DETAILED ACTION
for
DEVICE FOR FABRICATING SPECIMEN FOR TESTING ADHESIVE FORCE OF ELECTRODE ACTIVE
MATERIAL LAYER AND METHOD FOR FABRICATING SPECIMEN FOR TESTING ADHESIVE
FORCE OF ELECTRODE ACTIVE MATERIAL LAYER BY USING SAME
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024, 06/02/2025 and 07/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 07/12/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are further objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show as (a hinge as described in claim 3) described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears the (a hinge as described in claim 3) does not have a corresponding reference numerals in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being (a)(2) by Przybelinski et al. [herein after Przybelinski] (US 8,043,449) “Submitted by Applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Przybelinski discloses a device and method for fabricating a specimen for testing an adhesive force of an electrode active material layer (see abstract), the device having a lower guide panel (14) having a guide groove (22) provided on an upper surface (top of 14) of the lower guide panel (14), the guide groove (22) being configured to guide (Fig. 1) and accommodate a fixing substrate (20) to which the electrode active material layer (12) is adhered (Fig. 8); and an upper guide panel (15) having a guide hole (41) for guiding an adhesion position (11) of the electrode active material layer (13) to the fixing substrate (20) accommodated in the guide groove (22), at least one of the upper guide panel (15) and the lower guide panel (14) is provided with a coupler (35, 36) between the upper guide panel (15) and the lower guide panel (14).
Regarding claim 2, Przybelinski further discloses the upper guide panel (15) being provided in a form separated from the lower guide panel (Fig. 1); wherein the upper guide panel (15) separated from the lower guide panel (14) being coupled to the lower guide panel when guiding the electrode active material layer (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Przybelinski further discloses the upper guide panel (15) being fixed to one side of the lower guide panel (14) by a hinge (pin 35 acts as a hinge).
Regarding claim 4, Przybelinski further discloses the upper guide panel (15) being coupled in a structure in which it is configured to slide in a transverse direction on the upper surface of the lower guide panel (slides up and down), the lower guide panel (14) being provided with a guide rail (Fig. 1), and the other one of the upper guide panels (15) being provided with a driving unit (19) that is configured to slide on the guide rail (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Przybelinski further discloses a width of the guide hole (41) being smaller than a corresponding width of the guide groove (22) in order to hold the fixing substrate (20; Figs. 5-7) accommodated in the guide groove (22).
Regarding claim 6, Przybelinski further discloses the guide groove (22) being in a form of a square pillar (Fig. 4) with an open upper surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Przybelinski further the guide hole (41) being in a form of a square pillar with open upper and lower surfaces (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Przybelinski further discloses one open side wall of the guide groove (22) and the guide hole are formed in a same direction (Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 8, Przybelinski further discloses coupling (35-36) the upper guide panel (15) to an upper portion (top of 14) of the lower guide panel (14) so that the guide hole (41) and the guide groove overlap (Fig. 1), after the positioning of the fixing substrate (20).
Regarding claim 12, Przybelinski further discloses releasing the coupling of the upper guide panel (15) to the upper portion (top of 15) of the lower guide panel (14) before separating the specimen for testing the adhesive force of the electrode active material layer [(13; “ method 55 for adhering coupons 12 and 13 together for adhesive shear testing”; (Col. 6, lines 28-30)].
Regarding claim 13, Przybelinski further discloses attaching a double-sided tape (11) the electrode active material layer (13) upon adhesion of the electrode active material layer “The adhered coupons 12 and 13 may subsequently be shear tested to test the strength of the adhesive 11 holding the coupons 12 and 13 together”; (Col. 2, line 66 to Col. 3, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Przybelinski et al. [herein after Przybelinski] (US 8,043,449) “Submitted by Applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claim 9, Przybelinski further discloses the upper guide panel (15) are made of at least one of a non-stick material or a non-stick plastic.
Przybelinski fails to explicitly discloses a transparent panel.
The use of the particular material, i.e., transparent panel , as stated in claim 9, for the panel, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” material that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made using routine experimentation would have found obvious to provide for the probe element disclosed by Prior Art since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, by using a transparent material one can accurately assess the shear testing results.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855