board (11) (figs 1-2) and electrically connected to a connector (31)(par. [0043], [9944], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to have the conductor tracks disposed on an outer surface of the printed circuit board as suggested by Matsumoto because with such modification microstrip line is easier to fabricate and the impedance of the micro strip line can be easily maintained to match the impedance of the connector or plug (par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto (relied on Kajiwara, figs 9A-9B) disclose wherein the plastic encapsulation (101, 102) is designed such that the at least one plug (94, 97) remains free from the plastic encapsulation (fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 5, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Matsumoto further teaches wherein the at least one plug (31) is provided with supports (securing portions 45 and screws 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to have the connector or plug provided with supports as taught by Matsumoto because with such modification the support helps to attach the connector\plug to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 6, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto discloses wherein the supports are screws or clips or adhesives (support includes screws 49, Matsumoto).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Muronoi et al. (US 20200315027; “Muronoi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto (relied on Kajiwara, figs 9A-9B) disclose wherein an electrical connection of the at least one plugs (92, 97) are connected via connection points (94, 99) to the conductor tracks (113) on the surface of the printed circuit board (91) and the plastic encapsulation (101, 102) is formed in a longitudinal direction of the housing such that the connection points remain free of the plastic encapsulation (fig. 9A).
Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose the connection points as a soldering points.
Muronoi teaches a plug comprising an electric connection terminal (35) connected to a conductor of a PCB (2) via a soldering (Par. 0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to have the electrical connection connected via soldering points to the conductor tracks of the printed circuit board as suggested by Muronoi because such modification provides reliable electrical connection between the electrical connection/terminal and the conductor tracks of the printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Lin et al. (US 20060068638; “Lin” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the printed circuit board has at least two opposing anchor elements with which the plastic encapsulation interacts in a form-fitting manner.
Lin teaches an electronic device comprising a circuit board (11); wherein the circuit board (11) has at least two opposing anchor elements (15; fig. 1) with which a sealing cap (40) interacts in a form-fitting manner (“… enable the two fending portions 422 to respectively engage the two recesses 15 of the circuit board 15, thereby securing the sealing cap 40 and the control board 10 in position.”, par. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to incorporate two opposing anchor elements in the printed circuit board with which the plastic encapsulation or sealing element interacts in a form-fitting manner as suggested by Lin
because such modification enhances the anchoring mechanism between the plastic encapsulation or sealing element and the circuit board.
Claim(s) 7 is/re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Liskow (US 20200221591; “Liskow” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the printed circuit board is an FR4 circuit board which comprises a plurality of copper surfaces at least on the surface which has formed the conductor tracks.
Liskow teaches an electronic module comprising a printed circuit board (2); wherein the printed circuit board is an FR4 circuit board which comprises a plurality of copper surfaces at least on the surface which has formed the conductor tracks (“The printed circuit board 2 may be a conventional FR4 printed circuit board composed of glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin with copper conductor tracks which are arranged in one or more layers”, par. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to have the printed circuit board that is an FR4 circuit board which comprises a plurality of copper surfaces at least on the surface which has formed the conductor tracks as taught by Liskow because FR4 PCB provides the epoxy-glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin of FR4 offers strong dielectric properties while maintaining high electrical resistance even under high voltage, and also provides reliable, durable and thermal stable PCB.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Eguchi et al. (US 20060272150; “Eguchi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto does not explicitly disclose wherein a material of the printed circuit board has a glass transition temperature which is higher than a temperature of the plastic encapsulation during injection.
Eguchi teaches an electronic device comprising a printed circuit board (1); wherein a material of the printed circuit board has a high glass transition temperature (Tg of the circuit board 170 degree Celsius, par. [0068]) or Tg of the circuit board 150 degree Celsius or more-claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to have the circuit board made of material having higher glass transition temperature as suggested by Eguchi because with such modification the circuit board can withstand high temperature without losing it structural integrity and performance.
Regarding claim 9, Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto and Eguchi (relied on Eguchi) discloses the device as claimed in claim 8, and Eguchi further teaches wherein the material of the printed circuit board is TG 150 or higher (Tg of the circuit board 170 degree Celsius, par. [0068] or Tg of the circuit board 150 degree Celsius or more-claim 4).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Bethurum (US 5563770; “Bethurum” hereinafter) and Hernandez et al. (US 20220173513; “Hernandez).
Regarding claim 1, Kajiwara (figs 9A-9B) disclose a printed circuit board assembly, comprising: a printed circuit board (91) having a first free end (111) and a second free end (112) (fig. 9A); a first terminal (92) attached to the printed circuit board at the first free end (par. [0063]); at least one second terminal (97) attached to the printed circuit board (91) at the second free end (par. [0063]); conductor tracks (113) electrically connecting the first terminal to the at least one second terminal (par. [0063]).
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose a first plug includes the first terminal; at least a second plug includes the at least second terminal; the conductor tracks on a surface of the printed circuit board; wherein an electrical connection of each of the first plug and the at least one second plug is connected to a corresponding one of the conductor tracks via a soldering point; and wherein each of the first plug and the at least one second plug is secured to the printed circuit board via at least one support.
