Notice to Applicant
Claims 1- 13 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 7/16/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “unit(s)” in claims 1, 7, and 9 -12.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s)
sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Examiner suggests amended claim language such as “A system comprising a processor, executing a program comprising:” to avoid 112f claim interpretation and 112b issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 -13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “analysis unit”, “regulating unit”, and “heating unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-6 and 8-13 depend from claim 1, and from claim 7 and are rejected for same reasons as claim 1 and claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Matsuno, JP2002155892A, [hereinafter Matsuno].
Regarding Claim 1,
Matsuno teaches
A system comprising: a turbomachine with a gas seal, wherein the gas seal is fluidically connected to a gas seal supply line, characterized by an analysis unit, which is configured to determine a physical value of a gas that flows into the gas seal, the analysis unit being configured to determine the a molar mass of the gas, further comprising a regulating unit which regulates a valve in the gas seal supply line, the physical value determined in the analysis unit being taken into account for the regulating of the valve. (Matsuno Par. 16-17 “Fig. 1; The present shaft sealing system includes a shaft sealing device 200 installed inside a bearing of a casing 2 supporting both ends of the compressor rotor 1, and a buffer gas passage 6 a for sending a buffer gas 6 to the shaft sealing device 200. A buffer gas pressure measuring device 8 for measuring the pressure of the buffer gas 6 blown into the shaft sealing device 200, a buffer gas temperature measuring device 9 for measuring the temperature of the buffer gas 6, and also measuring the molecular weight of the buffer gas 6. Buffer gas molecular weight analyzer 10. A leak gas temperature measuring device 11 provided in a leak gas passage 7a for discharging the buffer gas 6 passing through the shaft sealing device 200 as a leak gas 7 to the outside of the centrifugal compressor 100 and measuring the temperature of the leak gas 7; A leak gas pressure measuring device 12 for measuring pressure, a rotational speed measuring device 13 for measuring the rotational speed of the compressor rotor 1, and a control device 300 for controlling the centrifugal compressor 100 based on the measured value measured by each measuring device. It is composed of A pressure control valve 14 and a filter 15 are provided in the buffer gas flow path 6a. After the buffer gas 6 is depressurized to an appropriate pressure by the pressure control valve 14, the buffer gas 6 is contained in the buffer gas 6 by the filter 15. Dust and liquid components are removed and blown into the shaft sealing device 200.
Regarding Claim 2,
The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the turbomachine is configured as a compressor, the compressor being configured to compress a process gas (Matsuno Fig. 1; Par. 9-12- According to the present invention, there is provided a shaft sealing device incorporated between a compressor rotor of a centrifugal compressor and a casing, and a buffer gas passage provided in a buffer gas flow path for sending a buffer gas to the shaft sealing device. A buffer gas temperature measuring device for measuring the temperature of the buffer gas, and a leak gas temperature measurement device for measuring the temperature of the leak gas, which is provided in a leak gas passage for discharging the buffer gas passed through the shaft sealing device to the outside as a leak gas. And a controller for stopping the centrifugal compressor when the measured temperature of the leak gas exceeds a preset set value.; Par. 16”)
Regarding Claim 6,
The system as claimed in claim 1,wherein the turbomachine is coupled in terms of regulating technology to the regulating unit. (Matsuno Fig. 1; Par. 9-12- And a controller for stopping the centrifugal compressor when the measured temperature of the leak gas exceeds a preset set value.
