DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner notes that Applicants have not filed an Information Disclosure Statement.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “or substantially purifying or substantially; and”. There is a grammatical error that needs correction. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 3 and 9 recite “wherein the disulfide-linked protein comprises: a three finger neurotoxin comprises or is: “ There is a grammatical error and awkward wording. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 3 and 9 recite “or rec-Mambalgin, rec-slupr, rec-Pate). There is an extra parenthesis at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1 (and claims 2-6 and 16-17 dependent on), the claim recites “substantially”. The term “substantially” is a relative term that does not define the degree of isolation. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting “substantially” as the inclusion body having gone through a purification or separation step.
With regards to claim 7 (and claims 8-15 and 18 dependent on), the claim recites “substantially”. The term “substantially” is a relative term that does not define the degree of isolation. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting “substantially” as the inclusion body or protein or peptide having gone through a purification or separation step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014), hereinafter referred to as Nelson.
With regards to claim 1, Nelson discloses a protocol (method) that describes the growth and purification of bacterial inclusion body proteins. The method includes solubilization of inclusion body proteins by chemical denaturation and disulfide reduction, renaturation of the solubilized material through rapid dilution, and recovery of the recombinant protein using a stirred cell concentrator (see Abstract, pg. 145). Nelson teaches that disulfide bond formation occurs during protein folding through a complex process and that disulfide bonds can be stably maintained only in oxidized environments. Nelson teaches that because the cytoplasm of wild-type E. coli is a reducing environment, proteins that require disulfide bonds cannot be made efficiently in typical competent E. coli strains and that such proteins usually pack into insoluble inclusion bodies and upon isolation, require an additional refolding step to convert the protein to its functional form (see Introduction, pg. 145). Nelson discloses an oxidative refolding experiment (see pg. 147, third paragraph).
Nelson teaches bacterial growth of the protein in E. coli cells (see Methods, 3.1 pg. 150-151). Nelson teaches the purification of the inclusion body containing the protein (Method, 3.2 Purification, pg. 151-152). Nelson teaches the solubilization of the inclusion body in a solubilization buffer (see Method, 3.3 Solubilization). Nelson teaches oxidatively refolding the inclusion body in a refolding buffer. Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprises injection of the solubilized protein solution into a refolding buffer (see Method, 3.4 Refolding, pg. 153). Nelson teaches the refolding comprises concentrating the refolding solution to approximately 5-10 mL and removing the concentrated protein using a syringe (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, steps 8-11, pg. 153-154). Nelson teaches applying the concentrated protein solution to an appropriate FPLC size exclusion column and collecting the fractions (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, steps 10-11, pg. 154).
With regards to claim 5, Nelson discloses the bacterial inclusion protein is an inclusion body recovered from Escherichia coli (see Methods, 3.1 Inclusion Body Production, pg. 150-152).
With regards claim 6, Nelson discloses that the solubilizing comprises guanidine hydrochloride (see 3.3 solubilization, Step 1, pg. 152).
With regards to claims 7 and 11, Nelson discloses a protocol that describes the growth and purification of bacterial inclusion body proteins. The method includes solubilization of inclusion body proteins by chemical denaturation and disulfide reduction, renaturation of the solubilized material through rapid dilution, and recovery of the recombinant protein using a stirred cell concentrator (see Abstract, pg. 145). Nelson discloses a protocol (method) that describes the growth and purification of bacterial inclusion body proteins. The method includes solubilization of inclusion body proteins by chemical denaturation and disulfide reduction, renaturation of the solubilized material through rapid dilution, and recovery of the recombinant protein using a stirred cell concentrator (see Abstract, pg. 145). Nelson teaches that disulfide bond formation occurs during protein folding through a complex process and that disulfide bonds can be stably maintained only in oxidized environments. Nelson teaches that because the cytoplasm of wild-type E. coli is a reducing environment, proteins that require disulfide bonds cannot be made efficiently in typical competent E. coli strains and that such proteins usually pack into insoluble inclusion bodies and upon isolation, require an additional refolding step to convert the protein to its functional form (see Introduction, pg. 145). Nelson discloses an oxidative refolding experiment (see pg. 147, third paragraph).
Nelson teaches bacterial growth of the protein in E. coli cells (see Methods, 3.1 pg. 150-151). Nelson teaches the purification of the inclusion body containing the protein (Method, 3.2 Purification, pg. 151-152). Nelson teaches the solubilization of the inclusion body in a solubilization buffer (see Method, 3.3 Solubilization). Nelson teaches oxidatively refolding the inclusion body in a refolding buffer. Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprises injection of the solubilized protein solution into a refolding buffer (see Method, 3.4 Refolding, pg. 153). Nelson teaches the refolding comprises concentrating the refolding solution to approximately 5-10 mL and removing the concentrated protein using a syringe (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, steps 8-11, pg. 153-154).
