DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 07/15/2024.
The IDS(s) submitted on 07/15/2024 and 12/31/2025 has been considered.
Claims 1-30 are pending of which claims 1, 15, 27, and 29 are independent.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15-19, 23, 24, 27, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (US 20210092688A1) in view of Chen et al (US 20200304183 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a first network node (Fig. 16 UE-B is first network node and UE-A is a second network node) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (i.e. structure for UE is defined in Fig. 3 memory 360); and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 3 processors 340, 315, and 325) are configured to:
transmit a first side link reference signal (SL-RS) to a second network node (UE-B as the 1st network node transmits SL-RS to the 2nd network node UE-A in Fig. 16); receive, from the second network node (i.e. UE-A is the second network node of Fig 16 is shown in Figs. 13&14) and , a second SL-RS and channel state information (CSI) that is associated with the first SL-RS (See Fig. 13&14 where UE-A as the 2nd network node sends SL-RS to UE-B as the 1st network node, allowing the 1st network node/UE-B to receive SL-RS from 2nd network node UE-A. 2nd SL RS is related to 1st SL RS because they are based on the same SL-RS configuration. Also the 2nd network node UE-A sends a CSI to the first network node UE-B in Fig. 16 per paragraph 188. See also Fig. 17) ; determine a CSI-related parameter based on the second SL-RS and the CSI(See paragraph 188 and 191 based on the received SL RS and the determined CSI – CSI parameters like PMI, CQI, RI);
Even though Guo shows in Fig. 17 that the first network node UE-B sends CSI report to the second network node UE-A but fails to explicitly disclose transmit, to the second network node, the CSI-related parameter or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter.
Chen, in the same endeavor, discloses transmit, to the second network node, the CSI-related parameter or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter. (See Fig. 4 where side link communication between UE 115-c and UE 115-d is established based on CSI related parameters – see paragraph 67)
In view of the above, having Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication and then given the well- established teaching of Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication as taught by Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, since Chen states in paragraphs 004-006 that the modification results in allowing the UE to send CSI related parameters instead of an entire CSI report thereby enhancing system performance and reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Guo discloses a second network node (i.e. UE-A in Figs. 13, 16 and 17 is 2nd Network Node) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory(i.e. structure for UE is defined in Fig. 3 memory 360); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors(Fig. 3 processors 340, 315, and 325) are configured to:
receive a first side link reference signal (SL-RS) from a first network node(UE-B as the 1st network node transmits a 1st SL-RS to the 2nd network node UE-A in Fig. 16); generate channel state information (CSI) based on the first SL-RS (Also the 2nd network node UE-A sends a CSI to the first network node UE-B based on the 1st SL-RS in Fig. 16 per paragraph 188. See also Fig. 17); transmit, to the first network node, the CSI (See paragraph 188 – CSI is reported to the 1st UE-B from UE-A) and a second SL-RS (i.e. UE-A as the 2nd network node sends a 2nd SL-RS to UE-B the 1st network node)
Even though Guo shows in Fig. 17 that the first network node UE-B sends CSI report to the second network node UE-A but fails to explicitly disclose receive, from the first network node, a CSI-related parameter associated with the CSI or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter.
Chen, in the same endeavor, discloses receive, from the first network node, a CSI-related parameter associated with the CSI or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter. (See Fig. 4 where side link communication between UE 115-c and UE 115-d is established based on CSI related parameters – see paragraph 67)
In view of the above, having Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication and then given the well- established teaching of Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication as taught by Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, since Chen states in paragraphs 004-006 that the modification results in allowing the UE to send CSI related parameters instead of an entire CSI report thereby enhancing system performance and reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 27, Guo discloses a method (i.e. Figs. 1-23) of wireless communication performed by a first network node(Fig. 16 and Fig. 17 UE-B is first network node and UE-A is a second network node), comprising:
transmitting a first side link reference signal (SL-RS) to a second network node (UE-B as the 1st network node transmits SL-RS to the 2nd network node UE-A in Fig. 16); receiving, from the second network node (i.e. UE-A is the second network node of Fig 16 is shown in Figs. 13&14) and , a second SL-RS and channel state information (CSI) that is associated with the first SL-RS (See Fig. 13&14 where UE-A as the 2nd network node sends SL-RS to UE-B as the 1st network node, allowing the 1st network node/UE-B to receive SL-RS from 2nd network node UE-A. 2nd SL RS is related to 1st SL RS because they are based on the same SL-RS configuration. Also the 2nd network node UE-A sends a CSI to the first network node UE-B in Fig. 16 per paragraph 188. See also Fig. 17) ; determining a CSI-related parameter based on the second SL-RS and the CSI(See paragraph 188 and 191 based on the received SL RS and the determined CSI – CSI parameters like PMI, CQI, RI);
Even though Guo shows in Fig. 17 that the first network node UE-B sends CSI report to the second network node UE-A but fails to explicitly disclose transmitting, to the second network node, the CSI-related parameter or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter.
