DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the filing of the RCE on 07/01/2026.
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsudaira (US 20170028565) in view of (JP200007119A), assigned to Toshiba.
Claim 1, Matsudaira discloses a robot controller configured to control a robot, the robot controller comprising: a processor configured to: detect by a force or torque sensor, an external force acting on the robot; [see Summary where Matsudaira discloses an industrial robot system and a control method thereof capable of ensuring safety of a person; robot, a force detection unit detecting an external force applied to the robot, a force estimation unit estimating, as a force estimation value, an external force applied to the force detection unit from information about an operation of the robot]; and
Matsudaira does not specifically teach switch, based on a signal indicating a state of a surrounding environment of the robot, the signal being output by a sensor of a type different from the force or torque sensor, stop control for stopping the robot in response to the external force equal to or greater than a predetermined value being detected.
However, Toshiba discloses an industrial robot apparatus for performing a predetermined operation on an object, and a tool attached to the robot body for operating the object. A shock sensor provided between the robot body and the tool and detecting an external force applied to the tool and having a function of adjusting the detection sensitivity; and the robot based on an external force detection signal detected by the shock sensor. A control device for outputting a stop command signal for stopping the operation of the main body. The external force applied to the tool is stored as a pressing force in the spring of the shock sensor, and the pressing force stored in the spring is stored. Is detected by a potentiometer. The pressing force accumulated in the spring is adjusted by the mounting position of the spring holding lid. When the external force detection signal from the potentiometer exceeds a predetermined threshold value indicating a stop condition of the robot main body, the control device outputs a stop command signal for stopping the operation of the robot main body [see paras 0010 – 0016].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Matsudaira to include switch, based on a signal indicating a state of a surrounding environment of the robot, the signal being output by a sensor of a type different from the force or torque sensor, stop control for stopping the robot in response to the external force equal to or greater than a predetermined value being detected, as suggested and taught by Toshiba, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an industrial robot apparatus which can adjust the sensitivity of a shock sensor when outputting a stop signal of a robot body by an external force, thus real-time collision detection can be completed and this allows for immediate safety response protecting both the robot, humans and the environment from damage.
Claim 16, Matsudaira discloses a robot controller configured to control a robot, the robot controller comprising: a processor configured to detect, by a force or torque sensor, an external force acting on the robot;
wherein the processor is configured to: select stop control for stopping the robot in response to an external force equal to or greater than a predetermined value being detected, [see p0014 – p0017 - a deviation calculation unit calculating a deviation between the force estimation value and a force detection value applied to the robot (switch based on signal) obtained from information of the force detection unit, a comparison unit comparing the deviation and a first threshold value, and a command output unit, wherein when the comparison unit determines that the deviation is larger than the first threshold value, the command output unit outputs an operation command, a stop command, a deceleration command, or a deceleration stop command to the robot;
Also teaching, and switch the stop control for stopping the robot in response to the external force equal to or greater than the predetermined value being detected, to the selected stop control [Matsudaira, see p0065, teaches when the robot 10 and a person 9 or the peripheral device collide with each other, and the first deviation ΔF1 or the second deviation ΔF2 is larger than the first threshold value Fa, the robot 10 is caused to stop and/or decelerated].
Matsudaira does not specifically teach and an input/output interface through which a plurality of types of signals each indicating a state of the robot or a state of a surrounding environment of the robot are input, the plurality of types of signals being output by sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, that the robot is stopped from among stop controls which are based on the plurality of types of signals.
However, Toshiba discloses a magnetic sensor that outputs an external force detection signal according to the fluid pressure, and a pressure valve for adjusting the fluid pressure accumulated in the fluid storage unit and adjusting the detection sensitivity of the external force applied to the tool; When the external force detection signal from the magnetic sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold value indicating a stop condition of the robot body, the control device outputs a stop command signal for stopping the operation of the robot body [see para 0019 – 0020].
Toshiba also teaches the state change signal of the limit switch 12 is input to the control device 13 as an external force detection signal a. The control device 13 outputs a stop command signal b for stopping the operation of the robot body 3 based on the external force detection signal a (from different sensors) [see Operation Described p0064].
