DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following:
on line 2, after “by”, “the” should be changed to --a--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gran (US 2014/0348360).
Regarding claim 1, Gran teaches a wearable audio device (10, 12, figures 4, 5, 6, 7) comprising a behind-the-ear (BTE) microphone (14, 16, paragraph [0121]) configured to generate a BTE microphone signal (33, 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7), a front-of-ear microphone (26, paragraph [0121], figures 6, 7) configured to generate a front-of-ear microphone signal (31, paragraph [0121], figure 7), an adaptive filter (46, 58, 70, figure 7) configured to generate an adapted signal (figure 7, paragraphs [0123]-[0126] and [0141]) based on the BTE microphone signal (paragraph [0123], figure 7), and an error signal (82, paragraph [0141], figure 7), a subtractor circuit (78, paragraph [0141], figure 7) configured to generate the error signal based on the adapted signal and the front-of-ear microphone signal (31, figure 7), and an acoustic transducer (22) configured to generate audio based on the adapted signal (paragraph [0141], figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Gran teaches the BTE microphone (14, 16) that is arranged behind an ear of a user (paragraph [0121], figures 4, 5, 6, 7).
Regarding claim 3, Gran teaches the front-of-ear microphone (26) that is arranged within an ear canal or a concha of a user (paragraph [0121], figures 6, 7).
Regarding claim 4, Gran teaches a second BTE microphone (14 or 16) that is configured to generate a second BTE microphone signal (33 or 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Gran teaches the second BTE microphone (14 or 16) that is arranged behind an ear of a user (paragraph [0121], figures 4, 5, 6, 7).
Regarding claim 9, Gran teaches the wearable audio device that is a hearing aid (10).
Regarding claim 10, Gran teaches a wearable audio device (10, 12, figures 4, 5, 6, 7) comprising a first behind-the-ear (BTE) microphone (14, 16, paragraph [0121]) configured to generate a first BTE microphone signal (33, 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7), a second behind-the-ear (BTE) microphone (14, 16, paragraph [0121]) configured to generate a second BTE microphone signal (33, 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7), a fixed filter configured to generate a microphone array based on the first BTE microphone signal and the second BTE microphone signal (34, 36, 50, figure 7, paragraphs [0122]- [0123]), a front-of-ear microphone (26, paragraph [0121], figures 6, 7) configured to generate a front-of-ear microphone signal (31, paragraph [0121], figure 7), an adaptive filter (46, 58, 70, figure 7) configured to generate an adapted signal (figure 7, paragraphs [0123]-[0126] and [0141]) based on the BTE microphone signal (paragraph [0123], figure 7), and an error signal (82, paragraph [0141], figure 7), a subtractor circuit (78, paragraph [0141], figure 7) configured to generate the error signal based on the adapted signal and the front-of-ear microphone signal (31, figure 7), and an acoustic transducer (22) configured to generate audio based on the adapted signal (paragraph [0141], figure 7).
