DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the claims filed on: 07/12/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending for Examination.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on: 07/12/2024 is determined to be compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation – Alternative Claim Language
The claims of the instant application are given their Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification, as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, the BRI of an alternative claim limitation or term can be determined to be the least-limiting interpretation, consistent with the specification. In this context, the term “or” by plain meaning can be interpreted to alternatively be: one or the other (i.e., A or B), but not both (i.e., not A and B). The term “and/or” by plain meaning can be interpreted to be: “and” or alternatively “or,” but not both, as this would not make sense. In this context, the forward-slash “/” is equivalent to the alternative “or.” Likewise, the alternative terms “at least one of,” “one or more of,” and the like, followed by multiple alternative claim limitations can be reasonably interpreted to be only “one of” a group of alternative claim limitations.
Prior art disclosing any one of multiple alternative claim limitations discloses matter within the scope of the claimed invention. "When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art." Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (claim to a system for setting a computer clock to an offset time to address the Year 2000 (Y2K) problem, applicable to records with year date data in "at least one of two-digit, three-digit, or four-digit" representations, was held anticipated by a system that offsets year dates in only two-digit formats). See MPEP 2131.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. 2023/0209519 A1, Li, in view of US PG Pub. 2022/0014329 A1, Qi.
With Respect to claim 1, Li teaches:
A method of transmitting a radio frequency sensing signal from a communications transceiver (paras. [0003]-[0004], [0034], and [0042]-[0044]; and Figs. 1-2 —a BS can transmit, and a UE can receive an RF “sensing signal,” such as positioning reference signal (PRS) in the DL —in the UL, an RF sensing signal may be transmitted as a sounding reference signal (SRS), which may also be used for positioning/sensing), comprising:
transmitting, with the communications transceiver, a first radio frequency signal utilizing a first bandwidth at a first transmit power level (paras. [0034]-[0035]; S110 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit a data communication information on a first BWP of a joint communication, i.e., on BWP#0 depicted in Fig. 4A, where the data communication of the first BWP has a Tx power level required for transmission at the corresponding BW);
transmitting, with the communications transceiver, a second radio frequency signal utilizing a second bandwidth at a second transmit power level, wherein the second bandwidth is larger than the first bandwidth (paras. [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0047], [0053], and [0062]-[0063]; S120 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit a second BWP having positioning-purpose reference signal (PRS) information, i.e., on BWP#2 depicted in Fig. 4A, where the second BW of the second BWP is larger than the BW of the first BWP, i.e., BWP#0 w/data communications, and where the PRS communication of the second BWP has a Tx power level required for transmission at the corresponding BW —the second BWP can contain the first BWP, such that the first BWP may be a subset BW of the second BWP, as depicted in Fig. 4A); and
transmitting, with the communications transceiver, one or more radio frequency sensing signals utilizing the second bandwidth and the second transmit power level (paras. [0034], [0036], [0047], [0053], and [0062]-[0063]; S120 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit a PRS signal(s) using a second BWP, i.e., on BWP#2 depicted in Fig. 4, and where the PRS communication of the second BWP has a Tx power level required for transmission at the corresponding BW —the second BWP can contain the first BWP, such that the first BWP is a subset BW of the second BWP, as depicted in Fig. 4A —the Examiner interprets a PRS signal to corresponds to both an RF sensing signal and a second radio frequency signal by definition, as the signals have the same BW and Tx power, and within a single slot multiple, continuous symbols can be comprise the PRS, i.e., slots 2, 4, 6 and 12) .
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
that the second transmit power level is greater than the first transmit power level.
Qi does teach:
that a second transmit power level (of a sensing signal transmission) is greater than the first transmit power level (of a data transmission) (paras. [0022], [0084], and [0091] —a PRS sensing signal can be transmitted at a higher power level than that of a corresponding data signal by design, and PRS and data transmission can also be separated by BWP).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s larger BW PRS BWP and smaller BW data BWP joint transmission, to include transmitting the PRS BWP at a higher Tx power than the data BWP, as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to recognize wider/larger BW transmissions (i.e., a PRS BWP Tx at 100MHz) generally consume more power than narrower/smaller BW transmissions (i.e., a data BWP Tx at 20MHz), as recognized by Qi (paras. [0022] and [0084] —the Examiner notes that this rationale is similarly applied by the EPO ISA in the WO of corresponding PCT patent application (2106036WO), provided w/Applicant’s IDS of 07/12/2024).
