DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed August 14, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending
in the application. Applicant’s amendments overcome the rejections of claims 1-20, as
previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 15, 2026. However, the
amendments necessitate new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Firstly, Applicant notes that Fuchs et al. (US 20090179461 A1) refers to a “composite floor pan” rather than a composite load protection structure for protecting impact-sensitive components of a vehicle from a direct impact strike by a load. Examiner acknowledges the different intended functions of these two inventions. However, Examiner upholds the validity of this art, because the art still reads on the claimed invention’s components. Thus, one of reasonable skill in the art would assume it can perform the same task.
Additionally, Applicant states it would not be obvious to combine Wang et al. (US 20160207283 A1) with the aforementioned art. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang et al. ¶0092 and ¶0093 states the low-density glass fiber composites disclosed is ideal for “light weight, good flexural, impact, and other mechanical properties, as well as good thermoformability characteristics and/or improved mechanical properties. While such lightweight parts may be particularly desirable in interior automotive applications, similar composite article can also find use in structural applications such as siding, sheathing, wallboards and other building products… If desired, however, the articles described herein could be used in exterior automotive applications such as, for example, bumper covers, under body shields…” Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated Wang et al. flexural glass fiber core layer with Fuchs et al. to increase the ductility and modulus of elasticity of the composite to aid in high impact load deflection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-12, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US 20090179461 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20160207283 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fuchs et al. teaches “A composite load protection structure (18; Funches et al. Fig 1) for protecting impact-sensitive components of a vehicle from a direct impact strike by a load (Funches et al. ¶0009), the structure comprising: a core fabric layer (136; Fuches et al. Fig 3) … an impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuches et al. Fig 3) that is configured to resist deformation in response to the direct impact strike by a load (Fuches et al. ¶0019) on one side of the core fabric layer and a stabilizing layer (140; Fuches et al. Fig 3) on the other side of the core fabric layer; and an adhesive (Fuches et al. ¶0027(resin)) to bond the impact-facing stiffening layer and the body-facing stabilizing layer on respective sides of the core fibre layer, wherein the core fabric layer has a lower stiffness and increased ductility than the impact-facing stiffening layer and the body-facing stabilizing layer (Fuches et al. ¶0027 (high modulus)).”
Fuchs et al. does not describe the core layer as being comprised of one or more glass fiber layers.
However, Wang et al. teaches a polypropylene and glass fiber core (¶0005 Lines 40-41).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Wang et al. flexural glass fiber core layer with the composite member of Fuchs et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for an increased ductility and modulus of elasticity of the composite to aid in high impact load deflection.
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 wherein the impact-facing stiffening layer (136; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) resists deformation when the direct impact strike by the load is below a deforming threshold (Fuchs et al. ¶0019 &0032).”
In reference to claim 3, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 2 wherein the core fabric layer (136; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) is configured to increase moment of inertia and receive the direct impact strike and deform when the direct impact strike by the load is above the deforming threshold (Fuchs et al. ¶0019 &0032).”
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 3 wherein the impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuches et al. Fig 3) comprises one or more plies of carbon fibre material (Fuches et al. ¶0027 (carbon)).”
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 wherein the core fabric layer comprises two or more plies (136; Fuches et al. Fig 3) of glass fibre material (¶0005 Lines 40-41), and wherein the two or more plies of glass fibre material are cross-plied such that fiber alignment of one ply is rotated at an angle relative to the fiber alignment of an adjacent ply (Fuches et al. ¶0029(0-90, 45)).”
In reference to claim 6, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 wherein the core fabric layer comprises three plies (136; Fuches et al. Fig 3) of glass fibre material (¶0005 Lines 40-41), and wherein the three plies of glass fibre material are cross-plied relative to one another such that fibre alignment of a first ply is disposed at a 90 degree angle relative to fibre alignment of a second ply, and fibre alignment of and a third ply is disposed at a 45 degree angle with respect to the fibre alignment of the first ply (Fuches et al. ¶0029(0-90, 45)).”
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 wherein the impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) and the body-facing stabilizing layer (140; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) each, independently, comprise a plurality of plies of carbon fibres (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Lines 9-11).”
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 7 wherein for each of the impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) and the body-facing stiffening layer (140; Fuchs et al. Fig 3), the plurality of plies of carbon fibres are cross-plied such that the fiber alignment direction of one ply is rotated at an angle with respect to the fiber alignment direction of another ply (Fuchs et al. ¶0028 Lines 1-4).”
In reference to claim 9, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 8 wherein the angle is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 90 degrees (Fuchs et al. ¶0028 Lines 1-4).”
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure claim 7 wherein for each of the impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) and the body-facing stiffening layer (140; Fuchs et al. Fig 3), the plurality of plies of carbon fibres (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Lines 9-11) are arranged in such a manner that fibre alignment of a second ply disposed adjacent to a first ply is rotated at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to fibre alignment of the first ply and fibre alignment of a third ply disposed adjacent to the second ply is rotated at an angle of about 45 degrees with respect to the fibre alignment of the first ply (Fuchs et al. ¶0029 Lines 1-9).”
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 wherein the impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) comprises an outward-facing spread carbon fibre chop layer (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 and ¶0030 Lines 7-10) configured to receive the direct impact strike and a load-facing stiffening carbon fibre layer adjacent to the core fabric layer (136; Fuchs et al. Fig 3).”
