CTNF 18/729,108 CTNF 80691 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The IDS has been considered by the examiner. The specification and drawings have been accepted by the examiner. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b). Claim 1-4, 9-10, 13, 15-17, 28 and 43 is provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claim 1-3, 8-12 and 14-19 of copending Application No. 19/233344. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because conflicting claims are broader and generic with respect to the applied reference claims, i.e., an obvious variation. Many decisions support the fact that a broad or generic claim is obvious from a specific claim, i.e., an obvious variation. See In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Goodman (CA FC) 29 USPQ2d 2010 (12/3/1993); In re Vogel and Vogel; 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Berg (CA FC) 46 USPQ2d 1226 (3/30/1998); Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2d 1865 (CA FC 2001). It is well settled that omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. This notion is supported by In re KARLSON, 136 USPQ 184 (1963); In re Nelson, 95 USPQ 82 (CCPA 1952); and In re Eliot, 25 USPQ 111 (CCPA 1935). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented . Regarding independent claims 1, 16, 28 and 43: Regarding independent claim 1 of the instant application (see Table below for comparison of claims), claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 19233344 include all the limitations of independent claim 1 of the instant application with a few obvious wording variations. Additionally claim 1 of 19233344 is more specific than claim 1 of present application. For example, claim of application 19233344 includes the additional underlined limitations. See the table below. Similarly independent claim 16 can be derived from independent claim 15 of the application 19233344. Similarly independent claims 28 and 43 can be derived from independent claims 18 and 19 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 2, the limitation of claim 2 is found in the claim 1 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 3, the limitation of claim 3 is found in the claim 2 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 4, the limitation of claim 4 is found in the claim 3 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 9, the limitation of claim 9 is found in the claim 8 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 10, the limitation of claim 10 is found in the claim 9 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 13, the limitation of claim 13 is found in the claim 16 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 15, the limitation of claim 15 is found in the claim 17 of the application 19233344 Regarding claim 17, the limitation of claim 17 is found in the claim 16 of the application 19233344. Regarding claim 27, the limitation of claim 27 is found in the claim 17 of the application 19233344. Claims of instant application: 1.(Original) A first device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to: receive, from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and determine to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device according to the at least one wake-up interval. 2. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: transmit the location information of the first device to the second device. 3. (Currently Amended) The first device of claim 1, wherein the location information further indicates at least one of: a traffic type of the first device, an application type of the first device, a battery status of the first device, or a silent period of the first device where the monitoring is not performed. 4. (Currently Amended) The first device of claim l , wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine at least one of: a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device, and wherein the location information comprises at least one of: the set of current locations 9. (Currently Amended) The first device of claim l , wherein the processor, further cause the first device to: receive from the second device third information: a type of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, an initial arrival direction of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, or an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device. 10. (Currently Amended) The first device of claim l , wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: perform a measurement during the at least one wake-up interval; and select a cell based on the measurement. 13. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive the location information from the second device. 15. (Currently Amended) The first device of claim l wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device. 16. (Original) A second device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to: determine, at the second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and transmit, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval. 17. (Original) The second device of claim 16, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: receive the location information of the first device from the first device. 18-26. (Cancelled) 28. (Original) A method, comprising: receiving, at a first device and from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and determining to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device 43. (Original) A method, comprising: determining, at a second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and transmitting, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval. Claims of application 19233344: 1. (Original) A first device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to: receive, from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non- terrestrial network device; determine to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device according to the at least one wake-up interval; and transmit the location information of the first device to the second device. 2. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the location information further indicates at least one of: a traffic type of the first device, an application type of the first device, a battery status of the first device, or a silent period of the first device where the monitoring is not performed. 3. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine at least one of: a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device, and wherein the location information comprises at least one of: the set of current locations of the first device and the set of projected locations of the first device. 8. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive from the second device third information: a type of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, an initial arrival direction of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, or an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device. 9. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: perform a measurement during the at least one wake-up interval; and select a cell based on the measurement. 12. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive the location information from the second device. 14. (Original) The first device of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device. 15. (Original) A second device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to: determine, at the second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and transmit, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval. 16. (Original) The second device of claim 15, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: receive the location information of the first device from the first device. 17. (Original) The second device of claim 15, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device. 18. (Original) A method, comprising: receiving, at a first device and from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake- up interval which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and determining to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device according to the at least one wake-up interval. 