DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
2. The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Preliminary Amendment
3. The Preliminary Amendment submitted on 07/16/2024 containing amendments to the specification are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawing(s) filed on 07/16/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
6. Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
8. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a correction unit” in claims 1, 2, and 4-5;
“an update unit” in claims 1 and 3;
“a result integration unit” in claims 6 and 7;
“2D centroid calculation unit” in claims 8 and 9; and
“a feature extraction unit” in claims 10-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
11. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 14 cover both statutory and non-statutory embodiments (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim when read in light of the specification and in view of one skilled in the art) and embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
“[a] transitory, propagating signal … is not a “process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.” (In re Petrus A.C.M. Nuijten; Fed Cir, 2006-1371, 9/20/2007).
Specifically, Applicant’s specification at [0154] describes and as a result is drawn to a recording medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments. Thus, the claims are not eligible subject matter. It is recommended to amend and narrow the claims to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1-3, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKADA et al., (Tracking a Person with 3-D Motion by Integrating Optical Flow and Depth, IEICE Transactions, August 25, 1999, pp. 1252-1261, Vol. J82-D-II, No. 8) in view of Akiyama et al. (JP 2019-121019 A).
Regarding Claim 1:
Okada discloses an information processing device comprising:
Okada discloses an information processing device that tracks an object (a person) based on 2D tracking using an optical flow and 3D tracking using a depth (disparity) (Okada, p. 2, §2 (“Optical Flow and Disparity”); p. 3, fig. 4), teaching that optical flow and disparity “are computed by obtaining the correspondences of points between two successive frames and between a pair of stereo images,” and that the target state is estimated by integrating optical flow and depth because “although none of them alone can estimate the 3-D target state reliably, they compensate for each other” (Okada, p. 1, §1). Okada further discloses updating the tracking result via an Extended Kalman filter that estimates the target state each frame and eliminates state candidates inconsistent with the current observation (Okada, p. 3, §4; p. 4, §4.3).
Okada does not expressly disclose a correction unit that corrects errors of the optical flow and the depth, and an update unit that updates the tracking result based on the
Akiyama teaches an information processing device performing three-dimensional position estimation in which extracted image-derived quantities are corrected and the estimation result is updated based on the corrected quantities (Akiyama, paras. [0120]-[0134], figs. 13-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Okada to correct the optical flow and depth errors and update the tracking result from the corrected values as taught by Akiyama (Akiyama, paras. [0120]-[0134]), in order to improve tracking accuracy when the reliability of an individual cue degrades.
Regarding Claim 2:
The proposed combination of Okada in view of Akiyama further discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the correction unit corrects the errors of the optical flow and the depth by using reliabilities of the optical flow and the depth.
Okada discloses that the reliabilities of the optical flow and depth are used, teaching that the observation covariance “is determined based on the contrast because the reliabilities of the flow vector and the disparity depend on the contrast” (Okada, p. 3, §4, Eq. (4)).
Regarding Claim 3:
The proposed combination of Okada in view of Akiyama further discloses the information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the update unit updates the tracking result based on centroid coordinates of the object recalculated using the corrected optical flow and depth.
Okada computes updated target position from the integrated cues (Okada, p. 3, §4.1), and
Akiyama teaches recalculating position coordinates from the corrected quantities (Akiyama, paras. [0120]-[0134], figs. 13-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Okada to correct the optical flow and depth errors and update the tracking result from the corrected values as taught by Akiyama (Akiyama, paras. [0120]-[0134]), in order to improve tracking accuracy when the reliability of an individual cue degrades.
Regarding Claim 13:
The proposed rejection of device claim 1, over Okada in view of Akiyama is similarly cited to reject the steps of the method of claim 13 because these steps occur in the operation of the device as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14:
The proposed rejection of device claim 1 and method claim 13, over Okada in view of Akiyama is similarly cited to reject the steps of the computer readable medium of claim 14 because these steps occur in the operation of the device and method as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claims 1 and 13 are equally applicable to claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 4-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
18. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the correction unit corrects the error of the depth by performing data fusion of the depth extracted from sensor data and an estimated depth estimated from the optical flow, according to the reliabilities of the optical flow and the depth.
Regarding Claim 5:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the correction unit corrects the error of the optical flow by performing data fusion of the optical flow extracted from image data and an estimated optical flow estimated from the depth, according to the reliabilities of the optical flow and the depth.
Regarding Claim 6:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 3, further comprising a tracking result integration unit that performs integration processing of obtaining as the tracking result of the object either a 2D tracking result of the object or a 3D tracking result of the object based on a detection result of the object obtained by performing instance segmentation on image data and based on the reliabilities of the optical flow and the depth.
Regarding Claim 7:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 6, wherein the tracking result integration unit performs the integration processing by comparing a 2D tracking reliability calculated from the detection result of the object and the reliability of the optical flow with a 3D tracking reliability calculated from the detection result of the object and the reliability of the depth.
Regarding Claim 8:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 6, further comprising a 2D centroid calculation unit that calculates 2D centroid coordinates of the object by 25 using the detection result of the object, the optical flow, and a reliability of the instance segmentation, wherein the 2D tracking result of the object is output based on the 2D centroid coordinates.
Regarding Claim 9:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 6, further comprising a 3D centroid calculation unit that calculates 3D centroid coordinates of the object by using the detection result of the object, the depth, and a reliability of the instance segmentation, wherein the 3D tracking result of the object is output based on the 3D centroid coordinates.
Regarding Claim 10:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a feature extraction unit that extracts, by using a network, the optical flow from image data and the depth from sensor data, wherein the feature extraction unit optimizes the network based on the corrected optical flow and depth in a previous frame.
Regarding Claim 11:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 10, wherein the feature extraction unit extracts the depth by sensor fusion of an image sensor and a depth sensor separate from the image sensor.
Regarding Claim 12:
None of the prior art disclose or suggest the information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the depth sensor includes Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR).
Conclusion
19. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bankiti et al. (US 11,948,381) discloses a system that can use semantic images, lidar images, and/or 3D bounding boxes to determine mobility parameters for objects in the semantic image. In some cases, the system can generate virtual points for an object in a semantic image and associate the virtual points with lidar points to form denser point clouds for the object. The denser point clouds can be used to estimate the mobility parameters for the object. In certain cases, the system can use semantic images, lidar images, and/or 3D bounding boxes to determine an object sequence for an object. The object sequence can indicate a location of the particular object at different times. The system can use the object sequence to estimate the mobility parameters for the object.
/NEIL R MCLEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681