The Examiner interprets Toshiba has having types different from the force or torque sensor as Toshiba teaches a shock sensor and a magnetic sensor. Although the magnetic sensor is in connection with the shock sensor, it is the magnetic sensor that outputs an external force detection signal that forces the robot into a stopped position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Matsudaira to include an input/output interface through which a plurality of types of signals each indicating a state of the robot or a state of a surrounding environment of the robot are input, the plurality of types of signals being output by sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, that the robot is stopped from among stop controls which are based on the plurality of types of signals, as suggested and taught by Toshiba, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an industrial robot apparatus which can adjust the sensitivity of a shock sensor when outputting a stop signal of a robot body by an external force, thus real-time collision detection can be completed and this allows for immediate safety response protecting both the robot, humans and the environment from damage.
Claim 2, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: output, as a signal indicating the state of the robot, a first signal indicating whether the calculated position of the robot is within a first set region being preset, and switch the stop control based on the first signal [see Fig 3B, p0044, p0069, teaching the operation region by the robot may be limited by the program 24 so as to allow the robot 10 to operate only in a certain range. In such case, in step S21, a current position Pc of the robot 10 is calculated by using the value detected by the angle detection device 15 of each axis of the robot 10; also teaching that the first signal is includes a first comparison unit 31 for comparing the first deviation ΔF1 and the first threshold value Fa and comparing the first deviation ΔF1 and the second deviation ΔF2 and a first command output unit 41 outputting a stop command, a deceleration command, or a deceleration stop command to the robot 10 when the first comparison unit 31 determines that the first deviation ΔF1 is larger than the first threshold value Fa or determines that a difference between the first deviation ΔF1 and the second deviation ΔF2 is equal to or larger than a certain level].
Matsudaira also teaches to calculate a position of the robot, based on an output from a position detection sensor, as one of the sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, provided on the robot [see p0069 – p0071, the operation region of each axis of the robot 10 may be limited by the program 24 so as to allow the robot 10 to operate only in a certain range. In such case, in step S21, a current position Pc of the robot 10 is calculated by using the value detected by the angle detection device 15 of each axis of the robot 10. Then, the third comparison unit 33 refers to the program 24 of the robot 10 and determines whether the current position Pc of the robot 10 is outside of the operation region limited by the program 24. When the current position Pc of the robot 10 is outside of the operation region, the robot 10 can be determined to be in an abnormal state. In such case, step S22 is subsequently performed, and the third command output unit 43 outputs a predetermined stop command, a predetermined deceleration command, or a predetermined deceleration stop command to the robot 10].
Claim 3, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 2, wherein, the processor is further configured to, in response to the external force equal to or greater than the predetermined value being detected and the robot being stopped, [see p0014 – p0017 - a deviation calculation unit calculating a deviation between the force estimation value and a force detection value applied to the robot (switch based on signal) obtained from information of the force detection unit, a comparison unit comparing the deviation and a first threshold value, and a command output unit, wherein when the comparison unit determines that the deviation is larger than the first threshold value, the command output unit outputs an operation command, a stop command, a deceleration command, or a deceleration stop command to the robot…],
set a stop time for stopping the robot within the first set region to be shorter than a stop time for stopping the robot outside the first set region [see Fig 6 and p0082 – p0084-when a peak A4 that is smaller than the first threshold value Fa but is larger than the first threshold value Fa′ is detected within this predetermined time, the stop command, the deceleration command, or the deceleration stop command can be output to the robot 10, and the safety of a person 9 can be further ensured. When a person 9 presses the robot 10 by mistake during this predetermined time, the robot 10 can also be immediate stopped].
Claim 7, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 16, the processor is further configured to: output, as a signal indicating the state of the robot, a third signal indicating whether the calculated speed of the predetermined movable portion is equal to or greater than a predetermined speed value, and switch the stop control based on the third signal [see p0070 - p0071 - the operation speed of each axis of the robot 10 may be calculated by using the detection values of the plurality of angle detection devices 15. In this case, when the operation speed of each axis of the robot 10 is larger than a predetermined speed, the robot 10 is determined to be in an abnormal state; when it is determined the robot is in an abnormal state, the command output unit 43, outputs a stop command].
