DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Franck (EP 1637750).
Regarding claim 16, Franck discloses a fastening device 2 Fig. 1 for a rail element of a longitudinal adjustment device, comprising at least one securing plate 1 with a through-opening 4 and a bolt 10 with at least one external thread 11, wherein the bolt is prefixed and held in the through- opening by self-locking, and wherein the securing plate has a first strength and the bolt has a second strength.
Regarding claim 17, Franck discloses wherein the first strength (soft materials) is lower than the second strength.
Regarding claim 18, Franck discloses wherein the securing plate 1 has a number of noses 6, 8 on an inner circumference of the through-opening 4 to prefix the bolt 10.
Regarding claim 19, Franck discloses wherein at least two noses 6, 8 are provided, which are molded with a height offset from one another Fig. 1 on the inner circumference of the through-opening 4.
Regarding claim 20, Franck discloses wherein, in the assembled state, the noses 6, 8 are arranged to engage in external thread 11 flights of the bolt 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franck in view of Kobusch (EP 0272495).
Regarding claim 21, Franck discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the through-opening of the securing plate is provided with a ring. Kobusch, a fastening device Fig. 4, discloses a securing plate 1 is provided with a sealing ring 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the securing plate of Franck with a sealing ring as taught by Kobusch in order to provide a better seal between the bolt and the plate.
Regarding claim 22, the combination discloses wherein the ring (6 of Kobsuch) is provided to enter into self-locking engagement with the bolt 10 when the bolt is joined with the securing plate 1.
Regarding claim 23, the combination discloses wherein the ring (6 of Kobsuch) is a sealing element.
Regarding claim 24, the combination discloses wherein the ring (6 of Kobsuch) is connected to the through-opening at least by a material bond.
Regarding claim 25, the combination discloses wherein the ring (6 of Kobsuch) is capable of being vulcanized into the through-opening.
Regarding claim 26, the combination discloses wherein the securing plate (1 of Kobsuch Fig. 4) has an internal thread with an internal thread pitch on an inner circumference of the through-opening to prefix the bolt 10, wherein the internal thread pitch of the through-opening is different from an external thread 11 pitch of the bolt.
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franck in view of Heinz et al. (DE 102006042048).
Regarding claim 29, Franck discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a rail element for a longitudinal adjustment device. Heinz et al., discloses a fastening device for a rail element 5 Fig. 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fastening device of Franck on a rail element as taught by Heinz et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, since the Heinz et al. shows that it is well known in the art to various fastening devices for rail elements.
Regarding claim 30, the combination discloses wherein the bolt 10 is guided through the through-opening of the securing plate 11 and is arranged engaging partially into the mounting opening of the rail element (5 of Heinz et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claims 27 including where the securing plate comprises at least one recess, which is arcuate or angular, on the outer perimeter. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Relevant prior art to Sampson (US 10668878) discloses fastening device having securing plate 20 Fig. 5 and a bolt 56 fixed thereto.
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675