DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 07/12/2024. Claims 1-10, 12, 13 and 15-22 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 12 and 13 are independent claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY METHOD AND APPARATUS, ELECTRONIC DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM FOR CREATING TARGET IMAGES CORRESPONDING TO A TARGET OBJECT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite “generating a target image corresponding to the target object based on the captured image obtained by capturing” which lacks antecedent basis therefore making the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner assumed the claims to recite “generating a target image corresponding to the target object based on a captured image obtained by capturing”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow (In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 U.S.P.Q.2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). Claim 13 recites "a non-transient computer-readable storage medium," which is not comprehensively defined by the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium covers forms of transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification fails to expressly exclude them. Transitory propagating signals are non-statutory subject matter. (In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57, 84 U.S.P.Q.2d 1495, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 2007)) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter). See also Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media (1351 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 212 (Feb. 23, 2010)). Examiner suggests adding the word "non-transitory." Claims 19-22 are rejected under the same rationale since they depend from claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12, 13, 15, 17-19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris (US 11146442 B1).
As to claim 1, Harris discloses a display method, comprising:
displaying an object identifier and an object control corresponding to at least one object ("In some embodiments, a user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 that prompts a posting user of the online system 140 to authorize an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 to be included in a user profile page of the posting user may include additional elements. In embodiments in which the animation selection module 235 selects multiple animations, the user interface also may prompt the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page of the posting user from the selected animations. For example, the user interface may include a description of each of multiple animations selected by the animation selection module 235 as well as a button or other interactive element that allows the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page. In various embodiments, the user interface also may include a preview of one or more animations selected by the animation selection module 235 if the animation(s) were to be included in the user profile page of the posting user. In the above example, if the posting user hovers a cursor over a description of an animation, the user interface also may include a preview of the corresponding animation as it would appear if it were included in the user profile page of the posting user," Harris column 10 lines 64-67 and column 11 lines 1-19; "For example, suppose that the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 should be included in the user profile page of the posting user, in which the selected animation includes moving images of a birthday banner, a birthday cake, and a birthday hat. In this example, the user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 includes the user profile page and the animation such that the birthday banner and the birthday cake appear to move along paths from a right side of a display area in which the user interface is presented to an area next to a user profile image of the posting user and the birthday hat may appear to move along a path from the left side of the display area to an area just above the user profile image," Harris column 11 lines 59-67 and column 12 lines 1-6, displaying a description (i.e., an identifier) of the different displayed animations where the animations contain an object and buttons to select a specific animation and thus an object);
generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object, wherein the at least one object comprises the target object ("In some embodiments, a user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 that prompts a posting user of the online system 140 to authorize an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 to be included in a user profile page of the posting user may include additional elements. In embodiments in which the animation selection module 235 selects multiple animations, the user interface also may prompt the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page of the posting user from the selected animations. For example, the user interface may include a description of each of multiple animations selected by the animation selection module 235 as well as a button or other interactive element that allows the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page. In various embodiments, the user interface also may include a preview of one or more animations selected by the animation selection module 235 if the animation(s) were to be included in the user profile page of the posting user. In the above example, if the posting user hovers a cursor over a description of an animation, the user interface also may include a preview of the corresponding animation as it would appear if it were included in the user profile page of the posting user," Harris column 10 lines 64-67 and column 11 lines 1-19; "In embodiments in which the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 or a decorative element that concludes the animation should be included in a user profile page of a posting user of the online system 140, one or more objects within the animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a user profile image of the posting user. In some embodiments, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user. Alternatively, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user such that the posting user appears to be wearing the birthday hat. The functionality of the user interface generator 245 is further described below in conjunction with FIGS. 3, 4A-4C, and 5A-5C," Harris column 12 lines 18-43, generating an image of the object to include on the profile page of the user); and
displaying a profile page of a target user and displaying the target image on the profile page ("In embodiments in which the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 or a decorative element that concludes the animation should be included in a user profile page of a posting user of the online system 140, one or more objects within the animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a user profile image of the posting user. In some embodiments, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user. Alternatively, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user such that the posting user appears to be wearing the birthday hat. The functionality of the user interface generator 245 is further described below in conjunction with FIGS. 3, 4A-4C, and 5A-5C," Harris column 12 lines 18-43, adding the image to the profile page).
