DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is the U.S. national stage application, under 35 U.S.C. § 371, of
International Patent Application No. PCT/US2023/012726, filed on February 9, 2023, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional application 63/309524, filed February 12, 2022, filed on June 5, 2020.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 12 are pending and under examination. Claims 4-6 and 11 are canceled. Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on September 15, 2026.
Action Summary
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the Abstract, which overcomes the previously identified claimed informalities.
The objection to claims 3 and 9 are withdrawn because the amendments overcome the previously identified claim informalities.
The rejection of claims 1-3 and 11 under U.S.C. §101 is maintained for the reasons set forth below. Newly added claims 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101, as discussed below.
The rejection of claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Repine et al. is withdrawn due to the cancellation of claim 11.
The rejection of claims 1-3 and 7-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Repine et al. in view of Yun et al. and Uyanga et al. is maintained for the reasons set forth below. Newly added claims 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 11 remain rejected and claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature exception (i.e., naturally occurring products and combinations thereof) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) naturally occurring products, namely L-ergothioneine or salts thereof and quercetin or glycosides thereof, and combinations thereof. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely recite naturally occurring compounds and combination thereof. Although claims 3-6 recite ratio and microorganism-growth-inhibition limitations, the specification demonstrates a synergistic effect only for compositions having weight ratios of 0.025 and 1 (Table 1; paras. [0074]- [0083]). The claims are not limited to those compositions and therefore do not recite a composition having markedly different characteristics from the naturally occurring products. Claim 11 merely recites the intended use of L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof for enhancing the microorganism growth inhibitory action of quercin or a glycoside thereof and does not impose additional structural limitations. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, considered individually and in combination, merely amount to well-understood, routine, and conventional use of naturally occurring compounds and do not amount significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Under step 2A, Prong One of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, claims 1-6 and 11 recite compositions comprising naturally occurring products. Specifically, claims 1-6 recite a composition comprising (A) L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof and (B) quercetin or a salt. Claim 11 recites an agent comprising L-ergothioneine of a salt thereof. L-ergothioneine and quercetin or glycosides thereof are naturally occurring substances. Claim 12 recites the amount of the (A) L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof expressed as L-ergothioneine equivalents in the composition is 0.0001 wt.% to 0.01 wt.%. The specification teaches that naturally extracted and purified L-ergothioneine may be used and that L-ergothioneine is abundant in mushrooms (paras. [0027]). The specification further teaches quercetin or a glycoside thereof may be obtained from plants and that naturally derived extracts, concentrates, purified products, and isolated products may be used (paras. [0034]- [0035]). The specification additionally states that L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof and quercetin or a glycoside thereof are compounds found in natural products and foods or beverages that have been consumed (0054]). Therefore, the claims recite naturally occurring products and combinations thereof.
Under Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claims 1 and 2 merely recite combinations of naturally occurring products. Claims 3 further recites a weight ratio of 0.01 to 1.2, and claims 4-6 recite compositions for inhibiting microorganism growth and particular microorganisms. However, the specification demonstrates a synergistic microorganism growth inhibitory effect only for compositions having weight ratio of 0.025 and 1, corresponding to test samples 3 and 4 (paras. [0074]- [0083], Table 1). The claims are not limited to these compositions and encompass numerous compositions for which no markedly different characteristic has been shown. Accordingly, the recited ratio and intended use limitations do not establish that the claimed compositions possess characteristics markedly different from those of the naturally occurring products.
Claim 11 recites an agent for enhancing microorganism growth inhibitory action of quercetin or a glycoside thereof, comprising L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof. The functional language merely expresses the intended use of the agent and does not impose structural limitations on the claimed composition. The claim encompasses naturally occurring L-ergothioneine and salts thereof and therefore does not recite a product possessing markedly different characteristics from naturally occurring products.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not recite additional elements amounting to significantly more than just the judicial exception. The claims merely recite naturally occurring compounds and conventional combinations thereof and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s response/remark filed on September 15, 2026.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the claimed compositions possess markedly different characteristics from naturally occurring substances because the combination of L-ergothioneine and isoquercitrin exhibits an unexpected synergistic antimicrobial effect against Escherichia coli, as evidenced by naturally occurring substances because the combination of L-ergothioneine and isoquercitrin exhibits an unexpected synergistic antimicrobial effect against Escherichia coli, as evidenced by Figure 1 and Table 1 of the specification.
