DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 4/27/2026 have been accepted and considered in this office action. Claims 12, 18, 19, 25, and 26 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-31 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (hereinafter Du) (BYTECOVER: COVER SONG IDENTIFICATION VIA MULTI-LOSS TRAINING) in view of Phan et al. (hereinafter Phan) (MULTI-VIEW AUDIO AND MUSIC CLASSIFICATION).
Regarding claim 12, Du further discloses:
A method for generating a feature encoding model, comprising (Du, Page 1: “ByteCover is built based on the classical CNN model ResNet50” (teaches building/using neural-network feature-learning model, corresponding to a feature encoding model)):
acquiring a plurality of sample audios marked with category labels (Du, Page 1: “The first category of methods, e.g., [8–10], treats CSI as a multi-class classification problem, where each version group is considered as an unique class.”; Du, Pages 2-3: “Our ByteCover model was trained on the training subset of SHS100K”, Du Page 3: “which is collected from Second Hand Songs website by, consisting of 8858 songs with various covers and 108523 recordings. For this data, we follow the settings of. The dataset is split into the training, validation, and test sets with a ratio of 8:1:1.”; Du, Page 3: “In terms of the classification loss Lcls, the CE refers the cross entropy function and y is the ground truth label.”, reads on acquiring a plurality of sample audios marked with category labels);
extracting audio features of the plurality of sample audios;(Du, Page 2: “As shown in the figure, ByteCover takes as input a constant-Q transform (CQT) spectrogram and employs a CNN-based model, i.e., ResNet-IBN, for feature learning.”; Du, Page 2: “audio is resampled to 22050 Hz before the feature extraction. Afterwards, the CQT is downsampled with an averaging factor of 100 along the temporal dimension.”, reads on extracting audio features of the plurality of sample audios);encoding the audio features of the plurality of sample audios by the feature encoding model to obtain a plurality of encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios, and performing classification processing on the plurality of sample audios based on the plurality of encoding vectors to obtain category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios;(Du, Page 2: “The learned feature map is then compressed by GeMPool to form a fixed-length vector, which is then used to calculate the triplet loss and Softmax loss jointly. The joint training of these two losses are achieved by using the BNNeck.”; Du, Page 3: “Thus the BNNeck module inserts a BN layer before the classifier, which is a no-biased FC layer with weights W, as Figure 1 depicts. The feature yield by the GeM module is denoted as ft here. We let ft pass through a BN layer to generate the feature fc.”; Du, Page 3: “In terms of the classification loss Lcls, the CE refers the cross entropy function and y is the ground truth label. Finally, we train the model with Adam optimizer.”, reads on encoding the audio features to obtain a plurality of encoding vectors and performing classification processing to obtain category prediction values);and determining a target loss value of a target loss function based on the plurality of encoding vectors, the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios, and updating a parameter of the feature encoding model based on the target loss value to reduce a difference between the encoding vectors of the sample audios of a same category, to increase a difference between the encoding vectors of the sample audios of different categories, and to reduce a difference between the category prediction values and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios, so as to obtain the trained feature encoding moduli (Du, Page 3: “Overall, the objective function used for training our model can be derived by L = Lcls(fc) + Ltri(ft) = CE(Softmax(Wfc), y) + [dp - dn + α]+, where dp and dn are feature distances of positive pair and negative pair.”; Du, Page 1: “we employ the BNNeck method to allow a multi-loss training and encourage our method to jointly optimize a classification loss and a triplet loss, and by this means, the inter-class discrimination and intra-class compactness of cover songs, can be ensured at the same time.” (reads on determining a target loss value of a target loss function based on vectors and labels and updating a parameter to reduce a difference between encoding vectors of a same category, increase a difference between encoding vectors of different categories, and reduce a difference between prediction values and label categories);
the first loss value being a loss value of a first loss function determined based on the encoding vectors corresponding to samples comprised in training sample groups (Du, Page 2: "The learned feature map is then compressed by GeMPool to form a fixed length vector, which is then used to calculate the triplet loss and Softmax loss jointly." (Du's fixed-length vector maps to the claimed encoding vector, and Du's triplet loss maps to the first loss function determined based on encoding vectors of trained samples), Page 3: "Where dp and dn are feature distances of positive pair and negative pair." (Du's positive and negative pair distances are calculated from feature/encoding vectors of samples in triplet training groups, mapping to encoding vectors corresponding to samples comprised in training sample groups.)), the second loss value being a loss value of a second loss function determined based on differences between the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 3, Equations 2 and 3: "L =Lcls(fc) +Ltri(ft). (2) =CE(Softmax(Wfc),y)+[dp −dn +α]+ , (3)", (teaches classification loss CE(Softmax(Wfc),y), where Softmax(Wfc) maps to category prediction values and y maps to category labels. Cross entropy maps to determining a loss based on differences between prediction values and labels.)).
