DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-25 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chappell (US 8,726,534). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed in light of the accompany specification, to be disclosed by Chappell as teaching:
a shoe care device (see title and abstract and column 6 lines 7-9) comprising:
an accommodation space 12 configured to accommodate shoes;
an outer cabinet 10, 82 defining an exterior of the shoe care device (column 8 line 60 through column 9 line 2);
a blower 30 configured to circulate air in the accommodation space;
a power supply (column 7 lines 4-9) configured to supply power to the blower;
an electrical inlet electrically connected to the power supply, the electrical inlet being configured such that external power enters therethrough (column 9 lines 2-13); and
an electrical outlet electrically connected to the power supply, the electrical outlet being configured such that power exits therethrough (column 10 lines 36-46). Chappell also discloses the claim 22 feature wherein the electrical inlet and the electrical outlet are located on a rear surface of the outer cabinet (figures 6, 13b). the claim 23 feature wherein the electrical inlet is exposed at one side of the outer cabinet, and wherein the shoe care device further comprises a flap coupled to the outer cabinet, the flap being configured to selectively shield or expose the electrical outlet (column 10 lines 3-35), the claim 24 feature of an outlet hole extending through the outer cabinet, the electrical outlet being exposed through the outlet hole; a hinge coupling the flap to the outer cabinet at an edge of the outlet hole; and a flap spring configured to elastically bias the flap in a direction in which the flap shields the outlet hole (column 10 lines 3-35), the claim 25 feature wherein the flap and the flap spring are located inside the outer cabinet, and wherein the flap is configured to open the outlet hole when an outer surface of the flap is pressed inward (column 10 lines 3-35), the claim 31 feature of power cord including an inlet connector, the inlet connector being configured to be detachably connected to the electrical inlet; and a connection cord including: a first connector configured to be detachably connected to the electrical outlet; a second connector configured to be detachably connected to the electrical inlet; and a cable electrically interconnecting the first connector and the second connector, wherein the first connector is coupled to the electrical outlet, and wherein the first connector is not coupled to the electrical inlet (column 10 lines 36-45), the claim 31 feature a connection cord including: a first connector configured to be detachably connected to the electrical outlet, the first connector having a terminal; a second connector configured to be detachably connected to the electrical inlet; and a cable electrically interconnecting the first connector and the second connector, wherein the electrical outlet includes a movable pin, and wherein, when the first connector is coupled to the electrical outlet, the movable pin of the electrical outlet moves outward to be electrically connected the terminal of the first connector (figures 6, 13b).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eichten (US 5,592,758). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed in light of the accompany specification, to be disclosed by Eitchten as teaching:
a shoe care system (see title and abstract and column 4 line 43) comprising:
two or more shoe care devices 151, 160 each shoe care device including:
an accommodation space 111 configured to accommodates shoes (column 4 lines 18-45, especially line 43);
an operation unit 113 configured to adjust one or more of temperature 112, humidity, and air flow in the accommodation space; and
a power supply 106 configured to supply power to the operation unit; and
a connection cord 109 configured to electrically interconnect a first shoe care device of the two or more shoe care devices and a second shoe care device of the two or more shoe care devices such that power from the power supply of the first shoe care device is supplied to the power supply of the second shoe care device (figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-29 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappell. Chappell discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claimed flap spring, movable bracket, or push ribs. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features, since the teachings of Chappell would perform the invention, as claimed regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Claims 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichten in view of Chappell. Eichten discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claimed electrical inlet/outlet, plural connectors, or cable. Eitchten discloses those features, as discussed in the first anticipatory rejection above. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Chappell with the teachings Eichten for the purpose of providing electrical power to a shoe care device. Furthermore, Eichten in view of Chappell discloses the claimed invention, except for the claimed flap spring, movable bracket, or push ribs. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features, since the teachings of Eichten in view of Chappell would perform the invention, as claimed regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this application, may teach one or more claim features, but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be proper or reasonable under current Office practice and procedure. References A, B, C, N, O, cited with this action are patent publications from the same inventive entity. References D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, cited with this action teach shoe care type devices.
Tuesday, August 25, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753