With regards to claim 12, Nelson discloses that the Nelson discloses that the solubilizing comprises guanidine hydrochloride (see 3.3 solubilization, Step 1, pg. 152).
With regards to claim 13-15, Nelson teaches that the refolding is performed at 4 degrees Celsius in a cold room and is stirred slowly overnight (see 3.4 Refolding, Steps 1-6, pg. 153).
With regards to claim 16, in addition to the teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 1 above, Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer has a temperature of 4 degrees Celsius (see 3.4 Refolding, pg. 153, step 1).
With regards to claim 17, in addition to the teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 1 above, Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprising the inclusion body is concentrated until there is approximately 5-10 mL left (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, pg. 153, step 8).
With regards to claim 18, in addition to the teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 7 above, Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprising the inclusion body is concentrated until there is approximately 5-10 mL left (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, pg. 153, step 8).
Therefore, claims 1, 5-7 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014).
Claims 7-9, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (Protein Expression and Purification, Vol. 110, pg. 30-36, published 2015), hereinafter referred to as Xu.
With regards to claim 7-9, 11-12 and 14, Xu teaches a method for producing a disulfide-lined protein, aBtx, in which the DNA sequence of the mature peptide of aBtx was optimized to E. coli with preferred codons (see pg. 30, Construction of expression vectors and sequence optimization). Xu teaches that the snake venom-derived a toxin is a family of short peptides which bind to nicotinic acetylcholine receptor (nAChR) on the post-synaptic membrane of the neuromuscular junction (see Introductioin pg. 30). Xu teaches that type II toxins contain 5 pairs of disulfide bonds and that aBtx is a type II a toxin which binds almost irreversibly to nAChR (see pg. 30). Xu further teaches that aBtx is a multi-disulfide bond protein that manifests the characteristic three-finger structure (see pg. 35). The plasmid containing the aBtx was transferred to E. coli BL21(DE3) cells and culture was grown overnight (see pg. 30, Construction of expression vectors and sequence optimization and Expression and purification of inclusion bodies, pg. 31). Xu teaches that to obtain inclusion bodies, cell pellets were thawed and resuspended in lysis buffer (see pg. 31). Xu teaches that the lysate containing the inclusion bodies was centrifuged and the pellet was washed and solubilized in a buffer containing 8M urea, 50 mM Tris HCl (pH 8.67) and 10 mM 2-ME (see Expression and purification of inclusion bodies, pg. 31). Xu teaches that to obtain soluble and bioactive recombinant aBtx, dialysis and rapid dilution strategies were compared (see determination of optimal refolding strategies and conditions, pg. 31). Xu teaches that purified recombinant aBtX inclusion body was diluted rapidly into ice-cold refolding solution and left at 4 degrees Celsius for 3-7 days and then ultrafiltrated and the concentrated protein was centrifuged (see pg. 31).
Therefore, claims 7-9, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (Protein Expression and Purification, Vol. 110, pg. 30-36, published 2015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, in view of Xu et al. (Protein Expression and Purification, Vol. 110, pg. 30-36; published 2015), hereinafter referred to as Xu.
With regards to claim 1, Nelson discloses a protocol (method) that describes the growth and purification of bacterial inclusion body proteins. The method includes solubilization of inclusion body proteins by chemical denaturation and disulfide reduction, renaturation of the solubilized material through rapid dilution, and recovery of the recombinant protein using a stirred cell concentrator (see Abstract, pg. 145). Nelson teaches that disulfide bond formation occurs during protein folding through a complex process and that disulfide bonds can be stably maintained only in oxidized environments. Nelson teaches that because the cytoplasm of wild-type E. coli is a reducing environment, proteins that require disulfide bonds cannot be made efficiently in typical competent E. coli strains and that such proteins usually pack into insoluble inclusion bodies and upon isolation, require an additional refolding step to convert the protein to its functional form (see Introduction, pg. 145). Nelson discloses an oxidative refolding experiment (see pg. 147, third paragraph).
