DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12 and 14-16 in the reply filed on March 25, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2, 13, 21-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by Bockmeyer (USPub20140004323).
Regarding claim 1: Bockmeyer et al. teaches a coating-attached glass article comprising a glass substrate, a self-cleaning coating on the substrate (see abstract and Figures) and an additional layer between the coating and the substrate (see 0051, 0061, Figures).
Bockmeyer’s additional layer is that of SiO2 (0061). Given that SiO2 is the same material used by Applicants’ (see Applicants’ specification par 0039), one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same functionality of diffusion prevention (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 4: Note for the record that the features of claim 4 is evaluating the amount of diffusion coming from the underlying glass to that of the coating.
While Bockmeyer may not explicitly calculate the level of diffusion in the manner claimed, given that Bockmeyer’s coated article including the intervening layer preventing such diffusion is the same as claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same amount of resulting diffusion (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claims 6 and 7: The self-cleaning coating includes cerium oxide which is nanocrystalline (abstract, 0027-0028, 0041, 0046, Example 3).
Regarding claim 8: The self-cleaning coating includes zirconium oxide (abstract, 0027-0028, 0041, 0046, Example 3).
Regarding claim 9: Claim 9 is a conditional claim wherein the coated glass article only has to have the recited contact angle after a thermal treatment as claimed. In the instant case, while Bockmeyer does teach their coated glass article having a contact angle of water on the surface of their coating being greater than 80oC (0031), they do not explicitly disclose the specific contact angle after a thermal treatment as claimed. However, given that Bockmeyer’s coated article meets that claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same resulting properties after being treated as claimed (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 12: While Bockmeyer may not explicitly discuss their intervening layer of SiO2 (diffusion prevention layer) being amorphous, given that there is no teaching or suggestion in the reference of making the intervening layer crystalline, similar to that which Bockmeyer did for the overlying coating, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the intervening layer to be amorphous.
Regarding claim 15: Claim 15 is a conditional claim wherein the coated glass article only has to have the recited visible transmittance difference after a treatment as claimed. In the instant case, given that Bockmeyer’s coated article meets that claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same resulting properties after being treated as claimed (MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockmeyer (USPub20140004323) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of either one of (USPub2015329755) or (USPN12,319,611 having an earlier effective filing date).
Regarding claim 14: Bockmeyer does teach that their self-cleaning coating can include Al (0047) but just does not explicitly disclose it being an oxide. However, Bockmeyer’s coating is a self-cleaning hydrophobic coating that can include zirconium oxide, cerium oxide, and can additionally include Al (see abstract, 0030-0031, 0028, 0041, 0046-0047, Example 3).
Given that ‘755, who similarly teaches hydrophobic coatings that can include zirconium oxide, cerium oxide (0104) and additionally include Al suggests that such Al can be added as an oxide (see 0037-0057), and given that ‘611, who similarly teaches hydrophobic coatings that can include zirconium oxide, cerium oxide (abstract, Col. 6, lines 49-53) and additionally include Al as an oxide (Col. 6, line 52), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Bockmeyer to include their Al being added as an oxide to obtain a desirable hydrophobic coating.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockmeyer (USPub20140004323) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of (USPub20150140325).
Regarding claim 16: Bockmeyer does not explicitly disclose their glass being reinforced glass, however, Bockmeyer does not exclude this and instead, only generally teaches their glass being that for cooktops, viewing windows, etc. (see for instance, Figures, 0057-0058).
As ‘325 suggests that glass for cooktops, etc. often require damage resistance (0003-0004) and that their strengthened glasses are desirable for damage resistant (see entire document), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Bockmeyer to include their glasses being strengthened according to ‘325 for enhanced damage resistance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/728777 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious over the prior art relied upon in the Office Action above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25-47 of copending Application No. 18/727129 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious over the prior art relied upon in the Office Action above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/728731 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious over the prior art relied upon in the Office Action above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-15, 17, 19-26 of copending Application No. 18/042156 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious over the prior art relied upon in the Office Action above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. However, the claims have been allowed so once issued, the rejection will change to nonprovisional.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784