This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 07/28/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected. Claims 2-3,5-6,8-15, and 18-20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al (US 20220322388 A1) (hereinafter “Takeda”).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for transmission (Tx) chain switching between multiple bands (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration for uplink (UL) Tx chain switching (see Fig. 3 (382) para. [0080]; [0081] discloses base station generates configuration message 382, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC); configuration message indicates UL Tx switch configuration);
performing a first UL transmission using a first Tx chain on a first band and a second Tx chain on a second band (see Fig. 8 (Bands group 1, group 2), para. [0110] discloses first group of bands associated with first Tx chain and second group of bands associated with second Tx chain);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a second UL transmission on a third band (see Fig. 3 (386) para. [0084]; [0085]; [0087]-[0088] discloses base station generates DCI , that includes or indicates new configuration for UE; in some implementations the new configuration includes a configuration to use second set of bands; in some implementations UL Tx switch operations indicate multiple pairs of bands to enable Tx switch, per example capability signal includes first band A, and second band B, and second pair includes third band C);
performing first UL Tx chain switching based on the first RRC configuration (see para. [0080];[0091] discloses implementations where configuration message 382 (Fig. 3) may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between the UE and the base station; in some implementations UL Tx chain is different from the current UL Tx chain, the UE may perform UL Tx switch operation); and
performing the second UL transmission, which is a 1-port transmission (see para. [0072] discloses state information may indicate configuration of the transmitter, current configuration of one or more Tx chains, one or more ports, or a combination), wherein the first UL Tx chain switching comprises:
switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band (see para. [0091];[0092] discloses some implementation if the UL Tx chain for configuration of UL transmission on one or more bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, the UE may perform UL Tx switch; UL Tx switch operation is associated with a switch from or to more than one band), and
maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band (see para. [0096] discloses for some bands one or more Tx chains may be fixed and cannot be distributed regardless of the state of UL Tx chains).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda discloses a method (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch), wherein:
the first RRC configuration indicates a state of Tx chains for the UL Tx chain switching (see Fig. 3 (382) para. [0080];[0081] discloses base station generates configuration message 382, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC);configuration message indicates UL Tx switch configuration), and
performing first UL Tx chain switching based on the first RRC configuration comprises performing the first UL Tx chain in a case that the state indicates only one Tx chain to be switched to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch), para. [0112]-[0113] discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D).
Regarding claim 4, Takeda discloses a method (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch), further comprising:
performing second UL Tx chain switching in a case that the state indicates two Tx chains to be switched to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch), para. [0112]-[0113] discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D), wherein the second UL Tx chain switching comprises switching both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain to be on the third band see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch), para. [0112]-[0113] discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D).
Regarding claim 5, Takeda discloses a method (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch), further comprising:
reporting, to the BS, a first switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the first band and the third band, and a second switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the second band and the third band (see para. [0089] discloses UE capability signaling may also indicate a switching period for or within one or more band pairs indicated by the UE, UE capability may indicate first switching period for the band a and b, or second switching period between bands c and d; UE may report additional band pairs); and
determining not to perform any uplink transmission within a maximum of the first switching period and the second switching period in a case that both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain are switched to be on the third band (see para. [0086] discloses some implementations, no uplink transmissions are scheduled for UE during a switching period associated with switching from first set of bands to second set of bands).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda discloses a method (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch), further comprising:
reporting, to the BS, a first switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the first band and the third band, and a second switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the second band and the third band (see para. [0089] discloses UE capability signaling may also indicate a switching period for or within one or more band pairs indicated by the UE, UE capability may indicate first switching period for the band a and b, or second switching period between bands c and d; UE may report additional band pairs); and
determining not to perform any uplink transmission within the first switching period in a case that the first Tx chain is switched to be on the third band and the second Tx chain is maintained on the second band (see para. [0086] discloses some implementations, no uplink transmissions are scheduled for UE during a switching period associated with switching from first set of bands to second set of bands).
