Priority date of September 01, 2022 based on KR10-2022-0110943 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-25, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as b2eing unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2023/1133223. Note EP4445801 (Kim’801) being used as a convenient English translation, note the priority dates of December 17, 2021 and March 05, 2022) in view of Kim (KR102313831).
The shoe care device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1a may be changed like the shoe care device 1 illustrated in FIG. 2a. That is, the moving body 200 may slidably move in a first direction X with respect to the body 100, and the shoe care device 1 is transformed from the closed state to the opened state, and the accommodation space 10 may be opened.
The air in the accommodation space 10 may be suctioned into the air path 300 through the suction port 310. The air in the air path 300 may be discharged to the accommodation space 10 through the discharge port 320. Therefore, air forcibly blown by a blowing part 330 to be described below may be circulated in the accommodation space 10 and the air path 300.
As illustrated in FIGS. 1b and 4a, the shoe care device 1 according to the embodiment of the present invention may include the blowing part 330 and a heating part 340. The blowing part 330 and the heating part 340 may be provided in the upper body 130.
The blowing part 330 is configured to circulate the air in the accommodation space 10.
The blowing part 330 may be positioned in the upper body 130. The blowing part 330 may be placed in the air path 300, and may generate a flow of the air in the air path 300.
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘801 teaches a shoe care apparatus comprising: an accommodation space configured to accommodate shoes therein; a first body (130), a second body (200), the first body and second body being configured to define the accommodation space, the second body including: a base (220) slidably coupled to the first body so as to open and close the accommodation space; a turntable (230) coupled to the base, the turntable being rotatable about a vertical axis, the turntable and the base defining a lower surface of the accommodation space; and a blower (330) configured to circulate air in the accommodation space.
Kim meets all claimed limitations except for the rotation ball coupled to the base and the plurality of rotation balls 260/262) being in point contact with a bottom surface of the turntable, the plurality of rotation balls being configured to support a load of the turntable.
Kim ‘831 teaches that it is known in the art to provide a rotary device with rotation balls (23) coupled to the base and the plurality of rotation balls (23) being in point contact with a bottom surface of the base at in fig. 3, the plurality of rotation balls being configured to support a load of the turntable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the rotary device with the rotation balls as taught by Kim’831 to distribute loads and to move the turntable easily and to distribute forces.
Regarding claim 15, note the Kim ‘801 and Kim ‘831, each teaches an upper surface (where shoe is placed on), and wherein the base includes a first base surface located along a circumference of the turntable, the first base surface and the upper surface of the turntable defining the lower surface of the accommodation space.
Regarding claim 16, note Kim ‘831 teaches second base surface (top of 11) located below the turntable 30, and wherein the plurality of rotation balls 23 protrude above the second base surface.
Regarding claims 17 and 21, note the plurality of rotation balls are symmetrically located around the vertical axis in Kim ‘831 in fig. 2.
Regarding claims 18, 19, 22, and 23 note that Kim ‘831, in fig. 2 teaches the balls arranged in 3 concentric rings which teaches the limitation a plurality of first rotation balls arranged at a first distance (radially) from the vertical axis in a circumferential direction, and a plurality of second rotation balls arranged at a second distance (radially) from the vertical axis in the circumferential direction, and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (at least two outer concentric rings meet this limitation.
Regarding claim 20, note the outer ring in base (the outers concentric ring of the three rings) has more balls than the inner ring.
Regarding claim 24, note that due to the number of ball in the inner ring being less than the number of balls in the outer rings the arrangement as claimed is taught with at least one first rotation ball of the plurality of first rotation balls (inner ring) is located between adjacent second rotation balls of the plurality of second rotation balls (outer ring).
Regarding claim 25, note the plurality of receptacles at 21, each rotation ball of the plurality of rotation balls being rotatably coupled to a corresponding receptacle of the plurality of receptacles.
Regarding claim 32, note a lower body located below the accommodation space, the lower body having a lower body groove (note the groove on 110 fig. 5a) having an open front side, and wherein the second body further comprises a motor (290 fig. 8) disposed in the lower body groove, the motor being coupled to the turntable to apply a rotational force to the turntable.
Regarding claim 33, note the removable display 500, an upper body 130 located above the lower body (110); and a middle body (120) connecting the upper body to the lower body, the removable display being magnetically connectable to the middle body as cited above.
