DETAILED ACTION
The instant office action is in response to communication filed on 07/12/2024.
Claims 1-13, 15,16, and 18-22 are pending of which claims 1, 15 and 16 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 07/12/2024 and 06/11/2025 is being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20250126605 A1) in view of Ko et al (US 20240389075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a resource selection method (Figs. 1-7) , comprising: according to a first moment corresponding to target data to be transmitted, determining, by a first terminal device (see paragraph 75), a resource selection window (i.e. Fig. 2 resource selection window 101) and a resource perception window (i.e. Fig. 2 sensing window 102) corresponding to the first moment (See time axis in Fig. 2 moment T3), the resource perception window being located before the resource selection window (Per Fig. 2 Sensing window appears before selection window); excluding, by the first terminal device, from an available resource set corresponding to the resource selection window, at least a reserved resource corresponding to a second terminal device (Per Paragraphs 62, 63 resources w, x, y, z, and v were evaluated by the terminal in sensing window 202 in Fig. 2) to obtain a candidate resource set that is used for transmitting the target data, (Terminal selects x, y, z, and v but not w because it is being used a second other terminal) wherein the second terminal device transmits first data on a first resource in the resource perception window (i.e. per paragraphs 62,63, and 75 and Fig. 2 second terminal transmits in selection window w), the first terminal device supports a network standard), and the second terminal device supports a The terminals in Zhao support 5G NR standard and LTE)
Zhao fails to disclose the first terminal device supports a first
Ko in the same endeavor discloses the first terminal device supports a first network standard), and the second terminal device supports a second network standard. (See Fig. 16 and paragraph 243 indicating two terminals involved in partial sensing can belong to two different network standards such as LTE and NR).
In view of the above, having Zhao’s resource selection method and then given the well- established teaching Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Zhao’s resource selection method as taught by Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network,, since Ko states in paragraph 11 that the modification results in allowing the UE to perform retransmission efficiently.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao modified by Ko discloses the method according to claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the first terminal device comprises a first communication module and a second communication module, and the first communication module supports the first network standard and the second communication module supports the second network standard.
Ko in the same endeavor discloses wherein the first terminal device comprises a first communication module and a second communication module, and the first communication module supports the first network standard and the second communication module supports the second network standard. (See Fig. 16 and paragraph 243 indicating two terminals involved in partial sensing can belong to two different network standards such as LTE and NR/ The modules to support the different network standards are shown in Fig. 16).
In view of the above, having Zhao’s resource selection method and then given the well- established teaching Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Zhao’s resource selection method as taught by Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network,, since Ko states in paragraph 11 that the modification results in allowing the UE to perform retransmission efficiently.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao modified by Ko discloses the method according to claim 1 but fails to disclose, wherein the first network standard is a new radio (NR), the second network standard is long term evolution (LTE).
Ko in the same endeavor discloses wherein the first network standard is a new radio (NR), the second network standard is long term evolution (LTE). (See Fig. 16 and paragraph 243 indicating two terminals involved in partial sensing can belong to two different network standards such as LTE and NR).
In view of the above, having Zhao’s resource selection method and then given the well- established teaching Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Zhao’s resource selection method as taught by Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network,, since Ko states in paragraph 11 that the modification results in allowing the UE to perform retransmission efficiently.
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses a resource selection device (Fig. 3 Terminal 1 UE 1 represented structurally in Fig. 14), comprising: a processor (Fig. 14 processor 1401.) and a memory (Fig. 14 memory 1404) ; wherein
the memory stores computer-executed instructions;
the processor executes the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory
to cause the processor to:
determine(see paragraph 75), according to a first moment corresponding to target data to be transmitted(See time axis in Fig. 2 moment T3), a resource selection window (i.e. Fig. 2 resource selection window 101) and a resource perception window(i.e. Fig. 2 sensing window 102) corresponding to the first moment, the resource perception window(i.e. Fig. 2 sensing window 102) being located
before the resource selection window(Per Fig. 2 Sensing window appears before selection window);
exclude, from an available resource set corresponding to the resource selection
window (Per Paragraphs 62, 63 resources w, x, y, z, and v were evaluated by the terminal in sensing window 202 in Fig. 2) , at least a reserved resource corresponding to a second terminal device, to
obtain a candidate resource set that is used for transmitting the target data(Terminal selects x, y, z, and v but not w because it is being used a second other terminal), wherein the second terminal device transmits first data on a first resource in the resource perception window(i.e. per paragraphs 62,63, and 75 and Fig. 2 second terminal transmits in selection window w), the first terminal device supports a fThe terminals in Zhao support 5G NR standard and LTE)
Zhao fails to disclose the first terminal device supports a first
Ko in the same endeavor discloses the first terminal device supports a first network standard), and the second terminal device supports a second network standard. (See Fig. 16 and paragraph 243 indicating two terminals involved in partial sensing can belong to two different network standards such as LTE and NR).
In view of the above, having Zhao’s resource selection method and then given the well- established teaching Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Zhao’s resource selection method as taught by Ko’s techniques for partial sensing in multi standard network,, since Ko states in paragraph 11 that the modification results in allowing the UE to perform retransmission efficiently.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-12, and 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474