Preferably, the control device stops the compressor when a temperature difference between the measured leak gas temperature and the measured buffer gas temperature exceeds a preset value.; Par. 16”)
Regarding Claim 7,
Matsuno teaches
A method for operating a system having; wherein the system comprises a turbomachine with a gas seal, the method comprising: supplying wherein the gas seal is supplied with a gas, in particular a barrier gas, through a gas seal supply line (Matsuno Par. 16-17 “Fig. 1; The present shaft sealing system includes a shaft sealing device 200 installed inside a bearing of a casing 2 supporting both ends of the compressor rotor 1, and a buffer gas passage 6 a for sending a buffer gas 6 to the shaft sealing device 200.);
determining, by ,wherein an analysis unit which is configured to determine a physical value of the gas that flows into the gas seal is used, wherein the analysis unit is configured to determine a molar mass of the gas (Matsuno Par. 16-17 “Fig. 1; The present shaft sealing system includes a shaft sealing device 200 installed inside a bearing of a casing 2 supporting both ends of the compressor rotor 1, and a buffer gas passage 6 a for sending a buffer gas 6 to the shaft sealing device 200. A buffer gas pressure measuring device 8 for measuring the pressure of the buffer gas 6 blown into the shaft sealing device 200, a buffer gas temperature measuring device 9 for measuring the temperature of the buffer gas 6, and also measuring the molecular weight of the buffer gas 6. Buffer gas molecular weight analyzer 10. A leak gas temperature measuring device 11 provided in a leak gas passage 7a for discharging the buffer gas 6 passing through the shaft sealing device 200 as a leak gas 7 to the outside of the centrifugal compressor 100 and measuring the temperature of the leak gas 7; A leak gas pressure measuring device 12 for measuring pressure, a rotational speed measuring device 13 for measuring the rotational speed of the compressor rotor 1, and a control device 300 for controlling the centrifugal compressor 100 based on the measured value measured by each measuring device. It is composed of A pressure control valve 14 and a filter 15 are provided in the buffer gas flow path 6a. After the buffer gas 6 is depressurized to an appropriate pressure by the pressure control valve 14, the buffer gas 6 is contained in the buffer gas 6 by the filter 15. Dust and liquid components are removed and blown into the shaft sealing device 200.);
and ,regulating, by wherein a regulating unit, which regulates a valve in the gas seal supply line is provided, wherein the physical value determined in the analysis unit is taken into account for the regulating of the valve. (Matsuno Fig. 1; Par. 9-12- And a controller for stopping the centrifugal compressor when the measured temperature of the leak gas exceeds a preset set value. Preferably, the control device stops the compressor when a temperature difference between the measured leak gas temperature and the measured buffer gas temperature exceeds a preset value.; Par. 16”)
Regarding Claim 10,
The method as claimed in claim 7,wherein the regulating unit regulates a valve which is arranged in the gas seal supply line. (Matsuno Fig. 1; Par. 9-12- And a controller for stopping the centrifugal compressor when the measured temperature of the leak gas exceeds a preset set value.
Preferably, the control device stops the compressor when a temperature difference between the measured leak gas temperature and the measured buffer gas temperature exceeds a preset value.; Par. 16”)
Regarding Claim 12,
The method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the regulating unit regulates a flow rate of the process gas through the turbomachine (Matsuno Fig. 1; Par. 9-12- And a controller for stopping the centrifugal compressor when the measured temperature of the leak gas exceeds a preset set value.
Preferably, the control device stops the compressor when a temperature difference between the measured leak gas temperature and the measured buffer gas temperature exceeds a preset value… Preferably, a buffer gas molecular weight measuring device for measuring the molecular weight of the buffer gas is provided in the buffer gas flow path, and the control device has means for changing the set value according to the measured molecular weight. ; Par. 16”)
Regarding Claim 13,
The method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the turbomachine is configured as a compressor (Matsuno Fig. 1; Par. 9-12- According to the present invention, there is provided a shaft sealing device incorporated between a compressor rotor of a centrifugal compressor and a casing, and a buffer gas passage provided in a buffer gas flow path for sending a buffer gas to the shaft sealing device. A buffer gas temperature measuring device for measuring the temperature of the buffer gas, and a leak gas temperature measurement device for measuring the temperature of the leak gas, which is provided in a leak gas passage for discharging the buffer gas passed through the shaft sealing device to the outside as a leak gas. And a controller for stopping the centrifugal compressor when the measured temperature of the leak gas exceeds a preset set value.; Par. 16”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 , 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuno, JP2002155892A, [hereinafter Matsuno], in view of Shamseldin et al., US Patent No. 8651801B2, [hereinafter Shamseldin].