Du does not explicitly disclose:wherein the target loss value is determined according to a result of weighted summation of a first loss value and a second loss value,
However, Phan discloses:
wherein the target loss value is determined according to a result of weighted summation of a first loss value and a second loss value (Pham, Page 2, Equation 2: "The total loss used for training at the training step n is computed by: (Equation 2), where w^(k)*(n) denotes the weight of the classification branch k at the training time n." (teaches determining a total/target training loss by weighted summation of multiple loss values. This maps to the target loss value being determined according to a weighted summation of the first loss value and a second loss value)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the feature encoding model with the CQT feature of Du to include the Spectrum, Mel-spectrum, and Spectrogram features taught by Phan. While Du focuses on the CQT feature (D) for simplification (Du, Page 2: “For the simplification of the overall pipeline, we use the CQT spectrogram rather than the sophisticated features widely used in the CSI”), Phan proves that Spectrum, Mel-spectrum, and Spectrogram are complementary features to the CQT feature and that it is widely used and enhance classification performance when fused (Phan, Page 1: “We adopt four low-level features, including Mel-scale spectrogram, Gammatone spectrogram, CQT spectrogram, and raw waveform, which are most widely used for audio and music analysis under deep learning paradigms”). Therefore, extending Du’s model to include the full feature set of Phan is merely the predictable application of a known multi-dimensional feature fusion strategy to improve the discriminative capability of the model.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Du and Phan discloses the method according to claim 12.
Du further discloses:
wherein determining the target loss value of the target loss function based on the plurality of encoding vectors, the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios comprises:
determining a predetermined sample set based on the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 3: “To evaluate the performance of our ByteCover model, we conducted several experiments on four publicly available benchmark datasets… The dataset is split into the training, validation, and test sets” (reads on determining a predetermined sample set because the training set is a fixed, predefined group of sample audios), and constructing a plurality of training sample groups based on the predetermined sample set, each training sample group comprising an anchor sample, a positive sample and a negative sample, wherein the anchor sample is any sample audio in the predetermined sample set, the positive sample is the sample audio in the predetermined sample set, which is of the same category as the anchor sample, the negative sample is the sample audio in the predetermined sample set, which is not of the same category as the anchor sample (Du, Page 3: “dp and dn are feature distances of positive pair and negative pair” (reads on anchor, positive, and negative distances are calculated relative to the same reference sample”));
determining a first loss value of a first loss function based on the encoding vectors corresponding to samples comprised in each of the training sample groups (Du, Page 2: “Our aim of using ByteCover is to derive from each input music track a single global feature”, Du, Page 3: “Compress the feature map X to a fixed-length vector f” (reads on encoding vectors corresponding to samples comprised in each training sample group as the fixed-length vector f is the encoding vector)), the first loss function being used to reflect a difference between the encoding vector of the anchor sample and the encoding vector of the positive sample, and a difference between the encoding vector of the anchor sample and the encoding vector of the negative sample (Du, Page 3: “[dp − dn + α]+ , (3) where dp and dn are feature distances of positive pair and negative pair.” (reads on reflecting differences between anchor-positive and anchor-negative encoding vectors because the loss is computed directly from both distances)), and determining a second loss value of a second loss function based on differences between the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios, (Du, Page 3: “CE(Softmax(Wfc), y)”, “y is the ground truth label”, (reads on category prediction values and category labels because Softmax outputs predictions that are compared to ground-truth labels using cross-entropy) and
determining the target loss value of the target loss function based on the first loss value of the first loss function and the second loss value of the second loss function (Du, Page 3: “L = Lcls(fc) + Ltri(ft)” (reads on determining the target loss value because the overall loss is explicitly defined as a combination of the first and second loss values)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Du and Phan discloses the method according to claim 12.