As to claim 2, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein the generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object comprises:
generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object based on a preset template ("In various embodiments, one or more animations stored in the animation store 230 may be compound animations that include one or more layers (e.g., a background layer and a foreground layer), in which at least one of the layers is animated. In such embodiments, one or more of the layers may include one or more open slots that may be customized (e.g., with information associated with a posting user of the online system 140 and/or an additional user of the online system 140). For example, if an animation stored in the animation store 230 includes one or more layers with open slots, the open slots may be customized by inserting a name and/or a profile image of a posting user of the online system 140 and a viewing user of the online system 140," Harris column 6 lines 59-67 and column 7 lines 1-4; "As shown in the example of FIG. 5A, the user interface generated 345 by the online system 140 includes the user profile page 500 and the animation such that the birthday banner 505 appears to move along a path 515A from a right side of a display area in which the user interface is presented to an area next to a user profile image 517 of the posting user. As also shown in FIG. 5A, in some embodiments, the animation may include one or more open slots that may be customized such that the birthday banner 505 is customized with the name of the posting user (i.e., XYZ)," Harris column 16 lines 20-30, animations have slots that can be customized with text information from the user's profile (i.e., the animation is a template containing the object and blank text slots which are filled in with user information)).
As to claim 4, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a switching operation for the target image after generating a target image corresponding to the target object ("In embodiments in which a set of options are included in a user interface sent for display to the posting user and the posting user selects and/or edits one or more of the options, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on the option(s) selected and/or edited by the posting user (e.g., based on a color scheme for the selected animation selected by the posting user)," Harris column 12 lines 5-12, options for the user to customize the generated image by changing the color scheme or adjusting other options (i.e., a switch button to generate a new image of the object)); and
generating a switched target image corresponding to a switched target object based on a preset template in response to the switching operation ("In embodiments in which a set of options are included in a user interface sent for display to the posting user and the posting user selects and/or edits one or more of the options, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on the option(s) selected and/or edited by the posting user (e.g., based on a color scheme for the selected animation selected by the posting user)," Harris column 12 lines 5-12, options for the user to customize the generated image by changing the color scheme or adjusting other options (i.e., a switch button to generate a new image of the object)).
As to claim 5, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the target image on the profile page comprises:
displaying the target image in a background of the profile page ("As shown in the example of FIG. 5A, the user interface generated 345 by the online system 140 includes the user profile page 500 and the animation such that the birthday banner 505 appears to move along a path 515A from a right side of a display area in which the user interface is presented to an area next to a user profile image 517 of the posting user," Harris column 16 lines 20-26; Harris Figure 5A target image 510 and 505 appear at the top of the profile page and in a "avatar image area" since it is displayed in the same area as the profile picture 517 where the Applicant's own specification states that a background is an "avatar image area" and is in an upper portion of the page (Specification paragraphs 0061 and 0066)).
As to claim 6, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein the target image is in a retracted state on the profile page, and the display method further comprises:
switching the target image from a retracted state to a deployed state in response to a trigger operation for the profile page ("In this example, the birthday cake 510 also appears to move along a similar path 515B. Then, as shown in the example of FIG. 5B, the birthday hat 520 may appear to move along a path 515C from the left side of the display area to an area just above the user profile image 517," Harris column 16 lines 30-35; "In embodiments in which the user interface includes the user profile page and the selected animation, the selected animation may allow the viewing user to interact with the animation via the client device 110 to which the user interface is sent 350. Examples of types of interactions include a swipe across a display area of the client device 110 along an axis, a tap on the display area of the client device 110, a pinch inwards or outwards on the display area of the client device 110, a click on a button on the client device 110 or within the user interface, a movement of the client device 110 along an axis, a rotation of the client device 110 along an axis, a speed at which the client device 110 is moved, or any other suitable type of interaction. For example, if the user interface generated 345 by the online system 140 includes the user profile page and the selected animation, the viewing user may replay the selected animation by interacting with a button within the user interface," Harris column 17 lines 7-24, when animation is done it is displayed in a "retracted" form and then the user can interact with the image to replay the animation (i.e., move the animation back to a “deployed” state)).