With respect to claim 2, Li in view of Qi teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein the second radio frequency signal comprises one or more symbols in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot (Li: paras. [0003], [0024], and [0030] —5G NR (Release 16) employs OFDM, and corresponding PRS transmissions can be sent per slot, where consecutive slot symbols may be: 2, 4, 6 and 12, and can each be occupied by the PRS).
With respect to claim 3, Li in view of Qi teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the one or more radio frequency sensing signals comprises one or more subsequent symbols in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot (Li: paras. [0003], [0024], and [0030] —5G NR (R16) employs OFDM, and corresponding PRS transmissions, i.e., a sensing signal, can be sent per slot, where consecutive slot symbols: 2, 4, 6 and 12, can each be occupied by the PRS —the Examiner notes that consecutive symbols 4, 6, and 12, each are subsequent to symbol 2, and so on).
With respect to claim 4, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals have similar frequency domain resource allocations.
Qi does teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals have similar frequency domain resource allocations (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070]—the cyclic prefix (CP) portion of a PRS transmission is interpreted to be equivalent to a second radio frequency signal, and the CP symbol(s) share an OFDM slot with the PRS, which are transmitted within the same BW/BWP, i.e., the same frequency domain resource allocation —As described, PRS signals include cyclic prefix symbols and share the same (similar) signal transmission properties, such as BW, etc., as would be readily understood by those of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s joint transmission, to include transmitting a CP radio frequency signal with the radio frequency sensing signal, such that they occupy similar frequency domain resources, as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to recognize that a combined BWP transmission of a radio frequency sensing signal having a CP would share similar radio frequency domain resource allocations, as recognized by Qi (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070]).
With respect to claim 6, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals are quasi-collocated with one another.
Qi does teach:
wherein a second radio frequency signal and one or more radio frequency sensing signals are quasi-collocated with one another (para. [0091] —PRS beam transmissions, a sensing signal, can utilize well-known beam alignment techniques, including Quasi-co-location, with other RF beam signaling, such as PDCCH/PDSCH, DMRS, SSB, TRS, etc.).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s joint transmission, to include beam Quasi-Co-Location (QCL), as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to recognize the combined PRS with CP transmission would share QCL properties as well as BW, as recognized by Qi (para. [0091]).
With respect to claim 7, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein at least one of the one or more radio frequency sensing signals comprises one or more symbols in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot, and the second radio frequency signal comprises a cyclic prefix signal in at least one of the one or more symbols in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot.
Qi does teach:
wherein at least one of the one or more radio frequency sensing signals comprises one or more symbols in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot, and the second radio frequency signal comprises a cyclic prefix signal in at least one of the one or more symbols in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070] —the cyclic prefix (CP) portion of a PRS transmission is equated to a second radio frequency signal, and the CP symbol(s) occupy an OFDM slot with the PRS —the PRS and its CP share the same frequency domain, i.e., OFDM slot, resource allocations/properties, as would be readily understood by those of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s joint transmission, to include transmitting the PRS combined with a CP within the same OFDM slot, as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to include the consolidated PRS with CP within a single OFDM slot, as recognized by Qi (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070]).
With respect to claim 10, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1, where the first radio frequency signal is a communication signal (Li: paras. [0034]-[0035]; S110 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit a data communication information on a first BWP of a joint communication, i.e., on BWP#0 depicted in Fig. 4A) and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals are positioning reference signals (Li: paras. [0034], [0036], [0047], [0053], and [0062]-[0063]; S120 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit a PRS signal(s) using a second BWP, i.e., on BWP#2 depicted in Fig. 4).
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
the second radio frequency signal is a radio frequency sensing training signal.
Qi does teach:
a second radio frequency signal that is a radio frequency sensing training signal (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070] —the cyclic prefix (CP) portion of a PRS transmission is equated to a second radio frequency training signal to the PRS, and the CP symbol(s) occupy an OFDM slot with the PRS).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s larger BW PRS BWP and smaller BW data BWP joint transmission, to include transmitting the PRS BWP at a higher Tx power than the data BWP, as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to recognize wider/larger BW transmissions (i.e., a PRS BWP Tx at 100MHz) generally consume more power than narrower/smaller BW transmissions (i.e., a data BWP Tx at 20MHz), as recognized by Qi (paras. [0022] and [0084]).
With respect to claim 25, this claim recites similar features to independent claim 1, except claim 25 is directed to a an apparatus comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor (paras. [0024]-[0029]; and BS 900 with memory 932, transceiver 950, and processor 922 of Fig. 7). As such, claim 25 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Li in view of Qi, for the same reasons explained above for independent claim 1.