19. (Original) A method, comprising: determining, at a second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device; and transmitting, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval. Claim 5 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application No. 19/233344 in view of ZHOU (US 2024/0015659). Referring to claim 5, claim 1 of the application 192333444 discloses the first device of claim l, bu is silent on wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising time information indicating the at least one wake-up interval. ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising time information indicating the at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that the a start time is equivalent to time information indicating the at least one wake-up interval). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the claims of 19/233344 by incorporating the teachings of Zhou, for the purpose of enabling the network to communicate with wireless device and enable the network to provide enhanced operational efficiency and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Referring to claim 6, claim 1 of the application 192333444 discloses the first device of claim l, but is silent on wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising a set of values; and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine the at least one wake-up interval based on the set of values. ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising a set of values; and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine the at least one wake-up interval based on the set of values (Par. 9, 78, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that parameter and start time is equivalent to a set of values indicating the at least one wake-up interval). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the claims of 19/233344 by incorporating the teachings of Zhou, for the purpose of enabling the device to know timing precisely and be in sync with the network. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application No. 19/233344 in view of Mauer (US 9,699754). Referring to claim 11 , Application No. 19/233344 discloses the first device of claim 1. Application No. 19/233344 is not relied on for the limitation: cause the first device to: in accordance with a determination that a number of failure attempts exceeds a threshold number, initiate to establish a network connection to another device. In an analogous art, Mauer discloses cause the first device to: in accordance with a determination that a number of failure attempts exceeds a threshold number, initiate to establish a network connection to another device. (Col. 9, line 6-12, “an app may “wake up” once per day (e.g., every evening) and invoke an operation that causes the WCD to transmit one or more access probes. If the WCD is unsuccessful in its attempts to acquire air interface access from the RAN—for example, after the threshold number of failed attempts—the app may the cause the WCD to attempt to communicate with a service or server via a wireless network, such as a WiFi network”). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Application No. 19/233344 by incorporating the teachings of Mauer, for the purpose of establishing alternative connections in case one type of connection fails. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application No. 19/233344 in view of Zhang (US 20230396368). Referring to claim 12 , Application No. 19/233344 discloses the first device of claim 1. Application No. 19/233344 is not relied on for the limitation wherein the first information indicates the threshold number. In an analogous art, Zhang discloses a first information indicates the threshold number (Par. 43, “the network device 220 may transmit information indicating the threshold number to the terminal device 210-1”). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the claims of copending Application No. 19/233344 by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, for the purpose of establishing the threshold number by the network based on availability of connection method determined by network. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 16, 28 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) . Referring to claim 1 , ZHOU discloses a first device ( (abstract, Par. 8, 58, 72, “electronic device”, “user equipment”, “relay UE”, “ remote user equipment ”, note that any of the user equipment and/or remote user equipment read on the first device ), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (FIG. 4-9, 22-25 and Par. 226 and 246, “processor”, “memory”, note that smart phone and the remote user equipment depicted in the indicated figures perform complex electronic communications based on instructions and program applications, thus they include the memory and the processor to execute the instruction); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to: receive, from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval) which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment ”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment , so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment ”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite ); and determine to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device according to the at least one wake-up interval (ZHOU, FIG. 11 and Par. 92, 123, “determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next ”, “ relay UE determines a start time of a next wakeup state and determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next, so as to determine whether the sleep parameters need to be adjusted.” Note that satellite equipment is equivalent to the non-terrestrial network device. With regard to wake-up interval, note that the UE determines to find a satellite that can serve the UE during the time the UE is awake which reads on the wake-up interval ). Referring to claim 5 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising time information indicating the at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that the a start time is equivalent to time information indicating the at least one wake-up interval). Referring to claim 6 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising a set of values; and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine the at least one wake-up interval based on the set of values (Par. 9, 78, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that parameter and start time is equivalent to a set of values indicating the at least one wake-up interval). Referring to claim 16 , ZHOU discloses a second device (abstract, Par. 8, 58, 72, “electronic device”, “user equipment”, “relay UE”, note that the relay UE reads on the second device. Further, the electronic equipment in figure 5 can read on the second device), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (FIG. 4-9, 22-25 and Par. 226 and 246, “processor”, “memory”, note that smart phone and the electronic device depicted in the indicated figures perform complex electronic communications based on instructions and program applications, thus they include the memory and the processor to execute the instruction); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to: determine, at the second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (ZHOU, Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment ”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment , so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment ”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite ); and transmit, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval). Referring to claim 28 , ZHOU disclose a method ( abstract, FIG. 8-9, Par. 8, 58, 72, “electronic device”, “user equipment”, “relay UE”, “ remote user equipment ”, note that any of the user equipment and/or remote user equipment read on the first device ), comprising: receiving, at a first device and from a second device, first information indicating at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval) which is determined based on location information of