Matsudaira also teaches to calculate a speed of a predetermined movable portion of the robot, based on an output from a sensor, as one of the sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, provided on the robot [see p0071 – p0072 - In step S21, calculating the current position Pc of the robot 10, the operation speed of each axis of the robot 10 may be calculated by using the detection values of the plurality of angle detection devices 15. In this case, when the operation speed of each axis of the robot 10 is larger than a predetermined speed, the robot 10 is determined to be in an abnormal state].
Claim 15, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to switch the stop control by changing a type and/or a set value of a control parameter including at least one or more of a stop time, acceleration, a jerk, a motor current, an axis torque, or a reversal distance [see Fig 6 and p0082 – p0084-when a peak A4 that is smaller than the first threshold value Fa but is larger than the first threshold value Fa′ is detected within this predetermined time, the stop command, the deceleration command, or the deceleration stop command can be output to the robot 10, and the safety of a person 9 can be further ensured. When a person 9 presses the robot 10 by mistake during this predetermined time, the robot 10 can also be immediate stopped, with the second set being the immediate force detection of the person which is completed by the deviation of the external force – thus teaching that the stop time is a control parameter].
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsudaira (US 20170028565) in view of (JP200007119A), assigned to Toshiba and Brooks (US 20140067121).
Claim 4, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 16, but is silent to wherein the robot is mounted on a movable cart, and the processor is further configured to: calculate a position of the robot being movable together with the cart, based on an output from a position detection sensor, as one of the sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, for detecting a position of the cart, output, as a signal indicating the state of the robot, a second signal indicating whether the calculated position of the robot is within a second set region being preset, and switch the stop control based on the second signal.
However, Brooks discloses a system and method of safety in robot operation, in particular, in situations where the robot and a human share the same workspace; wherein the robot is mounted on a movable cart [see Fig 2A, robot 200 is fixed to a rollable base 202];
the robot control device further comprises a robot position calculation unit configured to calculate a position of the robot being movable together with the cart [see Fig 3A and 3B, showing the detection zone and the danger zone for the robot 200 of FIGS. 2A and 2B in a plan view from above the robot 200 and in an elevational view from the side, respectively. As shown in FIG. 3A, an outer boundary 300 (which is circular in the depicted two dimensions) defines the outer limits of the detection zone 302 (i.e., the region in which the sonar system can reliably detect motion). An inner (likewise circular) boundary 304 defines the inner limits of the sonar detection zone 302; points within that boundary 304 are too close to the robot 200 for detection by the robot's sonar system. The kidney-shaped zone 306 defines the limit of the robot's reach with its arms and is, in this embodiment, co-extensive with the danger zone (as set by a computational facility 120];
Further teaching, based on an output from a position detection sensor, as one of the sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, for detecting a position of the cart, [see p0014, p0023 - The robot may further include one or more output devices for signaling a direction toward a location at which a robot action is going to take place proximity of a human to the robot, an indication whether the robot has detected a person in the zone, and/or an indication of a robot malfunction; the robot may include sensors 112 for monitoring the state of the robot 100 itself, such as, e.g., accelerometers or gyroscopes to keep track of the location, orientation, and configuration of its appendage(s) 102],
a second signal indicating whether the calculated position of the robot is within a second set region being preset, and the stop control unit switches the stop control according to the second signal [see Figs 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B and below – p0031 – p0035 - detection and danger zones - an outer boundary 300 (which is circular in the depicted two dimensions) defines the outer limits of the detection zone 302 (i.e., the region in which the sonar system can reliably detect motion). An inner (likewise circular) boundary 304 defines the inner limits of the sonar detection zone 302; points within that boundary 304 are too close to the robot 200 for detection by the robot's sonar system. The kidney-shaped zone 306 defines the limit of the robot's reach with its arms and is, in this embodiment, co-extensive with the danger zone; The robot arms 206, moreover, stop when they encounter an unexpected impact, so the duration of any collision is very limited. These two factors make it safe for a human to reach into the robot workspace with her arms when the robot is operating at full speed. On the other hand, when a person's torso or head gets within reach of the robot's arms 206, out of a sense of caution, the robot is slowed down to a very low speed (at or below the lower of the two speed limits)].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Matsudaira to include wherein the robot is mounted on a movable cart, and the processor is further configured to: calculate a position of the robot being movable together with the cart, based on an output from a position detection sensor, as one of the sensors of the types different from the force or torque sensor, for detecting a position of the cart, output, as a signal indicating the state of the robot, a second signal indicating whether the calculated position of the robot is within a second set region being preset, and switch the stop control based on the second signal, as suggested and taught by Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing systems and methods for robot safety that are straightforwardly implemented while avoiding unnecessary interruptions and retardations of robot operation.
