Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 24 August 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 18-23 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinson et al. (US 2015/0374074) in view of Heimberger (US 3,591,914).
Regarding claim 1, Martinson et al. discloses:
a first fastener stringer including a first attachment sheet (140) and a first mating portion (330), the first attachment sheet having main surfaces by which a thickness of the first attachment sheet is defined (Fig. 1 as shown); and
a second fastener stringer including a second attachment sheet (145) and a second mating portion (320), the second attachment sheet having main surfaces by which a thickness of the second attachment sheet is defined, the first and second mating portions being mated to form a rail portion (Figs. 2B and 3 show wherein when joined together 320, 330 form a rail), wherein
the first attachment sheet includes a first skin portion (surface materials of 140), the first skin portion consisting of a same resin as the first mating portion (Column 3, lines 34-49 describe wherein the flange and profiles are formed from TPU),
the second attachment sheet includes a second skin portion (surface material of 145), the second skin portion consisting of a same resin as the second mating portion (Column 3, lines 34-49 describe wherein the flange and profiles are formed from TPU),
the first and second mating portions are configured such that when the first and second mating portions are mated, a first contact surface of the first skin portion and a second contact surface of the second skin portion are brought into a pressure contact with each other at a location (Fig. 3 as shown),
the first mating portion is a male mating portion including at least a male protrusion (105), and the second mating portion is a female mating portion having an accommodation space (110) for accommodating the male protrusion and being shaped to hinder removal of the male protrusion from the accommodation space (Fig. 3 as shown).
Martinson et al. fails to disclose a first and second reinforcement sheet having main surfaces by which a thickness of the reinforcement sheets is defined, the reinforcement sheets being not provided with fastening elements sewn to the reinforcement sheets, the first and second mating portions extending so as to cover the reinforcement sheet at least partially, both of the main surfaces of the reinforcement sheets being fully covered by the resin, wherein the pressure contact location is between and outward from an inner edge of the first and second reinforcement sheets; and the male protrusion is located over the main surface of the second reinforcement sheet when the male protrusion is accommodated in the accommodated in the accommodation space.
Heimberger teaches first and second reinforcement sheets (2b, 2a) with mating portions (7, 8) extending so as to cover the reinforcement sheets at least partially (Fig. 1 as shown) wherein the sheets are covered by resin (Fig.1 as shown) with a pressure contact location between the edges (Fig. 1 as shown) with the male protrusion located over the main surface of the opposed reinforcement sheet (Fig. 1 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a reinforcement sheet (without the fastening element) within the attachment sheets of Martinson et al. as demonstrated by Heimberger to enhance seal stability to maintain water and air tightness. The inclusion of a reinforcement sheet provides structural stability to the entire seal to maintain solid contact between the edges and mating surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further discloses wherein the female mating portion is arranged such that the accommodation space is located over the main surface of the second reinforcement sheet (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al. shows wherein with the reinforcement sheet inserted the female accommodation space would be located over the included reinforcement sheet).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further discloses wherein the female mating portion has a locking protrusion provided with a locking surface that hinders removal of the male protrusion from the female mating portion (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al. as shown), the locking surface positioned over the main surface of the second reinforcement sheet (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al. with the combination reinforcement sheet of Heimberger would include this positioning).
Regarding claim 5, Martinson et al. further discloses wherein the female mating portion includes a lower jaw and an upper jaw which are opposed to define the accommodation space (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al.),
the lower jaw includes a lower locking protrusion protruding upward so as to have a lower locking surface (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al.),
the upper jaw includes an upper locking protrusion protruding downward so as to have an upper locking surface (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al.),
the male protrusion is an arrow-like protrusion having a neck and a head, the head having a lower locked portion protruding downward so as to have a lower locked surface and an upper locked portion protruding upward so as to have an upper locked surface, the lower locking surface and an upper locking surface are positioned over the main surface of the second reinforcement sheet (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Martinson et al. further discloses the lower locking surface is sloped so as to be closer to a connection between the lower jaw and the upper jaw as extending upward, the upper locking surface is sloped so as to be closer to the connection as extending downward, the lower locked surface is sloped for contact with the lower locking surface, and the upper locked surface is sloped for contact with the upper locking surface (Fig. 1 of Martinson et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Martinson et al. further discloses a slider (310) including:
first and second inserts (620), respectively, protruding from the first and second sidewalls so as to approach one another in the width direction of the slider, wherein
the first insert is inserted into a first guide groove of the first fastener stringer, and the second insert is inserted into a second guide groove of the second fastener stringer.
Heimberger further teach a slider (15) including: a first wing (16); a second wing (17); a coupling pillar (18) extending in an up-down direction between the first wing and the second wing so as to interconnect the first wing and the second wing; first (16a) and second (16b) sidewalls extending along the up-down direction toward the second wing from both side edges of the first wing in a width direction of the slider.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the slider structures of Heimberger with the slider structures of Martinson et al. wherein the inserts are provided on the first wing of Heimberger with the coupling pillar and second wing since the structure would provide for enhanced separation and joining of the fastener stringers while keeping the rails in proper alignment.
