DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The preliminary amendment filed on 07/12/2024 has been entered. Claims 1, 5 and 11-13 have been amended and thus claims 1-14 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ajoka (Ajoka, M et al. Patent number US5,780,704).
Regarding 1, Ajoka teaches a manufacturing method of a hydroxyalkanoic acid and a lactic acid, the method comprising the steps of: hydrolyzing a hydroxyalkanoate-lactide copolymer in the presence of an alkali metal salt to produce a hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and a lactic acid inorganic salt; and purifying the hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and the lactic acid inorganic salt by electrodialysis to manufacture the hydroxyalkanoic acid and the lactic acid. The reference provides a working examples for the manufacturing method of L-lactic acid/D-lactic acid (one of them being hydroxyalkanoic acid) (Example 7) and of glycolic acid (hydroxyalkanoic acid) and a lactic acid (Example 8).
Regarding claim 5, the hydrolysis step is performed at a temperature d 80° C. (Example 8).
Regarding claim 6, the hydrolysis step is performed at pH of 12 (Example 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the alkali metal salt used are aqueous ammonia, hydroxide, oxide and carbonate of alkali metals such as sodium and potassium and hydroxide and oxide of alkaline earth metals such as calcium, magnesium and barium (col. 3) and sodium hydroxide has been used in Examples 7-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajoka (Ajoka, M et al. Patent number US5,780,704) in view of Patent number KR20200126790A (KR’790).
The teachings of Ajoka have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 2-4, while Ajoka teaches hydrolyzing hyroxyalkalonate-lactide copolymer and exemplifies the hydroxyalkanoic acid as lactic acid, glycolic acid, 3-hydroxybutyric acid, 4-hydroxybutyric acid, 4-hydroxyvaleric acid, 5-hydroxyvaleric acid and 6-hydroxycaproic acid (col. 2), the reference fails to teach 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer (claims 2-3) and 3-hydroxypropionic acid (claim 4). The deficiencies are cured by KR’790.
Regarding claim 2, KR’790 teaches 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide block copolymer with biodegradable properties.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer is a block copolymer obtained by..” is a product by process claim language as a result of the 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer product. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, because the process step does not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer, the process step is not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113.
Regarding claim 4, subjecting 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer of KR’790 to the process of Ajoka a skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining 3-hydroxypropionic acid.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a manufacturing method of a hydroxyalkanoic acid and a lactic acid, the method comprising the steps of: hydrolyzing a hydroxyalkanoate-lactide copolymer in the presence of an alkali metal salt to produce a hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and a lactic acid inorganic salt; and purifying the hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and the lactic acid inorganic salt by electrodialysis to manufacture the hydroxyalkanoic acid and the lactic acid, wherein the hydroxyalkanoate-lactide copolymer is a 3-hydroxypropionate-lactide copolymer and wherein the hydroxyalkanoic acid is 3-hydroxypropionic acid in view of the combination of Ajoka and KR’790.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajoka (Ajoka, M et al. Patent number US5,780,704).
The teachings of Ajoka have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, Ajoka further teaches the use of 1 L of 5 N aqueous sodium hydroxide solution (equivalent to 200 g of NaOH) and 200 g of the copolymer (Examples 7-8). The parts by weight of NaOH per 100 parts of the polymer in Ajoka’s working examples is higher than the claimed one. However, the reference teaches in the nonexemplified embodiment that no particular limitation is placed on the concentration of the alkaline solution and that higher concentration are preferred because of a quick decomposition rate (col. 3). Thus, decreasing Ajoka’s parts by weight of NaOH per 100 parts of the polymer to that of the claimed value would still decompose the polymer except at a slower rate. Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but at least some degree of predictability is required. See MPEP § 2143.02.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a manufacturing method of a hydroxyalkanoic acid and a lactic acid, the method comprising the steps of: hydrolyzing a hydroxyalkanoate-lactide copolymer in the presence of an alkali metal salt to produce a hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and a lactic acid inorganic salt; and purifying the hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and the lactic acid inorganic salt by electrodialysis to manufacture the hydroxyalkanoic acid and the lactic acid, wherein the alkali metal salt is used in an amount of 0.001 parts by weight or more and 10 parts by weight or less based on 100 parts by weight of the hydroxyalkanoate-lactide copolymer in view of the teachings of Ajoka.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajoka (Ajoka, M et al. Patent number US5,780,704) in view of Straathof (Straathof, A. J. J. et al. “Recovery of carboxylic acids produced by fermentation” Biotechnology Advances 32 (2014) 873–904).
The teachings of Ajoka have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 10-11, Ajoka further teaches the electrodialysis is carried out with equipment having an ion exchange membrane and electrodes (col. 4). The reference however fails to teach that the electrodialysis device comprises a cation separator and an anion separator located between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a desalination tank and a concentration tank formed by alternately arranging the cation separator and the anion separator. The deficiency is cured by Straathof by teaching a desalination method of carboxylate salt to carboxylic acid using the electrodialysis device that comprises a cation separator and an anion separator located between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a desalination tank and a concentration tank formed by alternately arranging the cation separator and the anion separator (Fig. 5, page 891).
Thus, subjecting the hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and the lactic acid inorganic salt of Ajoka to the electrodialysis device of Straathof would yield nothing more than the expected hydroxyalkanoic acid and lactic acid products.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the references fail to teach that an initial electrical conductivity of the concentration tank is 50 μS/cm or less or 10 mS/cm or more and 50 mS/cm or less.
Regarding claim 13, the references also fail to teach the step of purifying the hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and the lactic acid inorganic salt by electrodialysis, is performed until the point at which an electrical conductivity of the desalination tank is lowered to 10% or less relative to an initial electrical conductivity of the desalination tank.
However, such parameters can be obtained by routine experimentation to determine the optimum workable ranges in achieving hydroxyalkanoic acid and lactic acid products at optimal yield.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a manufacturing method of a hydroxyalkanoic acid and a lactic acid, the method comprising the steps of: hydrolyzing a hydroxyalkanoate-lactide copolymer in the presence of an alkali metal salt to produce a hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and a lactic acid inorganic salt; and purifying the hydroxyalkanoic acid inorganic salt and the lactic acid inorganic salt by electrodialysis to manufacture the hydroxyalkanoic acid and the lactic acid, wherein the electrodialysis is performed in an electrodialysis device, and the electrodialysis device comprises, a positive electrode and a negative electrode; a cation separator and an anion separator located between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a desalination tank and a concentration tank formed by alternately arranging the cation separator and the anion separator in view of the combination of Ajoka and Straathof.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692