Regarding claim 7, Takeda discloses a method (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch), further comprising:
transmitting, to the BS, UE capability information indicating a support of two Tx chains and a support of Tx chain switching between the first band, the second band, and the third band (see Fig. 3 (320), Fig. 12 (1202), Fig. 13 (1302), para. [0146];[0148] discloses memory includes capability information; UE capability may include first set of bands, second set of bands and bands available for UL Tx switch, further indicates maximum number of Tx chains); and
receiving, from the BS, a second RRC configuration indicating a band combination including the first band, the second band, and the third band (see para. [0080] discloses some implementations, capability message, configuration message, or a combination thereof, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 8, Takeda discloses a user equipment (UE) for transmission (Tx) chain switching between multiple bands (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), the UE comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (280), Fig. 3 (processor 302), Fig. 13 (controller 280) para. [0145] discloses UE includes controller, receive processor and transmit processor); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that (see Fig. 2 (282), Fig. 3 (304), Fig. 13 (282) para. [0145] discloses UE includes controller, which operates to execute logic or computer instructions stored in memory), when executed by the at least one
receive, from a base station (BS), a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration for uplink (UL) Tx chain switching (see Fig. 3 (382) para. [0080]; [0081] discloses base station generates configuration message 382, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC); configuration message indicates UL Tx switch configuration);
perform a first UL transmission using a first Tx chain on the first band and a second Tx chain on the second band (see Fig. 3 (384), para. [0082];[0083] discloses UE may configure based on the UL Tx switch configuration a Tx chain, a port or combination to enable uplink communication via first set of bands; UE transmits uplink message 384, via first set of bands);
receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a second UL transmission on a third band (see Fig. 3 (386) para. [0084]; [0085]; [0087]-[0088] discloses base station generates DCI , that includes or indicates new configuration for UE; in some implementations the new configuration includes a configuration to use second set of bands; in some implementations UL Tx switch operations indicate multiple pairs of bands to enable Tx switch, , per example capability signal includes first band A, and second band B, and second pair includes third band C);
perform first UL Tx chain switching based on the first RRC configuration (see para. [0080];[0091] discloses implementations where configuration message 382 (Fig. 3) may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between the UE and the base station; in some implementations UL Tx chain is different from the current UL Tx chain, the UE may perform UL Tx switch operation); and
perform the second UL transmission (see Fig. 3 (388) para. [0086] discloses UE transmits second uplink message 388), which is a 1-port transmission, wherein the first UL Tx chain switching comprises:
switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band (see para. [0091];[0092] discloses some implementation if the UL Tx chain for configuration of UL transmission on one or more bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, the UE may perform UL Tx switch; UL Tx switch operation is associated with a switch from or to more than one band), and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band (see para. [0096] discloses for some bands one or more Tx chains may be fixed and cannot be distributed regardless of the state of UL Tx chains).
Regarding claim 10, Takeda discloses a UE (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein: the first RRC configuration indicates a state of Tx chains for the UL Tx chain switching (see Fig. 3 (382) para. [0080]; [0081] discloses base station generates configuration message 382, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC); configuration message indicates UL Tx switch configuration), and
performing first UL Tx chain switching based on the first RRC configuration comprises performing the first UL Tx chain switching in a case that the state indicates only one Tx chain to be switched to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch) discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D).
Regarding claim 11, Takeda discloses a UE (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein the one or more computer- executable instructions (see Fig. 13 para. [0145]; [0235];[0240]-[0241] discloses execution of instructions), when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to:
perform second UL Tx chain switching in a case that the state indicates two Tx chains to be switched to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch) discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D), wherein the second UL Tx chain switching comprises switching both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch) discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D).
Regarding claim 12, Takeda discloses a UE (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein the one or more computer- executable instructions (see Fig. 13 para. [0145]; [0235];[0240]-[0241] discloses execution of instructions), when executed by the at least one
report, to the BS, a first switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the first band and the third band , and a second switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the second band and the third band (see para. [0089] discloses UE capability signaling may also indicate a switching period for or within one or more band pairs indicated by the UE, UE capability may indicate first switching period for the band a and b, or second switching period between bands c and d; UE may report additional band pairs); and
determine not to perform any uplink transmission within a maximum of the first switching period and the second switching period in a case that both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain are switched to be on the third band (see para. [0086] discloses some implementations, no uplink transmissions are scheduled for UE during a switching period associated with switching from first set of bands to second set of bands).
