DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group A, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups A, B and C does not require the entire technical feature of claim 1 and claim 13 require claim limitations of claim 9, and the stated analysis does not address the product/process relationship presented by claims 1, 11 and 12.
Firstly, the technical feature of Groups A, B and C is only including claim limitations of claim 1, not include claim limitation of claim 9, or the rest of method claim limitations of claim 11 and 13, because the claim limitation of claim 9, or the rest of method claim limitations of claim 11 and 13 are not the technical feature of Groups A, B and C.
Secondly, Groups A, B and C lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of “claim limitations of claim 1”, and Gomer discloses the technical feature of “claim limitations of claim 1” in the previous restrictions on 07/06/2026.
Thus, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species/Subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/02/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9 and 10, all “-” should be removed (claims 11-15 have the same issue).
Claim 3, line 3, the phase “and/or” can be and or or; and
Claim 4, line 3, the phase “and/or” can be and or or.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gomer WO 2022238101A1 (see document of 18728646_2026-07-01_WO_2022238101_A1_M.pdf and Use US 2024/0157680 as English translation and citation).
Regarding claim 1, Gomer discloses a system, in at least figs.1-3, comprising:
at least one substrate (3),
at least one first layer (11) applied on the at least one substrate, wherein each of the at least one first layer comprises a respective holographic optical element (the layer 11 can be a HOE, para.55), and
at least one second layer (5 with the heating element 6) applied on the at least one substrate, wherein each of the at least one second layer comprises at least one respective heat-conducting element (the heating element 6 can be heating wires as well, para.74 and 116)(see figs.1a-3).
Regarding claim 3, Gomer discloses the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer comprise metallic conductors (para.75), or wherein the heat-conducting element has a thermal conductivity of not less than 1 W/m/K (para.75).
Regarding claim 4, Gomer discloses each of the at least one second layer is embodied as a film (see figs.1a-3), wherein the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer or electrodes for electrically contacting the heat-conducting elements are embodied as a flexible circuit on the respective film (see figs.1a-3).
Regarding claim 5, Gomer discloses a heat sink (first and second busbars acting a heat sink, para.117), which is arranged at least partly along the periphery of the at least one second layer and which is thermally coupled to the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer (para.117).
Regarding claim 6, Gomer discloses the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer are embodied as electrical heating elements (para.117).
Regarding claim 7, Gomer discloses furthermore comprising at least one pair of electrodes (first and second busbars) configured to establish an electrical contact between the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer and a current source (para.117).
Regarding claim 10, Gomer discloses the system furthermore comprises: a light source (10) configured to emit light in a predetermined wavelength range for the reconstruction of a hologram onto the holographic optical elements of the at least one first layer (para.55).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi JP6146626B2 (two documents 18728646_2026-10-02_JP_6146626_B2_M.pdf (for figure) and Machine_translation_of_JP6146626B2.pdf (for paragraph citation).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a system, in at least figs.1 and 6, comprising:
at least one substrate (51),
at least one first layer (55) applied on the at least one substrate (see figs.1 and 6), wherein each of the at least one first layer comprises a respective holographic optical element (hologram recording medium, para.38), and
at least one second layer (52 with 56, 52 or 56) applied on the at least one substrate (see figs.1 and 6), wherein each of the at least one second layer comprises at least one respective heat-conducting element (para.58-60 and 106).
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi discloses the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer comprise at least one out of carbon tubes (para.15 and 106) or silver nanowires.
Regarding claim 3, Takeuchi discloses the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer comprise metallic conductors (para.15, 16, 58-60 and 106), or wherein the heat-conducting element has a thermal conductivity of not less than 1 W/m/K (para.58-60 and 106).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi discloses each of the at least one second layer is embodied as a film (see figs.1 and 6 and para.59 and 106), wherein the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer or electrodes for electrically contacting the heat-conducting elements are embodied as a flexible circuit on the respective film (see figs.1 and 6 and para.59 and 106).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi discloses the system furthermore comprises: a light source (60) configured to emit light in a predetermined wavelength range for the reconstruction of a hologram onto the holographic optical elements of the at least one first layer (see figs.1 and 6 and para.52).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masayuki JPH04342624A (see document provided in the IDS filed on 07/12/2024 with translation).
Regarding claim 1, Masayuki discloses a system, in at least figs.4 and 5 and para.26-28, comprising:
at least one substrate (21),
at least one first layer (68) applied on the at least one substrate (see fig.4), wherein each of the at least one first layer comprises a respective holographic optical element (hologram element group, para.28), and
at least one second layer (16b-16e) applied on the at least one substrate (see figs.4 and 5), wherein each of the at least one second layer comprises at least one respective heat-conducting element (heat wires 16b-16e and figs.4 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Masayuki discloses the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer comprise metallic conductors (para.31), or wherein the heat-conducting element has a thermal conductivity of not less than 1 W/m/K.
