DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the QUANTUM MODIFIED TRANSISTOR, characterized in that it comprises one-dimensional (1D), and two-dimensional (2D) structures must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Applicant shows a one channel structure there is no figure that depicts “structures” ore a plurality of elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim set forth
QUANTUM TRANSISTOR PREPARATION METHOD or Quantum transistor, characterized in that it comprises one-dimensional (1D) and two-dimensional (2D) structures however the figures depict only one structure not a plurality of structures. It is unclear how the structure are interrelated, and applicant does not reasonably set for a relationship between multiple structures to make and use the device.
Claims 1- 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-8, Claim 1 is drawn to QUANTUM TRANSISTOR PREPARATION METHOD, however there are no active steps that describe a method.
As to claims 1 and 9 set forth a function or how the device is intended to be used without a corresponding structure specifically stating: one-dimensional (1D) and two-dimensional (2D) structures that exhibit quantum conductance G and capacitance Cq behavior according to a period of time and temporal rate of each quantum state of such structures correlated with quantum entanglement (or interlacing) of this quantum state; wherein the components G and Cq are quantized properties of the electronic structure of 1D and 2D materials, which are quantum entangled; wherein the electrons are confined to one dimension when in one- dimensional (1D) structures, and wherein the electrons are confined to one or two dimensions when in two-dimensional (2D) structures, thus indicating that electrons can move freely with speeds around the Fermi speed only within the 1D and 2D plane, respectively; these structures can configure transistors that are modified by quantum engineering working in A.C. (alternating current) mode or by transient disturbances with entangled states between conductance and capacitance.
Beyond a transistor that has a one dimensional or two-dimensional channel it is unclear what structures provide the outcomes require (see MPEP 2173.05g)
Claim 1 and 9 recite comprises one-dimensional (1D) and two-dimensional (2D) structures that exhibit quantum conductance G and capacitance Cq behavior according to a period of time and temporal rate of each quantum state of such structures correlated with quantum entanglement (or interlacing) of this quantum state
This is unclear since the structure themselves do not have a quantum state instead it is carrier confined to the structure that have a quantum state.
Claim 1 and 9 further wherein the components G and Cq are quantized properties of the electronic structure of 1D and 2D materials, which are quantum entangled it is unclear what the “structures” sic the carrier are quantum entangled to.
As to claim 1, claim 1 recites:
wherein the electrons are confined to one dimension when in one- dimensional (1D) structures, and wherein the electrons are confined to one or two dimensions when in two-dimensional (2D) structures,
“the electrons” and “materials” lack antecedent basis. Further applicant does not link the one- and two-dimension structure to the one- and two-dimension structure already recited. It appears applicant at least means wherein the components G and Cq are quantized properties of the electronic structure of the 1D and 2D structures, which are quantum entangled; wherein the electrons are confined to one dimension when in the one- dimensional (1D) structures, and wherein the electrons are confined to one or two dimensions when in the two-dimensional (2D) structures, thus indicating that electrons can move freely with speeds around the Fermi speed only within the 1D and 2D plane.
Claim 9 recites:
wherein components G and Cq are quantized properties of the electronic structure of 1D and 2D materials and are quantum entangled; wherein one- dimensional (1D) structures electrons are confined in one dimension, and two-dimensional (2D) structures electrons are confined in two dimensions, indicating that electrons cannot move freely, but only within the 1D and 2D plane, respectively.
Materials lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear if applicant is claiming a device or method of operation since electrons one exist during use. Further 1D and 2D are not linked to the existing structure.
Claim 1 further recites these structures can configure transistors that are modified by quantum engineering working in A.C. (alternating current) mode or by transient disturbances with entangled states between conductance and capacitance. It is unclear what the transistor therefore requires and how it configures the transistor. Claim 1 makes it unclear what the transistor structure is and is not.
Claim 9 recites: wherein said structures define the channel and configure the quantum transistor working in A.C. (alternating current) mode or by transient disturbances with entangled states between conductance and capacitance.
This is unclear since a transistor requires more than a channel to operate it is unclear what else is to be included and excluded. Further the quantum transistor is vague the quantum transistor is only defines as the 1D or 2D structures there is no other structure claimed thus it is unclear how the channel configured the quantum transistor in an AC mode. Further there is no channel recited previously.
Claims 1 and 9 recites 1D and 2D plane; it is unclear if applicant is stating a 1D plane, which is non-sensical since 1D structure form a linear segment and not a plane. Further 2D is a plane and it is redundant it appears applicant means 1D and 2D structures.
Claims 1 and 9 are confusing since it is unclear if the transistor has one or multiple confinement structures. Though the claim recites 1D and 2D structures the embodiments described in the figures have one structure. It is unclear how the structures are structurally linked to either affect the transistor or to act as a channel.
Claims 2-3 ,7 merely recite a function without setting forth the structure to accomplish the outcomes.
Claim 8 recites characterized in that the change in quantum entanglement occurs due… there is no change in quantum entanglement recited
variation of quantized states according to the physical- chemical characteristics of the medium that is in contact with the gate or channel of A.C. transistor or transient it is unclear which quantized states, there is no medium or gate or channel recited
As to claim 4 and 13, they recite: Group IV inorganic semiconductor nanowires - Si and Ge nanowires, Group III-V InAs nanowires, GaAs, GaN, Group II-VI CdS nanowires, CdSe, ZnSe and metal oxide nanowires such as ZnO and SnO2 this is broad followed by narrow it is unclear if applicant mean Group IV semiconductor nanowires or only the more specific recitation. The same is true for the Group III-V and II-VI
As to claims 5,6 and 13 there is no required substrate; it is unclear if applicant means the device further comprises a substrate
Claims 5 recites likewise a broad followed by narrow graphene and its derivatives: specific it is unclear if the broad or the narrow is to be followed.