Regarding claim 13, Takeda discloses a UE (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein the one or more computer- executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (282), Fig. 3 (304), Fig. 13 (282) para. [0145] discloses UE includes controller, which operates to execute logic or computer instructions stored in memory), further cause the UE to:
report, to the BS, a first switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the first band and the third band, and a second switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the second band and the third band (see para. [0089] discloses UE capability signaling may also indicate a switching period for or within one or more band pairs indicated by the UE, UE capability may indicate first switching period for the band a and b, or second switching period between bands c and d; UE may report additional band pairs); and
determine not to perform any uplink transmission within the first switching period in a case that the first Tx chain is switched to be on the third band and the second Tx chain is maintained on the second band (see para. [0086] discloses some implementations, no uplink transmissions are scheduled for UE during a switching period associated with switching from first set of bands to second set of bands).
Regarding claim 14, Takeda discloses a UE (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein the one or more computer- executable instructions (see Fig. 3 (300, 304, 320)), Fig. 13 (282, 1302)), when executed by the at least one processor (see Fig. 3 (300, 304, 320)), Fig. 12 (1202), Fig. 13 (282, 1302), para. [0145] discloses UE controller operates to execute instructions stored in memory), further cause the UE to:
transmit, to the BS, UE capability information indicating a support of two Tx chains and a support of Tx chain switching between the first band, the second band, and the third band (see Fig. 3 (320), Fig. 12 (1202), Fig. 13 (1302), para. [0146]; [0148] discloses memory includes capability information; UE capability may include first set of bands, second set of bands and bands available for UL Tx switch, further indicates maximum number of Tx chains); and
receive, from the BS, a second RRC configuration indicating a band combination including the first band, the second band, and the third band (see para. [0080] discloses some implementations, capability message, configuration message, or a combination thereof, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between UE and base station).
Regarding claim 15, Takeda discloses a base station (BS) for transmission (Tx) chain switching between multiple bands (see Fig. 2 (105), Fig. 3 (Base station 105), Fig. 15 (Base station 1500) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), the BS comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (240), Fig. 3 (processor 352), Fig. 15 (controller 240) para. [0154] discloses base station including includes controller, transmit processor, receive processor, MIMO processor); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that (see Fig. 2 (242), Fig. 3 (354), Fig. 15 (242) para. [0154] discloses UE includes controller, which operates to execute logic or computer instructions stored in memory), when executed by the at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (242), Fig. 3 (354), Fig. 15 (242) para. [0154] discloses UE includes controller, which operates to execute logic or computer instructions stored in memory), cause the BS to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration for uplink (UL) Tx chain switching (see Fig. 3 (382) para. [0080]; [0081] discloses base station generates configuration message 382, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC); configuration message indicates UL Tx switch configuration);
receive, from the UE, a first UL transmission via a first Tx chain and a second Tx chain of the UE, the first Tx chain being on a first band and the second Tx chain being on a second band (see Fig. 3 (384), para. [0082]; [0083] discloses UE may configure based on the UL Tx switch configuration a Tx chain, a port or combination to enable uplink communication via first set of bands; UE transmits uplink message 384, via first set of bands);
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a second UL transmission on a third band (see Fig. 3 (386) para. [0084]; [0085]; [0087]-[0088] discloses base station generates DCI , that includes or indicates new configuration for UE; in some implementations the new configuration includes a configuration to use second set of bands; in some implementations UL Tx switch operations indicate multiple pairs of bands to enable Tx switch, , per example capability signal includes first band A, and second band B, and second pair includes third band C); and
receive, from the UE, the second UL transmission via the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain (see Fig. 3 (388) para. [0086] discloses UE transmits second uplink message 388), the second UL transmission being a 1-port transmission (see para. [0072] discloses state information may indicate configuration of the transmitter, current configuration of one or more Tx chains, one or more ports, or a combination),
wherein the second UL transmission is performed in a case that the first Tx chain is switched to be on the third band (see para. [0091]; [0092] discloses some implementation if the UL Tx chain for configuration of UL transmission on one or more bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, the UE may perform UL Tx switch; UL Tx switch operation is associated with a switch from or to more than one band) and the second Tx chain is maintained on the second band (see para. [0096] discloses for some bands one or more Tx chains maybe fixed and cannot be distributed regardless of the state of UL Tx chains), or that both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain are switched to be on the third band (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 16, Takeda discloses a BS (see Fig. 2 (105), Fig. 3 (Base station 105), Fig. 15 (Base station 1500) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations),
wherein: the first Tx chain is switched to be on the third band and the second Tx chain is maintained on the second band in a case that the first RRC configuration indicates that the third band is associated with the second band (see para. [0080]; Fig. 8 (UL Tx switch) discloses capability message, configuration message, or a combination thereof, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between UE and base station; UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D).
