DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 20220377626 A1, hereinafter Kim in view of Yan et al. US 20250097797 A1, hereinafter Yan.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a user equipment, the method comprising:
(Kim: Summary, Fig. 1, Fig. 10, Fig. 11 and para. [0083] The first device 210 may include at least one or more processors, such as a processor 211, at least one memory, such as a memory 212, and at least one transceiver, such as a transceiver 213. The memory 212 is connected to the processor 211 and may store various types of information and/or instructions)
executing a reconfiguration with sync for a primary secondary cell group cell
(Kim: para. [0213-0216] perform reconfiguration with sync may include, but is not limited to, the following cases: Reconfiguration with sync and security key refresh, involving random access (RA) to the PCell/PSCell, MAC reset, refresh of security and re-establishment of RLC and PDCP triggered by explicit L2 indicators)
(PSCell) of a secondary cell group
(Kim: para. Para. [0126 & 0148 & 0221] the PSCell of the secondary cell group (SCG). SCG is the subset of serving cells associated with a secondary node, comprising of the PSCell and zero or more SCells, for a UE configured with dual connectivity (DC))
upon receiving an radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message including an information element reconfigurationwithsync for the PSCell,
(Kim: para. [0212 & 0162] Fig. 10 and Fig. 11, in step S1101, a network may transmit a RRC reconfiguration message to a UE. In step S1103, if the RRC reconfiguration is successful, the UE may transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message to the network, as a response to the RRC reconfiguration message. Para. [0213-0216 & 0207] perform reconfiguration with sync may include, but is not limited to, the following cases: Reconfiguration with sync and security key refresh, involving random access (RA) to the PCell/PSCell, MAC reset, refresh of security and re-establishment of RLC and PDCP triggered by explicit L2 indicators)
successfully completing a random access procedure (Kim: para. [0165] and Fig. 10 step S1017, the UE may perform a random access to the selected target cell (e.g., target cell 1). For example, the UE may transmit a random access preamble to the target cell 1, and receive a random access response comprising an uplink grant from the target cell 1. If RACH-less mobility is configured, the step S1017 may be omitted, and the uplink grant may be provided in step S1013) triggered for the reconfiguration with sync for the PSCell,
(Kim: para. [0164 & 0162-0163] and Fig. 10 step S1015, the UE may perform an evaluation of the mobility condition (from step s1013 – corresponds to claim limitation “triggered for the reconfiguration with Sync for the PSCell”) for the candidate target cells (e.g., target cell 1, target cell 2) and select a target cell for a mobility among the candidate target cells. For example, the UE may perform measurements on the candidate target cells, and determine whether a candidate target cell satisfies a mobility condition for the candidate target cell among the candidate target cells based on a result of the measurements on the candidate target cells. If the UE identifies that the target cell 1 satisfies a mobility condition for the target cell 1, the UE may select the target cell 1 as a target cell for the mobility)
a successful PSCell change report information in a UE variable, wherein the successful PSCell change report information (Kim: para. [0166] and Fig. 10 In step S1019, the UE may transmit a mobility complete message to the target cell 1. When the UE has successfully accessed the target cell 1 (or, received uplink grant when RACH-less mobility is configured), the UE may transmit a mobility complete message comprising a C-RNTI to confirm the mobility, along with uplink buffer status report, whenever possible, to the target cell 1 to indicate that the mobility procedure is completed for the UE. The target cell 1 may verify the C-RNTI transmitted in the mobility complete message. Para. [0161] mobility request ACK message may comprise information on resources reserved and prepared for a mobility. For example, the mobility request ACK message may comprise a transparent container to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the mobility. The container may include a new C-RNTI, target gNB security algorithm identifiers for the selected security algorithms, a dedicated RACH preamble, and/or possibly some other parameters i.e. access parameters, SIBs)
primary cell (PCell) on a master cell group information. (Kim: Para. [0048] ‘Mobility’ refers to a procedure for i) changing a PCell of a UE (i.e., handover or PCell change), ii) changing a PSCell of a UE (i.e., SN change or PSCell change), and/or iii) adding a PSCell for a UE (i.e., SN addition or PSCell addition). Therefore, the mobility may comprise at least one of a handover, an SN change or an SN addition. In other words, the mobility may comprise at least one of PCell change, PSCell change or PSCell addition. Para. [0126] PCell of the master cell group (MCG))
It is noted that Kim does not explicitly disclose: storing a successful PSCell change report information in a UE variable, wherein the successful PSCell change report information includes primary cell (PCell) on a master cell group information.