As to claim 7, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 6, wherein the switching the target image from a retracted state to a deployed state comprises:
deploying the target image on the profile page according to a predetermined effect ("In this example, the birthday cake 510 also appears to move along a similar path 515B. Then, as shown in the example of FIG. 5B, the birthday hat 520 may appear to move along a path 515C from the left side of the display area to an area just above the user profile image 517," Harris column 16 lines 30-35; "In embodiments in which the user interface includes the user profile page and the selected animation, the selected animation may allow the viewing user to interact with the animation via the client device 110 to which the user interface is sent 350. Examples of types of interactions include a swipe across a display area of the client device 110 along an axis, a tap on the display area of the client device 110, a pinch inwards or outwards on the display area of the client device 110, a click on a button on the client device 110 or within the user interface, a movement of the client device 110 along an axis, a rotation of the client device 110 along an axis, a speed at which the client device 110 is moved, or any other suitable type of interaction. For example, if the user interface generated 345 by the online system 140 includes the user profile page and the selected animation, the viewing user may replay the selected animation by interacting with a button within the user interface," Harris column 17 lines 7-24, when animation is done it is displayed in a "minimized" form and then the user can interact with the image to replay the animation).
As to claim 8, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a sharing instruction for sharing the target image (“Other edges are generated when users interact with objects in the online system 140, such as expressing interest in a page in the online system 140, sharing a link with other users of the online system 140,” Harris column 5 lines 46-50; “Upon receiving 335 a request from a viewing user of the online system 140 to view the user profile page of the posting user, the online system 140 determines 340 (e.g., using the authorization server 240) whether to include the selected animation in the user profile page of the posting user. The online system 140 may make this determination based at least in part on the privacy setting for the content received 310 from the posting user and information describing a connection between the viewing user and the posting user. For example, suppose that the privacy setting for the content describing the type of life event about the posting user is set such that only friends of the posting user may view the content,” Harris column 15 lines 1-13); and
generating a sharing message based on the target image and sending the sharing message to a designated user (“Other edges are generated when users interact with objects in the online system 140, such as expressing interest in a page in the online system 140, sharing a link with other users of the online system 140,” Harris column 5 lines 46-50; “Upon receiving 335 a request from a viewing user of the online system 140 to view the user profile page of the posting user, the online system 140 determines 340 (e.g., using the authorization server 240) whether to include the selected animation in the user profile page of the posting user. The online system 140 may make this determination based at least in part on the privacy setting for the content received 310 from the posting user and information describing a connection between the viewing user and the posting user. For example, suppose that the privacy setting for the content describing the type of life event about the posting user is set such that only friends of the posting user may view the content,” Harris column 15 lines 1-13).
As to claim 9, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising:
for each object, in the case where each object comprises a plurality of sub-objects, determining a matching degree of the plurality of sub-objects ("In embodiments in which multiple animations maintained in the online system 140 are associated with the same type of life event, the online system 140 may select 320 multiple animations associated with the type of life event about the posting user described by the content received from the posting user," Harris column 13 lines 63-67 and column 1 line 1); and
judging whether to display an object identifier and an object control corresponding to each object according to the determined matching degree ("In embodiments in which multiple animations maintained in the online system 140 are associated with the same type of life event, the online system 140 may select 320 multiple animations associated with the type of life event about the posting user described by the content received from the posting user," Harris column 13 lines 63-67 and column 1 line 1, selecting animations that are about (i.e., match) the life event of the posting user described by content received from the posting user).
As to claim 10, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 9, wherein the judging whether to display an object identifier and an object control corresponding to each object according to the determined matching degree comprises:
displaying an object identifier and an object control corresponding to the each object in response to a matching degree of the plurality of sub-objects reaching a preset threshold ("In embodiments in which multiple animations maintained in the online system 140 are associated with the same type of life event, the online system 140 may select 320 multiple animations associated with the type of life event about the posting user described by the content received from the posting user," Harris column 13 lines 63-67 and column 1 line 1, selecting animations that match the life event of the posting user described by content received from the posting user); and
not displaying an object identifier or an object control corresponding to each object, and prompting that the plurality of sub-objects are not matched in response to a matching degree of the plurality of sub-objects not reaching a preset threshold ("In embodiments in which multiple animations maintained in the online system 140 are associated with the same type of life event, the online system 140 may select 320 multiple animations associated with the type of life event about the posting user described by the content received from the posting user," Harris column 13 lines 63-67 and column 1 line 1, do not select animations that do not match the life event of the posting user described by content received from the posting user).