In reference to claim 12, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 11 wherein the load-facing stiffening carbon fibre layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) is configured to provide significant stiffening properties (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Lines 9-11).”
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 wherein the adhesive is a resin (Fuchs et al. ¶0034 Lines 2-5).”
In reference to claim 16, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches “The composite load protection structure of claim 15 wherein the resin is polypropylene, polyamide, polyphenylene sulfide or an epoxy resin (Fuchs et al. ¶0034 Lines 2-5).”
With respect to claim 17, Fuchs et al. discloses “The composite load protection structure of claim 1 for use as skid plate, a bumper, or a battery housing (Fuchs et al. ¶0019).”
This claim is intended use recitation. Fuchs et al. teaches all of the limiting geometry and material properties of this claim. Furthermore, Fuchs et al. floor pan is capable of performing the same task (preventing foreign object intrusion in the engine bay and of other critical components) as a skid plate.
Regarding claim 19, Fuchs et al. teaches “A vehicle skid plate for protecting impact-sensitive components of a vehicle (18; Fuchs et al. Fig 1) from a direct impact strike by a load (Funches et al. ¶0009), the structure comprising: a core fabric layer (136; Fuches et al. Fig 3)… an impact-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuches et al. Fig 3) that is configured to resist deformation in response to the direct impact by the load on one side of the core fabric layer (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Lines 9-11) and a body-facing stabilizing layer (140; Fuches et al. Fig 3) on the other side of the core fabric layer; and an adhesive to bond (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Line 11) the impact-facing stiffening layer and the body-facing stabilizing layer on respective sides of the core fabric layer, wherein the core fabric layer has a lower stiffness and increased ductility than the impact-facing stiffening layer and the body-facing stabilizing layer (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Lines 9-11), wherein the stiffening layer resists deformation when the strike by a load is below a deforming threshold (Fuchs et al. ¶0019 &¶0032), and wherein the core fabric layer is configured to increase moment of inertia and receive the direct impact strike by a load and deform when the direct impact strike by the load is above the deforming threshold of the impact-facing stiffening layer (Fuchs et al. ¶0032).”
Fuchs et al. does not describe the core layer as being comprised of one or more glass fiber layers.
However, Wang et al. teaches a polypropylene and glass fiber core (¶0005 Lines 40-41).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Wang et al. flexural glass fiber core layer with the composite member of Fuchs et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for an increased ductility and modulus of elasticity of the composite to aid in high impact load deflection.
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 19, teaches “The vehicle skid plate of claim 19 wherein the stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) and the stabilizing layer (140; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) comprise a plurality of plies of carbon fibers (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 Lines 9-11).”
7. Claims 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al. (US 20090179461 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20160207283 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mencattelli et al. (US 20210339499 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches a load-facing stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) made from carbon fiber, as described in Fuchs et al. ¶0027.
The aforementioned combination of prior art does not specify the filament per tow.
However, Mencattelli et al. teaches a carbon fiber fabric configured for use as a skid plate (¶0104 Lines 4-9) with a 1-12k filament per tow (¶0095 Lines 8-11).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the carbon fiber stiffening layer of Fuchs et al. with the specific filament per tow, as taught in Mencattelli et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for a more impact resistant skid plate.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fuchs et al. and Wang et al., as applied to claim 1, teaches a body-facing stabilizing layer (140; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) made from carbon fiber, as described in Fuchs et al. ¶0027.
The aforementioned combination of prior art does not specify the filament per tow.
However, Mencattelli et al. teaches a carbon fiber fabric configured for use as a skid plate (¶0104 Lines 4-9) with a 1-12k filament per tow (¶0095 Lines 8-11).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the carbon fiber stiffening layer of Fuchs et al. with the specific filament per tow, as taught in Mencattelli et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for a more impact resistant skid plate.
With respect to claim 18, Fuchs et al. teaches a core fabric layer (136; Fuchs et al. Fig 3), a stiffening layer (138; Fuchs et al. Fig 3) comprising a carbon fiber chop layer (Fuchs et al. ¶0030 Lines 7-10), a stabilizing layer (140; Fuchs et al. Fig 3), and an epoxy resin (Fuchs et al. ¶0027 [epoxy resin is thermoset resin]).
Fuchs et al. does not teach the stiffening and stabilizing layers being 12k carbon fiber or the core fabric layer being 782 grams per square meter.
However, Mencattelli et al. teaches a carbon fiber fabric configured for use as a skid plate (¶0104 Lines 4-9) with a 1-12k filament per tow (¶0095 Lines 8-11).
The combination of references still fails to teach a 782 grams per square meter glass fiber core.
However, Wang et al. teaches a glass fiber core (¶0005 Lines 40-41) with a range of 600-800 grams per square meter (¶0073 Lines 4-8).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the impact resistant composite skid plate of Fuchs et al. wit the specific filament per tow for carbon fiber, as taught in Mencattelli et al. and the specific grams per square meter for the glass fiber core, as taught in Wang et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for a more impact resistant skid plate due to increased rigidity of the outer layers, ana composite that deforms past a specific impact threshold due to the increase in ductility of the core layer.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612