Regarding claim 17, Takeda discloses a BS (see Fig. 2 (105), Fig. 3 (Base station 105), Fig. 15 (Base station 1500) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein: the first RRC configuration indicates a state of Tx chains for the UL Tx chain switching (see Fig. 3 (382) para. [0080];[0081] discloses base station generates configuration message 382, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC);configuration message indicates UL Tx switch configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Takeda discloses a BS (see Fig. 2 (105), Fig. 3 (Base station 105), Fig. 15 (Base station 1500) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations),
wherein:
the first Tx chain is switched to be on the third band and the second Tx chain is maintained on the second band in a case that the state indicates only one Tx chain to be switched to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch) discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D), and
both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain are switched to be on the third band in a case that the state indicates two Tx chains to be switched to be on the third band (see para. Fig. 9 (UL Tx switch) discloses UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D) .
Regarding claim 19, Takeda discloses a BS (see Fig. 2 (105), Fig. 3 (Base station 105), Fig. 15 (Base station 1500) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations),
wherein the one or more computer- executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (242), Fig. 3 (354), Fig. 15 (242) para. [0154] discloses UE includes controller, which operates to execute logic or computer instructions stored in memory), further cause the BS to:
receive, from the UE, a first switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the first band and the third band, and a second switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the second band and the third band (see para. [0089] discloses UE capability signaling may also indicate a switching period for or within one or more band pairs indicated by the UE, UE capability may indicate first switching period for the band a and b, or second switching period between bands c and d; UE may report additional band pairs); and
determine not to receive any uplink transmission from the UE within a maximum of the first switching period and the second switching period in a case that both the first Tx chain and the second Tx chain are switched to be on the third band (see para. [0086] discloses some implementations, no uplink transmissions are scheduled for UE during a switching period associated with switching from first set of bands to second set of bands).
Regarding claim 20, Takeda discloses a BS (see Fig. 2 (105), Fig. 3 (Base station 105), Fig. 15 (Base station 1500) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations),
wherein the one or more computer- executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (see Fig. 2 (242), Fig. 3 (354), Fig. 15 (242) para. [0154] discloses UE includes controller, which operates to execute logic or computer instructions stored in memory), further cause the BS to:
receive, from the UE, a first switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the first band and the third band, and a second switching period for UL Tx chain switching between the second band and the third band (see para. [0089] discloses UE capability signaling may also indicate a switching period for or within one or more band pairs indicated by the UE, UE capability may indicate first switching period for the band a and b, or second switching period between bands c and d; UE may report additional band pairs); and
determine not to receive any uplink transmission from the UE within the first switching period in a case that the first Tx chain is switched to be on the third band and the second Tx chain is maintained on the second band (see para. [0086] discloses some implementations, no uplink transmissions are scheduled for UE during a switching period associated with switching from first set of bands to second set of bands).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al (US 20220322388 A1) (hereinafter “Takeda”) in view of Rastegardoost et al (US 20240250799 A1) (hereinafter “Rastegardoost”).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda discloses a method (see para. [0008]; [0012]; [0016]; [0157]; [0176] discloses method for wireless communication including UE, including UL switch),
wherein switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band comprises switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band (see para. [0091];[0092] discloses some implementation if the UL Tx chain for configuration of UL transmission on one or more bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, the UE may perform UL Tx switch; UL Tx switch operation is associated with a switch from or to more than one band) in a case that the first RRC configuration indicates that the third band is associated with the second band (see Fig. 8, para. [0110] discloses first Tx chain configuration indicates first Tx chain, for first band (A), second Tx chain for the second band (B), and third Tx chain for the third band (C)).