Du further discloses:
wherein the feature encoding model comprises an encoding network, and encoding the audio features of the plurality of sample audios by the feature encoding model to obtain the plurality of encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios comprises:
encoding the audio features of the plurality of sample audios according to the encoding network to obtain the plurality of encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios, the encoding network comprising a residual network or a convolutional network, wherein an encoding vector output by the encoding network of the trained feature encoding model is usable as a feature vector of an audio output by the feature encoding model (Du, Page 1: “ByteCover is built based on the classical ResNet model, and two major improvements are designed to further enhance the capability of the model for CSI.”; Du, Page 2: “To transform a ResNet to a model equipped with IBN module for learning an invariant embedding, the residual block which is the basic elements of the model, are replaced with IBN blcok.”; Du, Page 3: “The compression results f can be given by f = [f1 f2 . . . fK]. The behavior of the GeM pooling can be controlled by adjusting parameter p : the GeM pooling is equivalent to the average pooling when p = 1 and max pooling for p → ∞.”, reads on the encoding network comprising a residual or convolutional network where the output vector is usable as a feature vector).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Du and Phan discloses the method according to claim 14.
Du further discloses:
wherein the residual network comprises at least one of an instance normalization (IN) layer and a batch normalization (BN) layer.(Du, Page 1: “In the first improvement, we introduce the integration of instance normalization (IN) and batch normalization (BN) to build IBN blocks, which are major components of our ResNet-IBN model.”, reads on the residual network comprising at least one of an IN layer and a BN layer).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Du and Phan discloses the method according to claim 14.
Du further discloses:
wherein the encoding network further comprises a GeM pooling layer; and encoding the audio features of the plurality of sample audios according to the encoding network to obtain the plurality of encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios comprises:
encoding the audio features of the plurality of sample audios according to the residual network or the convolutional network to obtain a plurality of initial encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios; and
processing the plurality of initial encoding vectors according to the GeM pooling layer to obtain the plurality of encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 3: “The compression results f can be given by f = [f1 f2 . . . fK]. The behavior of the GeM pooling can be controlled by adjusting parameter p : the GeM pooling is equivalent to the average pooling when p = 1 and max pooling for p → ∞. The p is set to a trainable parameter to fully exploit the advantage of deep learning.”, reads on the encoding network comprising a GeM pooling layer to process initial vectors into final encoding vectors).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Du and Phan discloses the method according to claim 12.
Du further discloses:
wherein the feature encoding model comprises a BN layer and a classification layer, and the method further comprises:
processing the plurality of encoding vectors according to the BN layer to obtain a plurality of regularized encoding vectors (Du, Page 3: “Thus the BNNeck module inserts a BN layer before the classifier, which is a no-biased FC layer with weights W, as Figure 1 depicts. The feature yield by the GeM module is denoted as ft here. We let ft pass through a BN layer to generate the feature fc.” (reads on processing encoding vectors through a BN layer to obtain regularized encoding vectors because Du explicitly passes the extracted features through a BN layer to produce fc)); and
performing classification processing on the plurality of sample audios based on the plurality of encoding vectors to obtain the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios comprises:
performing classification processing on the plurality of regularized encoding vectors according to the classification layer to obtain the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 3: “In the training stage, ft and fc are used to compute triplet and classification losses, respectively.” (reads on performing classification using the BN-processed vectors because Du explicitly uses fc, the output of the BN layer, as input to the classification layer to produce category predictions)), wherein an encoding vector output from the BN layer of the trained feature encoding model is usable as a feature vector of an audio output by the feature encoding model (Du, Page 3: “Because the normalized features are more suitable for the calculation of cosine metric, we use the fc to do the computation of the similarity among the performances during the inference and retrieval phases.” (reads on BN layer output being usable as a feature vector because Du explicitly uses the BN-processed feature fc for similarity computation and retrieval, i.e., as the feature representation of the audio)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Du and Phan discloses the method according to claim 12
