DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 07/12/2024 and is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/001264 (01/27/2023) which claims foreign priority to Korea 10-2022-0012507 (01/27/2022) and Korea 10-2022-0012508 (01/27/2022). Claims 1-9 are before the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification does not adequately describe the nexus between oxidative stress and anti-ovarian aging generally (claims 1-5 and 8); increased number of ovarian follicles, increased number of oocytes or an increased rate of preimplantation embryo development (claim 6); increased expression of one or more genes (claim 7); or premature ovarian failure, sterility, infertility, miscarriages, ovarian cysts, ovarian teratomas, ovarian endometriomas, polycystic ovary syndrome, menopause, menopausal symptoms ovarian cancer and oophoritis (claim 9). Reduction of oxidative stress is linked to many things. However, the specification does not provide a nexus between oxidative stress reduction and the treatment of increased number of oocytes, increased expression of one or more genes or sterility and miscarriages. It is not seen where the instant specification adequately describes the nexus between the oxidative stress of the treatment of any of the above listed diseases, conditions or cancer.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include 1) the breadth of the claims, 2) the nature of the invention, 3) the state of the prior art, 4) the level of one of ordinary skill, 5) the level of predictability in the art, 6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, 7) the existence of working examples, and 8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The nature of the invention: The nature of the invention is the treatment of aging or dysfunction of ovaries including premature ovarian failure, sterility, infertility, miscarriages, ovarian cysts, ovarian teratomas, ovarian endometriomas, polycystic ovary syndrome, menopause, menopausal symptoms, ovarian cancer and oophoritis by lowering oxidative stress.
The state of the prior art: The state of the prior art is that it involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can treat which specific disease). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic regimen on its face. Further, the compounds claimed by applicant have not been tested for the treatment of polycystic ovary syndrome or ovarian cancer among other conditions listed in the claims.
The predictability in the art: It is noted that the pharmaceutical art is unpredictable, requiring each embodiment to be individually assessed for physiological activity. In re Fisher, 427 F. 2d 833, 166 USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970) indicates that the more unpredictable an area is, the more specific enablement is necessary in order to satisfy the statute. In the instant case, the instantly claimed invention is highly unpredictable since one skilled in the art would recognize that in regards to the therapeutic effects of all the listed diseases and conditions, whether or not the modulation of oxidative stress would make a difference in the disease. Hence, in the absence of a showing of a nexus between the modulation of oxidative stress and the treatment of ovarian cancer and menopause as well as the other conditions, if one of ordinary skill in the art is unable to fully predict possible results from the administration of the compound of claim 1 due to the unpredictability of the role of modulation of oxidative stress.
The presence or absence of working examples: The compounds have not been tested for the treatment of menopause, menopausal symptoms, ovarian cancer or the other conditions listed in the claims.
The amount of direction or guidance present: The guidance present in the specification is that of the compounds that can treat diseases and conditions related to ovarian aging. The specification does not seem to enable a correlation between the over aging of ovaries and the treatment of the conditions listed in the claims which include ovarian cancer and miscarriages to name two conditions.
The breadth of the claims: The claims are drawn to the treatment of diseases and conditions linked to ovarian aging with the compounds of formula (I).
The quantity of experimentation needed: The quantity of experimentation needed is undue. One skilled in the art would need to determine what diseases would be benefited by the mediation of oxidative stress and then would further need to determine which of the claimed compounds would provide treatment of the disease.
The level of the skill in the art: The level of skill in the art is high. However, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed for physiological activity by in vitro and in vivo screening to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
Thus, the specification fails to provide sufficient support of the broad use of the compounds of claim 1 for the treatment of any disease. As a result necessitating one of ordinary skill to perform an exhaustive search for which diseases can be treated by which compound of claim 1 in order to practice the claimed invention.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds of the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 7, “such as” is used twice and makes the claim ambiguous. For claims 1-4 and 8, what conditions are related to anti-ovarian aging or the aging or dysfunction of ovaries? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Ammar. Ammar teaches that oxidative stress leads to over aging of ovaries. Kim teaches compounds such as page 1947 reduce oxidative stress. The compounds of 1947 is the same compound as the instant claim 4. This compound falls within the scope of claims 1-4. Kim teaches that use of this compound reduces oxidative stress and can be used in the treatment of diseases mediated by oxidative stress. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the compounds taught by Kim to treat the diseases linked to the over aging of ovaries due to the teaching of Ammar. Ammar teaches the link between oxidative stress and over aging of ovaries and Kim teaches the compound of claim 4 reduces oxidative stress.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. PGPubs 20260159421, 20240269145, 20250289785, 20240374646, 20250122155 and 20240009202 in view of Ammar. The PGPubs all teach the use of compounds of formula (I) to treat various conditions. Ammar teaches the compounds of formula (I) can treat various conditions linked to oxidative stress and then lists many different conditions that are linked to oxidative stress, which are the conditions being treated in the listed USPGPubs.
Conclusion
/D MARGARET M SEAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625