Chen, in the same endeavor, discloses transmitting, to the second network node, the CSI-related parameter or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter. (See Fig. 4 where side link communication between UE 115-c and UE 115-d is established based on CSI related parameters – see paragraph 67)
In view of the above, having Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication and then given the well- established teaching of Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication as taught by Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, since Chen states in paragraphs 004-006 that the modification results in allowing the UE to send CSI related parameters instead of an entire CSI report thereby enhancing system performance and reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 29, Guo discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a second network node (i.e. UE-A in Figs. 13, 16 and 17 is 2nd Network Node) comprising:
receiving a first side link reference signal (SL-RS) from a first network node(UE-B as the 1st network node transmits a 1st SL-RS to the 2nd network node UE-A in Fig. 16); generating channel state information (CSI) based on the first SL-RS (Also the 2nd network node UE-A sends a CSI to the first network node UE-B based on the 1st SL-RS in Fig. 16 per paragraph 188. See also Fig. 17); transmitting, to the first network node, the CSI (See paragraph 188 – CSI is reported to the 1st UE-B from UE-A) and a second SL-RS (i.e. UE-A as the 2nd network node sends a 2nd SL-RS to UE-B the 1st network node)
Even though Guo shows in Fig. 17 that the first network node UE-B sends CSI report to the second network node UE-A but fails to explicitly disclose receiving, from the first network node, a CSI-related parameter associated with the CSI or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter.
Chen, in the same endeavor, discloses receiving, from the first network node, a CSI-related parameter associated with the CSI or a communication that is based on the CSI-related parameter. (See Fig. 4 where side link communication between UE 115-c and UE 115-d is established based on CSI related parameters – see paragraph 67)
In view of the above, having Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication and then given the well- established teaching of Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication as taught by Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters, since Chen states in paragraphs 004-006 that the modification results in allowing the UE to send CSI related parameters instead of an entire CSI report thereby enhancing system performance and reliability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Guo modified by Chen, discloses the first network node of claim 1, Guo further discloses wherein the CSI includes one or more precoding matrix indicators (PMIs), and wherein the one or more processors, to determine the CSI-related parameter, are configured to determine a PMI from the one or more PMIs. (Guo paragraph 188 and 191 disclose the CSI-related parameter, are configured to determine a PMI from the one or more PMIs)
Regarding claim 4, Guo modified by Chen, discloses the first network node of claim 1, Guo further discloses the first network node of claim 2, wherein the first network node is incapable of performing a fast channel state feedback (CSF) procedure.(Guo’s UE-A and UE-B are capable of sending CSI feedback and not a fast one. See paragraphs 188 and 191-192 )
Regarding claim 5, Guo modified by Chen, discloses the first network node of claim 1, Guo further discloses wherein a transmit power of the first SL-RS is higher than a transmit power of the second SL-RS. (See paragraph 259 Guo indicating the transmit power of the SL-RS can be higher or a lower and is a function of pathloss)
Regarding claim 6, Guo modified by Chen, discloses the first network node of claim 1, Guo further discloses wherein a transmit power of the first SL-RS is lower than a transmit power of the second SL-RS. (See paragraph 259 Guo indicating the transmit power of the SL-RS can be higher or a lower and is a function of pathloss)
Regarding claim 10, Guo modified by Chen, discloses the first network node of claim 1 , Guo further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, based on stored configuration information, whether the CSI is to include one or more of a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) and rank indicator (RI) report, a channel quality indicator (CQI) and RI report, or a PMI, CQI, and RI report. (Per Fig. 13 what needs to be configured to generate a CSI report is received from network node and has to be stored to perform what CSO report can include per paragraphs 178, 188 and 191-192.)
Regarding claim 11, Guo modified by Chen, discloses the first network node of claim 1 , Guo further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the CSI, are configured to receive the CSI in sidelink control information two (SCI-2) with SL-RS resource information. (Guo indicates CSI can be received in SCI Format X and X covers current and future formats and covers SCI-2 – see paragraphs 326-328)
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected in the same scope as claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected in the same scope as claim 11.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (US 20210092688A1) in view of Chen et al (US 20200304183 A1) and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20250373296 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Guo modified by Chen discloses the first network node of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors , to determine the PMI as set forth above but fails to disclose configured to search for a PMI that is spatially corelated with the one or more PMIs.
Zhang, in the same endeavor, discloses configured to search for a PMI that is spatially corelated with the one or more PMIs. (See Fig. 10 step 1008 and paragraphs 153 and 165 search for a PMI that is spatially corelated with the one or more PMIs.)
In view of the above, having Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication modified by a Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters and then given the well- established teaching of Zhang’s techniques for PMI prediction based on spatial corelating, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Guo’s SL-RS CSI configuration method based communication modified by a Chen’s techniques for CSI Reporting and using reported CSI related parameters as taught by Zhang’s techniques for PMI prediction based on spatial corelating, since Zhang states in paragraph 86 that the modification results in improving the Type II CSI reporting and enabling the network node to predict the future PMI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 12-14, 20, 21, 22, 25 and 26 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474