As to claim 12, Harris discloses an electronic device comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein a display method is implemented when the processor executes the program, the display method comprising:
displaying an object identifier and an object control corresponding to at least one object ("In some embodiments, a user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 that prompts a posting user of the online system 140 to authorize an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 to be included in a user profile page of the posting user may include additional elements. In embodiments in which the animation selection module 235 selects multiple animations, the user interface also may prompt the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page of the posting user from the selected animations. For example, the user interface may include a description of each of multiple animations selected by the animation selection module 235 as well as a button or other interactive element that allows the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page. In various embodiments, the user interface also may include a preview of one or more animations selected by the animation selection module 235 if the animation(s) were to be included in the user profile page of the posting user. In the above example, if the posting user hovers a cursor over a description of an animation, the user interface also may include a preview of the corresponding animation as it would appear if it were included in the user profile page of the posting user," Harris column 10 lines 64-67 and column 11 lines 1-19; "For example, suppose that the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 should be included in the user profile page of the posting user, in which the selected animation includes moving images of a birthday banner, a birthday cake, and a birthday hat. In this example, the user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 includes the user profile page and the animation such that the birthday banner and the birthday cake appear to move along paths from a right side of a display area in which the user interface is presented to an area next to a user profile image of the posting user and the birthday hat may appear to move along a path from the left side of the display area to an area just above the user profile image," Harris column 11 lines 59-67 and column 12 lines 1-6, displaying a description (i.e., an identifier) of the different displayed animations where the animations contain an object and buttons to select a specific animation and thus an object);
generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object, wherein the at least one object comprises the target object ("In some embodiments, a user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 that prompts a posting user of the online system 140 to authorize an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 to be included in a user profile page of the posting user may include additional elements. In embodiments in which the animation selection module 235 selects multiple animations, the user interface also may prompt the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page of the posting user from the selected animations. For example, the user interface may include a description of each of multiple animations selected by the animation selection module 235 as well as a button or other interactive element that allows the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page. In various embodiments, the user interface also may include a preview of one or more animations selected by the animation selection module 235 if the animation(s) were to be included in the user profile page of the posting user. In the above example, if the posting user hovers a cursor over a description of an animation, the user interface also may include a preview of the corresponding animation as it would appear if it were included in the user profile page of the posting user," Harris column 10 lines 64-67 and column 11 lines 1-19; "In embodiments in which the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 or a decorative element that concludes the animation should be included in a user profile page of a posting user of the online system 140, one or more objects within the animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a user profile image of the posting user. In some embodiments, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user. Alternatively, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user such that the posting user appears to be wearing the birthday hat. The functionality of the user interface generator 245 is further described below in conjunction with FIGS. 3, 4A-4C, and 5A-5C," Harris column 12 lines 18-43, generating an image of the object to include on the profile page of the user); and
displaying a profile page of a target user and displaying the target image on the profile page ("In embodiments in which the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 or a decorative element that concludes the animation should be included in a user profile page of a posting user of the online system 140, one or more objects within the animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a user profile image of the posting user. In some embodiments, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user. Alternatively, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user such that the posting user appears to be wearing the birthday hat. The functionality of the user interface generator 245 is further described below in conjunction with FIGS. 3, 4A-4C, and 5A-5C," Harris column 12 lines 18-43, adding the image to the profile page).
As to claim 13, Harris discloses a non-transient computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non- transient computer-readable storage medium has computer instructions stored thereon that cause a computer to perform a display method comprising:
displaying an object identifier and an object control corresponding to at least one object ("In some embodiments, a user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 that prompts a posting user of the online system 140 to authorize an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 to be included in a user profile page of the posting user may include additional elements. In embodiments in which the animation selection module 235 selects multiple animations, the user interface also may prompt the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page of the posting user from the selected animations. For example, the user interface may include a description of each of multiple animations selected by the animation selection module 235 as well as a button or other interactive element that allows the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page. In various embodiments, the user interface also may include a preview of one or more animations selected by the animation selection module 235 if the animation(s) were to be included in the user profile page of the posting user. In the above example, if the posting user hovers a cursor over a description of an animation, the user interface also may include a preview of the corresponding animation as it would appear if it were included in the user profile page of the posting user," Harris column 10 lines 64-67 and column 11 lines 1-19; "For example, suppose that the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 should be included in the user profile page of the posting user, in which the selected animation includes moving images of a birthday banner, a birthday cake, and a birthday hat. In this example, the user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 includes the user profile page and the animation such that the birthday banner and the birthday cake appear to move along paths from a right side of a display area in which the user interface is presented to an area next to a user profile image of the posting user and the birthday hat may appear to move along a path from the left side of the display area to an area just above the user profile image," Harris column 11 lines 59-67 and column 12 lines 1-6, displaying a description (i.e., an identifier) of the different displayed animations where the animations contain an object and buttons to select a specific animation and thus an object);
generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object, wherein the at least one object comprises the target object ("In some embodiments, a user interface generated by the user interface generator 245 that prompts a posting user of the online system 140 to authorize an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 to be included in a user profile page of the posting user may include additional elements. In embodiments in which the animation selection module 235 selects multiple animations, the user interface also may prompt the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page of the posting user from the selected animations. For example, the user interface may include a description of each of multiple animations selected by the animation selection module 235 as well as a button or other interactive element that allows the posting user to select an animation to be included in the user profile page. In various embodiments, the user interface also may include a preview of one or more animations selected by the animation selection module 235 if the animation(s) were to be included in the user profile page of the posting user. In the above example, if the posting user hovers a cursor over a description of an animation, the user interface also may include a preview of the corresponding animation as it would appear if it were included in the user profile page of the posting user," Harris column 10 lines 64-67 and column 11 lines 1-19; "In embodiments in which the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 or a decorative element that concludes the animation should be included in a user profile page of a posting user of the online system 140, one or more objects within the animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a user profile image of the posting user. In some embodiments, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user. Alternatively, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user such that the posting user appears to be wearing the birthday hat. The functionality of the user interface generator 245 is further described below in conjunction with FIGS. 3, 4A-4C, and 5A-5C," Harris column 12 lines 18-43, generating an image of the object to include on the profile page of the user); and
displaying a profile page of a target user and displaying the target image on the profile page ("In embodiments in which the authorization server 240 determines that an animation selected by the animation selection module 235 or a decorative element that concludes the animation should be included in a user profile page of a posting user of the online system 140, one or more objects within the animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a user profile image of the posting user. In some embodiments, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user. Alternatively, the object(s) within the selected animation or the decorative element may be overlaid onto the user profile page based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user. In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a set of facial features detected within the user profile image of the posting user such that the posting user appears to be wearing the birthday hat. The functionality of the user interface generator 245 is further described below in conjunction with FIGS. 3, 4A-4C, and 5A-5C," Harris column 12 lines 18-43, adding the image to the profile page).
As to claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 18, it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 19, it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 21, it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 22, it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US 11146442 B1) in view of Mishra et al. (US 20210385369 A1, hereinafter Mishra).
As to claim 3, Harris further discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein the generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object comprises:
generating a target image corresponding to the target object based on an image obtained, wherein the target image comprises the image and a target object image displayed on the image ("In various embodiments, one or more animations stored in the animation store 230 may be compound animations that include one or more layers (e.g., a background layer and a foreground layer), in which at least one of the layers is animated. In such embodiments, one or more of the layers may include one or more open slots that may be customized (e.g., with information associated with a posting user of the online system 140 and/or an additional user of the online system 140). For example, if an animation stored in the animation store 230 includes one or more layers with open slots, the open slots may be customized by inserting a name and/or a profile image of a posting user of the online system 140 and a viewing user of the online system 140," Harris column 6 lines 59-67; "In the above example, the user interface generator 245 may generate the user interface based on a border of the user profile image of the posting user such that the birthday hat is displayed along the border of the user profile image of the posting user," Harris column 12 lines 28-32, generating the target image using the target object and a profile picture of the user).
However Harris does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object comprises:
displaying a camera page in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object.
Mishra teaches a limitation wherein the generating, in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object, a target image corresponding to the target object comprises:
displaying a camera page in response to a trigger operation for a target object control corresponding to a target object ("The user selects the object of choice out of the plurality of objects provided by the electronic device 100. If the object of choice of the user is not provided by the electronic device 100, then the user can add the object by providing voice commands, etc. Further, the electronic device 100 displays the object on the screen and also stores the determined object in the object database. After the selection phase, at step 806, the user begins recording the multimedia file. At step 808, the electronic device 100 detects the dolphin within the field of view of the camera and begins to record in normal mode," Mishra paragraph 0082).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Harris to allow the user to take a new photo after selecting an object as taught by Mishra. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could more easily choose or change a photo to use as the basis of the object animation without needing to manually capture or change the photo thus reducing steps and resulting in greater ease of use for the user.
As to claim 16, it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170185254 A1 to Zeng et al. discloses a multi-user content presentation system where a user can select an object to create a generated object image and share that image ;
US 20210279381 A1 to Bowen et al. discloses computer aided systems and methods for creating custom products where a digital object is selected and customized by a user in order to create a customized object image and then sharing that image to the user’s friends; and
US 20190096113 A1 to Stukalov discloses animating digital graphics overlaid on visual media items based on dynamic attributes where objects can be selected to create an object image and allowing a user to send that object image to the user’s friends.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171