CTNF 18/729,216 CTNF 80322 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 39-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Starsinic et al. (US 20240314595 A1) . Considering claim 36 , Starsinic teaches a method performed by a base station of a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), the method comprising: identifying a disaster situation (Fig.1, [0004] UE may receive information about how to obtain connectivity in the event of a disaster, detect a disaster condition, and detect details of a disaster situation, [0078], [0116] RAN Nodes (e.g., base stations and cells) and Network Functions (e.g., the AMF) may be notified via OAM procedures that there is a disaster situation); and configuring a network sharing (roaming) with a second PLMN based on the identified disaster situation ([0028] the special roaming policy that applies during a Disaster Condition [0092] identities of PLMN(s) whose roamers the network is willing to accept in the event of a disaster [0121]-[0123] RAN node may begin to broadcast, [0152]). Considering claim 37, Starsinic teaches including an identifier of the second PLMN in broadcast information, in a case where the base station configures the network sharing ([0028] the special roaming, [0039] NG-RAN may broadcast barring control information associated with Access Categories and Access Identities, [0040] This Access Identity is valid for PLMNs that indicate to potential Disaster Inbound Roamers that the UEs can access the PLMN, [0046] PLMN A and PLMN B agree that their subscribers can use each other's network in the event of a disaster). Considering claim 38, Starsinic teaches disabling the network sharing based on the identified disaster situation ([0028] special roaming [0090] disaster level indicates); and excluding the identifier of the second PLMN from the broadcast information, in a case where the base station disables the network sharing ([0039] NG-RAN may broadcast, [0061] UEs can obtain service form PLMNs that normally will not serve the UE). Considering claim 39 , Starsinic teaches a method performed by a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising: accessing a service of a second Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) based on a disaster situation ([0039] NG-RAN may broadcast barring control information associated with Access Categories and Access Identities as specified in TS 38.300, [0040] new Access Identity has been defined for UEs for which a disaster condition applies (Access Identity Number 3). This Access Identity is valid for PLMNs that indicate to potential Disaster Inbound Roamers that the UEs can access the PLMN , [0046] PLMN A and PLMN B agree that their subscribers can use each other's network in the event of a disaster); and obtaining the service of the second PLMN ([0061] 5G System may be enhanced so that, in disaster situations, UEs can obtain service form PLMNs that normally will not serve the UE). Considering claim 40, Starsinic teaches receiving, from a base station of a first PLMN, broadcast information that includes an identifier of the second PLMN, wherein the broadcast information is broadcasted based on the disaster situation ([0028] the special roaming, [0039] NG-RAN may broadcast barring control information associated with Access Categories and Access Identities, [0040] This Access Identity is valid for PLMNs that indicate to potential Disaster Inbound Roamers that the UEs can access the PLMN, [0046] PLMN A and PLMN B agree that their subscribers can use each other's network in the event of a disaster). Considering claim 41 , Starsinic teaches a base station of a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), the base station comprising: at least one processor (processor 91, [0294]); and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory (82) and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor ([0263], [0294]-[0296]), to cause the base station to: identify a disaster situation (Fig.1, [0004] UE may receive information about how to obtain connectivity in the event of a disaster, detect a disaster condition, and detect details of a disaster situation, [0078], [0116] RAN Nodes (e.g., base stations and cells) and Network Functions (e.g., the AMF) may be notified via OAM procedures that there is a disaster situation); and configure a network sharing (roaming) with a second PLMN based on the identified disaster situation ([0028] the special roaming policy that applies during a Disaster Condition [0092] identities of PLMN(s) whose roamers the network is willing to accept in the event of a disaster [0121]-[0123] RAN node may begin to broadcast, [0152]). Considering claim 42 , Starsinic teaches a User Equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor (118); and at least one memory (130 and 132) including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor ([0289]), to cause the UE to: access a service of a second Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) based on a disaster situation ([0039] NG-RAN may broadcast barring control information associated with Access Categories and Access Identities as specified in TS 38.300, [0040] new Access Identity has been defined for UEs for which a disaster condition applies (Access Identity Number 3). This Access Identity is valid for PLMNs that indicate to potential Disaster Inbound Roamers that the UEs can access the PLMN , [0046] PLMN A and PLMN B agree that their subscribers can use each other's network in the event of a disaster); and obtain the service of the second PLMN ([0061] 5G System may be enhanced so that, in disaster situations, UEs can obtain service form PLMNs that normally will not serve the UE). Considering claim 43 , Starsinic teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a base station of a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN)to cause the base station (Fig.3, [0263], [0294]-[0296]) to: identify a disaster situation (Fig.1, [0004] UE may receive information about how to obtain connectivity in the event of a disaster, detect a disaster condition, and detect details of a disaster situation, [0078], [0116] RAN Nodes (e.g., base stations and cells) and Network Functions (e.g., the AMF) may be notified via OAM procedures that there is a disaster situation); and configure a network sharing (roaming) with a second PLMN based on the identified disaster situation ([0028] the special roaming policy that applies during a Disaster Condition [0092] identities of PLMN(s) whose roamers the network is willing to accept in the event of a disaster [0121]-[0123] RAN node may begin to broadcast, [0152]). Considering claim 44 , Starsinic teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a User Equipment (UE) to cause the UE ([0289]) to: access a service of a second Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) based on a disaster situation ([0039] NG-RAN may broadcast barring control information associated with Access Categories and Access Identities as specified in TS 38.300, [0040] new Access Identity has been defined for UEs for which a disaster condition applies (Access Identity Number 3). This Access Identity is valid for PLMNs that indicate to potential Disaster Inbound Roamers that the UEs can access the PLMN , [0046] PLMN A and PLMN B agree that their subscribers can use each other's network in the event of a disaster); and obtain the service of the second PLMN ([0061] 5G System may be enhanced so that, in disaster situations, UEs can obtain service form PLMNs that normally will not serve the UE) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guttman et al. (US 20220248304 A1) teaches a method of operating a second telecommunication network to manage access of Disaster Inbound Roamers, DIR, from a first telecommunication network, to the second telecommunication network, comprising the step of: the second telecommunication network broadcasting a message indicating to User Equipments, UEs, of the first telecommunications network that they are able to roam on the second telecommunication network. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHAI MINH NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-7923. The examiner can normally be reached 6-3. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHAI M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 4 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 18/729,216 Page 8 Art Unit: 2641