Regarding Claim 3, Matsuno teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
Matsuno teaches gas seal system and the feature is expounded upon by Shamseldin:
a process gas line which is fluidically connected to the turbomachine, the process gas line being configured in such a way that a part of the process gas can flow through the process gas line, wherein a conditioning system, which is configured to condition the gas, is arranged in the process gas line, and wherein an exit of the conditioning system is fluidically connected to the gas seal supply line (Shamseldin Fig. 2; Col 9. Ln 33-54- In reference now to FIG. 2, the process gas supplied to the sealing gas or process gas inlet conduit 208 is, in one embodiment, process gas diverted from the compressed process gas conduit 206. As shown in FIG. 2, a process gas supply branch 220 extends from the compressed process gas conduit 206 and includes a process gas control valve 222 that meters the flow of compressed process entering a process gas treatment module 224 in response to a valve control signal 223. The process gas treatment module 224, which is shown surrounded by dashed lines, is arranged to filter and adjust the physical properties of process gas supplied to operate the first stage seal of the compressor 202, as well as adjust the pressure of the sealing gas. More specifically, the process gas treatment module 224 includes an intensifier 225 operating to adjust the pressure of process gas in response to a process gas pressure adjustment signal 227, and an auxiliary process gas supply reservoir 226 that can store process gas under pressure Gas from the auxiliary process gas supply reservoir may be used to augment the flow of process gas provided to the sealing gas inlet conduit 208 by selective activation of an auxiliary process gas control valve 228 in response to an auxiliary valve control signal 229.The physical properties of process gas entering the process gas treatment module 224 are measured by a pressure sensor 230, which is disposed to provide a pressure signal 231 of process gas pressure entering the treatment module 224, and a temperature sensor 232, which is disposed to provide a temperature signal 233 indicative of the temperature of process gas entering the treatment module 224.
Matsuno and Shamseldin are directed to gas seal systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon component analysis of Matsuno, as taught by Shamseldin, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Matsuno with the motivation of seal monitoring to mitigate process to correct the anomalous operating condition (Shamseldin Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Matsuno in view of Shamseldin teach the system as claimed in claim 3, further comprising:
Matsuno teaches gas seal system and the feature is expounded upon by Shamseldin:
wherein the gas is filtered, purified and/or dehydrated in the conditioning system (Shamseldin Fig. 2; Col 9. Ln 33-54; Col 1- During operation of the tandem non-contacting dry gas seal arrangement 100, filtered and treated process gas diverted from the process cavity 106 is provided to the sealing gas inlet passage 148 at a pressure that is at least equal or, preferably, slightly higher than the pressure of process gas in the process cavity 106. The diverted process gas may be filtered and treated in gas conditioning equipment (not shown) that preconditions the process gas delivered to the sealing gas inlet passage 148. Such gas may be heated and/or dried to remove vapor particulates and liquids, and in certain instances its pressure may be enhanced.
Matsuno and Shamseldin are directed to gas seal systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon component analysis of Matsuno, as taught by Shamseldin, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Matsuno with the motivation of seal monitoring to mitigate process to correct the anomalous operating condition (Shamseldin Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, Matsuno in view of Shamseldin teach the system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
Matsuno teaches gas seal system and the feature is expounded upon by Shamseldin:
a heating unit for heating the gas is formed in the gas seal supply line, the heating unit being regulatable by means of the regulating unit (Shamseldin Fig. 2; Col 9. Ln 33-54; Col 1- During operation of the tandem non-contacting dry gas seal arrangement 100, filtered and treated process gas diverted from the process cavity 106 is provided to the sealing gas inlet passage 148 at a pressure that is at least equal or, preferably, slightly higher than the pressure of process gas in the process cavity 106. The diverted process gas may be filtered and treated in gas conditioning equipment (not shown) that preconditions the process gas delivered to the sealing gas inlet passage 148. Such gas may be heated and/or dried to remove vapor particulates and liquids, and in certain instances its pressure may be enhanced.