the first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment ”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment , so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment ”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite ); and determining to attempt to detect the at least one non-terrestrial network device (ZHOU, FIG. 11 and Par. 92, 123, “determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next ”, “ relay UE determines a start time of a next wakeup state and determines whether there exists satellite equipment capable of serving the relay UE when the relay UE wakes up next, so as to determine whether the sleep parameters need to be adjusted.” Note that satellite equipment is equivalent to the non-terrestrial network device. With regard to wake-up interval, note that the UE determines to find a satellite that can serve the UE during the time the UE is awake which reads on the wake-up interval ). Referring to claim 43 , ZHOU discloses a method (FIG. 8-9, and abstract, Par. 8, 58, 72, “electronic device”, “user equipment”, “relay UE”, note that the relay UE reads on the second device. Further, the electronic equipment in figure 5 can read on the second device), comprising: determining, at a second device, at least one wake-up interval based on location information of a first device and orbit information of at least one non-terrestrial network device (ZHOU, Par. 87, “the determination unit 530 may determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment according to ephemeris information of each satellite equipment ”, “Specifically, the determination unit 530 may determine time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment according to the ephemeris information of each satellite equipment , so as to determine the start time of the next wakeup state of the relay user equipment and the sleep parameters of the relay user equipment, so that each time the relay user equipment is in the wakeup state, there exists satellite equipment above the relay user equipment and serving the relay user equipment ”. Note that the ephemeris data includes orbit information, as its core function is to provide the position and velocity of an orbiting body (such as a satellite or a non-terrestrial device) at specific times. Further, note that the next wakeup state is determined based on time instants when each satellite equipment is located above the relay user equipment, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location information of the relay device relative to the satellite equipment. Further, note that the next wake-up state is determined such that during the time interval that the satellite is above the relay UE, the relay UE is awake, thus, the wake-up interval is determined based on location of the device relative to the satellite equipment and based on the orbital information of the satellite ); and transmitting, to the first device, first information indicating the at least one wake-up interval (Par. 9, 78, “receive … a duration of a wakeup state”, “receive sleep parameters and a start time of a next wakeup state of the electronic equipment, where the sleep parameters include a duration of a sleep state and a duration of a wakeup state ”, note that the remote user equipment receives next wakeup state from electronic equipment 500 via relay user equipment, as described in paragraph 78. Further note that “duration of a wakeup state” is equivalent to the wake-up interval) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 and 15, 17 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Tenny (US 2008/0318596) . Referring to claim 2 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. ZHOU is silent on the specific claim language: “transmit the location information of the first device to the second device”. In an analogous art, Tenny discloses a first device configured to transmit the location information of the first device to the second device (FIG. 2A-2B, Par. 34, 77, “UE 110 may send its position estimate directly to home base station 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” Note that the UE 110 is equivalent to the first device and base station is equivalent to the second device). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of Tenny, for the purpose of enabling the network to manage load balancing and provide enhanced operational efficiency, improved network traffic management and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Referring to claim 17, Claim 17 recites features analogous to the features of claim 2, thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Referring to claim 15 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. ZHOU is not relied on for the claim language: wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device. In an analogous art, Tenny disclose wherein the first device comprises a terminal device and the second device comprises a network device (Tenny, FIG. 2A-2B, Par. 34, 77, “UE 110 may send its position estimate directly to home base station 120 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2A).” Here note that the UE 110 is the terminal device and base station 120 is the network device). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of Tenny, for the purpose of enabling the network to communicate with wireless device and enable the network to provide enhanced operational efficiency and location-based services. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Referring to claim 27, Claim 27 recites features analogous to the features of claim 15, thus, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Liin (US 2017/0006424) . Referring to claim 3 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. Zhou is silent with claim language: wherein the location information further indicates at least one of: a traffic type of the first device, an application type of the first device, a battery status of the first device, or a silent period of the first device where the monitoring is not performed. In analogous art, Liin discloses location information further indicates at least one of: a traffic type of the first device, an application type of the first device, a battery status of the first device, or a silent period of the first device where the monitoring is not performed (claim 4, “the location information signal includes status information, wherein the status information is one or more of a battery level ”, note that based on the alternative claim language it is sufficient for prior art to show only one of the alternative, in this case, the battery status which is equivalent battery level). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Liin, for the purpose of enabling the network to manage streaming and select communication protocols that use power efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view 3GPP R2-2110262 (identified in the IDS submitted on 03/02/2026 for application 19/233344 as document D2. Hereinafter 3GPP) . Referring to claim 4 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. ZHOU is not relied on for disclosing: determine location information comprising at least one: a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device. 3GPP discloses determine location information comprising at least one : a set of current locations of the first device and a set of projected locations of the first device (Secion 2.2, “Based on the satellite assistance information, UE location and its movement , the UE can predict when and where it will be out of coverage”, note that the UE predicts where it will be based on its current location, thus, the UE determined its current location. With regard to set of locations, note that a set can include only one item, thus, determining the current location reads on the claim language). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhou by incorporating the teachings of 3GPP, for the purpose of enabling the network and the device predict location and to prepare what coverage is available in that predicted location. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) and further in view of HONG (US 2024/0163754) . Referring to claim 9 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. ZHOU is silent on claim language: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive from the second device third information : a type of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, an initial arrival direction of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, or an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device . In an analogous art, HONG discloses a first device to: receive from the second device third information : a type of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, an initial arrival direction of the at least one non-terrestrial network device, or an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device (Par. 94, “ the terminal may receive the ephemeris information sent by the base station in real time. Here, the ephemeris information may be information associated with the satellite's position and/or motion state”, note that because of the alternative claim language (e.g., or) is sufficient for prior art to disclose only one the alternative, in this case the alternative limitation an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device is disclosed. Further note that Hong’s disclosure of receiving by terminal ephemeris information associated with the satellite’s position is equivalent to an ephemeris of the at least one non-terrestrial network device). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of ZHOU by incorporating the teachings of HONG, for the purpose of enabling the first device of ZHOU to accurately determine the position and velocity of satellites and its own position based on the current satellite information. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) and further in view of Wu (US 2022/0369222) . Referring to claim 10 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. ZHOU is silent on claim language: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: perform a measurement during the at least one wake-up interval; and select a cell based on the measurement. In an analogous art, Wu discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: perform a measurement during the at least one wake-up interval; and select a cell based on the measurement (Par. 28, “UE may perform measurements using each receive beam and select a secondary cell based on performing the measurements”, note that UE is equivalent to the first device. Further note that the UE performs a measurement, thus, it must be awake or during a one wake-up interval). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Wu, for the purpose of enabling the first device to maintain communication with the cell that has the best measurement results allowing efficient usage of communication resources and preventing signal deterioration. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s ) 11 is /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZH OU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Mauer (US 9,699754). Re ferring to claim 11 , ZHOU discloses the first device of claim 1. ZHOU is not relied on for the limitation: cause the first device to: in accordance with a determination that a number of failure attempts exceeds a threshold number, initiate to establish a network connection to another device. In an analogous art, Mauer discloses cause the first device to: in accordance with a determination that a number of failure attempts exceeds a threshold number, initiate to establish a network connection to another device . (Col. 9, line 6-12, “an app may “wake up” once per day (e.g., every evening) and invoke an operation that causes the WCD to transmit one or more access probes. If the WCD is unsuccessful in its attempts to acquire air interface access from the RAN—for example, after the threshold number of failed attempts—the app may the cause the WCD to attempt to communicate with a service or server via a wireless network, such as a WiFi network”). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Mauer, for the purpose of establishing alternative connections in case one type of connection fails. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Mauer (US 9,699754) and further in view of Zhang (US 20230396368) . Referring to claim 12 , the combination of ZHOU/Maure discloses the first device of claim 11. The combination is silent on the limitation: wherein the first information indicates the threshold number. In an analogous art, Zhang discloses a first information indicates the threshold number ( Par. 43, “the network device 220 may transmit information indicating the threshold number to the terminal device 210-1”). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination by incorporating the teachings of Zhang, for the purpose of establishing the threshold number by the network based on availability of connection method determined by network. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 2024/0015659) in view of Kim (US 20220360977) Referring to claim 13 , ZHOU disclose the first device of claim 1 Zhou in not relied on for the limitation: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive the location information from the second device . In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive the location information from the second device ( Par. 400, “the network node may transmit location information corresponding to the service area to the terminal.”) It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention Zhou by incorporating the teachings of Kim, for the purpose of relieving the terminal the burden of location determination by the terminal and thus causing an efficient use of the terminal battery. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Claims 18-26, 29-42 and 44-57 are cancelled Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 7, 8 and 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 7: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to receive the first information by: receiving the first information comprising a mask for a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration or a Power Saving Mode (PSM) configuration; and wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine the at least one wake-up interval based on the mask and the DRX configuration or based on the mask and the PSM configuration”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claim 8: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: receive from the second device second information indicating a time offset from a hyper frame number of a current page time window to a next hyper frame number”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claim 14: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine whether the location information is valid based on global navigation satellite system (GNSS) information of the first device; and determine whether the first information is applicable based on the validity of the validity of location information”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst, can be reached at (571) 270-5371 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /FRED A CASCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 9 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 10 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 11 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 12 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 13 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 14 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 15 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 16 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 17 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 18 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 19 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 20 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 21 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 22 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 23 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 24 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 25 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 26 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/729,108 Page 27 Art Unit: 2644