In response, the Examiner acknowledges that the experimental results demonstrate greater inhibition of E. coli growth for test samples 3 and 4 than for the individually tested components under the disclosed experimental conditions. However, the evidence does not adequately establish that the asserted synergistic antimicrobial activity constitutes a markedly different characteristic of the claimed nature-based compositions throughout their scope.
Specifically, paragraphs [0048]–[0051] of the specification disclose experimental results
involving L-ergothioneine and isoquercitrin at only two weight ratios, namely 0.025 and 1, with
isoquercitrin maintained at 100 ppm and L-ergothioneine present at 2.5 ppm or 100 ppm,
respectively. The experimental results are therefore limited to particular chemical species,
concentrations, and assay conditions.
In contrast, the claims broadly encompass compositions comprising L-ergothioneine or salts thereof in combination with quercetin or glycosides thereof, including chemical species and concentrations other than those experimentally evaluated. The claimed weight ratio ranges
likewise encompass relative proportions beyond the two experimentally tested compositions.
Furthermore, the nature and magnitude of an antimicrobial interaction may depend upon the identity and concentration of the components, their relative proportions, the bacterial strain, and the experimental conditions. Consequently, the demonstration of enhanced antimicrobial activity under the particular conditions employed in the specification does not, without additional supporting evidence, establish that the asserted synergistic characteristic is attributable to the claimed combinations throughout their scope.
The Examiner further notes that Figure 1 reports the observed sterilizing effects but does not expressly identify the quantitative model used to determine the expected additive effect or provide the corresponding calculations establishing the asserted departure from additivity. Although the reported results are relevant to the markedly different characteristics analysis, they do not establish the asserted synergistic property across the breadth of the claimed compositions.
Accordingly, Applicant's arguments and experimental evidence do not overcome the Examiner's determination, for the reasons set forth in the rejection, that the claimed nature-based compositions lack markedly different characteristics sufficient to distinguish them from the applicable naturally occurring counterpart under the product-of-nature analysis. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 remain rejected and claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Repine et al. (WO2019/089878 A1) in view of Yun et al. (Biochimica & Biophysica Acta-Biomembranes 1800 (2018), 357-363) and Uyanga et al. (Nutrients 2021, 13, 3782).
Repine teaches a composition a method for treating a microbial infection in a subject in need of treatment thereof, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of ergothioneine (ERGO), a precursor of ERGO, a salt thereof, or a biologically active analog, or prodrug thereof, wherein the ERGO is the L isomer (L-Ergothioneine), wherein ERGO is administered with another agent, or agents, effective in preventing or treating a microbial infection, and wherein ERGO is administered with lactoferrin (LF), or a precursor of LF, a salt thereof, or a biologically active analog, or prodrug thereof. (See claims 1-3.) Repine also teaches antimicrobial activity against E. coli. (See Figs. 1A and 1B, and corresponding description). Repine additionally teaches inhibition of E. coli growth using 1 mg/ml LF and ERGO concentrations of 0.2 mM, 1 mM, 5 mM, and 10 mM. (See Figure 2.) So, using ERGO molecular weight = 229.3 g/mol.
Formula: mM x molecular weight ÷ 1000 = mg/ml.
1 mM = 0.001 mol/L, and 1g/L = 1 mg/ml.
