DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application on 7/12/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality:
In claim 4 line 2, “second plate assemble” should be changed to --second plate assembly--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “it” in line 1, which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what structure “it” refers to.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “it” in line 1, which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what structure “it” refers to.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “it” in line 1, which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what structure “it” refers to.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “it” in line 1, which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what structure “it” refers to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “it” in line 1, which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what structure “it” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2014/0100089 (Kermath et al., hereinafter “Kermath”).
Regarding claim 1, Kermath discloses a fitness device 150 comprising a frame 152 (see annotated FIG. 5 below), a sliding rod group (sliding rod group includes dual tracks 154a,154b and the rod interposed therebetween, see annotated FIG. 5 below), a translation plate 156,158a,158b (see annotated FIG. 5 below), a foot rod and a handle rod (see annotated FIG. 5 below), wherein two ends of the sliding rod group are respectively fixed on the frame (see annotated FIG. 5 below); the translation plate is movably arranged on the sliding rod group and moves on the sliding rod group (see annotated FIG. 5 below); two ends of the handle rod are fixedly connected to the frame (see annotated FIG. 5 below); two ends of the foot rod are movably connected to the frame and move back and forth on the frame (see annotated FIG. 5 below).
Regarding claim 2, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the translation plate 156 includes a first plate assembly 158a and a second plate assembly 158b, the first plate assembly and the second plate assembly are arranged on the sliding rod group side by side, and the first plate assembly and the second plate assembly slidably fit with the sliding rod group (see annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 3, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein it further includes a blocking bar detachably disposed on the first plate assembly and/or the second plate assembly (see annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein it further includes a connector (204) that connects the first plate assembly with the second plate assembly, so as to make the first plate assembly and the second plate assembly move synchronously (see annotated FIGS. 12A-12C below, para 0048).
Regarding claim 7, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 6, and further discloses wherein a second insertion hole is set on the first plate assembly and the second plate assembly (see annotated FIGS. 12A-12C above), respectively, designed to be a waist-shaped hole on one and a circular hole on the other (see annotated FIGS. 12A-12C above); two second insertion rods are disposed on the connector, and inserted into and fit with the second insertion holes on the first plate assembly and the second plate assembly, respectively (see annotated FIGS. 12A-12C above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kermath in view of US 6,371,895 (Endelman et al., hereinafter “Endelman”).
Regarding claim 4, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 3, but Kermath does not disclose wherein a first insertion hole is arranged on the first plate assembly and/or the second plate assembl[y], and the blocking bar is provided with a first insertion rod, which is inserted into and fits with the first insertion hole.
Endelman teaches an analogous fitness device 500 having a first insertion hole 334 arranged on a plate assembly 46 (see annotated FIGS. 14 and 17 below), and a blocking bar 50L,R provided with a first insertion rod 330, which is inserted into and fits with the first insertion hole 334 (see annotated FIGS. 14 and 17 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kermath’s invention with the blocking bar attachment means as taught by Endelman in order to provide the ability to remove and store the blocking bars when the fitness device is not in use (Endelman: Col 11:11-13).
Regarding claim 9, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 2, but Kermath does not disclose wherein it further includes a first draw spring, and the frame, the first plate assembly and the second plate assembly are respectively provided with a positioning stake; two ends of the first draw spring are respectively hooked on the frame and the first plate assembly, or on the frame and the second plate assembly.
Endelman teaches an analogous fitness device 500 having a first draw spring 24, and the frame 16 and a plate assembly are respectively provided with a positioning stake 62,64 (FIG. 2); two ends of the first draw spring 24 are respectively hooked on the frame 16 and the plate assembly (FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kermath’s invention with the draw spring and stakes as taught by Endelman in order to provide an alternative means for resisting motion between the plate assemblies and the frame.
Regarding claims 14-15, Kermath teaches the fitness device according to claim 1, but Kermath does not disclose wherein a moving guiding rail is arranged on an outer side of the frame, and the foot rod is provided with an adjusting block, which slidably fits with the moving guiding rail (as in claim 14); wherein the foot rod is pivotally connected with the adjusting block, which is fan-shaped, and of which the arc edge is provided with a plurality of adjusting holes; the foot rod is also provided with a latch and an adjusting handle used to control the latch, and the latch is inserted into and fits with the adjusting holes (as in claim 15).
Endelman teaches an analogous fitness device 500 having a moving guiding rail 18 is arranged on an outer side of the frame (see FIG. 3 below), and a foot rod 26 is provided with an adjusting block, which slidably fits with the moving guiding rail 18 (anchor bar 162 of the foot bar assembly 26 slides along in the T slot 110 until reaching a desired position along the rail member 18 - Col 8:16-19, see FIG. 3 below); wherein the foot rod 26 is pivotally connected with the adjusting block 164, which is fan-shaped, and of which the arc edge is provided with a plurality of adjusting holes 170 (see FIG. 22 below); the foot rod 26 is also provided with a latch 400 and an adjusting handle 402 used to control the latch, and the latch 400 is inserted into and fits with the adjusting holes 170 (see FIG. 22 below, Col 13:17-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kermath’s invention with the adjustable footbar assembly as taught by Endelman in order to provide the ability to adjust the foot bar to a plurality of different heights and longitudinal positions (Endelman: Col 8:20-28).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kermath in view of US 7,967,736 (D’Silva et al., hereinafter “D’Silva”).
Regarding claims 10-13, Kermath teaches the fitness device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein it further includes a cross bar and a draw rod, the cross bar is disposed on the handle rod, and the draw rod and the cross bar are pivotally connected with each other (as in claim 10); wherein one end of the cross bar is provided with a first adjusting tube, which slidably fits with the handle rod, and is locked by means of an adjusting screw bolt (as in claim 11); wherein at least one adjustable hanging piece is arranged on the handle rod, and the adjustable hanging piece includes a second adjusting tube and at least one first hanging ring arranged on the second adjusting tube, which is locked through an adjusting screw bolt (as in claim 12); wherein it further includes a second draw spring, and at least one second hanging ring is arranged on the draw rod; hooks at both ends of the second draw spring are hooked on the first hanging ring and the second hanging ring, respectively.
D'Silva teaches an analogous fitness device 10 (see FIG. 1 below) including a cross bar 41 and a draw rod 42 (see annotated FIG. 2 below), the cross bar 41 is disposed on the handle rod 15, and the draw rod 42 and the cross bar 41 are pivotally connected with each other (see annotated FIG. 2 below); wherein one end of the cross bar 41 is provided with a first adjusting tube (see annotated FIG. 2 below), which slidably fits with the handle rod 15, and is locked by means of an adjusting screw bolt (see annotated FIG. 2 below); wherein at least one adjustable hanging piece is arranged on the handle rod, and the adjustable hanging piece 45 includes a second adjusting tube and at least one first hanging ring arranged on the second adjusting tube, which is locked through an adjusting screw bolt (see annotated FIG. 1 below); wherein it further includes a second draw spring 44, and at least one second hanging ring is arranged on the draw rod 42 (see annotated FIGS. 1 and 2 below); hooks at both ends of the second draw spring 44 are hooked on the first hanging ring and the second hanging ring, respectively (see annotated FIG. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kermath’s invention with the trapeze bar and uprights as taught by D’Silva in order to provide a wider range of muscle exercises for the user of the fitness device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Joshua Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784