Phan further discloses:
wherein the audio features of the plurality of sample audios comprises at least one of:
a spectrum feature (Phan, Page 3: “The 2D inputs (i.e. Mel-scale, Gammatone, and CQT spectrogram) have a general size of T × F where T is the number of time frames and F frequency bands.”; Page 2: “The architecture features six convolutional layers, each associated with Rectified Linear Unit (ReLU) activation [19], batch normalization [20], and a max pooling layer. The max pooling layers have a common kernel size of 2 × 1 and stride 1 × 1 to reduce size of spectral dimension by half”, reads on audio features comprising a spectrum feature);
a Mel-spectrum feature (Phan, Page 3: “To extract the 2D low-level features, a raw audio signal was transformed into a log Mel-scale spectrogram using F = 64 Mel-scale filters in the frequency range up to Nyquist rate.”; Page 1: “For audio and music classification, in particular, such an embedding can be learned from a variety of low-level features which have been developed alongside the development of the research field, such as Mel-scaled spectrogram”, reads on audio features comprising a Mel-spectrum feature);
a spectrogram feature (Phan, Page 3: “The 2D inputs (i.e. Mel-scale, Gammatone, and CQT spectrogram) have a general size of T × F where T is the number of time frames and F frequency bands.”; Page 2: “the CRNNs corresponding to the 2D inputs share a similar network architecture whose configuration is shown in Table 1.”, reads on audio features comprising a spectrogram feature);
[[and]]or a constant-Q transform (CQT) feature (Phan, Page 3: “Log CQT spectrogram [24] was extracted using Librosa [25] with F = 64 frequency bins, 12 bins per octave, and a hop length of 512 (for 22,050 Hz sampling rate) or 1024 (for 44.1 kHz sampling rate).”, reads on audio features comprising a constant-Q transform (CQT) feature).
Claim(s) 19-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (hereinafter Du) (BYTECOVER: COVER SONG IDENTIFICATION VIA MULTI-LOSS TRAINING) in view of Phan et al. (hereinafter Phan) (MULTI-VIEW AUDIO AND MUSIC CLASSIFICATION) in further view of Bilobrov et al. (hereinafter Bilobrov) (US 20180011854 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Du discloses:
A method for audio determination (Du, Page 4: “we propose a simple and efficient design of the cover song identification system”), comprising:
acquiring an audio to be queried (Du, See mapping below);
extracting an audio feature of the audio to be queried (Du, Page 2: “ByteCover takes as input a constant-Q transform (CQT) spectrogram and employs a CNN-based model, i.e., ResNet-IBN, for feature learning.”; Du, Page 2: “Besides this, the audio is resampled to 22050 Hz before the feature extraction. Afterwards, the CQT is downsampled with an averaging factor of 100 along the temporal dimension. This size reduction of input feature improves the efficiency of the model and reduces the latency of our CSI system. As a result, the input audio is processed to a compressed CQT spectrogram S ∈ R 84×T, where the T depends on on the duration of the input music.”, reads on acquiring an audio to be queried and extracting its features);
processing, according to a trained feature encoding model, the audio feature of the audio to be queried to obtain a first feature vector of the audio to be queried (Du, Page 3: “The feature yield by the GeM module is denoted as ft here. We let ft pass through a BN layer to generate the feature fc. In the training stage, ft and fc are used to compute triplet and classification losses, respectively.”; Du, Page 3: “Because the normalized features are more suitable for the calculation of cosine metric, we use the fc to do the computation of the similarity among the performances during the inference and retrieval phases.”, reads on processing a query audio using the trained model to obtain a first feature vector [fc]); and
wherein the feature encoding model is obtained by a method for generating a feature encoding model, the method acts comprising (Du, Page 1: "ByteCover is built based on the classical CNN model ResNet50" (teaches a trained CNN/ResNet-based feature learning model, which maps to the claimed feature encoding model. The following underlines loss-function language explains how that feature encoding model is generated/trained), Page 3: "Finally, we train the model with Adam optimizer" (training the model with an optimizers maps to obtaining/generating the feature encoding model by updating model parameters during training)):