Nelson teaches bacterial growth of the protein in E. coli cells (see Methods, 3.1 pg. 150-151). Nelson teaches the purification of the inclusion body containing the protein (Method, 3.2 Purification, pg. 151-152). Nelson teaches the solubilization of the inclusion body in a solubilization buffer (see Method, 3.3 Solubilization). Nelson teaches oxidatively refolding the inclusion body in a refolding buffer. Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprises injection of the solubilized protein solution into a refolding buffer (see Method, 3.4 Refolding, pg. 153). Nelson teaches the refolding comprises concentrating the refolding solution to approximately 5-10 mL and removing the concentrated protein using a syringe (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, steps 8-11, pg. 153-154). Nelson teaches applying the concentrated protein solution to an appropriate FPLC size exclusion column and collecting the fractions (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, steps 10-11, pg. 154).
With regards to claim 5, Nelson discloses the bacterial inclusion protein is an inclusion body recovered from Escherichia coli (see Methods, 3.1 Inclusion Body Production, pg. 150-152).
With regards claim 6, Nelson discloses that the solubilizing comprises guanidine hydrochloride (see 3.3 solubilization, Step 1, pg. 152).
With regards to claims 7 and 11, Nelson discloses a protocol that describes the growth and purification of bacterial inclusion body proteins. The method includes solubilization of inclusion body proteins by chemical denaturation and disulfide reduction, renaturation of the solubilized material through rapid dilution, and recovery of the recombinant protein using a stirred cell concentrator (see Abstract, pg. 145). Nelson teaches bacterial growth of the protein in E. coli cells (see Methods, 3.1 pg. 150-151). Nelson teaches the purification of the inclusion body containing the protein (Method, 3.2 Purification, pg. 151-152). Nelson teaches the solubilization of the inclusion body in a solubilization buffer (see Method, 3.3 Solubilization). Nelson teaches oxidatively refolding the inclusion body in a refolding buffer. Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprises injection of the solubilized protein solution into a refolding buffer (see Method, 3.4 Refolding, pg. 153). Nelson teaches the refolding comprises concentrating the refolding solution to approximately 5-10 mL and removing the concentrated protein using a syringe (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, steps 8-11, pg. 153-154).
With regards to claim 12, Nelson discloses that the Nelson discloses that the solubilizing comprises guanidine hydrochloride (see 3.3 solubilization, Step 1, pg. 152).
With regards to claim 13-15, Nelson teaches that the refolding is performed at 4 degrees Celsius in a cold room and is stirred slowly overnight (see 3.4 Refolding, Steps 1-6, pg. 153).
With regards to claim 16, in addition to the teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 1 above, Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer has a temperature of 4 degrees Celsius (see 3.4 Refolding, pg. 153, step 1).
With regards to claim 17, in addition to the teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 1 above, Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprising the inclusion body is concentrated until there is approximately 5-10 mL left (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, pg. 153, step 8).
With regards to claim 18, in addition to the teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 7 above, Nelson teaches that the refolding buffer comprising the inclusion body is concentrated until there is approximately 5-10 mL left (see 3.5 Recovery and Purification, pg. 153, step 8).
With respect to claims 1-3 and 7-9, Nelson does not teach that the disulfide-linked protein is a three-finger neurotoxin peptide or that the three-finger neurotoxin peptide comprises or is: recombinant-a-Bungarotoxin, rec-a-cobratoxin (rec-aCTX), k-Bungarotoxin (rec-kBtx), rec-MTa, rec-hannalgesin, or rec-Mambalgin, rec-Slurp, rec-Pate.
However, Xu teaches a protocol to obtain a bioactive a-bungarotoxin (aBtx) using a recombinant protein technique (see Abstract, pg. 30). Xu teaches that the snake venom-derived a toxin is a family of short peptides which bind to nicotinic acetylcholine receptor (nAChR) on the post-synaptic membrane of the neuromuscular junction (see Introduction pg. 30). Xu teaches that type II toxins contain 5 pairs of disulfide bonds and that aBtx is a type II a toxin which binds almost irreversibly to nAChR (see pg. 30). Xu further teaches that aBtx is a multi-disulfide bond protein that manifests the characteristic three-finger structure (see pg. 35). Xu teaches the recombinant expression of aBtx in E. coli Bl21(DE3) cells, protein expression, isolation of inclusion bodies, and refolding of aBtx (see pg. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of protein engineering and purification before the effective filing date of the current instant application, to use the methods taught by Nelson to produce and purify the disulfide-linked protein, aBTtx, taught by Xu in order to produce a properly folded protein with the correct disulfide-bond patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to do so from the teachings of Xu who teaches the recombinant expression of aBtx and teaches that it forms inclusion bodies. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the protocol of Nelson as a means of producing and purifying aBtx since the method of Nelson provides a solution for expression of disulfide-linked proteins that form inclusion bodies, taking inclusion bodies and carrying out solubilization, refolding, and purification of the disulfide-linked protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expectations of success in doing so from the combined teachings of Nelson and Xu who provide all the necessary teachings, compositions, and methods needed to do so.
Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, in view of Xu et al. (Protein Expression and Purification, Vol. 110, pg. 30-36; published 2015), hereinafter referred to as Xu.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Applied Genetics and Molecular Biotechnology, Vol. 97, pg. 1223-1230, published 2013), hereinafter referred to as Gao.
The teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 1 are summarized above.
With regards to claim 4, Nelson does not teach that the disulfide-linked protein or peptide comprises or is: an antibody, an antibody fragment, a single chain antibody, an extracellular domain of a viral membrane protein, a cell surface receptor, a dendrotoxin, or a conotoxin.
However, Gao teaches that conotoxins are a diverse array of small peptides mostly with multiple disulfide bridges (see Abstract, pg. 1223). Gao teaches that the conotoxin, GeXIVAWT, is a 28 amino acid peptide containing five cysteines isolated from the venom of Conus generalis. Gao teaches the recombinant expression of the conotoxin in E. coli and that recombinant GeXIVAWT was obtained by dissolving insoluble bodies and purifying via reverse-phase high performance liquid chromatography (see Abstract, pg. 1223). Gao further teaches the refolding of GeXIVAWT (see pg. 1125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of protein engineering and purification before the effective filing date of the current instant application, to use the method taught by Nelson to produce and purify the disulfide-linked peptide, conotoxin GeXIVAWT, taught by Gao in order to produce a properly folded protein with the correct disulfide-bond patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to do so from the teachings of Gao who teaches the recombinant expression of the conotoxin, GeXIAVWT, and teaches that it forms inclusion bodies. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the protocol of Nelson as a means of producing and purifying conotoxin, GeXIAVWT, since the method of Nelson provides a solution for expression of disulfide-linked proteins that form inclusion bodies, taking inclusion bodies and carrying out solubilization, refolding, and purification of the disulfide-linked protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expectations of success in doing so from the combined teachings of Nelson and Gao who provide all the necessary teachings, compositions, and methods needed to do so.
Therefore, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Applied Genetics and Molecular Biotechnology, Vol. 97, pg. 1223-1230, published 2013).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014), hereinafter referred to as Nelson, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Applied Genetics and Molecular Biotechnology, Vol. 97, pg. 1223-1230, published 2013), hereinafter referred to as Gao.
The teachings of Nelson as applied to claim 7 are summarized above.
With regards to claim 7, Nelson does not teach that the disulfide-linked protein or peptide comprises or is: an antibody, an antibody fragment, a single chain antibody, an extracellular domain of a viral membrane protein, a cell surface receptor, a dendrotoxin, or a conotoxin.
However, Gao teaches that conotoxins are a diverse array of small peptides mostly with multiple disulfide bridges (see Abstract, pg. 1223). Gao teaches that the conotoxin, GeXIVAWT, is a 28 amino acid peptide containing five cysteines isolated from the venom of Conus generalis. Gao teaches the recombinant expression of the conotoxin in E. coli and that recombinant GeXIVAWT was obtained by dissolving insoluble bodies and purifying via reverse-phase high performance liquid chromatography (see Abstract, pg. 1223). Gao further teaches the refolding of GeXIVAWT (see pg. 1125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of protein engineering and purification before the effective filing date of the current instant application, to use the method taught by Nelson to produce the disulfide-linked peptide, conotoxin GeXIVAWT, taught by Gao in order to produce a properly folded protein with the correct disulfide-bond patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to do so from the teachings of Gao who teaches the recombinant expression of the conotoxin, GeXIAVWT, and teaches that it forms inclusion bodies. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the protocol of Nelson as a means of producing a conotoxin, GeXIAVWT, since the method of Nelson provides a solution for expression of disulfide-linked proteins that form inclusion bodies, taking inclusion bodies and carrying out solubilization, refolding, and purification of the disulfide-linked protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expectations of success in doing so from the combined teachings of Nelson and Gao who provide all the necessary teachings, compositions, and methods needed to do so.
Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (Methods in Microbiology, Vol. 1140, pg. 145-157, published March 2014) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Applied Genetics and Molecular Biotechnology, Vol. 97, pg. 1223-1230, published 2013).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Vallejo et al. “Strategies for the recovery of active proteins through refolding of bacterial inclusion body proteins”, Microbial Cell Factories, Vol. 3:11, published 2004.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GEORGE THEMISTOCLIS LOUNTOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1652
/ROBERT B MONDESI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1652