DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/15/2024, in which claims 1-22 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US Pub. 20250150605 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method of decoding colour pictures using coding tools including one or more CCLM (Cross Colour Linear Model) related modes, the method comprising (Kim; Para. [0158-159]. A video coding system/method is used to perform video coding using coding tools including one or more CCLM.):
receiving encoded data associated with a current block comprising a first-colour block and a second-colour block (Kim; Para. [0158]. Coded data of a current block is obtained, including a first color block and a second color block.);
parsing a first syntax from a bitstream comprising the encoded data for the current block, wherein the first syntax is related to whether the current block is coded in said one or more CCLM related modes (Kim; Para. [0159]. A first syntax is determined from a bitstream, indicating whether a current block is coded in CCLM related modes.);
parsing a second syntax from the bitstream if the first syntax indicates the current block being coded in said one or more CCLM related modes, wherein the second syntax is related to whether a multiple model CCLM mode is used or whether one or more model parameters are explicitly signalled or implicitly derived (Kim; Para. [0159]. A second syntax is determined from a bitstream in accordance with a first syntax indicating a current block coded in CCLM related modes, indicating whether a multiple model CCLM being used or whether one or more model parameters are signaled or not.);
determining said one or more model parameters for the second-colour block if the first syntax indicates the current block being coded in said one or more CCLM related modes, wherein a cross-colour predictor for the second-colour block is generated by applying one or more cross-colour models to reconstructed or predicted first-colour block using said one or more model parameters (Kim; Para. [0159]. For a first syntax indicating a current coded in CCLM related modes, one or more model parameters are determined, wherein a cross-color prediction for a second color block is determined by using CCLM models to reconstructed/predicted first-color blocks with model parameters.); and
decoding the encoded data associated with the second-colour block using prediction data comprising the cross-colour predictor for the second-colour block (Kim; Para. [0159]. A second-color block is decoded using cross-color prediction for a second-color block.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses parsing a third syntax from the bitstream if the second syntax is related to whether the multiple model CCLM mode is used, wherein the third syntax is related to whether said one or more model parameters are explicitly signalled or implicitly derived (Kim; Para. [0159]. A third syntax is determined from a bitstream for a second syntax relating to whether multiple model CCLM is used, wherein a third syntax relating to whether one or more model parameters are signaled or not.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein if the third syntax indicates that said one or more model parameters are implicitly derived, an LM_LA mode using both top and left templates is selected for the current block or a further syntax is parsed to indicate a particular CCLM mode among said one or more CCLM related modes for the current block (Kim; Para. [0159]. For a third syntax indicating number of models being derived, a upper template and a left template of an LM_LA are used for a current block.).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses parsing a third syntax from the bitstream if the second syntax is related to whether the multiple model CCLM mode is used, wherein the third syntax indicates a particular CCLM mode among said one or more CCLM related modes (Kim; Para. [0159]. For a second syntax relating to whether multiple model CCLM being used, a third syntax indicating a particular CCLM mode.).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses parsing a third syntax from the bitstream if the second syntax indicates that said one or more model parameters are explicitly signalled, wherein the third syntax is related to whether the multiple model CCLM mode is used (Kim; Para. [0159]. For a second syntax indicating model parameters being signaled, a third syntax, relating to whether multiple model CCLM being used, is determined from a bitstream.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein if the second syntax indicates that said one or more model parameters are implicitly derived, an LMLA mode using both top and left templates is selected for the current block or a further syntax is parsed to indicate a particular CCLM mode among said one or more CCLM related modes for the current block (Kim; Para. [0159]. For a second syntax indicating number of models being derived, a upper template and a left template of an LM_LA are used for a current block.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses parsing, from the bitstream, a feasible range and/or a step number related to scaling parameters (Kim; Para. [0156]. Range or step number relating to scaling, e.g. α, β, is determined from a bitstream.).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the feasible range and/or the step number related to the scaling parameters are parsed in SPS (Sequence Parameter Set), PPS (Picture Parameter Set), APS (Adaptation Parameter Set), PH (Picture Header) or SH (Slice Header) of the bitstream (Kim; Para. [0156]. Range or step number relating to scaling, e.g. α, β, is determined in SPS. PPS, or PH.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the feasible range comprises an upper-bound and a lower-bound related to the scaling parameters, and the step number is related to a number of steps between the upper-bound and the lower-bound (Kim; Para. [0156]. Range and step number relating to scaling, e.g. α, β, are within a range between 0 and 129 in accordance with a current video format.).
Claims 11-19 are directed to a method of encoding colour pictures using coding tools including one or more CCLM (Cross Colour Linear Model) related modes, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps that are in reciprocal/symmetric manner with the steps corresponding to the same corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1-9, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim 21 is directed to an apparatus for decoding colour pictures using coding tools including one or more CCLM (Cross Colour Linear Model) related modes, the apparatus comprising one or more electronics or processors arranged to perform a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim 22 is directed to an apparatus for encoding colour pictures using coding tools including one or more CCLM (Cross Colour Linear Model) related modes, the apparatus comprising one or more electronics or processors arranged to perform a sequence of processing steps that are in reciprocal/symmetric manner with the steps corresponding to the same corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ghaznavi Youvalari (US Pub. 20250056017 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs high order cross component model.
Ray (US Pat. 11330298 B2) teaches a video coding system that uses simplified intra chroma mode coding in video coding.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485