Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hariharan et al. (US 2023/0096843 A1).
Hariharan teaches the peripheral to peripheral communication in a slot that is not the first in an eSCO interval in paragraphs 0038-0046 and Figures 4 and 5.
With respect to the claims, references to the prior art appear in parenthesis.
Claims
1. (Original) A secondary peripheral device for wireless communication (Hariharan, US 2023/0096843 A1), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
obtain microphone data (Secondary mic audio in step 425 in Figure 4) ;
select a peripheral-to-central (P2C) slot, among P2C slots of an enhanced synchronous connection oriented (eSCO) interval, that occurs after a first P2C slot in the eSCO interval (B2B Slots 516 in eSCO interval in Figure 5 and paragraphs 44-46) ; and
transmit the microphone data to a primary peripheral device in the P2C slot (Step 425 in Figure 4 is the transmit and receive of the microphone audio from secondary peripheral to primary peripheral).
2. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the P2C slot is a second P2C slot of the eSCO interval (602b is the second P2C slot in the eSCO interval in Figure 6. Note 610 is C2P slot in paragraph 0049) .
3. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to select the P2C slot, are configured to select a first free P2C slot that is estimated to not require a response to what is included or not included in any of two preceding central-to- peripheral (C2P) slots (B2B slot 516 is the first free slot to the preceding Retransmission slots 514 in Figure 5) .
4. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the microphone data in all P2C slots of the eSCO interval except a P2C slot of a reserved window (B2B Slots 516 are transmitted in the all slots except the reserved Original Tx Slots 512 and Retransmission Slots 514 in Figure 5) .
5. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to select the P2C slot, are configured to select a second P2C slot after an eSCO window of the eSCO interval (Slot 602b is the second P2C slot after the eSCO window of the slot 610 corresponding to the source device audio packets 610 in paragraph 0049 and Figure 6) .
6. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the microphone data, are configured to transmit the microphone data in the P2C slot with an acknowledgement for voice data received in any of two preceding central- to-peripheral (C2P) slots (Hariharan teaches two preceding retransmission slots 514 for packets not successfully received using the Bluetooth protocol in paragraphs 15 and 0046, and Figure 5 . The Examiner gives official notice that the Bluetooth protocol uses ARQ for retransmission of packets not successfully received) .
7. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the microphone data, are configured to transmit the microphone data in the P2C slot with a negative acknowledgement for voice data not received in any of two preceding central-to-peripheral (C2P) slots (Hariharan teaches two preceding retransmission slots 514 for packets not successfully received using the Bluetooth protocol in paragraphs 15 and 0046, and Figure 5 . The Examiner gives official notice that the Bluetooth protocol uses ARQ for retransmission of packets not successfully received) .
8. (Currently Amended) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to disable eSCO relaying or perform eSCO relaying, and transmitting transmit microphone data, in alternating P2C slots in the eSCO interval (Hariharan teaches alternating transmission in the P2C slots in that “[t]ypically, the B2B slots 516 are used when one audio output device needs to transmit audio to the other audio output device that did not successfully receive the source audio. When one of the audio output devices does need to transmit the source audio to the other audio output device that did not successfully receive the source audio, this source audio transmission can occur over the B2B slots 516 instead of the transmission of the secondary microphone audio” in paragraph 0045) .
9. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to refrain from transmitting the microphone data in the first P2C slot (Secondary peripheral device does not transmit microphone data in the first P2C slot 612 of the eSCO traffic in Figure 6) .
10. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the microphone data, are configured to transmit the microphone data in any or a combination of second through T/2 P2C slots, where T is a quantity of slots in the eSCO interval (602b is the second P2C slot in the eSCO interval in Figure 6. Note 610 is C2P slot in paragraph 0049).
11. (Original) The secondary peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the microphone data, are configured to transmit the microphone data in P2C slots of the eSCO interval that are estimated to be free (B2B Slots 516 are free slots of the eSCO interval in Figures 5 and 6) .
12. (Original) A primary peripheral device for wireless communication (Hariharan, US 2023/0096843 A1), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive microphone data (Secondary mic audio in step 425 in Figure 4) in a peripheral-to-central (P2C) slot, among P2C slots of an enhanced synchronous connection oriented (eSCO) interval, that is not a first P2C slot of the eSCO interval (B2B Slots 516 in eSCO interval in Figure 5 and paragraphs 44-46) ; and
transmit the microphone data to a central device (Output device audio packets 612 in paragraph 0049 and Figure 6) .
13. (Original) The primary peripheral device of claim 12, wherein the P2C slot is not the first P2C slot that immediately follows after an end of an eSCO window of the eSCO interval (602b is the second P2C slot in the eSCO interval in Figure 6. Note 610 is C2P slot in paragraph 0049).
14. (Original) The primary peripheral device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the microphone data, are configured to receive the microphone data in a second P2C slot after an eSCO window of the eSCO interval (602b is the second P2C slot in the eSCO interval in Figure 6. Note 610 is C2P slot in paragraph 0049).
15. (Original) The primary peripheral device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the microphone data, are configured to receive the microphone data in the P2C slot with an acknowledgement for voice data received in any of two preceding central-to- peripheral (C2P) slots (Hariharan teaches two preceding retransmission slots 514 for packets not successfully received using the Bluetooth protocol in paragraphs 15 and 0046, and Figure 5 . The Examiner gives official notice that the Bluetooth protocol uses ARQ for retransmission of packets not successfully received) .