0.2 mM ERGO ------- 0.2 mM x 229.3 ÷ 1000 = 0.04586 mg/mL
1 mM ERGO ------ 0.1 mM x 229.3 ÷ 1000 = 0.2293 mg/mL
5 mM ERGO ------- 5 mM x 229.3 ÷ 1000 = 1.1465 mg/mL and
10 mM ERGO ------- 10 mM x 229.3 ÷ 1000 = 2.293 mg/mL.
Please note that the table above appears to contain several typographical errors. For instance, the 0.1 nM and 0.2 nM become 1 mM and 0.2 mM, respectively. Additionally, 2.296 in the 10 mM be corresponding to 2.293, is now 2.293.
Repine further teaches the other agent may include lactoferrin (LF; lactotransferrin (LTF)). The LF may be a precursor of LF, a salt thereof, or a biologically active analog, and/or prodrug thereof. In these methods, the ERGO may enhance the anti-microbial activities of LF. (See lines 3-5 of page 3.)
Thus, Repine expressly teaches a composition comprising L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof (claim 1); inhibiting microorganisms’ growth (claim 1); inhibition of E. coli bacterial growth (claims 6 and 10, and examples); and a method of inhibiting microorganism growth comprising administering or adding L-ergothioneine. (See claims 7 and 8.)
Repine does not expressly disclose combining L-ergothioneine with quercetin or glycoside thereof.
Yun discloses isoquercetrin, a glycoside or quercetin, exhibits antibacterial activity against E. coli and also teaches that isoquercetrin inhibits bacterial growth and induces membrane permeabilization, oxidative stress, apoptosis-like death, lipid peroxidation, and membrane dysfunction in E. coli. (See Abstract.)
Uyanga teaches that quercetin interacts favorably with sulfur-containing dietary components and such combinations improve gut health and immunity in animal. (See last paragraph of page 15.)
Primary rationale: It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the antimicrobial L-ergothioneine taught by Repine with the antimicrobial isoquercetrin taught by Yun because both references teach agents useful for inhibiting microbial growth, including E. coli and one would have reasonably expected that combining two known antimicrobial gents would provide a composition and method having addition or enhanced antimicrobial efficacy against E. coli. Repine expressly teaches that ERGO may be administered with another antimicrobial agent effective for preventing or treating infection caused and that ERGO may enhance the antimicrobial activities of companion antimicrobial agent, such as lactoferrin. (See p. 3, lines 1-5.) Repine further teaches compositions comprising ERGO and another antimicrobial and/or anti-inflammatory agent. (See p. 3, lines 20-29.) Additionally, Uyanga teaches that quercetin interacts with sulfur-containing amino acids to improve gut function and immunity in animals. Because Repine teaches that ERGO is a sulfur-containing compound (see lines 1-19 of page 5) and Yun teaches isoquercetrin is antimicrobial quercetin glycoside effective against E. coli, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably that combining ERGO with isoquercetrin would provide beneficial antimicrobial activity and enhanced efficacy against E. coli with a reasonable expectation of success.
Secondary rationale: It would have been obvious to substitute the antimicrobial isoquerceitrin taught by Yun for the antimicrobial lactoferrin exemplified by Repine because both lactoferrin and isoquercetrin are antimicrobial agents and both serve the same role in the composition of Repine, namely, as the companion antimicrobial agent whose antimicrobial activity in enhanced by ERGO. Repine teaches that lactoferrin is merely one example of another agent effective in preventing or treating infection and further taches compositions comprising ERGO and another antimicrobial and/or anti-inflammatory agent. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected isoquercetrin to function as another companion antimicrobial agent for ERGO with the expectation of obtaining enhanced antimicrobial activity against microorganisms, including E. coli. Furthermore, Uyanga teaches that quercetin compounds interact favorably with sulfur-containing amino acid to improve gut function and immunity, thereby providing additional support for the compatibility and beneficial interaction between isoquercetrin and the sulfur-containing compound ERGO.