acquiring a plurality of sample audios marked with category labels (Du, Page 1: “The first category of methods, e.g., [8–10], treats CSI as a multi-class classification problem, where each version group is considered as an unique class.”; Du, Pages 2-3: “Our ByteCover model was trained on the training subset of SHS100K”, Du Page 3: “which is collected from Second Hand Songs website by, consisting of 8858 songs with various covers and 108523 recordings. For this data, we follow the settings of. The dataset is split into the training, validation, and test sets with a ratio of 8:1:1.”; Du, Page 3: “In terms of the classification loss Lcls, the CE refers the cross entropy function and y is the ground truth label.”, reads on acquiring a plurality of sample audios marked with category labels);
extracting audio features of the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 2: “As shown in the figure, ByteCover takes as input a constant-Q transform (CQT) spectrogram and employs a CNN-based model, i.e., ResNet-IBN, for feature learning.”; Du, Page 2: “audio is resampled to 22050 Hz before the feature extraction. Afterwards, the CQT is downsampled with an averaging factor of 100 along the temporal dimension.”, reads on extracting audio features of the plurality of sample audios);
encoding the audio features of the plurality of sample audios by the feature encoding model to obtain a plurality of encoding vectors of the plurality of sample audios, and performing classification processing on the plurality of sample audios based on the plurality of encoding vectors to obtain category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 2: “The learned feature map is then compressed by GeMPool to form a fixed-length vector, which is then used to calculate the triplet loss and Softmax loss jointly. The joint training of these two losses are achieved by using the BNNeck.”; Du, Page 3: “Thus the BNNeck module inserts a BN layer before the classifier, which is a no-biased FC layer with weights W, as Figure 1 depicts. The feature yield by the GeM module is denoted as ft here. We let ft pass through a BN layer to generate the feature fc.”; Du, Page 3: “In terms of the classification loss Lcls, the CE refers the cross entropy function and y is the ground truth label. Finally, we train the model with Adam optimizer.”, reads on encoding the audio features to obtain a plurality of encoding vectors and performing classification processing to obtain category prediction values); and
determining a target loss value of a target loss function based on the plurality of encoding vectors, the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios, and updating a parameter of the feature encoding model based on the target loss value to reduce a difference between the encoding vectors of the sample audios of a same category, to increase a difference between the encoding vectors of the sample audios of different categories, and to reduce a difference between the category prediction values and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios, so as to obtain the trained feature encoding model (Du, Page 3: “Overall, the objective function used for training our model can be derived by L = Lcls(fc) + Ltri(ft) = CE(Softmax(Wfc), y) + [dp - dn + α]+, where dp and dn are feature distances of positive pair and negative pair.”; Du, Page 1: “we employ the BNNeck method to allow a multi-loss training and encourage our method to jointly optimize a classification loss and a triplet loss, and by this means, the inter-class discrimination and intra-class compactness of cover songs, can be ensured at the same time.” (reads on determining a target loss value of a target loss function based on vectors and labels and updating a parameter to reduce a difference between encoding vectors of a same category, increase a difference between encoding vectors of different categories, and reduce a difference between prediction values and label categories);
the first loss value being a loss value of a first loss function determined based on the encoding vectors corresponding to samples comprised in training sample groups (Du, Page 2: "The learned feature map is then compressed by GeMPool to form a fixed length vector, which is then used to calculate the triplet loss and Softmax loss jointly." (Du's fixed-length vector maps to the claimed encoding vector, and Du's triplet loss maps to the first loss function determined based on encoding vectors of trained samples), Page 3: "Where dp and dn are feature distances of positive pair and negative pair." (Du's positive and negative pair distances are calculated from feature/encoding vectors of samples in triplet training groups, mapping to encoding vectors corresponding to samples comprised in training sample groups.)), the second loss value being a loss value of a second loss function determined based on differences between the category prediction values of the plurality of sample audios and the category labels of the plurality of sample audios (Du, Page 3, Equations 2 and 3: "L =Lcls(fc) +Ltri(ft). (2) =CE(Softmax(Wfc),y)+[dp −dn +α]+ , (3)", (teaches classification loss CE(Softmax(Wfc),y), where Softmax(Wfc) maps to category prediction values and y maps to category labels. Cross entropy maps to determining a loss based on differences between prediction values and labels.)).