Regarding claim 8, the combination slider of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further discloses wherein based on the insertion of the first insert into the first guide groove and the insertion of the second insert into the second guide groove, a fully mated body of the male mating portion and the female mating portion inside the slider is spaced from the first wing via an upper space without contacting the first wing and from the second wing via a lower space without contacting the second wing (the combination slider of claim 7 would operate in this manner).
Regarding claim 9, the combination slider of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further disclose wherein the first attachment sheet and the second attachment sheet are shifted toward the first wing based on the insertion of the first insert into the first guide groove and the insertion of the second insert into the second guide groove, the second wing being remove from the first attachment sheet, and the second wing being remote from the second attachment sheet (the combination slider of claim 7 would operate in this manner).
Regarding claim 10, the combination device of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further discloses wherein the female mating portion includes a pair of jaws opposed to define the accommodation space (Fig. 1 of as shown Martinson et al.), and the pair of jaws do not touch the first wing and the second wing in a process of mating of the male mating portion and the female mating portion inside the slider (the combination slider of claim 7 would not touch the jaws, Fig. 2B of Martinson et al. shows wherein the jaws would be at an interior of the combination slider), the first wing having an accommodation groove configured to accommodate the jaw in the process of mating of the male and female mating portions inside the slider (Figs. 3 of Heimberger shows an accommodation groove).
Regarding claim 18, Martinson et al. further discloses wherein the first contact surface includes a protruded surface that protrudes outwardly of sheet relative to the inner edge of the first reinforcement sheet and/or the second contact surface includes a protruded surface that protrudes outwardly of sheet relative to the inner edge of the second reinforcement sheet (Figs. 1 shows wherein contact surfaces protrude outward towards each other).
Regarding claim 19, Martinson et al. further discloses wherein the male mating portion further includes a closure wall (Fig. 1 shows neck 117 protruding from the closure wall to the head/male portion 105) to which the male protrusion is connected, and
the male mating portion and the female mating portion are configured to have a third contact area (between 130 and 135 as shown in Fig. 2B) when the male mating portion and the female mating portion are mated additionally to one or more first contact areas between the male protrusion and the female mating portion (Fig. 2B shows first contact areas at the trailing side of the male portion in contact with the jaws) and a second contact area (280/290) between the first contact surface and the second contact surface,
the closure wall and the female mating portion being in pressure contact with each other at the third contact area on an opposite side of the second contact area with respect to the male protrusion (Fig. 2B as shown).
Regarding claim 20, Martinson et al. further discloses wherein the female mating portion includes a lower jaw and an upper jaw opposed to define the accommodation space (Fig. 1 as shown), and the upper jaw and the closure wall are in pressure contact with each other at the third contact area (Fig. 2B as shown).
Regarding claim 21, Martinson et al. further discloses wherein the male protrusion is an arrow-like protrusion having a neck and a head (Fig. 1 as shown),
the head including an upper locked portion and a lower locked portion (the upper and lower surfaces of the head as shown in Fig. 1),
the lower jaw includes a lower locking protrusion by which the lower locked portion is locked (Fig. 1 as shown),
the upper jaw includes an upper locking protrusion by which the upper locked portion is locked (Fig. 1 as shown), and
said one or more first contact areas include a contact area where the upper locked portion and the upper locking protrusion are in pressure contact with each other and a contact area where the lower locked portion and the lower locking protrusion are in pressure contact with each other (Fig. 2B as shown).
Regarding claim 22, Martinson et al. further discloses wherein a length of the neck in an insertion direction of the male protrusion into the accommodation space of the female mating portion is less than a distance between a contact point of the upper locking protrusion with the closure wall and a lowermost point of an upper locking surface in a state where the upper locking protrusion is sandwiched between the closure wall and the upper locked portion, or is less than a minimum value of the distance (Fig. 2B as shown).
Regarding claim 23, the combination device of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further discloses wherein one of following conditions (a)-(c) is satisfied:
(a) the first and second reinforcement sheets each includes at least one material selected from a group consisting of a paper, a non-woven fabric, a woven fabric and a knitted fabric;
(b) the first reinforcement sheet is covered by the first skin portion on both sides thereof, and the second reinforcement sheet is covered by the second skin portion on both sides thereof (including the reinforcement sheet of Heimberger in the device of Martinson et al. as shown in Fig. 1 would result in skin portions on both sides thereof); and
(c) a layer thickness of the first skin portion on at least one side of the first reinforcement sheet is equal to or less than a thickness of the first reinforcement sheet, and a layer thickness of the second skin portion on at least one side of the second reinforcement sheet is equal to or less than a thickness of the second reinforcement sheet.
Regarding claim 35, the combination device of Martinson et al. and Heimberger further discloses wherein the first skin portion fully covers the first reinforcement sheet in a cross section taken perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the rail fastener, the first reinforcement sheet being only one object embedded in the first resin, and the second skin portion fully covers the second reinforcement sheet in a cross section taken perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the rail fastener, the second reinforcement sheet being only one object embedded in the second resin (including the reinforcement sheet of Heimberger in the device of Martinson et al. as shown in Fig. 1 would result in this arrangement).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has changed the base reference as shown above to address Applicant’s issues with sewn fastener elements and the slider structures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677