Matsuno and Shamseldin are directed to gas seal systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon component analysis of Matsuno, as taught by Shamseldin, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Matsuno with the motivation of seal monitoring to mitigate process to correct the anomalous operating condition (Shamseldin Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8, Matsuno in view of Shamseldin teach the system as claimed in claim 7,:
Matsuno teaches gas seal system and the feature is expounded upon by Shamseldin:
wherein a process gas flows through the turbomachine, a part of the process gas being diverted out of the turbomachine and flowing through a conditioning system, the process gas being filtered, purified and/or dehydrated in the conditioning system (Shamseldin Fig. 2; Col 9. Ln 33-54; Col 1- During operation of the tandem non-contacting dry gas seal arrangement 100, filtered and treated process gas diverted from the process cavity 106 is provided to the sealing gas inlet passage 148 at a pressure that is at least equal or, preferably, slightly higher than the pressure of process gas in the process cavity 106. The diverted process gas may be filtered and treated in gas conditioning equipment (not shown) that preconditions the process gas delivered to the sealing gas inlet passage 148. Such gas may be heated and/or dried to remove vapor particulates and liquids, and in certain instances its pressure may be enhanced.
Matsuno and Shamseldin are directed to gas seal systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon component analysis of Matsuno, as taught by Shamseldin, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Matsuno with the motivation of seal monitoring to mitigate process to correct the anomalous operating condition (Shamseldin Abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Matsuno in view of Shamseldin teach the system as claimed in claim 8:
Matsuno teaches gas seal system and the feature is expounded upon by Shamseldin:
wherein the gas flowing out downstream of the conditioning system is delivered back to the gas seal, a part of the gas being fed to the analysis unit (Shamseldin Fig. 2; Col 9. Ln 33-54; Col 10- In the illustrated embodiment, an additional temperature sensor 244 providing a sealing gas temperature 245, and a flow sensor 246 providing a sealing gas flow rate 247, are disposed downstream of the flow control device 242 within the treatment module 224. The sealing gas temperature 245 and sealing gas flow rate 247 are indicative of the temperature and flow rate of process gas entering the seal arrangement of compressor 202 during operation.
Matsuno and Shamseldin are directed to gas seal systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon component analysis of Matsuno, as taught by Shamseldin, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Matsuno with the motivation of seal monitoring to mitigate process to correct the anomalous operating condition (Shamseldin Abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, Matsuno in view of Shamseldin teach the system as claimed in claim 7,:
Matsuno teaches gas seal system and the feature is expounded upon by Shamseldin:
wherein a temperature of the gas is modified with a heating unit, the heating unit being regulated by means of the regulating unit (Shamseldin Fig. 2; Col 9. Ln 33-54; Col 10- In the illustrated embodiment, an additional temperature sensor 244 providing a sealing gas temperature 245, and a flow sensor 246 providing a sealing gas flow rate 247, are disposed downstream of the flow control device 242 within the treatment module 224. The sealing gas temperature 245 and sealing gas flow rate 247 are indicative of the temperature and flow rate of process gas entering the seal arrangement of compressor 202 during operation.
Matsuno and Shamseldin are directed to gas seal systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon component analysis of Matsuno, as taught by Shamseldin, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Matsuno with the motivation of seal monitoring to mitigate process to correct the anomalous operating condition (Shamseldin Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Publication No. 20190003481A1 to Baldassarre et al.- Abstract-“ The shaft seal arrangement for a rotating turbomachine shaft having a rotation axis, comprises a rotor part and a stationary part. A dry gas seal is further provided, in combination with a cooling fluid volume arranged for receiving a cooling fluid and in heat exchange relationship with the dry gas seal. A venting arrangement collectively vents exhaust cooling fluid and dry sealing gas from the shaft seal arrangement.”
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Chesiree Walton, whose telephone number is (571) 272-5219. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday to Friday between 8 AM and 5 PM. If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patricia Munson, can be reached at (571) 270-5396. The fax telephone numbers for this group are either (571) 273-8300 or (703) 872-9326 (for official communications including After Final communications labeled “Box AF”).
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule an in-person interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/CHESIREE A WALTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3624