DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 7/12/2024 are as follows:
Claims 1-15 are pending and are being examined.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it repeats phrases which can be implied (i.e. the first two lines) and refers to the purported merits of the invention (last sentence). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1-8 contain poor line quality which renders the drawings unclear and unsatisfactory for reproduction (See 37 CFR 1.84(l) which states: “(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning”).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patti (KR20050046000, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 1. Patti teaches a sirocco fan (1) comprising:
a first plate (left 5 in Figure 2) into which a rotary shaft of a motor is inserted (Figures 1-3; Figure 1 illustrates a central hub for receiving a motor shaft);
a second plate (right 5 in Figure 2) spaced apart from the first plate in the extension direction of the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3);
a third plate (4 in Figure 2) disposed between the first plate and the second plate (Figures 1-3);
a first blade (left 2 in Figure 2) extending between the first plate and the third plate and inclined with respect to the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3); and
a second blade (right 2 in Figure 2) extending between the second plate and the third plate and inclined with respect to the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3).
Re Claim 2. Patti teaches the direction in which the first blade is inclined toward the third plate is identical to the direction in which the second blade is inclined toward the third plate (Figures 1-3; Both blades converge towards the middle).
Re Claim 3. Patti teaches the first blade and the second blade are inclined in the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, nearing the third plate (Figures 1-3; Both blades converge towards the middle. Based on the intended use of rotation, the blades will either be inclined in the direction of rotation or inclined opposite the direction of rotation. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP2114(II)).
Re Claim 4. Patti teaches the first blade includes: a first outer end portion adjoining the first plate; and a first inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the first outer end portion in the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, and the second blade includes: a second outer end portion adjoining the second plate; and a second inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the second outer end portion in the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3; The blades span from the first plate and second plates towards the middle third plate).
Re Claim 5. Patti teaches the first blade and the second blade are inclined in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, nearing the third plate (Figures 1-3; Both blades converge towards the middle. Based on the intended use of rotation, the blades will either be inclined in the direction of rotation or inclined opposite the direction of rotation. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP2114(II)).
Re Claim 6. Patti teaches the first blade includes: a first outer end portion adjoining the first plate; and a first inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the first outer end portion in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, and the second blade includes: a second outer end portion adjoining the second plate; and a second inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the second outer end portion in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3; The blades span from the first plate and second plates towards the middle third plate).
Re Claim 7. Patti teaches the angle at which the first blade and the second blade are inclined with respect to the rotary shaft is 15 degrees or smaller (Figures 1-3; Abstract teaches 5 degrees of inclination, which is within the cited range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi 9US2011/0111689A1) in view of Patti (KR10-005-0046000, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 8. Takeuchi teaches an air conditioner (1) comprising: a case (10) formed with an outside air inlet opening (13) and an outside air supply opening (16) through which air admitted through the outside air inlet opening passes; a total heat exchanger (22) disposed between the outside air inlet opening and the outside air supply opening; an air supply fan (20) disposed between the outside air supply opening and the total heat exchanger; and an air supply fan motor having a rotary shaft that is coupled to the air supply fan (Figure 1; Paragraph 56 teaches the fan is a sirocco fan that has a fan motor, and thus also implicitly teaches a rotary shaft for driving the fan from the fan motor; Paragraphs 52-57). While Takeuchi generally teaches a sirocco fan (Paragraph 56), Takeuchi fails to specifically teach wherein the air supply fan includes: a first plate into which a rotary shaft of a motor is inserted; a second plate spaced apart from the first plate in the extension direction of the rotary shaft; a third plate disposed between the first plate and the second plate; a first blade extending between the first plate and the third plate and inclined with respect to the rotary shaft; and a second blade extending between the second plate and the third plate and inclined with respect to the rotary shaft.
However, Patti teaches a sirocco fan (1) comprising: a first plate (left 5 in Figure 2) into which a rotary shaft of a motor is inserted (Figures 1-3; Figure 1 illustrates a central hub for receiving a motor shaft); a second plate (right 5 in Figure 2) spaced apart from the first plate in the extension direction of the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3); a third plate (4 in Figure 2) disposed between the first plate and the second plate (Figures 1-3); a first blade (left 2 in Figure 2) extending between the first plate and the third plate and inclined with respect to the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3); and a second blade (right 2 in Figure 2) extending between the second plate and the third plate and inclined with respect to the rotary shaft (Figures 1-3). When Patti is combined with Takeuchi, the resulting combination would be the sirocco fans of Patti would be used as the supply and exhaust fans in Takeuchi.
Therefore, in view of Patti's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use Patti’s sirocco fan configuration in Takeuchi in order to achieve optimal fan performance with optimal acoustical characteristics (abstract of Patti).
Re Claim 9. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the direction in which the first blade is inclined toward the third plate is identical to the direction in which the second blade is inclined toward the third plate (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3, Both blades converge towards the middle).
Re Claim 10. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the first blade and the second blade are inclined in the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, nearing the third plate (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3, Both blades converge towards the middle. Based on the intended use of rotation, the blades will either be inclined in the direction of rotation or inclined opposite the direction of rotation. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP2114(II)).
Re Claim 11. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the first blade includes: a first outer end portion adjoining the first plate; and a first inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the first outer end portion in the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, and the second blade includes: a second outer end portion adjoining the second plate; and a second inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the second outer end portion in the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3, The blades span from the first plate and second plates towards the middle third plate).
Re Claim 12. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the first blade and the second blade are inclined in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, nearing the third plate (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3, Both blades converge towards the middle. Based on the intended use of rotation, the blades will either be inclined in the direction of rotation or inclined opposite the direction of rotation. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP2114(II)).
Re Claim 13. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the first blade includes: a first outer end portion adjoining the first plate; and a first inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the first outer end portion in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft, and the second blade includes: a second outer end portion adjoining the second plate; and a second inner end portion adjoining the third plate, at a position spaced apart from the second outer end portion in a direction opposite to the direction of rotation of the rotary shaft (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3, The blades span from the first plate and second plates towards the middle third plate).
Re Claim 14. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the first blade and the second blade are inclined toward a downstream side of the total heat exchanger, nearing the third plate (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3). Based on the installation direction, the blades will either be inclined towards the upstream or downstream side of the total heat exchanger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to rearrange the fan housing to have the blades inclined either towards the upstream or downstream side of the total heat exchanger, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI, C).
Re Claim 15. Takeuchi as modified by Patti teach the first blade and the second blade are inclined toward an upstream side of the total exchanger, nearing the third plate (Takeuchi Figure 1, Paragraphs 52-57; Patti Figures 1-3). Based on the installation direction, the blades will either be inclined towards the upstream or downstream side of the total heat exchanger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to rearrange the fan housing to have the blades inclined either towards the upstream or downstream side of the total heat exchanger, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI, C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763