DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hao (CN 112258700) in view of Conner et al. (CN 112567434).
As per claim 1, Hao discloses disclose a smart doorbell (100, figure 2) communicatively connectable to at least one device (display device 104, figure 3), the
smart doorbell comprising:
a processor (processing module, 102, figure 3);
a call button (doorbell key 1011, figure 1) configured to output a first signal when
the call button is actuated by a user; and
a temperature sensor (temperature collecting component 1012, figure 3)
positioned with respect to the call button such that when the call button is actuated by a
user, the temperature sensor is capable of taking temperature measurements on a part
of a touch body acting on the doorbell key;
wherein in response to the call button being actuated by a user, the processor is
configured to:
receive the first signal from the call button;
command the temperature sensor to measure a temperature of a part of
the user's wrist;
compare the temperature measured by the temperature sensor to a
predefined threshold temperature; output a second signal according to the
comparison between the temperature measured by the temperature sensor and
the predefined threshold; and
transmit the first signal and the second signal to at least one device (104), see entire document.
Hao discloses the instant claimed invention except for the smart doorbell communicatively connectable to at least one remote device via a network. Conner et al.
disclose a smart doorbell (100, figure 1) communicatively connectable to at least one
remote device via a wireless interface (125, figure 3), the smart doorbell comprising:
a processor (processing system, 120, figure 1);
a call button (150, figure 2) configured to output a first signal when the call button
is actuated by a user; and
a temperature sensor (130, figure 1) positioned with respect to the call button
such that when the call button is actuated by a user, the temperature sensor is capable
of taking temperature measurements on a part of a battery (110) of the doorbell;
the processor is configured to receive the first signal from the temperature sensor to
measure a temperature of the battery; compare the temperature measured by the
temperature sensor to a predefined threshold temperature; output a second signal
according to the comparison between the temperature measured by the temperature
sensor and the predefined threshold; and transmit the first signal and the second signal
to at least one remote device via the network (see entire document). Therefore, it would
have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person
having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the wireless interface as taught by Conner et al.
in a system as disclosed by Hao for the purpose of wirelessly communicating the
doorbell condition to the remote user.
As per claim 2, Hao wherein the second signal comprises information about the
user's temperature measured by the temperature sensor being higher than the predefined threshold temperature (see entire document).
As per claim 3, Conner et al. disclose the second signal comprises an
authorization message permitting entrance of the user if the temperature is below or
equal to the predefined threshold temperature (figure 6).
As per claim 4, Hao discloses the instant claimed invention except for the call
button and the temperature sensor being separated by a distance of between 5
centimeters and 25 centimeters. Conner et al. disclose the call button (150) and the
temperature sensor (130) being separated by a distance (as shown in figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to recognize both sensors has to
be separate by a desired distance in order for the sensor to enable to sense the
temperature of user's wrist while the user try to press the doorbell button.
As per claim 5, Hao disclose the instant claimed invention except for the call
button is positioned in the upper part of the doorbell and the temperature sensor is
positioned in the lower part of the doorbell. Conner et al. disclose the doorbell (201)
includes a camera (204) location on the top portion of the doorbell and a push-button
(206) located at a bottom portion of the doorbell (figure 2B). Therefore, it would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to utilize the arrangement as taught by Conner et al. in a system
as disclosed by Hao for the purpose of arranging the doorbell button at a top portion of
the doorbell and the temperature sensor at the bottom portion of the doorbell to enable
the temperature capable to sense the temperature of a part of the user's wrist.
As per claim 6, Hao discloses the second signal comprises information about the
user's temperature measured by the temperature sensor being outside of a predefined
range of temperatures.
As per claim 7, refer to claim 6 above.
As per claim 8, Conner et al. disclose the doorbell is configured to receive
transmissions from the remote device.
As per claim 9, Conner et al. disclose the doorbell being configured to grant
access to a user based on the transmission received user input from the remote device
(666, figure 6).
As per claims 10-15, The method claims 10-15 are essentially the same in scope
as system claims 1-9 above and are rejected similarly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 07, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hao does not disclose a call button as the triggering mechanism for temperature measurement. Examiner does not agree. Hao discloses the doorbell module (101) comprising a doorbell key (call button, 1011) and the temperature collecting component (temperature sensor, 1012) integrated on the doorbell button (1011), wherein the temperature sensor configured to sense the temperature of the touch body acting on the doorbell button to obtain the temperature information (see description of figure 1). Therefore, Hao reference read on the invention’s claims.
Applicant argues that Hao does not teach a temperature sensor positioned specifically with the respect to a call button. Examiner does not agree. As mentioned above, Hao clearly discloses the doorbell module (101) comprising a doorbell key (call button, 1011) and the temperature collecting component (temperature sensor, 1012) integrated on the call button (1011), wherein the temperature sensor configured to sense the temperature of the touch body acting on the doorbell button to obtain the temperature information (see description of figure 1). Therefore, Hao reference read on the invention’s claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 January 28, 2026