DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 19-29 of U.S. Application 18/729046 filed on July 16, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 15, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to because:
Reference numbers in figures 6, 7 and 8 are not legible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the at least one microreactor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 20-29 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 19, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Filippone (US 20160049210).
Regarding claim 19, Filippone teaches (see figs. 2, 7, 18, 24 and 24A below) a modular Nuclear Battery System (100) (title, Abstract),
the at least one microreactor (901) being contained in at least one Nuclear Cell (221); the at least one Nuclear Cell (221) being structured such that it can be disposed in different arrangements so that the thermal or electrical powers generated are directly proportional to a number of microreactors (901) and the at least one Nuclear Cell (221) operates independently of others (¶ 77; ¶ 78; ¶ 90; ¶ 91);
the modular Nuclear Battery System (100) being subdivided into two blocks, Blocks A (200, 300) and Block B (400) (¶ 58; ¶ 60) in which:
- Block A (200, 300) houses the at least one Nuclear Cell (221), heat transfer modules (802, 803), a structural and sealed containment (see annotated fig. 2 below), Nuclear Cell fixing modules, and nuclear instrumentation and other required sensors for control and monitoring of the at least one Nuclear Cell (221) and the modular Nuclear Battery system (¶ 60 to ¶ 67; ¶ 84 to ¶ 86; ¶ 29);
- Block B (400) houses a power generation module, which comprises the conversion modules for thermal energy into useful work, electricity generation module (402), containment (see annotated fig. 2 below), and structures required to control and monitor the modular Nuclear Battery system (¶ 60).
Regarding claim 23/19, Filippone teaches (see figs. 2, 7, 18, 24 and 24A above) the microreactor (901) comprises a cylindrical, substantially cylindrical or spherical geometry (figs. 7, 24 and 24A, ¶ 20; ¶ 77).
Regarding claim 28/19, Filippone teaches (see figs. 2, 7, 18, 24 and 24A above) wherein partial penetrations (905, 906) can be made on the upper or lower faces of the Nuclear Cell (221) or on both faces (¶ 91).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippone in view of Gramlich (US 20210304909).
Regarding claim 21/19, Filippone teaches the device of claim 19 but does not explicitly teach the structural and sealed containment is made of steel sized and configured to resist impacts and the containment is made of steel.
However, Gramlich teaches (see fig. 9 below) the structural and sealed containment (300) is made of steel sized and configured to resist impacts and the containment is made of steel (¶ 47) in order to provide improved reinforcement and structural support (Gramlich, ¶ 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Filippone and provide the structural and sealed containment is made of steel sized and configured to resist impacts and the containment is made of steel as taught by Gramlich in order to provide improved reinforcement and structural support (Gramlich, ¶ 47).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 20, 22, 24-27 and 29 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834