DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed 12/02/2025 and 7/12/2024 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0056552 A1 to Sakamoto et al. (hereinafter “Sakamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamoto discloses an optical multiplexer (Fig. 8) comprising: input waveguides (201, 202, 203) for respectively receiving a plurality of visible light beams of different wavelengths (paragraph [0050]); a directional coupler (204 in Fig. 8; also 205, 207) for multiplexing the plurality of visible light beams; and an output waveguide (208) for outputting the multiplexed light, wherein at least one of the input waveguides connected to the directional coupler and the output waveguide have a tapered structure (paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Sakamoto discloses wherein the plurality of visible light beams of different wavelengths include at least a red, a green, and a blue light beam (paragraph [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto in view of WO 2008/108422 A1 (hereinafter “WO’422”).
Regarding claim 2, Sakamoto discloses an optical multiplexer according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose that the tapered structure is provided in a curved section of the waveguides as claimed in the present application. Nevertheless, such a curved waveguide is known in the art as taught by WO’422. WO’422 discloses an optical multiplexer wherein a tapered structure is provided in a curved section of a waveguide (Fig. 1-2). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such features as advantageous and desirable, since they would prevent any mode mixing for both short and long wavelength lights and allow for high fidelity optical multiplexing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Sakamoto to have the tapered structure being provided in a curved section of the waveguide as claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 3, Sakamoto discloses an optical multiplexer according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, it does not explicitly disclose that the waveguides in an optical coupling section of the directional coupler have a width of 0.8 to 1.4pm as claimed. On the other hand, it has been established that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05. In the present case, the general conditions of the claimed optical multiplexer are disclosed by Sakamoto and WO’ 422 as already discussed above. As such, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of optical waveguide width. A width of 0.8 to 1.4pm would have been readily recognized as advantageous and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would ensure optimum evanescent coupling of light between the waveguides for high fidelity optical multiplexer operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Sakamoto to have the waveguides in an optical coupling section of the directional coupler have a width of 0.8 to 1.4pm as claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 5, Sakamoto discloses an optical multiplexer according to claim 1 as discussed above. Although Sakamoto discloses the use of multiple color light wavelengths (e.g. red, green, blue), it does not explicitly disclose that the optical multiplexer is used in an image projector as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, the use of a multi color optical multiplexer in an image projector is well known and common in the art. Such use of an image projector having a multi color optical multiplexer would have been readily recognized as advantageous and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would allow for routing of light using a single optical path and allows for creation of a compact, space-efficient image projector device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sakamoto and WO’422 to have the optical multiplexer be used in an image projector as claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874