Bethurum teaches a first plug (12) connected to a first terminal (42) (col. 3: lines 13-50); a second plug (14) connected to a second terminal (40) (col. 3: lines 13-50); wherein the first plug and the second plug is connected to the first terminal and the second terminal via soldering (contacts 46 and 44 of the connectors or plugs 12 and 14 are soldered to the terminals 42 and 40 respectively, Col. 3 lines 19-26); and wherein each of the first plug (12) and the second plug (14) is secured to a circuit board (30) via at least one support (pegs 90 & 92 and 91 & 94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to include a first plug, and a second plug; wherein an electrical connection of each of the first plug and the at least one second plug is connected to the soldering point or terminals of the circuit board; and wherein each of the first plug and the at least one second plug is secured to the printed circuit board via at least one support as suggested by Bethurum because such modification provides connectors at both ends which makes the plugging of the circuit board assembly to another device or connector easier, and further the support mechanically secure the connectors to the circuit board and prevent an accidental separation of the connectors.
Hernandez teaches a printed circuit board (CIF) comprising conductive tracks (P1, P2) disposed on a surface of the circuit board (fig. 1a); and wherein the conductive tracks (P1, P2) connects the two terminals (E1 and E2) (fig. 1a, and par. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Bethurum to have the tracks that connect the first plug or first terminal to the second plug or second terminal disposed on a surface of the circuit board as suggested by Hernandez because surface traces on a circuit board assembly provides reliable electrical connectivity, efficient signal transmission, and ease of manufacturing and assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 10, further comprising a plastic encapsulation (101, 102; “Insulating resin members 101 and 102 are respectively formed, by transfer molding of a thermosetting resin”, par. [0062], Kajiwara) attached to the printed circuit board and surrounding the printed circuit board between the first free end and the second free end (thermosetting resin members 101 and 102 disposed between the free end of the circuit board 91 and at least partially surrounds the circuit board 91, fig. 9A-9B, Kajiwara).
Regarding claim 16, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez discloses wherein the plastic encapsulation (101, 102, Kajiwara) extends in a longitudinal direction (101 and 102 extends in two transversal direction as depicted in annotated fig. 9A above, Kajiwara) such that the plugs and the soldering points remain free from the plastic encapsulation (Kajiwara teaches the thermosetting resin does not cover the terminals 92 and 97, and Bethurum teaches the soldering points and plug disposed on the terminals. So the combination of the Kajiwara in view of Bethurum teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 17, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez discloses wherein the plastic encapsulation partially covers the conductor tracks (Hernandez teaches the conductive tracks P1, P2 disposed between the two terminals of the circuit board, and Kajiwara teaches the thermosetting resin 101, 102 disposed between the terminals 92 and 97. So the Kajiwara in view of Hernandez teaches this limitation).
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Bethurum (US 5563770; “Bethurum” hereinafter) and Hernandez as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 11, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez discloses as claimed in claim 10.
Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one support comprises a screw, a clip, or an adhesive.
Matsumoto further teaches a circuit board assembly comprising a plug (31); wherein the plug (31) is provided with supports (screws 49) comprises a screw (screws 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to have the connector or plug provided with supports comprises a screw as taught by Matsumoto because with such modification the screws helps to attach the connector\plug to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 12, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez and Matsumoto discloses wherein the at least one support comprises a screw (49, Matsumoto) extending within the plug (screws extends through the securing portions 45, fig. 1, Matsumoto) and within a base material of the printed circuit board ((screws extends through holes 23 of the circuit board 11, figs 1-2, Matsumoto).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Lin et al. (US 20060068638; “Lin” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez discloses the device as claimed in claim 10.
Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez does not explicitly disclose wherein the printed circuit board has at least two opposing anchor elements with which the plastic encapsulation interacts in a form-fitting manner.
Lin teaches an electronic device comprising a circuit board (11); wherein the circuit board (11) has at least two opposing anchor elements (15; fig. 1) formed on longitudinal sides of the printed circuit board fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez to incorporate two opposing anchor elements formed on longitudinal sides of the printed circuit board as suggested by Lin
because such modification enhances the anchoring mechanism between the circuit board and a housing.
Regarding claim 14, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez and Lin discloses wherein the anchor elements comprise notches in the longitudinal sides of the printed circuit board (anchor elements comprises notches or recesses 15 in the longitudinal sides of the printed circuit board 11, Lin, fig. 1).
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez as applied to claim 10, and in further view of Sprietsma et al. (US 6180215; “Sprietsma” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez discloses the conductive tracks (P1, P1, Hernandez, fig. 1a) on the surface of the circuit board (fig. 1a, Hernandez).
Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez does not explicitly disclose wherein the printed circuit board comprises a base material that is an FR4 circuit board, and wherein a plurality of copper surfaces are formed on the at least one surface of the printed circuit board.
