DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites, “the supports” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites, “TG” in line 2. It is recommended to replace TG with “glass transition temperature” or “glass transition temperature (TG)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajiwara et al. (US 20150366086; “Kajiwara” hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Kajiwara (figs 9A-9B) disclose a dirt-proof electric connection between a first installation area(106) and a second installation area (105, 107) of a component (figs 9A-9B), which comprising: a housing (103 including 104) having surrounding walls (walls of the case 103 including partition wall 114 and 109), a printed circuit board (91) with a first free end (111) and a second free end (112) (fig. 9A), wherein the printed circuit board connects the first installation area and the second installation area (figs. 9A-9B); at least one plug (92, 97) which is electrically connected to the printed circuit board at the first free end or at the second free end (par. [0063]), wherein conductor tracks (113) on a surface of the printed circuit board electrically conductively connect the at least one plug at the first free end and the second free end; and a plastic encapsulation (101, 102; “Insulating resin members 101 and 102 are respectively formed, by transfer molding of a thermosetting resin”, par. [0062]) which seals the printed circuit board between the first free end and the second free end (par. [0065], fig. 9B, also see par. [0062] and [0064]), and rests against an inner side of the walls of the housing of the component in a first transversal direction and a second transversal direction (“Side surface portions of the board 91 protruding from the insulating resin members 101 and 102 are fitted to the groove-shaped side surface guides. The board 91 is fitted to the side surface guides and pushed until the insulating resin member 101 hits the opening 114a of the partition wall 114”, par. [0065]; also par. [0064] and fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 2, Kajiwara (figs 9A-9B) disclose wherein the plastic encapsulation (101, 102) is designed such that the at least one plug (94, 97) remains free from the plastic encapsulation (fig. 9B).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hurd (US 20200063884; “Hur” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Hurd discloses a dirt-proof electric connection between a first installation area (120) and a second installation area (130) of a component (fig. 1), which comprising: a housing having surrounding walls (walls of the valve controller 100 including wall 124), a printed circuit board (112; “The electrical coupling 112 may comprise a printed wiring board (PWB)”, par. [0072]) with a first free end (150) and a second free end (151), wherein the printed circuit board connects the first installation area and the second installation area (fig. 1); at least one plug (149 that lies in the chamber 120, fig. 1) which is electrically connected to the printed circuit board at the first free end or at the second free end (fig. 1), wherein conductor tracks on a surface of the printed circuit board electrically conductively connect the at least one plug at the first free end and the second free end (“The seal washer assembly 110 acts as a conduit between the main housing 106 and the terminal box 108 and is used to allow communication, via an electrical coupling 112, between a component 114 associated with the main housing 106 and a component 116 associated with the terminal box 108”, par. [0066]); and a plastic encapsulation (110 that includes 134 and 136; “the flange 136 may comprise plastic”, par. [0069]) which seals the printed circuit board between the first free end and the second free end (fig. 1; par. [0071]), and rests against an inner side of the walls (124) of the housing of the component in a first transversal direction and a second transversal direction (fig. 1; par. [0074]- [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Hurd discloses disclose wherein the plastic encapsulation (110) is designed such that the at least one plug (149) remains free from the plastic encapsulation (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Muronoi et al. (US 20200315027; “Muronoi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Kajiwara (figs 9A-9B) disclose wherein an electrical connection of the at least one plugs (92, 97) are connected via connection points (94, 99) to the conductor tracks (113) on the surface of the printed circuit board (91) and the plastic encapsulation (101, 102) is formed in a longitudinal direction of the housing such that the connection points remain free of the plastic encapsulation (fig. 9A).
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose the connection points as a soldering points.
Muronoi teaches a plug comprising an electric connection terminal (35) connected to a conductor of a PCB (2) via a soldering (Par. 0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to have the electrical connection connected via soldering points to the conductor tracks of the printed circuit board as suggested by Muronoi because such modification provides reliable electrical connection between the electrical connection/terminal and the conductor tracks of the printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Lin et al. (US 20060068638; “Lin” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Kajiwara disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose wherein the printed circuit board has at least two opposing anchor elements with which the plastic encapsulation interacts in a form-fitting manner.
Lin teaches an electronic device comprising a circuit board (11); wherein the circuit board (11) has at least two opposing anchor elements (15; fig. 1) with which a sealing cap (40) interacts in a form-fitting manner (“… enable the two fending portions 422 to respectively engage the two recesses 15 of the circuit board 15, thereby securing the sealing cap 40 and the control board 10 in position.”, par. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to incorporate two opposing anchor elements in the printed circuit board with which the plastic encapsulation or sealing element interacts in a form-fitting manner as suggested by Lin
because such modification enhances the anchoring mechanism between the plastic encapsulation or sealing element and the circuit board.
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Ohara et al. (US 20230122791; “Ohara” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Kajiwara disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one plug is provided with supports.
Ohara teaches an electronic device comprising a connector (30) provided with supports (screws 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to have the connector or plug provided with supports as taught by Ohara because with such modification the support helps to attach the connector\plug to the circuit board.
Regarding claim 6, Kajiwara disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose wherein the supports are screws or clips or adhesives.
Ohara teaches an electronic device comprising a connector (30) provided with supports (screws 50); wherein the supports are screws or clips or adhesives (“screws 50”, par. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to have the connector or plug provided with screws as supports as taught by Ohara because with such modification screws provide securing means to attach the connector\plug to the circuit board.
Claim(s) 7 is/re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Liskow (US 20200221591; “Liskow” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Kajiwara disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose wherein the printed circuit board is an FR4 circuit board which comprises a plurality of copper surfaces at least on the surface which has formed the conductor tracks.
Liskow teaches an electronic module comprising a printed circuit board (2); wherein the printed circuit board is an FR4 circuit board which comprises a plurality of copper surfaces at least on the surface which has formed the conductor tracks (“The printed circuit board 2 may be a conventional FR4 printed circuit board composed of glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin with copper conductor tracks which are arranged in one or more layers”, par. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to have the printed circuit board that is an FR4 circuit board which comprises a plurality of copper surfaces at least on the surface which has formed the conductor tracks as taught by Liskow because FR4 PCB provides the epoxy-glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin of FR4 offers strong dielectric properties while maintaining high electrical resistance even under high voltage, and also provides reliable, durable and thermal stable PCB.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiwara in view of Eguchi et al. (US 20060272150; “Eguchi” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Kajiwara disclose the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kajiwara does not explicitly disclose wherein a material of the printed circuit board has a glass transition temperature which is higher than a temperature of the plastic encapsulation during injection.
Eguchi teaches an electronic device comprising a printed circuit board (1); wherein a material of the printed circuit board has a high glass transition temperature (Tg of the circuit board 170 degree Celsius, par. [0068]) or Tg of the circuit board 150 degree Celsius or more-claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiwara to have the circuit board made of material having higher glass transition temperature as suggested by Eguchi because with such modification the circuit board can withstand high temperature without losing it structural integrity and performance.
Regarding claim 9, Kajiwara in view of Eguchi discloses the device as claimed in claim 8, and Eguchi further teaches wherein the material of the printed circuit board is TG 150 or higher (Tg of the circuit board 170 degree Celsius, par. [0068]) or Tg of the circuit board 150 degree Celsius or more-claim 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841