DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-32, 41-43, 45-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mara (“An Investigation of Biochar Removal Systems for Pyrolysis Reactors”).
Regarding claim 29, Mara discloses a continuous char separation reactor (sec. 1.1) comprising:
a container (fluidized bed reactor) configured to contain a bed of char and bed solids (Fig. 1.1);
a char precursor inlet (Fig. 1.1; biomass feeder);
a volatilization zone (Fig. 4.1; well mixed zone) coupled to the char precursor inlet and comprising the bed solids and a volatilization gas inlet (Fig. 1.1 and 4.1; fluidization gas), the volatilization zone configured to:
receive a char precursor via the char precursor inlet; and
volatilize the char precursor with a volatilization gas to form the char (sec 1.2);
a settling zone (Fig. 4.1; separation zone) coupled to the volatilization zone and configured to receive an input flow comprising the char and bed solids (Fig. 4.5), the settling zone comprising:
a settling gas inlet (Fig. 4.1; bottom inlet for fluidizing gas) coupled to a settling gas supply and configured to fluidize the setting zone at a fluidization number (U/Umf) below 3 (Table 3) to segregate the received char and bed solids into:
a char fraction (Fig. 4.5; top layer in the separation area) having a ratio of char to bed solids that is at least 10x larger than that of the input flow; and
a depleted portion (Fig. 4.5; bottom layer in the separation area) of the bed solids having a lower ratio of char to bed solids than that of the input flow.
Mara fails to disclose
where the char fraction has a ratio of char to bed solids that is at least 10x larger than that of the input flow.
However, the claimed ratio is a matter of optimization. Mara states that the ratio would be determined partly by the fluidization number (U/Umf) (Fig. 2.5), char loading in the reactor (2.3.1.2), and char particle size (2.3.1.3). Therefore, by optimizing one or more of these results-effective variables, a person skilled in the art would have been able to arrive at the claimed ratio.
Regarding claim 30, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 29, further comprising a char stream outlet (Fig. 2.1; b) fluidically coupled to the settling zone and configured to convey at least a portion of the char fraction from the settling zone.
Regarding claim 31, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 29, wherein the settling gas inlet is configured to fluidize the settling zone at a fluidization number (U/Umf) that is not more than 2.0. The inlet is just an opening and is capable of conveying a low flow rate to achieve the claimed fluidization number. Moreover, the claimed ratio is a matter of optimization. Mara states that a lower Urem/Umf would result in larger separation between the char and solids (Table 3 and pg. 46, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 32, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 29, wherein the settling zone is disposed within a first region of the container, the volatilization zone is disposed within a second region of the container, and the volatilization gas inlet is configured to fluidize the bed solids in the volatilization zone as a bubbling fluidized bed (Fig. 3.7).
Regarding claim 41, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 30, wherein the settling gas inlet (Fig. 4.1; fluidization gas in, located in the separation zone) is configured to generate a stagnant region (Fig. 4.5; top layer with char) proximate to the char stream outlet (Fig. 4.1; biochar removal ports h).
Regarding claim 42, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 41, wherein the settling gas inlet is configured to deliver a settling gas to the stagnant region at a fluidization number (U/Umf) that does not exceed 0.8. The inlet is just an opening and is capable of conveying a low flow rate to achieve the claimed fluidization number. Moreover, the claimed ratio is a matter of optimization. Mara states that a lower Urem/Umf would result in larger separation between the char and solids (Table 3 and pg. 46, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 43, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 41, wherein the stagnant region comprises a static bed (Fig. 4.5).
Regarding claim 45, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 29, wherein the settling gas supply is further configured to gasify at least a portion of the char [gases are produced in the reactor (see abstract) and some of the gas would be from the char].
Regarding claim 46, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 30, further comprising a baffle (Fig. 4.1; vertical plate e) disposed proximate to an expected height of the char fraction and configured to retain the char fraction in the settling zone and/or guide the char fraction toward the char stream outlet.