When teaching a number of signals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have any number of signals (plurality of signals) supported by the controller, since a mere duplication of essential signals, and naming them for the controller involves only routine skill in the art, thus also increasing the safety by ensuring regardless of the command signals, the robot will avoid any accident with a person when a signal deviation is registered.
Claim 5, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 4, wherein, the processor is further configured to, in response to the external force equal to or greater than the predetermined value being detected and the robot being stopped, set a stop time for stopping the robot within the second set region to be shorter than a stop time for stopping the robot outside the second set region [see Fig 6 and p0082 – p0084-when a peak A4 that is smaller than the first threshold value Fa but is larger than the first threshold value Fa′ is detected within this predetermined time, the stop command, the deceleration command, or the deceleration stop command can be output to the robot 10, and the safety of a person 9 can be further ensured. When a person 9 presses the robot 10 by mistake during this predetermined time, the robot 10 can also be immediate stopped, with the second set being the immediate force detection of the person which is completed by the deviation of the external force].
Claim 9, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a fourth signal from a contact detection sensor [see Fig 1, p0038 – a first force sensor 12 and a second force sensor 13 are arranged adjacent to each other in the robot support unit 11. These force sensors 12, 13 are six-axis force sensors of the same type capable of detecting, with a strain gauge, the amount of strain applied to the elastic body and detecting the force in three directions and the torque around the three axes. For example, the first force sensor 12 and the second force sensor 13 respectively detect information about the external force applied to the robot support unit 11 or the robot 10 as a resistance value [Ω], a voltage value [V], or a force [N] according to the external force; the measurements are determined and a stop command may be give].
Matsudaira does not specifically teach as the sensor of the type different from the force or torque sensor, the contact detection sensor including a mechanical switch or a touch sensor, attached to the robot, and switch the stop control based on the fourth signal.
However, Brooks discloses the robot 100 and detect, e.g., people approaching the robot 100, the robot 100 further includes one or more sensors 110 for monitoring the robot's environment, such as, without limitation, sonar sensors, optical range sensors, one or more video cameras (preferably with depth-sensing capabilities and operating, e.g., in the visible or infrared regime), and/or microphones (e.g., for detecting people based on characteristic sound patterns). In addition, the robot may include sensors 112 for monitoring the state of the robot 100 itself, such as, e.g., accelerometers or gyroscopes to keep track of the location, orientation, and configuration of its appendage(s) 102. Additionally, a failure-response module 140 may monitor the robot sensors 112 for mutual consistency of their readings, detect any sensor or robot-operation failures, and issue a warning, interrupt robot operation, and/or initiate a safe shut-down procedure in case of any failure condition. In some embodiments, the failure-response module 140 is powered by an emergency battery, and further controls safe shut-down in case of a power failure [see Fig 1 and p0023-p0025].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Matsudaira to include as the sensor of the type different from the force or torque sensor, the contact detection sensor including a mechanical switch or a touch sensor, attached to the robot, and switch the stop control based on the fourth signal, as suggested and taught by Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing systems and methods for robot safety that are straightforwardly implemented while avoiding unnecessary interruptions and retardations of robot operation.
When teaching a number of signals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have any number of signals (plurality of signals) supported by the controller, since a mere duplication of essential signals, and naming them for the controller involves only routine skill in the art, thus also increasing the safety by ensuring regardless of the command signals, the robot will avoid any accident with a person when a signal deviation is registered.