Claims 26-28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘801 in view of Kim ‘831, and further in view of Metzgar (2931477). Kim’831 teaches an accommodation body defining a hemispherical groove configured to accommodate at least a lower portion of the rotation ball rotatably coupled thereto. Kim does not teach the protrusions.
Metzgar teaches a plurality of protrusions extending upward from an edge of the hemispherical groove, the plurality of protrusions being configured to restrain separation of the rotation ball. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the hemispherical groove and protrusions extending upward from an edge of the hemispherical groove to provide the desired structure to accommodate the balls and/or for allow manufacture the device economically, i.e., cheaply and quickly.
Regarding claim 27, note the diameter of the hemispherical groove is larger than a diameter of the rotation ball to accommodate the ball, and wherein the rotation ball extends beyond tops of the protrusions.
Regarding claim 28, note the protrusions is configured to have a contact surface to restrain the separation of the rotation ball as the ball moves, and note a curvature radius of the contact surface is equal to a curvature radius of an inner surface of the hemispherical groove in fig. 3 of Metzgar.
Regarding claim 31, note each protrusion 4 of Metzgar are configured to have a contact surface to restrain the separation of the rotation ball since it is protruding above the diameter of ball and at least a pair of protrusions of the plurality of protrusions are located opposite each other (note that there are two pairs forming the four protrusions) and at a same radius from the vertical axis).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘801 in view of Kim ‘831, and Metzgar, and further in view of Konishi (JP2003184871). Metzgar teaches a hole , but does not teach a plurality of through-holes extend through the accommodation body to reduce friction between the accommodation body and the rotation ball.
and dust generated by friction between the auxiliary balls 20 is generated from the suction holes 11b and 11c formed in the ball receiving portion 11a of the case 11
Konishi teaches that it is known in the art to provide a plurality for the movement of air. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a plurality of holes to enable more air circulation.
Claims 14-25, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (EP4445801, note the priority dates of December 17, 2021 and March 05, 2022) in view of Yu (6896330)
Regarding claim 1, as set forth above, Kim ‘801 teaches a shoe care apparatus comprising: an accommodation space configured to accommodate shoes therein; a first body (130), a second body (200), the first body and second body being configured to define the accommodation space, the second body including: a base (220) slidably coupled to the first body so as to open and close the accommodation space; a turntable (230) coupled to the base, the turntable being rotatable about a vertical axis, the turntable and the base defining a lower surface of the accommodation space; and a blower (330) configured to circulate air in the accommodation space.
Kim meets all claimed limitations except for the rotation ball coupled to the base and the plurality of rotation balls 260/262) being in point contact with a bottom surface of the turntable, the plurality of rotation balls being configured to support a load of the turntable.
Yu teaches that it is known in the art to provide a rotary device with rotation balls (22) coupled to the base (at 3+4) and the plurality of rotation balls (22) being in point contact with a bottom surface of the base at (31), the plurality of rotation balls being configured to support a load of the turntable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the rotary device with the rotation balls as taught by Yu to distribute loads and to move the turntable easily and to distribute forces.
Regarding claim 15, note the Kim teaches an upper surface (where shoe is placed on), and wherein the base includes a first base surface located along a circumference of the turntable, the first base surface and the upper surface of the turntable defining the lower surface of the accommodation space.
Regarding claim 16, note the second base comprises portion (2) in Yu surface located below the turntable, and wherein the plurality of rotation balls protrudes above the second base surface.
Regarding claims 17 and 21, note the plurality of rotation balls are symmetrically located around the vertical axis in Yu.
Regarding claims 18, 19, 22, and 23 note that Yu teaches a plurality of first rotation balls arranged at a first distance (radially) from the vertical axis in a circumferential direction, and a plurality of second rotation balls arranged at a second distance (radially) from the vertical axis in the circumferential direction, and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (note the balls are inside the base portion 2).
Regarding claim 20, note the outer ring in base portion 2 has more balls than the inner ring.
Regarding claim 24, note at least one first rotation ball of the plurality of first rotation balls (inner ring) is located between adjacent second rotation balls of the plurality of second rotation balls (outer ring) at a portion shown below.
Regarding claim 25, note the plurality of receptacles at 21, each rotation ball of the plurality of rotation balls being rotatably coupled to a corresponding receptacle of the plurality of receptacles.
SET II:
Claims 14-25, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (note the filing date March 05, 2022) in view of Kim (102313831).