With respect to the ratios claimed, Repine taches different ERGO-to-companion-agent ratios were investigated, ratios of about 0.046 to 2.29 by weight were known to be effective and a ratio of 1.146 overlaps the claimed upper endpoint 1.2. Additionally, Repine teaches ERGO-to-companion-agent weight ratios of about 0.046 to 2.29, including a ratio of approximately 1.146, which overlaps the claimed range of 0.01 to 1.2. optimization of relative amounts of relative amounts of known antimicrobial agents constitutes routine optimization of a result-effective variable as suggested by Repine as Repine teaches to do so, because Repine teaches in lines 20-36 of page 14 bridging lines 1-7 of page 15 that
and also, because Figure 2 of Repine demonstrates that different ERGO-to-companion-agent ratios affect antimicrobial activity, thereby evidencing that the relative amounts of ERGO and a companion antimicrobial agent influence the desired result and therefore constitutes a result-effective-result.
With respect to claim 12, which further requires that the content of L-ergothioneine or a salt thereof expressed in terms of L-ergothieneine, is 0.0001 wt.% to 0.01 wt.% of the composition, Repine teaches that L-ergothieneine at concentration including 0.2 mM in an antimicrobial system containing lactoferrin (see figure 2). A concentration of 0.2 mM L-ergothioneine corresponds to approximately 0.04586 mg/ml, or approximately 0.004586 wt.% assuming an aqueous composition having density of about 1 g/mL. This concentration falls within the range recited in claim 12. Thus, Repine provides evidence that relatively low concentration of L-ergothioneine within the claimed range were known for use in antimicrobial systems. In view of Repine’s teaching of varying L-ergothieneine concentrations to investigate antimicrobial performance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to consider such concentrations when formulating the antimicrobial composition resulting from the combination of Repine and Yun.
Response to Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s response/remark filed on September 15, 2026.
Applicant's arguments concerning the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Repine et al. in view of Yun et al. and Uyanga et al. have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the motivation to combine and reasonable expectation of success:
Applicant contends that the cited references do not provide a sufficient motivation to combine Lergothioneine with isoquercitrin or a reasonable expectation of achieving the asserted synergistic antimicrobial activity.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously established in the rejection, Repine et al. expressly teach the use of L-ergothioneine for inhibiting microbial growth, including Escherichia coli, and further teach combining Lergothioneine with another antimicrobial agent, such as lactoferrin.
In particular, Repine et al. demonstrate in Example 1 that L-ergothioneine independently inhibits E. coli growth and that combining L-ergothioneine with lactoferrin further reduces bacterial growth compared with lactoferrin alone (see p. 16, Example 1, Figures 1A and 1B).
Yun et al. independently teach that isoquercitrin, a glycoside of quercetin, possesses antibacterial activity against E. coli, including inhibition of bacterial growth and disruption of bacterial membrane function (see Abstract).
Furthermore, Uyanga et al. teach favorable interactions between quercetin and sulfur-containing dietary components in the context of improving gut health and immunity (see p. 15).
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to investigate isoquercitrin as an alternative antimicrobial agent for combination with L-ergothioneine, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting composition would exhibit antibacterial activity against E. coli.
The Examiner further notes that the pending claims do not require synergistic antimicrobial activity, a particular mechanism of action, or any specified magnitude of antimicrobial enhancement. Therefore, a reasonable expectation of achieving the particular synergistic effect asserted by Applicant is not required to establish a reasonable expectation of obtaining the claimed antimicrobial activity.
Although Repine et al. describe the mechanism responsible for enhancing lactoferrin's
antibacterial activity as previously undefined and unanticipated (see p. 17, Example 3), the
absence of a fully understood mechanism does not negate the express experimental demonstration that L-ergothioneine possesses antibacterial activity and may enhance the activity of another antimicrobial agent.
Regarding the claimed weight ratios and routine optimization:
Applicant further contends that Repine et al. investigate different concentrations of Lergothioneine
while maintaining lactoferrin at a fixed concentration and therefore do not teach the
claimed L-ergothioneine-to-isoquercitrin-equivalent weight ratios.