Claim 10, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 9, wherein, the processor is further configured to, in response to the external force equal to or greater than the predetermined value being detected and the robot being stopped, the stop control unit sets seta stop time for stopping the robot when contact is detected by the contact detection sensor to be shorter than a stop time for stopping the robot when contact is not detected by the contact detection sensor [see Fig 6 and p0082 – p0084-when a peak A4 that is smaller than the first threshold value Fa but is larger than the first threshold value Fa′ is detected within this predetermined time, the stop command, the deceleration command, or the deceleration stop command can be output to the robot 10, and the safety of a person 9 can be further ensured. When a person 9 presses the robot 10 by mistake during this predetermined time, the robot 10 can also be immediate stopped, with the second set being the immediate force detection of the person which is completed by the deviation of the external force].
Claim 11, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a fifth signal from a human detection sensor, as the sensor of the type different from the force or torque sensor, disposed in a workspace and switch the stop control based on the fifth signal.
However, Brooks discloses to monitor the space around the robot 100 and detect, e.g., people approaching the robot 100, the robot 100 further includes one or more sensors 110 for monitoring the robot's environment, such as, without limitation, sonar sensors, optical range sensors, one or more video cameras (preferably with depth-sensing capabilities and operating, e.g., in the visible or infrared regime), and/or microphones (e.g., for detecting people based on characteristic sound patterns). A task module 130 may control the robot to perform its work, e.g., in accordance with tasks that it has been programmed or trained to do. A sensor-data-processing module 132 may process sensor readings received from the sensors 110, 112 to, for instance, detect motion occurring in the environment of the robot, calculate ranges for any objects detected, and/or process images to identify and locate persons therein (and, optionally, distinguish between different body parts), depending on the type of sensor utilized. The processed sensor data may be utilized by a speed-control module 134 that determines, e.g., based on zone definitions stored in memory 124, when a person enters or leaves the zone of danger (with his head or torso), and switches between different maximum-speed settings accordingly. Finally, a failure-response module 140 may monitor the robot sensors 112 for mutual consistency of their readings, detect any sensor or robot-operation failures, and issue a warning, interrupt robot operation, and/or initiate a safe shut-down procedure in case of any failure condition [see Fig. 1 and p0023 – p0025].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Matsudaira to include wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a fifth signal from a human detection sensor, as the sensor of the type different from the force or torque sensor, disposed in a workspace and switch the stop control based on the fifth signal, as suggested and taught by Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing systems and methods for robot safety that are straightforwardly implemented while avoiding unnecessary interruptions and retardations of robot operation.
When teaching a number of signals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have any number of signals (plurality of signals) supported by the controller, since a mere duplication of essential signals, and naming them for the controller involves only routine skill in the art, thus also increasing the safety by ensuring regardless of the command signals, the robot will avoid any accident with a person when a signal deviation is registered.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsudaira (US 20170028565) in view of (JP200007119A), assigned to Toshiba and Hannya (US 20200070342).
Claim 6, Matsudaira discloses the robot controller according to claim 2, but is silent to wherein the processor is further configured to reverse the robot by a predetermined reversal distance after the robot is stopped by the stop control.
However, Hannya discloses a human – cooperative robot system where the robot control device may cause the robot to perform a retreating operation in a direction in which the external force is reduced, in a case in which the external force detected by the sensor is equal to or greater than a third threshold, which is smaller than the first threshold, and less than the first threshold [see p0006]. Further teaching, if the external force F is less than the first threshold Th3, a command for causing the robot 2 to stop in a longer stopping time compared to the case of “quick stop” or a command for causing the robot 2 to perform a retreating operation in a direction in which the external force F decreases is generated (step S5) [see p0023 – p0029].
It would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in Matsudaira to include wherein the stop control unit reverses the robot by a predetermined reversal distance after the stop control unit stops the robot by the stop control, as suggested and taught by Hannya, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an external safety feature such as a “quick stop” allowing a user or operator the ability to cause external force forcing the robot to reverse or retreat into the stopping mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12, 13 and 14 are allowable.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/Renee LaRose/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ABBY LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657