However, Yan from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: storing a successful PSCell change report information in a UE variable, (Yan: Para. [0318-0358] UE would store/record/generate related information for successful PSCell change report) wherein the successful PSCell change report information includes primary cell (PCell) on a master cell group information. (Yan: Para. [0318-0358] UE would store/record/generate related information for successful PSCell change report. Para. [0422-0437 & 0062-0077 & 0100] and claim 18 successful PSCell change report may include at least one of the following: 10) a RSSI of the source PCell; 13) a channel occupancy of the source PCell). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yan in the method of Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to successful PSCell change report is transmitted to the network, to improve the MRO for PSCell change or CPAC in NR-U (Yan: para. [0301 & 0004]). In addition, successful PSCell change report considering unlicensed spectrum is needed, thus the network can further optimize the NR-U related configuration(s) (Yan: para. [0130-0132 & 0280-0300]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Yan teach a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor (Kim: Summary, Fig. 1, Fig. 10, Fig. 11 and para. [0083] The first device 210 may include at least one or more processors, such as a processor 211, at least one memory, such as a memory 212, and at least one transceiver, such as a transceiver 213. The memory 212 is connected to the processor 211 and may store various types of information and/or instructions) and Kim and Yan teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 9 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Yan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. US 20240430967 A1 (Choi: para. [0001] with National Stage filing under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Application No. PCT/KR2023/000389, filed on Jan. 9, 2023), hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Yan teaches the UE according to claim 9, Kim and Yan do not explicitly teach: wherein the PCell information is a global cell identity and tracking area code of the PCell.
However, Choi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the PCell information is a global cell identity and tracking area code of the PCell. (Choi: [0260 & 0364-0367] 2> include nrPreviousCell in previousPCellId and set it to the global cell identity and tracking area code of the PCell where the last RRCReconfiguration message including reconfigurationWithSync was received. PCell information is associated with the updated (successful) PSCell change para. [0124-0126 & 0134], and para. [0149] stored (or reported)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Choi in the method of Kim and Yan. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to NW can collect data from UEs for SON without data loss, which results in mobility robustness optimization (MRO) and/or mobility load balancing (MLB) enhancements (Choi: [0012]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to applicant’s remarks on claim 10 on pages 6-7, applicant submits:
“Therefore, the process described in the cited paragraph [0260] is related to a handover failure procedure for the PCell, and is premised on a "sync failure." As such, the process described in the cited paragraph [0260] is completely different from the configuration recited in the independent claims of the present application.
That is, the process described in the cited paragraph [0260] is carried out under a situation that is the exact opposite of the premise of amended claim 10, namely, "successfully complete a random access procedure triggered for the reconfiguration with sync for the PSCeII," as recited in amended claim 9.” (Remarks: page 7)
According to instant application published Specification paragraphs [0039-0042 & 0032] and Fig. 1 steps 101 and 102 teaches
“PCell refers to a primary cell associated before the UE performs reconfiguration with sync for the PSCell upon receiving a PSCell change command. Preferably, the PCell information is a cell identity corresponding to the PCell, e.g., one or more of a physical cell identity (PCI), an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN), a global cell identity (GCI), and a tracking area code (TAC). Alternatively, the PCell information further includes a measurement result of the PCell, i.e., information for representing downlink signal quality of the PCell. Optionally, the measurement result is a latest measurement result acquired before the UE performs reconfiguration with sync for the PSCell upon receiving a PSCell change command.” (para. [0041])
The recording of the SPCR includes PCell information of primary cell associated before (or previous PCell) the UE performs reconfiguration with sync for the PSCell, with regards to PSCell change (handover, Spec. para. [0032-0033]), where updated PSCell is stored (or reported). The PCell (previous PCell) information is associated with the updated PSCell stored in the recording of the SPCR.
Yan in para. [0301] teaches UE may generate (log, determine, or store) a successful PSCell change report when at least one triggering condition of the one or more triggering conditions is fulfilled. Then the successful PSCell change report is transmitted to the network, to improve the MRO for PSCell change or CPAC in NR-U. In addition, Yan in paragraphs [0422-0437 & 0062-0077 & 0100] and claim 18 teaches successful PSCell change report associated PCell information with updated PSCell change.
Similarly, Choi teaches in paragraph [0149 & 0379] that UE stores mobility information -
“Upon successful completion of the conditional mobility to the target cell (i.e., upon successful completion of the random access procedure to the target cell and/or upon transmitting the mobility complete message to the target cell), the UE may stop the T304 timer. On the other hand, when the T304 timer is not stopped and expires, the UE may detect a mobility failure/conditional mobility failure, store failure information related to the conditional mobility failure (i.e., conditional mobility failure information or mobility failure information) in a failure report (i.e., VarRLF-report or RLF-report in VarRLF-report).” (Choi: para. [0149])
Choi in the cited paragraphs [0260 & 0364-0367] teaches include nrPreviousCell in previousPCellId and set it to the global cell identity and tracking area code of the PCell where the last RRCReconfiguration message including reconfigurationWithSync was received (within the VarRLF-Report, Choi: para. [0217]).
Choi teaches global cell identity and tracking area code of the PCell is associated with the updated (successful) PSCell change (Choi: para. [0124-0126 & 0134]) and stored (or reported), Choi: para. [0149]. Therefore, Choi teaches the claimed limitation “PCell information is a global cell identity and tracking area code of the PCell”, and thus rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Pertinent to claim 10 - WO 2021242167 A1 teaches include the previousPCellld and set it to the global cell identity and the tracking area code of the PCell where the last RRCReconfiguration message including reconfigurationWithSync was received.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418