DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 43, 65 and 106-111 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/2026.
The Applicant correctly pointed out the typographical error in the Restriction Requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 24, 28, and 100-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards, et al (EP 3301454 [IDS Reference]) and Lowery, et al (PGPub 2019/0032104). Richards provides for a device that appears consistent with the structural and functional elements claimed in the independent claim. It should be noted, though, that the claimed “needle” is not described in Richards, but it appears to consistent with Richards’ disposable pipette tip, as they serve identical functions. See paragraph [0003] [0061]. Richards indicates that the pipettor system provides for the same functional elements as that claimed, wherein sample can be taken into the pipette and distributed into the sample preparation cartridge. See paragraph [0059]-[0063]. Richards indicates that the pipettor system dispenses the samples into a plurality of aliquots for automated susceptibility testing (AST). See paragraph [0174]. After providing aliquots, Richards indicates that the samples are incubated. See paragraph [0248]. Richards indicates that an image is acquired, wherein antimicrobial susceptibly is determined. See paragraph [0004]. Although Richards does not include sample concentration as an explicitly described step, Richards does suggest sample concentration, and further indicates that the process should begin with the most concentrated specimen. See paragraph [0168] [0190].
Lowery provides for methods and devices for improving the speed of AST. See paragraph [0001] [0004]. Lowery provides for a pipetting device that is similar to that claimed and that of Richards. See paragraph [0208]. Lowery describes providing an aliquot, that was dispensed by pipette tip, into a centrifuge, which would concentrate the sample, followed by an incubation step. See paragraph [0007] [0010]. Although Lowery does determine the susceptibility of pathogens to the testing antimicrobial compounds, Lowery uses nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) as a detecting means. See paragraph [0038].
Lowery and Richards are within the same field and would be known to the ordinary artisan that works in this field. Based upon this, it would be clear to the ordinary artisan that AST can be modified in manners to suit the ordinary artisan’s particular needs. For example, while NMRs are highly accurate and precise, they are large and expensive; therefore, it would be reasonable to expect the ordinary artisan to be capable of modifying a means of detection to suit their specific needs. It would further be clear to the ordinary artisan that a step of concentration would provide for the enrichment of microbes or elimination of unwanted cells, and cellular debris. See Lowery, paragraph [0165].
With respect to claim 1, Richards teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, and steps for performing the method on this device, including optical imaging of the sample; although Richards generally suggest enrichment, Richards does not explicitly describe this step. Lowery teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, including enrichment steps, but teaches a different means of acquiring the data. The ordinary artisan would find in obvious to apply Lowery’s enrichment step to the method of Richards, because Lowery indicates that this enrichment step helps eliminate unwanted cells and debris, thereby improving the signal-to-noise ratio.
With respect to claim 5, Lowery teaches the same centrifugation steps. See paragraph [0013].
With respect to claim 6, Lowery teaches “lysis centrifugation,” which fulfills the claimed limitation. See paragraph [0007].
With respect to claim 10, Lowery teaches magnetic particles that are configured to bind to the suspected pathogen. See paragraph [0009].
With respect to claim 24, Richards teaches the same steps of image acquisition. See paragraph [0032] [0064]. Although Richards does teach a reaction well, Richards does not describe structural elements that are inherent to a transparent reaction well. See paragraph [0003]
With respect to claim 28, Richards teaches that fluorophores can be added to the sample, and that these fluorescent dyes will stain the pathogens. See paragraph [0179].
With respect to claim 100, although not explicitly states, it would be reasonable to assume that Richards and Lowery used disposable pipette tips as they are designed to be used. This would necessarily accomplish the claimed step.
With respect to claim 101, although not explicitly stated, essentially all commercially available pipette tips are sold with aerosol filters. The prevention of contamination is obvious to the ordinary artisan.
With respect to claims 102-104, the claim provides for the general function of a micropipette, and it is likely included in the pipetting systems of both Richards and Lowery. See Richards, paragraph [0061]; Lowery, paragraph [0243]
With respect to claim 105, although neither Richards nor Lowery teach a septum, there is nothing non-obvious about providing airtight containers as a means of reducing the probability of contamination. See Richards, paragraph [0114]; Lowery, paragraph [0250] [0253] [0257].
Conclusion
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651