DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/12/2024, 12/02/2024, 8/18/2025, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stroller” (Claim 1/12) “a seat part” and “hydraulic/pneumatic rod” (Claim 9/10) “seat” (Claim 11), must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a damping elastic element” (Claim 1), and “means of…” (Claim 10).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claims purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim limitations “damping elastic element” (Claim 1) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitations: “A damping device of a stroller, arranged on” (emphasis added) which are unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite, as it is unclear if the limitations are required as part of the “Damping device” or not. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitations: “arranged to elastically prevent…from pivoting” (emphasis added) which is unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitations: “to delay a downward movement” (emphasis added) which is unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitations: “slidably pivotally connected” (emphasis added) which is unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 2 includes the limitations: “arranged to be driven” (emphasis added) which is unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 2 includes limitations linked by the phrase "and/or." This renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear if the combination of limitations is required or optional. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 3 includes the limitations: “indirectly pivotally connected” (emphasis added) which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 11, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 5,718,439).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses: A damping device of a stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 2), arranged on a first pipe and a second pipe of a seat pipe of the stroller which are parallel to each other (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 17), and carrying a seat part of the stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 3), wherein the damping device comprises a bracket structure (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 20+22+23+24+27+28+etc.) pivotally connected to the first pipe and the second pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12), and the bracket structure is arranged to elastically prevent the bracket structure from pivoting relative to the first pipe and the second pipe by means of a damping elastic element (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 21) to delay a downward movement of the seat part (See, e.g., Fig.1-12), wherein the bracket structure comprises: a damping pipe having a fixed end pivotally connected to the first pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 22+27+28); and a damping sleeve (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 22+27+28) having a first end pivotally connected to the second pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12) and a second end slidably pivotally connected to the damping pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses: wherein: the damping pipe abuts against a lower surface of the seat part (See, e.g., Fig.1-12), and has a free end that is higher than the second pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12); the damping sleeve is arranged to be driven to pivot downward about the second pipe when the damping pipe is pressed downward and pivots downward about the first pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12); and the damping elastic element is a separate member other than the damping pipe and the damping sleeve (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 21), and the damping elastic element is arranged to apply a damping force on the damping pipe and/or the damping sleeve when the damping pipe and the damping sleeve pivot downward (See, e.g., Fig.1-12).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses: wherein the damping elastic element is a tension spring (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 21), a compression spring, a hydraulic rod or a pneumatic rod, which acts on the damping pipe and/or the damping sleeve to generate a damping force in response to downward pivoting of the damping pipe and the damping sleeve (See, e.g., Fig.1-12).
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, Wang discloses: A seat of a stroller, wherein the seat comprises the damping device according to claim 1 (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 3+6).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses: A stroller, wherein the stroller comprises a frame and a seat arranged on the frame, and the seat comprises the damping device according to claim 1 (See, e.g., Fig.1-12, 3+6).
[Claim 15] Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses: wherein when the damping device is not under pressure, the bracket structure is kept at a high position under the action of the damping elastic element (See, e.g., Fig.1-12), when the damping device is under the pressure, the damping pipe pivots downward about the first pipe, thereby driving the damping sleeve to pivot downward about the second pipe (See, e.g., Fig.1-12), so that the bracket structure moves to a low position, when the pressure on the damping device weakens or disappears, the bracket structure will move back from the low position to the high position under the action of the damping elastic element (See, e.g., Fig.1-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Andrus (US 5,887,889).
[Claims 10] Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches: wherein: the damping pipe abuts against a lower surface of the seat part (See, e.g., Wang: Fig.1-12) , and has a free end that is higher than the second pipe (See, e.g., Wang: Fig.1-12).
Wang fails to explicitly teach: wherein: the damping elastic element is a hydraulic rod or pneumatic rod forming a part of the damping sleeve, and when the damping pipe is pressed downward and pivots downward about the first pipe, the damping sleeve is driven to pivot downward about the second pipe and apply a damping force on the damping pipe by means of the hydraulic rod or the pneumatic rod forming a part of the damping sleeve.
However, Andrus teaches a similar stroller with a damping device (See, e.g., Andrus: Fig.1-6) wherein the damping elastic element is a hydraulic rod or pneumatic rod forming a part of a damping sleeve (See, e.g., Andrus: Fig.1-6, 52), and when the damping pipe is pressed downward and pivots downward about first pipe, the damping sleeve is driven to pivot downward about the second pipe and apply a damping force on the damping pipe by means of the hydraulic rod or the pneumatic rod forming a part of the damping sleeve (See, e.g., Andrus: Fig.1-6)
Andrus teaches that it is well known in the art of stroller design to provide the stroller with a hydraulic/pneumatic damping device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Wang modified with a hydraulic/pneumatic damping device such as taught by Andrus, for the purpose of conveniently maintaining the stroller and seat in a reduced vibration/oscillation riding configuration when in use, beneficially allowing a user to move the system easily even over rough terrain. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 13, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: wherein the damping pipe is provided with a connecting sleeve which is slidable along the damping pipe, and the second end of the damping sleeve is pivotally connected to the connecting sleeve, so that the second end of the damping sleeve is indirectly pivotally connected to the damping pipe, as claimed in Claim 3 and similarly claimed in Claim 8 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613