Du does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the target loss value is determined according to a result of weighted summation of a first loss value and a second loss value
determining, based on a similarity between the first feature vector and second feature vectors of a plurality of candidate audios in a reference feature library, a target candidate audio, being a same audio as the audio to be queried, from the reference feature library, the second feature vectors of the plurality of candidate audios being predetermined by the trained feature encoding model, wherein a candidate audio with a similarity greater than a predetermined threshold is determined as the target candidate audio
However, Pham discloses:
wherein the target loss value is determined according to a result of weighted summation of a first loss value and a second loss value (Pham, Page 2, Equation 2: "The total loss used for training at the training step n is computed by: (Equation 2), where w^(k)*(n) denotes the weight of the classification branch k at the training time n." (teaches determining a total/target training loss by weighted summation of multiple loss values. This maps to the target loss value being determined according to a weighted summation of the first loss value and a second loss value))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the feature encoding model with the CQT feature of Du to include the Spectrum, Mel-spectrum, and Spectrogram features taught by Phan. While Du focuses on the CQT feature (D) for simplification (Du, Page 2: “For the simplification of the overall pipeline, we use the CQT spectrogram rather than the sophisticated features widely used in the CSI”), Phan proves that Spectrum, Mel-spectrum, and Spectrogram are complementary features to the CQT feature and that it is widely used and enhance classification performance when fused (Phan, Page 1: “We adopt four low-level features, including Mel-scale spectrogram, Gammatone spectrogram, CQT spectrogram, and raw waveform, which are most widely used for audio and music analysis under deep learning paradigms”). Therefore, extending Du’s model to include the full feature set of Phan is merely the predictable application of a known multi-dimensional feature fusion strategy to improve the discriminative capability of the model.
Pham, in combination with Du, does not explicitly disclose:
determining, based on a similarity between the first feature vector and second feature vectors of a plurality of candidate audios in a reference feature library, a target candidate audio, being a same audio as the audio to be queried, from the reference feature library, the second feature vectors of the plurality of candidate audios being predetermined by the trained feature encoding model, wherein a candidate audio with a similarity greater than a predetermined threshold is determined as the target candidate audio However, Bilobrov discloses:
determining, based on a similarity between the first feature vector and second feature vectors of a plurality of candidate audios in a reference feature library, a target candidate audio, being a same audio as the audio to be queried, from the reference feature library, the second feature vectors of the plurality of candidate audios being predetermined by the trained feature encoding model, wherein a candidate audio with a similarity greater than a predetermined threshold is determined as the target candidate audio (Bilobrov, P[0026]: "The audio identification system 100 matches the generated test audio fingerprint 115 against a set of candidate reference audio fingerprints" ("test audio fingerprint" maps to the first feature vector of the queried audio, and the "candidate reference audio fingerprints" map to second feature vectors of candidate audios in the reference feature library.), P[0027]: "a similarity score between the candidate reference audio fingerprint and the test audio fingerprint 115 is computed." (maps to determining similarity between the first feature vector and the second feature vectors of candidate audios), P[0027]: "the test audio fingerprint 115 is determined to match a candidate reference audio fingerprint if a corresponding similarity score meets or exceeds a similarity threshold." (maps to determining the candidate audio as the target candidate audio when its similarity satisfies a predetermined threshold));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Du, Phan, and Bilobrov. Doing so would have combined the audio feature fixed length vector generation using a trained ResNet-IBN/GeMPool model and jointly optimizing triplet and classification losses (Du, Page 1, Sections 2, 2.1, 2.2) with the weighted summation of multiple classification losses for training audio/music embedding networks of Phan (Phan, Section 2.1, 2.2: Equation 2) with the query/test audio representation comparison to candidate reference audio representations and method of determining a similarity score match when it exceeds a threshold value of Bilobrov (Bilobrov, P[0040], P[0044], P[0059]-P[0061]), thus, leading to improved training control and definite rules for selecting a target candidate audio.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites the audio determination method corresponding to claim 13 and are rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites the audio determination method corresponding to claim 14 and are rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 recites the audio determination method corresponding to claim 15 and are rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 recites the audio determination method corresponding to claim 16 and are rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 recites the audio determination method corresponding to claim 17 and are rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 recites the audio determination method corresponding to claim 18 and are rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 recites the electronic device corresponding to the method presented in claim 12 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Bilobrov further discloses:
An electronic device, comprising (Bilobrov, P[0061]-P[0062]):
a storage device storing at least one computer program thereon (Bilobrov, P[0061]-P[0062]); and
at least one processing device being used to execute the at least one computer program in the storage device to implement acts comprising (Bilobrov, P[0061]-P[0062]):
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 recites the electronic device corresponding to the method presented in claim 13 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 recites the electronic device corresponding to the method presented in claim 14 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 recites the electronic device corresponding to the method presented in claim 15 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 recites the electronic device corresponding to the method presented in claim 16 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 recites the electronic device corresponding to the method presented in claim 17 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHASHIDHAR SHANKAR MANOHARAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2655
/ANDREW C FLANDERS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655