With respect to claim 26, this claim recites similar features to dependent claim 2. As such, claim 26 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Li in view of Qi, for the same reasons explained above for dependent claim 2.
With respect to claim 27, this claim recites similar features to dependent claim 7. As such, claim 27 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Li in view of Qi, for the same reasons explained above for dependent claim 7.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Qi, in further view of US PG Pub. 2023/0291523 A1, Hasegawa et al. (hereinafter “Hasegawa”).
With respect to claim 5, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals are transmitted in phase of one another.
Hasegawa does teach:
wherein a second radio frequency signal and one or more radio frequency sensing signals are transmitted in-phase of one another (paras. [0104] and [0108] —a first DMRS can be designed to be transmitted in-phase with other RS signaling to avoid problematic, out-of-phase conditions, i.e., interference —the Examiner notes that a DMRS can be considered to be a 5G “sensing” reference signal, and DMRS is described as an optional DL reference signal along with PRS, etc., within Applicant’s disclosure, at para. [0052] of its corresponding PG Pub).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Qi’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include transmitting a sensing RS (PRS/DMRS) in-phase with a second radio frequency signal, as taught by Hasegawa.
The motivation for doing so would have been to transmit sensing reference signal in-phase with other signaling to avoid detrimental out-of-phase conditions, as recognized by Hasegawa (paras. [0104] and [0108]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Qi, in further view of US PG Pub. 2024/0224218 A1, Yoon.
With respect to claim 8, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 7.
However, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the cyclic prefix signal is scalable.
Yoon does teach:
wherein a cyclic prefix signal is scalable (paras. [0110]-[0111] and [0128]-[0134]; and Fig. 6a-c —different, scaled cyclic prefix values can be applied to the DL PRS signaling allocation/pattern to appropriately increase orthogonality and improve PRS resource availability).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Qi’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include cyclic prefix scaling for improving orthogonality, as taught by Yoon.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve an amount of available PRS resources through CP scaling, as recognized by Yoon (paras. [0110]-[0111] and [0128]-[0134]; and Fig. 6a-c).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Qi, in further view of US PG Pub. 2024/0298206 A1, Yao et al. (hereinafter “Yao”).
With respect to claim 9, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 7.
However, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly teach:
wherein a duration of the cyclic prefix signal is based at least in part on a desired range resolution for a radio frequency sensing operation.
Yao does teach:
wherein a duration of a cyclic prefix signal is based at least in part on a desired range resolution for a radio frequency sensing operation (paras. [0150]-[0154] —a sensing signal’s desired range resolution is interpreted to be a maximum sensing distance requirement of a particular sensing signal, i.e., considering frequency, reflection, etc., and a CP’s duration may function as a minimum guard interval required at a corresponding sensing distance —thus, the CP duration can be selected based upon desired/required sensing signal range resolution/distance).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Qi’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include CP duration selection based on a sensing signal range requirement, as taught by Yao.
The motivation for doing so would have been to apply an appropriate guard interval to accommodate sensing at a desired range/distance, as recognized by Yao (paras. [0150]-[0154]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Qi, in further view of US PG Pub. 2019/0182823 A1, Awad et al. (hereinafter “Awad”).
With respect to claim 11, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly teach:
receiving a receiver capability information from a wireless node, and the second radio frequency signal is based at least in part on the receiver capability information.
Awad does teach:
receiving a receiver capability information from a wireless node, and a second radio frequency signal that is based at least in part on the receiver capability information (paras. [0016]-[0017], [0053]-[0056] and [0076]-[0091]; and Fig. 6 —a BS can receive UE capability information relating to its ability to retune itself within a single OFDM symbol corresponding to a dedicated CP RF signal, i.e., a second RF signal —the BS can transmit the CP RF signal for this purpose based on receiving the corresponding UE retuning capability information).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Qi’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include UE capability determinations for scheduling UE retuning within a single, or multiple, CP/OFDM symbol(s), as taught by Awad.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve UE performance by utilizing fast-retuning solutions during a CP symbol(s) associated with UE reference signal reception, as recognized by Awad (paras. [0016]-[0017], [0053]-[0056] and [0076]-[0091]; and Fig. 6).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Qi, in further view of US PG Pub. 2026/0163684 A1, Behravan et al. (hereinafter “Behravan”).