In response, the Examiner acknowledges that Repine et al. employ lactoferrin rather than isoquercitrin. However, the rejection does not depend upon Repine expressly disclosing the specific combination of L-ergothioneine and isoquercitrin.
Rather, Repine et al. teach investigating different concentrations of L-ergothioneine in
combination with a companion antimicrobial agent and demonstrate that the concentration of Lergothioneine influences the antibacterial performance of the combination.
Specifically, Repine et al. disclose varying L-ergothioneine concentrations of 0.2, 1, 5, and 10 mM while maintaining lactoferrin at 1 mg/mL (see Figure 2). These concentrations correspond to L-ergothioneine amounts of approximately 0.04586, 0.2293, 1.1465, and 2.293 mg/mL, respectively. The corresponding L-ergothioneine-to-lactoferrin weight ratios are approximately 0.046, 0.229, 1.146, and 2.293.
These calculated ratios are relied upon as evidence of the relative component amounts
investigated by Repine et al., rather than as an express disclosure of the claimed L-ergothioneineto-isoquercitrin-equivalent ratios.
In view of Yun et al.'s teaching that isoquercitrin is independently effective against E. coli, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to consider isoquercitrin as an alternative companion antimicrobial agent and to investigate relative concentrations based upon those previously employed in Repine et al.
For example, selecting a companion-agent concentration of 1 mg/mL while maintaining Lergothioneine concentrations of 0.2, 1, or 5 mM would result in calculated weight ratios of
approximately 0.046, 0.229, or 1.146, respectively. These values fall within the range of 0.01–1.2 recited in claim 1, while the first two values also fall within the narrower range of 0.025–1 recited in claim 3.
Furthermore, Repine et al. expressly teach that the degree to which L-ergothioneine preserves the antibacterial activity of lactoferrin is related to the concentration of L-ergothioneine added to the composition (see p. 16, Example 2, lines 24–26). Repine et al. also teach adjusting the amount administered to achieve the desired therapeutic effect, including beginning at lower amounts and increasing the dosage as appropriate (see pp. 14–15).
Accordingly, Repine et al. provide evidence that the relative amount of L-ergothioneine in an antimicrobial combination was a recognized variable affecting antimicrobial performance. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to investigate and adjust the relative amounts of L-ergothioneine and isoquercitrin to obtain a composition exhibiting the desired antimicrobial activity.
Regarding Applicant's asserted unexpected synergistic results:
Applicant further relies upon Figure 1 and Table 1 of the specification as evidence that the claimed compositions exhibit unexpected synergistic antimicrobial activity.
In response, the Examiner has considered these experimental results but does not find them sufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness.
Although test samples 3 and 4 exhibit greater inhibition of E. coli growth than the individually tested components, the reported results do not expressly identify the quantitative method employed to determine the expected additive response or provide the corresponding calculations establishing the asserted synergistic interaction.
Furthermore, the experimental results concern only L-ergothioneine and isoquercitrin at two specific weight ratios, 0.025 and 1, with isoquercitrin maintained at 100 ppm. The claims,
however, encompass additional chemical species, concentrations, and relative proportions.
Moreover, antimicrobial interactions may vary depending upon the particular components, their concentrations, the bacterial strain, and the experimental conditions. Consequently, an asserted synergistic effect observed under one set of experimental conditions cannot automatically be extrapolated to other compositions and conditions encompassed by the claims.
Although synergistic activity need not be expressly recited in a claim to constitute relevant evidence of unexpected results, Applicant has not adequately established that the asserted unexpected synergistic effect is reasonably attributable to the full scope of the claimed subject matter.
Furthermore, the claimed numerical ranges have not been shown to possess critical boundaries based upon the submitted comparative evidence.
Accordingly, the asserted unexpected results have not been shown to be sufficiently
commensurate in scope with the claimed invention to outweigh the evidence supporting the prima facie case of obviousness.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 12 are not allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628