DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO 2017/006935 A1 (TOA) PHARMACEUTICAL CO., LTD.) 12 January AND WO 2021/146523 A1 (EVELO) 21 July 2021.
Toa teaches a bacterium-containing oral rapidly disintegrating tablet [0020] comprising 2 mass% of lactic acid bacteria granulated by a spray drying method, 10 mass% of saccharifying bacteria, 10 mass% of butyric acid bacteria, 8.33 mass% of corn starch, 50.8 mass% of lactose hydrate, 6.67 mass% of low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose, 3.33 mass% of crospovidone, and 0.5 mass% of stearyl fumarate (a lubricant) [0063].
Toa does not specifically teach content of the disintegrant, such as crospovidone, specified in claim 1 of the present application, is less than 5.0 mass% however Toa lists low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose, crospovidone, croscarmellose sodium, as disintegrants. Given the teachings of Toa, adjusting the formulation of components in a the medicine would have been obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Evelo< like Toa, also teaches a a bacterium-containing oral rapidly disintegrating tablet. Evelo teaches a solid composition comprising 25 mass% of Lactococcus lactis, 20 mass% ofmannitol, 6 mass% of croscarmellose sodium, 15 mass% of crospovidone, and 1 mass% of magnesium stearate (lubricant). Evelo does teach the exact concentrations claimed but teaches that 0.01 to 16 mass% of croscarmellose sodium and 5 to 25 mass % of crospovidone are included, and a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the content of the disintegrants within the aforementioned range as appropriate as to arrive at the configuration claimed.
that the "preparation composition" to be contained in the capsule preparation is in the form of a powder.
Taking Tao and Evelo together would have made it obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the percentages of the taught components to create formulations usable in et same manner as those of Tao & Evelo.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657