Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-12, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by BALACHANDRESWARAN et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0184863 A1 and BALA hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, BALA discloses (1-16B) a head-mounted display comprising: a main body housing (102) defining a first through-hole (114), a second through-hole (114), and a space (space inside 102) inside the main body housing;
a display panel (118) positioned in the main body housing;
a lens (1030) positioned in the main body housing;
a mounting band (104) that supports the main body housing and that is mounted on a head of a user; and a duct (1001) positioned in the main body housing,
wherein the duct: includes: a first exhaust portion (1104) fluidly coupled to the first through-hole; a second exhaust portion (1104) fluidly coupled to the second through- hole; and an intake portion (1102) fluidly coupled to the space, the first exhaust portion, and the second exhaust portion; and defines:
a first flow path (e) that discharges air from the space in the main body housing into the intake portion, through the first exhaust portion, and through the first through-hole to an outside thereof; and
a second flow path (e) that discharges air from the space in the main body housing into the intake portion, through the second exhaust portion, and through the second through-hole to the outside thereof (fig.13).
Regarding Claim 2, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, further comprising a blower (1014) positioned in the main body housing and configured to discharge air from the space in the main body housing to the outside of the main body housing through first flow path and the second flow path defined by the duct ([0074]).
Regarding Claim 3, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 2, further comprising a circuit board (200) accommodated in the main body housing and having an electronic part mounted thereon, wherein the blower is arranged so as to send air toward the electronic part ([0043]).
Regarding Claim 5, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 2, further comprising a heat sink (1026) that radiates heat generated from the electronic part, wherein the blower is arranged to send air toward the heat sink.
Regarding Claim 6, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 5, wherein the heat sink is arranged on the first flow path and the second flow path (fig.12).
Regarding Claim 7, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 2, wherein the blower is arranged in the intake portion.
Regarding Claim 11, BALA discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 1, wherein the space is a first space (S1); and the head-mounted display further comprises a support wall (SW) that defines the first space including a space in which the lens is arranged and a second space (S2) in which the duct is arranged, wherein the support wall has formed therein a third through-hole (H3) that serves as a third flow path (a) of air that flows from the first space to the second space.
Regarding Claim 12, BALA discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 11, further comprising a flexible circuit board ([0043]) fitted in the third through-hole and electrically connected to an predetermined electronic part mounted on a circuit board (figs. 2-3 and 5).
Regarding Claim 15, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, wherein the intake portion is positioned between the first exhaust portion and the second exhaust portion (fig.11).
Regarding Claim 17, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, wherein the lens is a first lens (1030); and the head-mounted display further comprises a second lens, wherein: the first exhaust portion is adjacent the first lens; and the second exhaust portion is adjacent the second lens (figs. 10-11).
Regarding Claim 18, BALA discloses (1-16B) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, wherein the duct is a physical component coupled to the main body housing (figs.1 and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALA et al in view of Kim et al (US Patent No. 9839166 B2 and Kim hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 4, BALA discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the blower includes a rotatable shaft portion and a vane portion extending from the shaft portion and is arranged such that an axial line of the shaft portion extends in a manner being inclined to the circuit board. However, Kim teaches (figs. 1-24) wherein the blower (410) includes a rotatable shaft portion and a
vane portion extending from the shaft portion and the blower is arranged such that an axial line of the shaft portion extends inclined to the circuit board (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the blower includes a rotatable shaft portion and a vane portion extending from the shaft portion of Kim to device of BALA in order to suck air from the outside and supplies the air in to the frame, thus controlling cooling of the portable electronic device (Kim, and col 12, lines 60-65)
Regarding Claim 16, BALA discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 1,
fails to disclose a guide rail positioned between the first exhaust portion and the second exhaust portion, wherein the guide rail is configured to adjust a position of the main body housing relative to the head of the user. However, Kim teaches (figs. 1-20) a guide rail (218) positioned between the first exhaust portion and the second exhaust portion, wherein the guide rail is configured to adjust a position of the main body housing relative to the head of the user (fig.7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a guide rail of Kim to device of BALA in order to a position adjustor for the device components (Kim and col 12, lines 60-65)
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALA et al in view of Selvakumar et al (US Pub No. 2019/0075689 A1 and Sel hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 8, BALA discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose comprising one or more movable members provided in the main body housing in a movable manner relative to the main body housing, wherein the blower is arranged to discharge air, which enters the main body housing from the outside through a gap between the main body housing and the one or more movable members, to the outside of the main body housing through the duct. However, Sel teaches (figs. 1-3) one or more movable members (318) provided in the main body housing in a movable manner relative to the main body housing (102), wherein the blower is arranged to discharge air (fig.3), which enters the main body housing from the outside through a gap between the main body housing and the one or more movable members, to the outside of the main body housing through the duct (343). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine one or more movable members of Sel to device of BALA in order to provide an eye relief adjustment mechanism (Bala, and [0030])
Regarding Claim 10, BALA/Sel discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 8. Se further teaches (fig.3) wherein the one or more of the movable members include a lens barrel (316) that holds the lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine one or more movable members of Sel to device of BALA in order to support the lens (Bala, and [0030])
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALA et al in view of Sel et al and further in view of Chae et al (US Pub No. 2020/0278556 A1 and Chae hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 9, BALA/Sel discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the one or more movable members include a supporting portion that is part of the mounting band and that is connected to an upper portion of the main body housing and supports the main body housing. However, Chae teaches (figs. 1-4) wherein the one or more movable members (1241) include a supporting portion (111) that is part of the mounting band (112) and that is connected to an upper portion of the main body housing and supports the main body housing (123). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a supporting portion of Chae to device of BALA/Sel in order to provide a grasping means disposed on the outer side of the band portion (Chae, and [0068])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841