Regarding claim 5, Masayuki discloses a heat sink (16a and 16f), which is arranged at least partly along the periphery of the at least one second layer (see fig.5) and which is thermally coupled to the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 6, Masayuki discloses the heat-conducting elements of the at least one second layer are embodied as electrical heating elements (para.31).
Regarding claim 7, Masayuki discloses at least one pair of electrodes configured to establish an electrical contact between the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer and a current source (para.31, it’s inherent to have at least one pair of electrodes configured to establish an electrical contact between the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer and a current source in order to generating heat through the heat wires).
Regarding claim 10, Masayuki discloses the system furthermore comprises: a light source (50) configured to emit light in a predetermined wavelength range for the reconstruction of a hologram onto the holographic optical elements of the at least one first layer (para.32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomer WO 2022238101A1 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Cai US 20190198705.
Regarding claim 8, Gomer does not explicitly the system comprises a plurality of pairs of electrodes which are separately switchable, wherein different pairs of the plurality of pairs of electrodes are configured to establish the electrical contact between the current source and different electrical heating elements of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer.
Cai discloses a system, in figs.1 and 2, each of a plurality of independently controlled temperature control sub-zones (5) formed with different electrical heating elements (3) of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer (1) (para.34) for the purpose of controlling the overall temperature uniformity of the lamination heat plate to be within a tiny fluctuation range (para.34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of a plurality of independently controlled temperature control sub-zones formed with different electrical heating elements of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer as taught by Cai in the system of Gomer in order to have the system comprises a plurality of pairs of electrodes which are separately switchable, wherein different pairs of the plurality of pairs of electrodes are configured to establish the electrical contact between the current source and different electrical heating elements of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer for the purpose of controlling the overall temperature uniformity of the lamination heat plate to be within a tiny fluctuation range.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomer WO 2022238101A1 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tikotzenski US 20200139800.
Regarding claim 9, Gomer does not explicitly disclose a temperature sensor, the current source, and a controller configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor.
Tikotzenski discloses a system, in at least figs.1-2B, a temperature sensor (25), the current source (22), and a controller (26) configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements (40) on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor (para.23) for the purpose of controlling the at least one electrical power source to generate current in the at least one heating element to generate heat that softens and weakens the bonding material and causes the at least one shape memory element to transition to a remembered shape that operates to disrupt the bonding layer and free the windshield from the windshield frame (abstract and para.23).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a temperature sensor, the current source, and a controller configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor as taught by Tikotzenski in the system of Gomer for the purpose of controlling the at least one electrical power source to generate current in the at least one heating element to generate heat that softens and weakens the bonding material and causes the at least one shape memory element to transition to a remembered shape that operates to disrupt the bonding layer and free the windshield from the windshield frame.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masayuki JPH04342624A as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Cai US 20190198705.
Regarding claim 8, Masayuki does not explicitly the system comprises a plurality of pairs of electrodes which are separately switchable, wherein different pairs of the plurality of pairs of electrodes are configured to establish the electrical contact between the current source and different electrical heating elements of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer.
Cai discloses a system, in figs.1 and 2, each of a plurality of independently controlled temperature control sub-zones (5) formed with different electrical heating elements (3) of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer (1) (para.34) for the purpose of controlling the overall temperature uniformity of the lamination heat plate to be within a tiny fluctuation range (para.34).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of a plurality of independently controlled temperature control sub-zones formed with different electrical heating elements of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer as taught by Cai in the system of Masayuki in order to have the system comprises a plurality of pairs of electrodes which are separately switchable, wherein different pairs of the plurality of pairs of electrodes are configured to establish the electrical contact between the current source and different electrical heating elements of the electrical heating elements of the at least one second layer for the purpose of controlling the overall temperature uniformity of the lamination heat plate to be within a tiny fluctuation range.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masayuki JPH04342624A as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tikotzenski US 20200139800.
Regarding claim 9, Masayuki does not explicitly disclose a temperature sensor, the current source, and a controller configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor.
Tikotzenski discloses a system, in at least figs.1-2B, a temperature sensor (25), the current source (22), and a controller (26) configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements (40) on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor (para.23) for the purpose of controlling the at least one electrical power source to generate current in the at least one heating element to generate heat that softens and weakens the bonding material and causes the at least one shape memory element to transition to a remembered shape that operates to disrupt the bonding layer and free the windshield from the windshield frame (abstract and para.23).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a temperature sensor, the current source, and a controller configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor as taught by Tikotzenski in the system of Masayuki for the purpose of controlling the at least one electrical power source to generate current in the at least one heating element to generate heat that softens and weakens the bonding material and causes the at least one shape memory element to transition to a remembered shape that operates to disrupt the bonding layer and free the windshield from the windshield frame.
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fries US 2022/0289144 ((figs.1-5) discloses a temperature sensor (130), the current source, and a controller (150) configured to adjust a current flow from the current source through the electrical heating elements (140) on the basis of a temperature measurement value of the temperature sensor (para.32) for the purpose of controlling the at least one heating unit on the basis of the temperature measured by the at least one temperature sensor (para.32) can be a secondary reference for claim 9.
/JIA X PAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871