Regarding claim 11, Gran teaches the first BTE microphone (14) and the second BTE microphone (16, figure 7). Gran does not specifically teach the first BTE microphone and the second BTE microphone (16, figure 7) are arranged as a directional microphone array. However, providing a first microphone and a second microphone in a hearing aid or a wearable audio device in a directional mode or arranged as a directional microphone array is known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the first BTE microphone and the second BTE microphone in the system of Gran in any mode such as a directional mode for better selecting the signals depending on the desired frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claim 12, Gran teaches a method for capturing and processing audio with a wearable audio device (10, 12, figures 4, 5, 6, 7) comprising generating, via a front-of-ear microphone (26, paragraph [0121], figures 6, 7) arranged on the wearable audio device, a front-of-ear microphone signal (31, paragraph [0121], figure 7), generating, via an adaptive filter (46, 58, 70, figure 7), an adapted signal (46, 58, 70, figure 7, paragraphs [0123]-[0126] and [0141]) based on a behind-the-ear (BTE) audio signal (33, 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7) and an error signal (82, paragraph [0141]), wherein the error signal is generated by a subtractor circuit (78, paragraph [0141], figure 7) configured to generate the error signal based on the adapted signal and the front-of-ear microphone signal (31, figure 7), and wherein the BTE audio signal (33, 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7) corresponds to sound captured by one or more BTE microphones (14, 16, paragraph [0121]) arranged on the wearable audio device, and generating, via an acoustic transducer (22) arranged on the wearable audio device, audio corresponding to the adapted signal (paragraph [0141], figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Gran teaches the BTE audio signal that is a first BTE microphone signal (33, 35, paragraph [0121], figure 7) generated by a first BTE microphone (14, 16, paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claims 14-15, Gran teaches the BTE audio signal that is a microphone array signal generated by a fixed filter (34, 36, 50, figure 7, paragraphs [0122]- [0123]), wherein the fixed filter generates the microphone array signal based on a first BTE microphone signal (33) and a second BTE microphone signal (35, figure 7, paragraphs [0122]- [0123]),
Regarding claims 16, Gran teaches the first BTE microphone signal (33) that is generated by a first BTE microphone (14, figure 7), and the second BTE microphone signal (35) that is generated by a second BTE microphone (16, figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gran (US 2014/0348360).
Regarding claim 6, Gran teaches the adaptive filter (46, 58, 70, figure 7, paragraphs [0123]-[0126] and [0141]) configured to generate the adapted signal based on the BTE microphone signal (paragraph [0123], figure 7), and the error signal (82, paragraph [0141]). Gran does not specifically disclose a second adapted signal based on the second BTE microphone signal and a second error signal as claimed. However, Gran does teach a first BTE microphone signal and a second BTE microphone signal (33, 35, figure 7) that are pre-processed or pre-filtered in the pre-processors (34, 36, figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a second adapted signal and a second error signal for better processing the plurality BTE microphone signals and better providing the improved frequency characteristics in the system.
Regarding claims 7-8, Gran teaches the an adaptive filter (46, 58, 70, figure 7, paragraphs [0123]-[0126] and [0141]) configured to generate the adapted signal based on a BTE microphone signal (paragraph [0123], figure 7) and the error signal (82, paragraph [0141]), and a subtractor circuit (78, paragraph [0141], figure 7) configured to generate the error signal based on the adapted signal and the front-of-ear microphone signal (31, figure 7), and an acoustic transducer (22) configured to generate audio based on the adapted signal (paragraph [0141], figure 7).
Gran does not specifically disclose a second subtractor circuit configured to generate the second error signal based on the second adapted signal and the front-of-ear microphone signal as claimed. However, Gran does teach a first BTE microphone signal and a second BTE microphone signal (33, 35, figure 7) that are pre-processed or pre-filtered in the pre-processors (34, 36, figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to a second subtractor circuit configured to generate the second error signal based on the second adapted signal and the front-of-ear microphone signal, wherein the audio generated by the acoustic transducer (22) is further based on the second adapted signal based on the second BTE microphone signal for better processing the plurality of BTE microphone signals and better providing the improved frequency characteristics in the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koutrouli et al. (US 2020/0107137) teaches a hearing device and hearing system comprising a multitude of adaptive two channel beamformers device, wherein the hearing device comprises three microphones (FM, RM, IM), a BTE part of the hearing device adapted for being located at the external ear of the user comprising two (FM, RM) of the three microphones, an ITE part of the hearing device adapted for being located in or at the ear canal of the user comprising a microphone (IM) located in the concha.
Ma et al. (US 9,148,735) teaches a hearing aid comprising at least one BTE sound input transducer accommodated in a BTE hearing aid housing, and at least one ITE microphone accommodated in an ITE microphone housing, wherein the hearing aid includes a feedback monitor connected to the adaptive feedback canceller and configured to monitor a state of feedback and having an output providing an indication of the state of feedback, and a cue controller connected to the feedback monitor and the at least one adaptive cue filter.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
February 7, 2026