With respect to claim 12, Li in view of Qi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly teach:
receiving, with the communications transceiver, a return signal based on the one or more radio frequency sensing signals reflecting from a target object.
Behravan does teach:
receiving, with a communications transceiver, a return signal based on one or more radio frequency sensing signals reflecting from a target object (paras. [0010], [0019], [0052]-[0053], and [0060] —a BS can receive a return signal that is a reflection of sensing signaling after hitting/bouncing off of a sensing target).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Qi’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include receiving return signals as sensing signal reflections from a sensing target, as taught by Behravan.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve sensing performance by accounting for signal reflections as return signals, as recognized by Behravan (paras. [0010], [0019], [0052]-[0053], and [0060]).
Claims 13-15, 22-23, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Awad.
With respect to claim 13, Li teaches:
A method of receiving a radio frequency sensing signal with a communications transceiver (paras. [0003]-[0004], [0034], and [0042]-[0044]; and Figs. 1-2 —a BS can transmit, and a UE can receive an RF “sensing signal,” such as positioning reference signal (PRS) in the DL —in the UL, an RF sensing signal may be transmitted as a sounding reference signal (SRS), which may also be used for positioning/sensing), comprising:
receiving, with the communications transceiver, a first radio frequency signal utilizing a first bandwidth (paras. [0034]-[0035]; S110 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit, and a UE can receive, a data communication information on a first BWP of a joint communication, i.e., on BWP#0 depicted in Fig. 4A);
receiving, with the communications transceiver, a second radio frequency signal utilizing a second bandwidth that is larger than the first (paras. [0034], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0047], [0053], and [0062]-[0063]; S120 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit, and a UE can receive, a second BWP having positioning-purpose reference signal (PRS) information, i.e., on BWP#2 depicted in Fig. 4A, where the second BW of the second BWP is larger than the BW of the first BWP, i.e., BWP#0 w/data communications —the second BWP can contain the first BWP, such that the first BWP may be a subset BW of the second BWP, as depicted in Fig. 4A);
receiving, with the communications transceiver, one or more radio frequency sensing signals utilizing the second bandwidth (paras. [0034], [0036], [0047], [0053], and [0062]-[0063]; S120 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit, and a UE can receive PRS signals using a second BWP, i.e., on BWP#2 depicted in Fig. 4 —the Examiner interprets PRS signals to corresponds to both an RF sensing signal and a second radio frequency signal by definition, as the signals have the same BW and Tx power, and within a single slot multiple, continuous symbols can be comprise the PRS, i.e., slots 2, 4, 6 and 12).
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
tuning one or more components of the communications transceiver based on receiving the second radio frequency signal.
Awad does teach:
tuning one or more components of the communications transceiver based on receiving the second radio frequency signal (paras. [0016]-[0017], [0053]-[0056] and [0076]-[0091]; and Fig. 6 —a UE can send a BS its retuning capability information indicating its ability to retune itself within a single OFDM symbol corresponding to a dedicated CP signal, i.e., a second RF signal —based on the capability information, the BS can transmit, and the UE can receive, a CP RF signal for this purpose, such that a UE can retune its transceiver for subsequent signaling during the CP symbol(s), i.e., performing a fast retuning procedure).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Qi’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include UE capability determinations and UE fast-retuning procedures, as taught by Awad.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve UE performance by utilizing fast-retuning solutions during a CP symbol(s) associated with UE reference signal reception, as recognized by Awad (paras. [0016]-[0017], [0053]-[0056] and [0076]-[0091]; and Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 14, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13 wherein the second radio frequency signal comprises one or more symbols in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot (Li: paras. [0003], [0024], and [0030] —5G NR (Release 16) employs OFDM, and corresponding PRS transmissions can be sent per slot, where consecutive slot symbols may be: 2, 4, 6 and 12, and can each be occupied by the PRS).
With respect to claim 15, Li in view of Awad teaches:
The method of claim 14 wherein at least one of the one or more radio frequency sensing signals comprises one or more subsequent symbols in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot (Li: paras. [0003], [0024], and [0030] —5G NR (R16) employs OFDM, and corresponding PRS transmissions, i.e., a sensing signal, can be sent per slot, where consecutive slot symbols: 2, 4, 6 and 12, can each be occupied by the PRS —the Examiner notes that consecutive symbols 4, 6, and 12, each are subsequent to symbol 2, and so on).