Regarding claim 47, Mara discloses a method comprising (see rejection of claim 29 for citations unless otherwise stated): providing a reactor comprising a char precursor inlet and bed solids; receiving a char precursor via the char precursor inlet; volatilizing the char precursor with a volatilization gas to form char; conveying an input flow comprising the char and bed solids to a settling zone; settling the input flow to segregate the char and bed solids into: a char fraction, having a ratio of char to bed solids that is at least 10x larger than that of the input flow; and a depleted portion having a smaller ratio of char to bed solids than that of the input flow; and at least one of: extracting at least a portion of the char fraction via a char stream outlet; and gasifying at least a portion of the char fraction [gases are produced in the reactor (see abstract) and some of the gas would be from the char].
Claim(s) 37, 38, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mara (“An Investigation of Biochar Removal Systems for Pyrolysis Reactors”), as applied to claim 29, and further in view of Pallares (WO 2019239209 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Mara discloses the reactor claim 29, except further comprising: a combustion fuel inlet configured to deliver a combustion fuel to the reactor; and a combustion zone comprising an oxidant gas supply and configured to: receive the depleted portion of the bed solids combust the combustion fuel with a supplied oxidant gas to yield hot bed solids; and convey the hot bed solids to at least one of the settling zone and the volatilization.
However, Pallares teaches a combustion fuel inlet (316) configured to deliver a combustion fuel to the reactor; and
a combustion zone (330) comprising an oxidant gas supply (para. 24) and configured to:
receive the depleted portion of the bed solids (285) combust the combustion fuel with a supplied oxidant gas to yield hot bed solids (para. 98); and
convey the hot bed solids to at least one of the settling zone and the volatilization (para. 98).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mara to include a combustion fuel inlet configured to deliver a combustion fuel to the reactor; and a combustion zone comprising an oxidant gas supply and configured to: receive the depleted portion of the bed solids combust the combustion fuel with a supplied oxidant gas to yield hot bed solids; and convey the hot bed solids to at least one of the settling zone and the volatilization. The motivation to combine is so that the solids can be efficiently heated and returned back to the volatilization zone for further reactions (Pallares; para. 98).
Regarding claim 38, modified Mara discloses the reactor of claim 37 (see Pallares for citations), wherein the combustion zone is contained within the container (300’, 300”, 400), and the reactor further comprises a combustion gaswall (302) configured to separate at least a gas phase above the bed into: a combustion stage comprising the combustion zone; and a stage comprising at least one of the volatilization zone and the settling zone (the settling zone is disclosed in Mara).
Regarding claim 44, Mara discloses the reactor of claim 29, except further comprising at least one splashgenerator comprising aligned jet nozzles coupled to a transport gas supply and configured to impart a directed, aligned momentum to the depleted portion.
However, Pallares teaches least one splashgenerator comprising aligned jet nozzles (e.g., 114) coupled to a transport gas supply and configured to impart a directed, aligned momentum to the depleted portion (para. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mara to include at least one splashgenerator comprising aligned jet nozzles coupled to a transport gas supply and configured to impart a directed, aligned momentum to the depleted portion. The motivation to combine is to help direct the char to the settling zone for removal (Pallares; paras. 11).
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mara (“An Investigation of Biochar Removal Systems for Pyrolysis Reactors”), as applied to claim 29, and further in view of Bozak (US 20070131590 A1).
Regarding claim 48, Mara discloses (see rejection of claim 29 for citations unless otherwise noted) discloses a continuous char separation reactor comprising: a container configured to contain a bed of char and bed solids; a char precursor inlet; a volatilization zone coupled to the char precursor inlet and comprising the bed solids, the volatilization zone configured to: receive a char precursor via the char precursor inlet; and volatilize the char precursor with the bed solids to form the char; a settling zone coupled to the volatilization zone and configured to receive an input flow comprising the char and bed solids, the settling zone configured to segregate the received char and bed solids into: a char fraction having a ratio of char to bed solids that is at least 10x larger than that of the input flow; and a depleted portion of the bed solids having a lower ratio of char to bed solids than that of the input flow.
Mara fails to disclose:
the settling zone comprising an actuator configured to impart mechanical energy to the settling zone to segregate the received char and bed solids.
However, Bozak teaches an actuator configured to impart mechanical energy to the chamber to segregate the bitumen from the solid fractions (para. 43). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Mara wherein the settling zone comprises an actuator configured to impart mechanical energy to the settling zone to segregate the received char and bed solids. The motivation to combine is to help separate the char from the bed solids.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-36, 39, 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762