DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tasuku et al. WO 2004/ 020549 A1.
Tasuku teaches a Pt(bpy)(qdt) (bpy = 2,2’-bipyridine; qdt = quinoxaline-2,3-dithiolate) complex (Figure 20, see below), Pt(4dmbpy)(qdt) (4dmbpy = 4,4’-dimethyl-2,2’-bipyridine) (Figure 22), Pt(5dmbpy)(qdt) (5dmbpy = 5,5’-dimethyl-2,2’-bipyridine) (Figure 23), Pt(dbbpy)(qdt) (dbbpy = 4,4’-ditertbutyl-2,2’-bipyridine) (Figure 24). The backbone of this structure corresponds to structure 3a of in the instant claims. The Pt is a divalent cation, E is at least one heteroatom selected from a group comprising O, S, Se, N, and P, which are substituted with a chelating system which forms a substituted heteroaromatic system of 10 carbons, and is substituted with C1-C12 alkyls in the case of 4dmbpy, 5dmpy, and dbbpy. In this case the R1 and R2 form an unsubstituted cyclic system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the further limitation of the cation as M2+ Zn, Cu, Mg, Ca, or M+ as Li, Na, K, Cs, Cu teaches away from Tasuku et al., which only teaches Pt2+.
Claims 1-7, 13-22 are allowed.
Muller et al. (Müller DS, Baslé O, Mauduit M. A tutorial review of stereoretentive olefin metathesis based on ruthenium dithiolate catalysts. Beilstein J Org Chem. 2018; 14, 2999-3010.) teaches the formation of complex Ru-2 (Figure 1; see below). The complex meets the majority of the structural limitation of claim 1, except benzene ring bonded to the dithio group. The benzene ring does not meet the claim limitation, since it is not a pyrazine ring.
Verpoort et al. (US 20150367338 A1) teaches Grubbs’ 2nd generation catalyst and the Hoveyda catalyst, which are both commercial Ru olefin metathesis catalysts (paragraphs [0015], [0016]; see below). Both the Grubbs’ catalyst and Hoveyda catalyst contain the majority of the structure limitation required by the claims, except for the dithiopyrazine ring.
Herron et al. (US 20210291155 A1) teaches a metathesis catalyst that teaches the mahroity of the structural limitations as required by the instant claims (paragraphs [0057]-[066]; see below), but does not teach the pyrazine ring. The M is a group 8 transition metal, typically Ru, L1 = a carbene; L2 = a neutral electron donor ligand; n = 0 or 1; m = 0, 1, or 2; R = unsubstituted hydrocarbyl, substituted hydro carbyl, unsubstituted heteroatom containing hydrocarbyl, or substituted heteroatom containing hydrocarbyl; generally R is unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl, substituted C1-C10 alkyl, unsubstituted C3-C8 cycloalkyl, substituted C3-C8 cycloalkyl, unsubstituted C5-C24 aryl or substituted C5-C24 aryl, typically R is methyl, ethyl, n-propyl, iso-propyl, n-butyl, tert-butyl, or phenyl; R1 and R2 = independently hydrogen, unsubstituted hydrocarbyl, substituted hydrocarbyl, unsubstituted heteroatom containing hydrocarbyl, or substituted heteroatom containing hydrocarbyl or typically, R1 is hydrogen and R2 is phenyl, substituted phenyl or substituted 1-propenyl ; or R1 and R2 are linked together to form an optionally substituted indenylidene; X4 and X5 = O or S; RX, RY, RW, Rz = independently hydrogen, halogen, unsubstituted hydrocarbyl, substituted hydrocarbyl, unsubstituted heteroatom containing hydrocarbyl, or substituted heteroatom containing hydrocarbyl (paragraphs [0057]-[066]).
Conclusion
/H.E.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742