With respect to claim 22, Li in view of Awad teaches:
The method of claim 13 wherein the one or more radio frequency sensing signals are positioning reference signals (Li: paras. [0034], [0036], [0047], [0053], and [0062]-[0063]; S120 of Fig. 2 and Fig. 4A —a BS can transmit a PRS signal(s) using a second BWP, i.e., on BWP#2 depicted in Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 23, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a receiver capability information to a communication network, wherein the second radio frequency signal is based at least in part on the receiver capability information.
Awad does teach:
transmitting a receiver capability information to a communication network, wherein the second radio frequency signal is based at least in part on the receiver capability information (paras. [0016]-[0017], [0053]-[0056] and [0076]-[0091]; and Fig. 6 —a BS can receive UE capability information relating to its ability to retune itself within a single OFDM symbol corresponding to a dedicated CP RF signal, i.e., a second RF signal —the BS can transmit the CP RF signal for this purpose based on receiving the corresponding UE retuning capability information).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include UE capability determinations for scheduling UE retuning within a single, or multiple, CP/OFDM symbol(s), as taught by Awad.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve UE performance by utilizing fast-retuning solutions during a CP symbol(s) associated with UE reference signal reception, as recognized by Awad (paras. [0016]-[0017], [0053]-[0056] and [0076]-[0091]; and Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 28, this claim recites similar features to independent claim 13, except claim 28 is directed to a an apparatus comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor (paras. [0022]-[0023]; and UE 800 with memory 804, transceiver 816, and processor 820 of Fig. 6). As such, claim 28 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Li in view of Awad, for the same reasons explained above for independent claim 13.
With respect to claim 30, this claim recites similar features to dependent claim 23. As such, claim 30 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Li in view of Awad, for the same reasons explained above for dependent claim 23.
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Awad, in further view of Qi.
With respect to claim 16, Li in view of Awad teaches he method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals have similar frequency domain resource allocations.
Qi does teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals have similar frequency domain resource allocations (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070] —the cyclic prefix (CP) portion of a PRS transmission is interpreted to be equivalent to a second radio frequency signal, and the CP symbol(s) share an OFDM slot with the PRS, which are transmitted within the same BW/BWP, i.e., the same frequency domain resource allocation —As described, PRS signals include cyclic prefix symbols and share the same (similar) signal transmission properties, such as BW, etc., as would be readily understood by those of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint transmission, to include transmitting a CP radio frequency signal with the radio frequency sensing signal, such that they occupy similar frequency domain resources, as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to recognize that a combined BWP transmission of a radio frequency sensing signal having a CP would share similar radio frequency domain resource allocations, as recognized by Qi (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070]).
With respect to claim 18, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals are quasi-collocated with one another.
Qi does teach:
wherein a second radio frequency signal and one or more radio frequency sensing signals are quasi-collocated with one another (para. [0091] —PRS beam transmissions, a sensing signal, can utilize well-known beam alignment techniques, including Quasi-co-location, with other RF beam signaling, such as PDCCH/PDSCH, DMRS, SSB, TRS, etc.).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint transmission, to include beam Quasi-Co-Location (QCL), as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to recognize the combined PRS with CP transmission would share QCL properties as well as BW, as recognized by Qi (para. [0091]).
With respect to claim 19, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
wherein at least one of the one or more radio frequency sensing signals comprises one or more symbols in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot, and the second radio frequency signal comprises a cyclic prefix signal in at least one of the one or more symbols in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot.
Qi does teach:
wherein at least one of the one or more radio frequency sensing signals comprises one or more symbols in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot, and the second radio frequency signal comprises a cyclic prefix signal in at least one of the one or more symbols in the orthogonal frequency division multiplexing based slot (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070] —the cyclic prefix (CP) portion of a PRS transmission is equated to a second radio frequency signal, and the CP symbol(s) occupy an OFDM slot with the PRS —the PRS and its CP share the same frequency domain, i.e., OFDM slot, resource allocations/properties, as would be readily understood by those of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint transmission, to include transmitting the PRS combined with a CP within the same OFDM slot, as taught by Qi.
The motivation for doing so would have been to include a consolidated PRS with CP within a single OFDM slot, as recognized by Qi (paras. [0030], [0046]-[0048], and [0069]-[0070]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Awad, in further view of Hasegawa.
With respect to claim 17, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second radio frequency signal and the one or more radio frequency sensing signals are transmitted in phase of one another.
