DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Application
Claims 1-6 & 9 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the Application filed on July 16, 2024 and the Response to Restriction Requirement filed January 29, 2026. Claims 7, 8 & 10-19 stand withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and election of Species A in the reply filed on January 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Further, with respect to the election of Species, because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818). Claims 1-6 & 9 stand elected. Claims 7, 8 & 10-19 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 16, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but not all the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings/Specification
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “220” in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because reference character “1016” has been used to designate distinct components. Figure 1 appears to depict “1016” as an above-ground component; whereas Figures 6A & 6C appear to depict “1016” as a subterranean component, and the specification describes “1016” as an “internal fluid conduit”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 & 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A treatment sub useful for treating a lost circulation zone”. To improve clarity, replacement of this limitation with “A treatment sub for treating a lost circulation zone in a subterranean well” is recommended.
Claim 1 recites “a sub exterior surface”. To improve clarity, replacement of this limitation with “an exterior surface of the treatment sub” is recommended.
Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-6 & 9 are also objected to for being dependent on Claim 1.
Claims 3 & 4 each recite “LCM”. The expanded form of the acronym is required in at least the first instance recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “an agent capsule container”. As recited, it is unclear whether the agent is a capsule or the container is a capsule. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required. Claims 3 & 4 are also rejected for being dependent on Claim 2. The claims have been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweatman et al. (US 2013/0126164).
With respect to Claim 1, Sweatman discloses a treatment sub useful for treating a lost circulation zone (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0018]), the treatment sub comprising: an internal fluid conduit configured to convey a wellbore fluid through the treatment sub (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0018], Figures; as a non-limiting example, component “136” or one or more of the string of pipes “116”; a treatment sub interior defined between a sub exterior surface and the internal fluid conduit (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0018], Figures; as a non-limiting example, interior space between a sub exterior surface and component “136” or one or more of the string of pipes “116”); and a sonic frequency source configured to generate a sonic frequency in the wellbore fluid (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0018], Figures; as a non-limiting example, component “140”).
Sweatman further teaches one or more embodiments where components such as the sonic frequency source are controlled on/off using surface controls and/or a switch (Sweatman: Sections [0016]-[0018]); which would appear to encompass “a communications device configured to receive an external communication” as instantly and broadly claimed. As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose this feature in combination with the treatment sub components as set forth above, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the treatment sub to include a communications device configured as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control components, such as the sonic frequency source, and/or to yield predictable results in well treatment operations.
With respect to Claim 2, Sweatman teaches the treatment sub as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…an agent capsule container positioned in the treatment sub interior” (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0022], Figures; as a non-limiting example, component “110” where Sweatman discloses delivery of treatment agents via encapsulation, emulsions and/or coatings, which is considered to disclose “an agent capsule container” as broadly claimed).
With respect to Claim 3, Sweatman teaches the treatment sub as provided above with respect to Claim 2, and further discloses “…wherein the agent capsule container is configured to selectively direct LCM agent capsules into the wellbore fluid in a wellbore annulus of a wellbore” (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0022]).
With respect to Claim 4, Sweatman teaches the treatment sub as provided above with respect to Claim 2, and further discloses “…wherein the agent capsule container is configured to selectively direct LCM agent capsules into the wellbore fluid in the internal fluid conduit” (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0022]).
With respect to Claim 5, Sweatman teaches the treatment sub as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…a capsule conduit bypass traversing the treatment sub interior to provide selective fluid connectivity between the internal fluid conduit and an exterior to the treatment sub” (Sweatman: Sections [0010]-[0018], Figures; as a non-limiting example, one or more of component “134”).
With respect to Claim 6, Sweatman teaches the treatment sub as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further teaches one or more embodiments comprising bubbles in the wellbore fluid to transport activators as desired (Sweatman: Section [0015]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose this feature in combination with a bubble generator configured as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the treatment sub to comprise a bubble generator configured as instantly claimed for generating the bubbles, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to transport materials as desired and/or to yield predictable results in well treatment operations.
With respect to Claim 9, Sweatman teaches the treatment sub as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…wherein the sonic frequency source is further configured such that the sonic frequency generated is an acoustic frequency” (Sweatman: Sections [0011] & [0015]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 & 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/729,185 (‘185 hereinafter), in view of Sweatman et al. (US 2013/0126164). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application overlap in scope with those of ‘185 in view of the teachings of Sweatman and do not contain any additional limitations that are patentably distinguishable. The instant application discloses a treatment sub which overlaps in scope with ‘185 which discloses a treatment sub. Although ‘185 fails to explicitly recite features regarding a sonic frequency source as instantly claimed, Sweatman teaches a treatment sub comprising a sonic/acoustic frequency source as an alternative to or in combination with a radiation source. As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified ‘185 with the aforementioned teachings of Sweatman as instantly claimed with a reasonable expectation of success in order to yield predictable results in well treatment operations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lewis et al. (US 2010/0050905) discloses systems for delivering additives, such as lost circulation materials, in a subterranean well, the systems comprising a communications device, an internal fluid conduit, a treatment sub interior and a sonic frequency source.
Ramasamy et al. (US 10,844,689) discloses systems for treating a lost circulation zone in a subterranean well, the systems comprising a communications device, an internal fluid conduit, a treatment sub interior and a sonic frequency source.
/ANURADHA AHUJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674