Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 7 and its dependents are objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant sometime recites “the element for the abrasion protection” and other times just “the element”. Examiner requests a consistency in the claims with respect to this element. Either keep future references to the element as “the element” or always recite “the element for the abrasion protection”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing(s) under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). While Examiner can view the drawings as part of WO2023/135276, Examiner requests for drawings to be separately filed for this application as no such filing appears to exist in the file wrapper.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “slot” and “outer sheath” mentioned in claims 7 and 11, respectively, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the axial direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 and its dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “particularly in a twist-proof manner” in line 4. This preference appears optional which makes the claim indefinite because of the uncertainty of whether this claim limitation must be followed or not. For purposes of this examination, Examiner will ignore this limitation but Examiner requests clarification.
Claim 9 recites “two fastening hooks” in line 1. Are these two new hooks? Or do they relate to the “at least one fastening hook” mentioned in claim 1. Examiner requests clarification and language that more clearly reflects their relationship.
Claim 11 recites “preferably over the totality of the length of the element”. This preference appears optional which makes the claim indefinite because of the uncertainty of whether this claim limitation must be followed or not. For purposes of this examination, Examiner will ignore this limitation but Examiner requests clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPS5628109U (‘109).
Claim 7: ‘109 discloses an arrangement with an element (4) for an abrasion protection with at least one fastening hook (4b) for a cable (Figs. 1-2), wherein the element (4) can be fixed on an outer sheath (2) of the cable (Figs. 1-2), wherein the element for the abrasion protection (4) and the at least one fastening hook (4b) are designed in one piece (Fig. 2) and the abrasion protection can be engaged by hand (Fig. 2), particularly in a twist-proof manner, in suitable bores (Fig. 2, note F1).
Claim 8: ‘109 further discloses that the arrangement is designed as a one-piece injection-molded element made of plastic (see English Machine Translation of JPS6115538Y2, noting mention “synthetic resin” used for element 4 which can be made by way of “injection molding” on page 1).
Claim 9: ‘109 further discloses that two fastening hooks (Fig. 2, note the two prongs provided adjacent to each other on 4b in Fig. 2) are provided adjacent to one another in the axial direction on the element for the abrasion protection (Fig. 2).
Claim 10: ‘109 further discloses that the element for the abrasion protection is of elongate cylindrical design with an axially inwardly extending through-opening (Fig. 2).
Claim 11: ‘109 further discloses that the element has a slot extending axially over a partial length (Fig. 2, note circumferential slot/recess provided upon 4a along its length and depicted as a smaller diameter size as compared to the larger diameter end flanges).
Claim 12: ‘109 further discloses that the arrangement is arranged immovably on the outer sheath of the cable in a plastic injection molding process (see page 2).
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746