16. (Original) The primary peripheral device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the microphone data, are configured to receive the microphone data in the P2C slot with a negative acknowledgement (Hariharan teaches two preceding retransmission slots 514 for packets not successfully received using the Bluetooth protocol in paragraphs 15 and 0046, and Figure 5 . The Examiner gives official notice that the Bluetooth protocol uses ARQ for retransmission of packets not successfully received) .
17. (Original) The primary peripheral device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the microphone data, are configured to receive the microphone data in all free P2C slots of the eSCO interval (B2B Slots 516 are free slots of the eSCO interval in Figures 5 and 6).
18. (Original) A method of wireless communication performed by a secondary peripheral device (Hariharan, US 2023/0096843 A1), comprising:
obtaining microphone data (Secondary mic audio in step 425 in Figure 4) ;
selecting a peripheral-to-central (P2C) slot, among P2C slots of an enhanced synchronous connection oriented (eSCO) interval, that occurs after a first P2C slot in the eSCO interval (B2B Slots 516 in eSCO interval in Figure 5 and paragraphs 44-46) ; and
transmitting the microphone data to a primary peripheral device in the P2C slot (Step 425 in Figure 4 is the transmit and receive of the microphone audio from secondary peripheral to primary peripheral).
19. (Original) The method of claim 18, wherein the P2C slot is a second P2C slot of the eSCO interval (602b is the second P2C slot in the eSCO interval in Figure 6. Note 610 is C2P slot in paragraph 0049).
20. (Original) The method of claim 18, wherein selecting the P2C slot includes selecting a first free P2C slot that is estimated to not require a response to what is included or not included in any of two preceding central-to-peripheral (C2P) slots (B2B slot 516 is the first free slot to the preceding Retransmission slots 514 in Figure 5) .
21. (Original) The method of claim 18, further comprising transmitting the microphone data in all P2C slots of the eSCO interval except a P2C slot of a reserved window (B2B Slots 516 are transmitted in the all slots except the reserved Original Tx Slots 512 and Retransmission Slots 514 in Figure 5) .
22. (Original) The method of claim 18, wherein selecting the P2C slot includes selecting a second P2C slot after an eSCO window of the eSCO interval (602b is the second P2C slot in the eSCO interval in Figure 6. Note 610 is C2P slot in paragraph 0049).
23. (Original) The method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the microphone data includes transmitting the microphone data in the P2C slot with an acknowledgement for voice data received in any of two preceding central-to-peripheral (C2P) slots or a negative acknowledgement for voice data not received in any of two preceding C2P slots (Hariharan teaches two preceding retransmission slots 514 for packets not successfully received using the Bluetooth protocol in paragraphs 15 and 0046, and Figure 5 . The Examiner gives official notice that the Bluetooth protocol uses ARQ for retransmission of packets not successfully received) .
24. (Original) The method of claim 18, further comprising disabling eSCO relaying or performing eSCO relaying, and transmitting microphone data, in alternating P2C slots in the eSCO interval (Hariharan teaches alternating transmission in the P2C slots in that “[t]ypically, the B2B slots 516 are used when one audio output device needs to transmit audio to the other audio output device that did not successfully receive the source audio. When one of the audio output devices does need to transmit the source audio to the other audio output device that did not successfully receive the source audio, this source audio transmission can occur over the B2B slots 516 instead of the transmission of the secondary microphone audio” in paragraph 0045).
25. (Original) The method of claim 18, further comprising refraining from transmitting the microphone data in the first P2C slot (Secondary peripheral device does not transmit microphone data in the first P2C slot 612 of the eSCO traffic in Figure 6).
26. (Original) The method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the microphone data includes transmitting the microphone data in any or a combination of second through T/2 P2C slots, where T is a quantity of slots in the eSCO interval (Slot 602b is the second P2C slot after the eSCO window of the slot 610 corresponding to the source device audio packets 610 in paragraph 0049 and Figure 6) .
27. (Original) The method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the microphone data includes transmitting the microphone data in P2C slots of the eSCO interval that are estimated to be free (B2B Slots 516 are free slots of the eSCO interval in Figures 5 and 6).
28. (Original) A method of wireless communication performed by a primary peripheral device (Hariharan, US 2023/0096843 A1), comprising:
receiving microphone data (Secondary mic audio in step 425 in Figure 4) in a peripheral-to-central (P2C) slot, among P2C slots of an enhanced synchronous connection oriented (eSCO) interval, that is not a first P2C slot of the eSCO interval (B2B Slots 516 in eSCO interval in Figure 5 and paragraphs 44-46) ; and
transmitting the microphone data to a central device (Output device audio packets 612 in paragraph 0049 and Figure 6).
29. (Original) The method of claim 28, wherein the P2C slot is not the first P2C slot that immediately follows after an end of an eSCO window of the eSCO interval (Slot 602b is the second P2C slot after the eSCO window of the slot 610 corresponding to the source device audio packets 610 in paragraph 0049 and Figure 6) .
30. (Original) The method of claim 28, wherein receiving the microphone data includes receiving the microphone data in a second P2C slot after an eSCO window of the eSCO interval (Slot 602b is the second P2C slot after the eSCO window of the slot 610 corresponding to the source device audio packets 610 in paragraph 0049 and Figure 6) ,
Conclusion
MELVIN C. MARCELO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MELVIN C MARCELO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 June 27, 2026