As to claim 10 substrate lacks antecedent basis.
As to claim 11 electrodes lacks antecedent basis. Further it is unclear if the electrical contacts are in addition to the channel and electrode ore are the electrodes and channel. Further it is unclear what structure accomplish the recited function of the external environment to access the conductance and quantum capacitance states of the channel that operate according to a period of time and a ratio conductance/capacitance as a characteristic signal, and may vary quantumly in accordance with a variation imposed by the medium in the transistor channel that is in contact with the medium through the terminal gate or door; said entangled quantum state is dependent on the medium in which the transistor is inserted, wherein the change in quantum entanglement occurs as a function of the physical or chemical modification of the gate with electroactive molecules or not.
As to claim 12, applicant is claiming a device not a method of use it is unclear how: quantum entanglement confers property for effect transistors; it can operate in an electrochemical environment when necessary.
Further it is unclear if applicant is actually claiming the additional elements of or that the device can operate as the device claimed: with field effect (FET), metal- oxide-semiconductor (MOSFET) depletion type, which can be N- channel or P-channel, and intensification type, which can be N-channel or P-channel, depletion type FET (JFET) junction, which can be N-channel or P-channel, organic field effect transistor (OGFET), insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT), organic nanoparticle memory (NOMFET), DNA field effect transistor (DNAFET), semiconductor and metal field effect (MESFET), high electron mobility transistor (HEMT), fast recovery epitaxial diodes (FREDFET), ion sensitive field effect transistor (ISFET), chemically sensitive field effect transistor (ChemFET), and graphene-based field effect transistor (GFET).
In either case it is unclear how it operates with or operates as applicant is merely setting forth a function without any corresponding structure.
As to claim 15 it is unclear what the electrical contact there is no electrical contact and there is no substrate. Further it is unclear whether the electrical contracts are limited since the claim recited can be.
The office has cited some instances of indefiniteness; applicant is encouraged to review the claims since the claims are replete with issues.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 cannot be examined since the claim is drawn to a method of preparing a quantum transistor and there are no active steps.
The structures of Claim 1 and claim 9 lack unity as claimed since claim 1 does not link the nanostructure to the channel whereas the device has the structures as channels but there is no discussion of how to implement the multiple structures as a single channel.
Likewise claim 12 cannot be examined it is too vague and unclear the corresponding structure.
Claims 1 and 9 discuss structures however there is no figure depicting “structures” further there is no definable feature beyond the structure to define the quantum transistor structure, and it is unclear what additional structure is required to meet the limitation of claim 9.
The office is merely guessing as to the structure:
A claim limitation which is considered indefinite cannot be disregarded. If a claim is subject to more than one interpretation, at least one of which would render the claim unpatentable over the prior art, the examiner should reject the claim as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph (see MPEP § 2175) and should reject the claim over the prior art based on the interpretation of the claim that renders the prior art applicable. Ex parte Ionescu, 222 USPQ 537 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1984) (Claims on appeal were rejected on indefiniteness grounds only; the rejection was reversed and the case remanded to the examiner for consideration of pertinent prior art.). Making both rejections, when appropriate, avoids piecemeal appellate review. See Ionescu, 222 USPQ at 540 n.9 (citing CCPA and Federal Circuit cases.). See also In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 165 USPQ 494 (CCPA 1970) (The Board erred because it ignored claim language that it considered to be indefinite, and reached a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious based only on the rest of the claim.). However, an examiner should not simply speculate about the meaning of the claim language and then enter an obviousness rejection in view of that speculative interpretation. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962) (The “considerable speculation” by the examiner and the Board as to the scope of the claims did not provide a proper basis for an obviousness rejection.). A claim should not be rejected over prior art just because it is indefinite. Ionescu, 222 USPQ at 540 (citing Steele). Although a claim that is indefinite because it is susceptible to more than one interpretation may be rejected over prior art, an examiner should not base a prior art rejection on a claim interpretation that is not reasonable; see MPEP § 2111 regarding proper claim interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bashir 20140139204.
As to claim 9, Bashir teaches a 1d structure the nano wire and a 2D structure the nanoplate (figure 1 NW and NP). Electrode would be confined in both regions at the fermi speed only in the 2d and 1D structures. They can exhibit quantum conductance and capacitance. These structures are formed between two electrical contacts VDD and ID (figure 1)
They form channels of a transistor type structure (figure 1).
As to claim 10, Bashir teaches silicon.
As to claim 11, Bashir teaches that the channel with the electrodes contains suitable electrical contacts which are connected with the external environment to access the conductance and quantum capacitance states applicant does not set forth what is capable thus Bashir must teach the limitation or there is missing information from the disclosure.
As to claim 13, Bashir teaches a Silicon nanowire (paragraph 24).
As to claim 14, Bashir teaches silicon AlGaN/Si SiNW/Si and GaN/Si which reads on materials beyond graphene, black phosphorus, MoS2, WSe2 h- BN, CrS2, Cr02, VS2, VO2, NbSe2; hexagonal boron nitride and its nanocomposites with metallic nanoparticles, polymers, carbon nanomaterials (graphene and nanotubes), among others.
As to claim 15, Bashir teaches Ag/AgCl reference electrodes paragraph 69 which reads on other types of silver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Betz 9773208 teaches a quantum transistor it does not have physically distinct structures as required but does teach a singular nanowire. This would read on the claim if structures were interpreted to be structure. Likewise, Voinigescu 11171225 would read on the claims if structures is interpreted as a structure in a singular sense.
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896