DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the light detection unit” in the last 2 lines of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a light irradiation unit that irradiates the sample in the sample accommodation space with light”; “a light detection unit that detects scattered light or fluorescent light generated from the sample irradiated with light”; and “an analysis unit that measures a particle size distribution of a particle group including the plurality of particles using a detection signal obtained by the light detection unit” in claim 1; and
“light detection unit” in claim 10; and
“a light irradiation unit that irradiates the sample in the sample accommodation space with light”; “a light detection unit that detects scattered light or fluorescent light generated from the sample irradiated with light”; and “an analysis unit that measures a particle size distribution of a particle group including the plurality of particles using a detection signal obtained by the light detection unit” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (JP2003035650A), references to English machine translation, hereinafter “Ikeda”.
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a particle size distribution measuring device (abstract, Fig. 1) comprising:
a measurement cell (ref 1, paragraph [0011]) including a sample accommodation space that accommodates a sample (ref S, paragraph [0010]) obtained by dispersing a plurality of particles in a dispersion medium (paragraphs [0010]-[0011]);
a stirring means that stirs the sample by sucking and discharging the sample in the sample accommodation space (Fig. 2, ref 26, paragraphs [0031]-[0032]);
a light irradiation unit that irradiates the sample in the sample accommodation space with light (Fig. 1, ref 4, paragraph [0014]);
a light detection unit that detects scattered light or fluorescent light generated from the sample irradiated with light (refs 8, 9, paragraph [0015]); and
an analysis unit that measures a particle size distribution of a particle group including the plurality of particles using a detection signal obtained by the light detection unit (ref 24, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda discloses wherein stirring of the sample by the stirring means and measurement of the particle size distribution by the analysis unit are repeated a plurality of times (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda discloses wherein the stirring means is configured using a pipette (ref 27, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda discloses further comprising an attachment jig that attaches the pipette to the measurement cell, wherein the pipette is held by the attachment jig such that a distal end of a tip of the pipette is located in the sample accommodation space (Fig. 2, ref 28, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses wherein the attachment jig includes a guide mechanism that guides a suction/discharge port of the pipette to suck and discharge the sample toward a predetermined position in the sample accommodation space when the pipette is attached (Fig. 2, ref 38, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda discloses wherein the sample is a biological sample (the sample does not change the structure of the device; the device of Ikeda functions with a biological sample).
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda discloses a method of measuring a particle size distribution of a particle group including a plurality of particles in a sample accommodated in a measurement cell (abstract, Fig. 1), the method comprising:
a stirring step of stirring the sample by sucking and discharging the sample in the measurement cell (Fig. 2, ref 26, paragraphs [0031]-[0032]);
a light irradiation step of irradiating the sample in the measurement cell with light (Fig. 1, ref 4, paragraph [0014]);
a light detection step of detecting scattered light or fluorescent light generated from the sample irradiated with light (refs 8, 9, paragraph [0015]); and
an analysis step of measuring a particle size distribution of the particle group using a detection signal obtained by the light detection unit (ref 24, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Ikeda discloses wherein the stirring step, the light detection step, and the analysis step are repeated a plurality of times for the same sample (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Ikeda discloses a kit for a particle size distribution measuring device that measures a particle size distribution of a particle group including a plurality of particles dispersed in a dispersion medium (abstract, Fig. 1), the kit comprising:
a measurement cell (ref 1, paragraph [0011]) including a sample accommodation space that accommodates a sample (ref S, paragraph [0010]) obtained by dispersing the particle group in a dispersion medium (paragraphs [0010]-[0011]); and
an attachment jig that attaches a pipette to the measurement cell such that a distal end of a tip of the pipette is located in the sample accommodation space (Fig. 2, ref 28, paragraph [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda is silent regarding further comprising an operation control unit that controls a suction operation and a discharge operation by the stirring means.
However, it has been held that providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that using an operation control unit to perform the above method is well-known in the art. One would include an operation control unit that controls a suction operation and a discharge operation by the stirring means in order to rapidly perform analysis on samples without user input.
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda is silent regarding wherein the measurement cell includes a cuvette member including an internal space, and a block body accommodated in the internal space of the cuvette member, and the sample accommodation space is formed in the block body.
However, it has been held that a change is shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). One would select a block in order to have a flat surface for light to transmit, rather than a curved surface which would cause reflections.
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda is silent regarding wherein a volume of the sample accommodation space is less than or equal to 10 μL.
However, it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). One would choose the claimed dimensions in order to have smaller samples, and not waste any sample. Having a smaller cell allows a smaller sample volume to mix and be analyzed.
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda discloses further comprising: a sample injection step of injecting the sample into the measurement cell using a pipette (paragraph [0031]); and wherein in the stirring step, the sample is stirred by pipetting using the pipette (paragraph [0031]), but is silent regarding an installation step of installing the pipette and the measurement cell at a predetermined measurement position.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that an installation step of installing the pipette and the measurement cell at a predetermined measurement position is well-known in the art in order to perform the optical analysis.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda.
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda teaches a particle size distribution measuring device (abstract, Fig. 1) comprising: a measurement cell (ref 1, paragraph [0011]) including a sample accommodation space that accommodates a sample (ref S, paragraph [0010]) obtained by dispersing a plurality of particles in a dispersion medium (paragraphs [0010]-[0011]); a stirring means that stirs the sample by sucking and discharging the sample in the sample accommodation space (Fig. 2, ref 26, paragraphs [0031]-[0032]); a light irradiation unit that irradiates the sample in the sample accommodation space with light (Fig. 1, ref 4, paragraph [0014]); a light detection unit that detects scattered light or fluorescent light generated from the sample irradiated with light (refs 8, 9, paragraph [0015]); and an analysis unit that measures a particle size distribution of a particle group including the plurality of particles using a detection signal obtained by the light detection unit (ref 24, paragraph [0024]), an operation of suction and discharge of the sample by the stirring means (Fig. 2, ref 26, paragraphs [0031]-[0032]).
Ikeda is silent regarding a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program; the program causing a computer to exhibit a function as a stirring operation control unit that controls an operation of suction and discharge.
However, it has been held that providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). Furthermore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that using a computer program to perform the above method is well-known in the art. One would include a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program; the program causing a computer to exhibit a function as a stirring operation control unit that controls an operation of suction and discharge in order to rapidly perform analysis on samples without user input.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeda (US 2004/0075833) teaches a particle measuring device that includes a pump that circulates and stirs the sample.
Misawa (US 2022/0244161) teaches a conventional particle measuring device.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877