Hasegawa does teach:
wherein a second radio frequency signal and one or more radio frequency sensing signals are transmitted in-phase of one another (paras. [0104] and [0108] —a first DMRS can be designed to be transmitted in-phase with other RS signaling to avoid problematic, out-of-phase conditions, i.e., interference —the Examiner notes that a DMRS can be considered to be a 5G “sensing” reference signal, and DMRS is described as an optional DL reference signal along with PRS, etc., within Applicant’s disclosure, at para. [0052] of its corresponding PG Pub).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include transmitting a sensing RS (PRS/DMRS) in-phase with a second radio frequency signal, as taught by Hasegawa.
The motivation for doing so would have been to transmit sensing reference signal in-phase with other signaling to avoid detrimental out-of-phase conditions, as recognized by Hasegawa (paras. [0104] and [0108]).
Claims 20 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Awad, in further view of US PG Pub 2024/0323904 A1, Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”).
With respect to claim 20, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
modifying an automatic gain control parameter based at least in part on receiving the second radio frequency signal.
Zhang does teach:
modifying an automatic gain control parameter based at least in part on receiving a second radio frequency signal (para. [0231] —a second terminal device can receive signaling for related to a comb-shaped PRS on an AGC symbol, and then perform AGC power control adjustment based on the received signaling from a first device).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include AGC gain control adjustment signaling, as taught by Zhang.
The motivation for doing so would have been to adjust an AGC for better PRS reception, as recognized by Zhang (para. [0231]).
With respect to claim 29, this claim recites similar features to dependent claim 20. As such, claim 29 is likewise rejected under §103 based on Li in view of Awad and Zhang, for the same reasons explained above for dependent claim 20.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Awad, in further view of US PG Pub 2022/0286980 A1, Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”).
With respect to claim 21, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
wherein the tuning one or more components of the communications transceiver comprises modifying an impedance value for one or more tuning elements based at least in part on receiving the second radio frequency signal.
Lee does teach:
tuning one or more components of a communications transceiver by modifying an impedance value for one or more tuning elements based at least in part on receiving a radio event signal (paras. [0179]-[0180] and[0182]-[0187]; and Figs. 5A-5C —a communication processor of a UE can receive signaling requiring an antenna configuration tuning process, i.e., to change a device power setting, to adjust an impedance setting to achieve a desired resonance characteristic of a connected antenna(s)).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include device rf tuning adjustment including impedance matching, as taught by Lee.
The motivation for doing so would have been to tune a receiver via known rf antenna tuning techniques, such as impedance matching, for better rf signal reception, as recognized by Lee (paras. [0179]-[0180] and[0182]-[0187]; and Figs. 5A-5C).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Awad, in further view of Behravan.
With respect to claim 24, Li in view of Awad teaches the method of claim 13.
However, Li in view of Awad does not explicitly teach:
wherein receiving the one or more radio frequency sensing signals includes receiving the one or more radio frequency sensing signals reflected off a target object.
Behravan does teach:
wherein receiving the one or more radio frequency sensing signals includes receiving the one or more radio frequency sensing signals reflected off a target object (paras. [0010], [0019], [0052]-[0053], and [0060] —a UE can receive a sensing signal that is a reflection of sensing signaling after bouncing off of a target).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Awad’s joint PRS-data transmission, to include considering sensing signal reflections from a sensing target, as taught by Behravan.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve sensing performance by accounting for signal reflections of sensing signals, as recognized by Behravan (paras. [0010], [0019], [0052]-[0053], and [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure is as follows:
US PG Pub 2024/0284387 A1, Zhang et al.: teaches joint data and PRS transmission on different BWPs, where the PRS BWP encompasses the data BWP, including AGC power adjustment in the PRS BWP.
US PG Pub 2025/0089026 A1, Li et al.: teaches solutions for DL signal and PRS transmissions, including cyclic prefix training.
US PG Pub 2025/0048328 A1, Kiilerich Prates et al.: teaches sidelink PRS solutions, with two-part SCI signaling and AGC gain control, where PRS can coexist with SL data transmissions.
US PG Pub 2024/0080832A1, Turkmen et al.: teaches joint sensing signal and data signal communications solutions for WLAN signaling, with CP and training fields applied for the sensing signals, such as short training fields (STF).
US PG Pub 2024/0373397 A1, Yu et al.: teaches solutions for transmitting SL-PRS signaling with sensing signals and AGC adjustment.
US PG Pub 2022/0357420 A1, Zhou et al.: teaches SRS and PRS sensing signaling with CP addition, beam QCL for sensing transmissions, and device capability signaling.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Moo Jeong can be reached at (571)272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Scott A. Schlack/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418