Rastegardoost is added here to clarify switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band comprises switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band (see Fig. 27 (RRC configurations), para. [0340] –[0343] discloses UE may receive RRC configuration indicating UL carrier pairs, each UL carrier supports 1Tx or 2Tx and RRC message may comprise an information field for each UL carrier pair (in this case first and third band), that explicitly indicates the Tx capability for each configured UL carrier).
Takeda and Rastegardoost are both considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include the switching the Tx chain as described by Rastegardoost.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving communication for a variety of UL Tx scenarios.
Regarding claim 9, Takeda discloses a UE (see Fig. 2 (115), Fig. 3 (UE 115), Fig. 13 (UE 1300) para. [0145] discloses UE that supports Tx switch operations), wherein switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band comprises switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band (see para. [0091];[0092] discloses some implementation if the UL Tx chain for configuration of UL transmission on one or more bands is different from a current state of the UL Tx chains, the UE may perform UL Tx switch; UL Tx switch operation is associated with a switch from or to more than one band) in a case that the first RRC configuration indicates that the third band is associated with the second band (see para. [0080];[0110] Fig. 8 (UL Tx switch) discloses capability message, configuration message, or a combination thereof, may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between UE and base station; UL Tx switch between Band C to Band D; first Tx chain configuration indicates first Tx chain, for first band (A), second Tx chain for the second band (B), and third Tx chain for the third band (C)).
Rastegardoost is added here to clarify switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band comprises switching the first Tx chain to be on the third band and maintaining the second Tx chain on the second band (see Fig. 27 (RRC configurations), para. [0340] –[0343] discloses UE may receive RRC configuration indicating UL carrier pairs, each UL carrier supports 1Tx or 2Tx and RRC message may comprise an information field for each UL carrier pair (in this case first and third band), that explicitly indicates the Tx capability for each configured UL carrier).
Takeda and Rastegardoost are both considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink switching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include the switching the Tx chain as described by Rastegardoost.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving communication for a variety of UL Tx scenarios.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-14, filed 07/28/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered by the examiner.
On page 9, Applicant argues that Takeda does not disclose that the UL TX operation is performed “based on the first RRC configuration” as recited in independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner interprets the claim in light of the specification and during examination the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Based on BRI, Takeda in Fig. 3 (382-Configuration message) teaches or suggests RRC configuration. Paragraph [0080] points to Fig. 3 and discloses implementations where configuration message 382 may be associated with radio resource control (RRC) messaging between the UE and the base station. The reference reads on the claim.
On Page 11, Applicant argues that Takeda does not disclose that the second UL transmission is specifically a “1-port transmission” and does not disclose the number of ports used for the second UL transmission. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Takeda in Paragraphs [0128];[0130];0142]; [0143] discloses the switching of uplink configuration where the UE may configure Tx chain, Tx port or combination to enable uplink communication via first or second set of bands. This condition includes the 1-port transmission in the claim.
On page 12, Applicant argues that Takeda does not disclose a selective and targeted switching operation in which only a first Tx chain is switched to a new band while a second Tx chain is specifically and deliberately maintained on its current band. However, Takeda in Fig. 14 (1402), paragraph [0148] suggests the UE capability that indicates a first set of bands and second set of bands available for UL Tx switch configuration, with UE capability that indicates which set of bands can be enabled simultaneously and total number of Tx chains in a set of bands. Also in Page 13, Applicant argues this disclose a hardware or capability constrain whereby certain Tx chains are fixed to specific bands and cannot be reassigned, which is an inherent limitation of the UE’s hardware capability. However, under BRI the claim does not explicitly indicate this limitation. Therefore, Takeda reads on the limitation.
New ground of rejection is made in view of Rastegardoost for claims 2 and 9.
The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419