Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US Patent No. 11042201 B2 and Chang hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) a head-mounted display comprising: a main body housing (110) that accommodates at least a display panel (110b) and a lens (115 and 116) therein; a mounting band (see annotated fig below) that supports the main body housing and that is mounted on a head of a user; and a duct (Channel C) accommodated in the main body housing and configuring part of a flow path that discharges air in the main body housing to an outside thereof (shows in fig.4).
Regarding Claim 2, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, further comprising: a blower (Fan 120) accommodated in the main body housing and configured to discharge air in the main body housing to the outside of the main body housing through the duct (col 4, lines 25-35).
Regarding Claim 3, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 2, further comprising: a circuit board (150) accommodated in the main body housing and having an electronic part mounted thereon, wherein the blower is arranged so as to send air toward the electronic part (shows in fig.2).
Regarding Claim 5, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 2, further comprising: a heat sink (140) that radiates heat generated from the electronic part, wherein the blower is arranged so as to send air toward the heat sink (shows in fig.2).
Regarding Claim 6, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 5, wherein the heat sink is arranged on the flow path of the duct (shows in fig.2).
Regarding Claim 7, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 2, wherein the blower is arranged in an intake port of the duct (shows in fig.2).
Regarding Claim 11, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, further comprising: a support wall that defines a first space including a space in which the lens is arranged and a second space in which the duct is arranged, wherein the support wall has formed therein a first through-hole (C1) that serves as a flow path of air that flows from the first space to the second space (see annotated fig below).
Regarding Claim 13, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 1, wherein a second through-hole (111) is formed at an upper portion of the main body housing, and the duct includes a portion that extends toward the second through-hole (shows in fig.4).
Regarding Claim 14, Chang discloses (figs. 1-4) the head-mounted display according to claim 13, wherein the mounting band includes a supporting portion that is connected to an upper portion of the main body housing to support the main body housing thereon, the main body housing has formed at an upper portion thereof a second right through-hole and a second left through-hole that is positioned on an opposite side to the first opening across the supporting portion, and the duct includes a right discharge pipe portion extending toward the second right through- hole and a left discharge pipe portion extending toward the second left through-hole (see annotated fig below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al in view of Kim et al (US Patent No. 9839166 B2 and Kim hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 4, Chang discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the blower includes a rotatable shaft portion and a vane portion extending from the shaft portion and is arranged such that an axial line of the shaft portion extends in a manner being inclined to the circuit board. However, Kim teaches (figs. 1-24) wherein the blower (410) includes a rotatable shaft portion and a
vane portion extending from the shaft portion and is arranged such that an axial line of
the shaft portion extends in a manner being inclined to the circuit board (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the blower includes a rotatable shaft portion and a vane portion extending from the shaft portion of Kim to device of Chang in order to suck air from the outside and supplies the air in to the frame, thus controlling cooling of the portable electronic device (Kim, and col 12, lines 60-65)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al in view of Chin et al (US Pub No. 2015/0009625 A1 and Chin hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 8, Chang discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose one or a plurality of movable members provided in the main body housing in a movable manner relative to the main body housing, wherein the blower is arranged so as to discharge air, which enters the main body housing from the outside through a gap between the main body housing and the movable members, to the outside of the main body housing through the duct. However, Chin teaches (figs 5A-B) one or a plurality of movable members (150) provided in the main body housing (110) in a movable manner relative to the main body housing, wherein the blower (160) is arranged so as to discharge air, which enters the main body housing from the outside (130) through a gap (111) between the main body housing and the movable members, to the outside of the main body housing through the duct . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine one or a plurality of movable members of Chin to device of Chang in order to provide a circulation damper to control the temperature inside the housing (Chin, and [0064])
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al in view of Chin and further in view of Hossain et al (US Pub No. 11860439 B1 and Hossain hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 9, Chang/Chin discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the one or plurality of movable members include a supporting portion that is part of the mounting lens band and that is connected to an upper portion of the main body housing and supports the main body housing. However, Hossain teaches (figs. 1-21) wherein the one or plurality of movable members (32) include a supporting portion that is part of the mounting band (12T) and that is connected to an upper portion of the main body housing (12M) and supports the main body housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the one or plurality of movable members of Hossain to device of Chang/Chin in order to accommodate movement of the lens by stretching, bending, and/or twisting as needed to provide the lens with adequate range of motion (Hossain, and col 3, lines 60-65)
Regarding Claim 10, Chang/Chin discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the one or plurality of movable members include a lens barrel that holds the lens. However, Hossain teaches (figs. 1-22) wherein the one or plurality of movable members include a lens barrel (32) that holds the lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens barrel of Hossain to device of Chang/Chin in order to support the lens for display (Hossain, and col 3, lines 60-65)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al in view of Ahn et al (US Patent No. 12306668 B2 and Ahn hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 12, Chang discloses the head-mounted display according to claim 11, but fails to explicitly disclose, further comprising: a flexible circuit board fitted in the first through-hole and electrically connected to a predetermined electronic part mounted on a circuit board. However, Ahn teaches (figs 1-22) a flexible circuit board (363) fitted in the first through-hole (331b) and electrically connected to a predetermined electronic part mounted on a circuit board (365a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a flexible circuit board of Ahn to device of Chang in order to a cable or a flexible printed circuit board connected to the electronic component, and the cable or the flexible printed circuit board may be wired into one of the wearing frames through a first wiring hole, a first slide hole, and a second wiring hole. (Ahn, and col 23, lines 20-25)
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841