Regarding claim 1, Park, having the same disclosure as Kim ‘801, as set forth above, teaches a shoe care apparatus comprising: an accommodation space configured to accommodate shoes therein; a first body (130), a second body (200), the first body and second body being configured to define the accommodation space, the second body including: a base (220) slidably coupled to the first body so as to open and close the accommodation space; a turntable (230) coupled to the base, the turntable being rotatable about a vertical axis, the turntable and the base defining a lower surface of the accommodation space; and a blower (330) configured to circulate air in the accommodation space.
Park meets all claimed limitations except for the rotation ball coupled to the base and the plurality of rotation balls 260/262) being in point contact with a bottom surface of the turntable, the plurality of rotation balls being configured to support a load of the turntable.
As set forth above, Kim ‘831 teaches that it is known in the art to provide a rotary device with rotation balls (23) coupled to the base and the plurality of rotation balls (23) being in point contact with a bottom surface of the base at in fig. 3, the plurality of rotation balls being configured to support a load of the turntable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the rotary device with the rotation balls as taught by Kim’831 to distribute loads and to move the turntable easily and to distribute forces.
Regarding claim 15, note the Park and Kim ‘831, each teaches an upper surface (where shoe is placed on), and wherein the base includes a first base surface located along a circumference of the turntable, the first base surface and the upper surface of the turntable defining the lower surface of the accommodation space.
Regarding claim 16, note Kim ‘831 teaches second base surface (top of 11) located below the turntable 30, and wherein the plurality of rotation balls 23 protrude above the second base surface.
Regarding claims 17 and 21, note the plurality of rotation balls are symmetrically located around the vertical axis in Kim ‘831 in fig. 2.
Regarding claims 18, 19, 22, and 23 note that Kim ‘831, in fig. 2 teaches the balls arranged in 3 concentric rings which teaches the limitation a plurality of first rotation balls arranged at a first distance (radially) from the vertical axis in a circumferential direction, and a plurality of second rotation balls arranged at a second distance (radially) from the vertical axis in the circumferential direction, and wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (at least two outer concentric rings meet this limitation.
Regarding claim 20, note the outer ring in base (the outers concentric ring of the three rings) has more balls than the inner ring.
Regarding claim 24, note that due to the number of balls in the inner ring being less than the number of balls in the outer rings the arrangement as claimed is taught with at least one first rotation ball of the plurality of first rotation balls (inner ring) is located between adjacent second rotation balls of the plurality of second rotation balls (outer ring).
Regarding claim 25, note the plurality of receptacles at 21, each rotation ball of the plurality of rotation balls being rotatably coupled to a corresponding receptacle of the plurality of receptacles.
Regarding claim 32, note a lower body located below the accommodation space, the lower body having a lower body groove (note the groove on 110 fig. 5a) having an open front side, and wherein the second body further comprises a motor (290 fig. 8) disposed in the lower body groove, the motor being coupled to the turntable to apply a rotational force to the turntable.
Regarding claim 33, note the removable display 500, an upper body 130 located above the lower body (110); and a middle body (120) connecting the upper body to the lower body, the removable display being magnetically connectable to the middle body as cited above.
Claims 26-28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim ‘831, and further in view of Metzgar (2931477). Kim’831 teaches an accommodation body defining a hemispherical groove configured to accommodate at least a lower portion of the rotation ball rotatably coupled thereto. Kim ‘831 does not teach the protrusions.
Metzgar teaches a plurality of protrusions extending upward from an edge of the hemispherical groove, the plurality of protrusions being configured to restrain separation of the rotation ball. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the hemispherical groove and protrusions extending upward from an edge of the hemispherical groove to provide the desired structure to accommodate the balls and/or for allow manufacture the device economically, i.e., cheaply and quickly.
Regarding claim 27, note the diameter of the hemispherical groove is larger than a diameter of the rotation ball to accommodate the ball, and wherein the rotation ball extends beyond tops of the protrusions.
Regarding claim 28, note the protrusions is configured to have a contact surface to restrain the separation of the rotation ball as the ball moves, and note a curvature radius of the contact surface is equal to a curvature radius of an inner surface of the hemispherical groove in fig. 3 of Metzgar.
Regarding claim 31, note each protrusion 4 of Metzgar are configured to have a contact surface to restrain the separation of the rotation ball since it is protruding above the diameter of ball and at least a pair of protrusions of the plurality of protrusions are located opposite each other (note that there are two pairs forming the four protrusions) and at a same radius from the vertical axis).
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733