Sprietsma teaches a multilayer circuit board (fig. 1-2) comprises a base material that is an FR4 circuit board (inner core 1 is made of FR4 material Col. 2: lines 56-63), and wherein a plurality of copper surfaces (5) are formed on the at least one surface of the printed circuit board (the surface of the circuit board is covered by copper foils 5 and circuit patterns 103, col. 2: lines 56- Col. 3: lines 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez to incorporate a circuit board with FR4 as a base material with copper surfaces as taught by Sprietsma because such modification provides a flame retardant circuit board with improve thermal management as copper foil helps dissipate heat from the component.
Regarding claim 19, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum, Hernandez and Sprietsma discloses wherein the plurality of copper surfaces (5, Sprietsma) extend from the first free end to the second free end of the printed circuit board (copper foils 5 of Sprietsma extends along the surfaces of the circuit board, figs 1-2 which combinedly with Hernandez teaches this limitation), and wherein the FR4 circuit board comprises a laminate made from four layers (fig. 1, Sprietsma).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez as applied to claim 15, and in further view of Eguchi et al. (US 20060272150; “Eguchi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara in view of Bethurum and Hernandez does not explicitly disclose
wherein a material of the printed circuit board has a glass transition temperature higher than a temperature of the plastic encapsulation during injection, and wherein the glass transition temperature is 150*C or higher.
Eguchi teaches an electronic device comprising a printed circuit board (1); wherein a material of the printed circuit board has a high glass transition temperature higher than a temperature of the plastic encapsulation during injection (Tg of the circuit board 170 degree Celsius, par. [0068]) or Tg of the circuit board 150 degree Celsius or more-claim 4), and wherein the glass transition temperature is 150*C or higher and wherein the glass transition temperature is 150*C or higher.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara in view of Matsumoto to have the circuit board made of material having higher glass transition temperature 150 or higher as suggested by Eguchi because with such modification the circuit board can withstand high temperature without losing it structural integrity and performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/20/2019 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks:
Applicants on page argues that- “After the foregoing Amendment, claim 1 has been amended to require, in part, "wherein conductor tracks on an outer surface of the printed circuit board electrically conductively connect the at least one plug at the first free end and the second free end." Applicant submits that none of the cited references of record, alone or in combination, teach, suggest, or disclose the limitations required by amended claim 1."
In response to argument- Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Examiner relied on newly added art Matsumoto to teach this limitation. Newly added reference Hernandez also teach this limitation (see rejection of claim 10).
Applicants on page argues that- “Claim 1 requires "a plastic encapsulation which seals the printed circuit board between the first free end and the second free end," and that the plastic encapsulation "rests against an inner side of the walls of the housing ... in a first transversal direction and a second transversal direction." As described in Applicant's specification and drawings, the "plastic encapsulation" is the molded/encapsulating plastic on the printed circuit board provided between the free ends and configured to bear internally against the housing walls in two different transverse directions (see, e.g., Applicant's Fig. 2 and the accompanying description; Fig. 5 illustrating the two transverse directions). In other words, the claim is not satisfied by a structure where only the printed circuit board is guided by housing features and/or where a separate sealing part merely contacts an opening or interface; rather, the claim affirmatively requires that the plastic encapsulation itself be the structure that rests against the inner housing walls in both transverse directions. "
In response to argument- Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Kajiwara teaches thermosetting resin members101 and 102 partially cover the circuit board 91 and spread or extend along two transverse directions as depicted in annotated fig. 9A. Further, at least a portion of the thermosetting resin members 101 and 102 rests against an inner side and/or inner side of the openings 109a and 114a of the walls 109 and 114 respectively as depicted in fig. 9B.
Further, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "plastic encapsulation" is the molded/encapsulating plastic on the printed circuit board …) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants on page argues that- “With respect to Kajiwara, the Action relies on Kajiwara's disclosure that "side surface portions of the board ... protruding from the insulating resin members ... are fitted to ... side surface guides," and that the board is pushed until an insulating resin member "hits the opening ... of the partition wall." Even accepting this description, it does not disclose the claimed configuration where the "plastic encapsulation ... rests against an inner side of the walls of the housing ... in a first transversal direction and a second transversal direction." Kajiwara's cited passage describes (at most) the printed circuit board (not the plastic encapsulation) being fitted to side guides, and a resin member reaching ("hitting") an opening that functions as a stop. A "hit" of an opening edge is not a disclosure that the plastic encapsulation rests against an inner side of the surrounding housing walls in both transverse directions as recited. Nor does the cited passage disclose that the encapsulation bears against the inner housing walls in two transverse directions. Instead, it attributes the guiding/fit to "side surface portions of the board," which is materially different from the claim requirement that the plastic encapsulation itself rests against the inner side of the housing walls in both transverse directions. Accordingly, Kajiwara fails to disclose at least the "rests against an inner side ... in a first transversal direction and a second transversal direction" limitation required by claim 1."
In response to argument- Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Kajiwara teaches thermosetting resin members101 and 102 partially cover the circuit board 91 and spread or extend along two transverse directions as depicted in annotated fig. 9A. Further, at least a portion of the thermosetting resin members 101 and 102 rests against an inner side and/or inner side of the openings 109a and 114a of the walls 109 and 114 respectively as depicted in fig. 9B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
Chi (US 20080227306) teaches a power board (20) covered by a plastic encapsulation (40) (fig. 6).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841