DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/16/24 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jenkins et al. (US 4,743,085).
Re. Claim 1, Jenkins et al. discloses an optical fiber cable 20 comprising:
a plurality of optical fibers 23 (Figs. 1-2; col. 4 lines 1-6);
a cable sheath 36 covering the plurality of optical fibers (Figs. 1-2; col. 4 lines 21-25); and
a plurality of tension members 42/52 embedded in the cable sheath,
wherein the plurality of tension members are arranged without gaps along a circumferential direction of the optical fiber cable to surround the plurality of optical fibers (Figs. 1-2; col. 4 lines 51-66; col. 5 lines 51-55).
Re. Claim 2, Jenkins discloses the plurality of tension members are made of fiber-reinforced plastic (col. 4 lines 41-44 and 54-60).
Re. Claim 3, Jenkins et al. discloses the plurality of tension members are stranded along a longitudinal direction of the optical fiber cable (Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 4, Jenkins et al. discloses the plurality of tension members comprise: a plurality of inner tension members 42 arranged along the circumferential direction to surround the plurality of optical fibers; and a plurality of outer tension members 52 arranged along the circumferential direction to surround the plurality of inner tension members (Figs. 1-2; col. 4 lines 51-66).
Re. Claim 5, Jenkins et al. discloses the plurality of inner tension members are stranded in a first rotation direction along a longitudinal direction of the optical fiber cable, and wherein the plurality of outer tension members are stranded in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction along the longitudinal direction (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 62-66).
Re. Claims 8-9, Jenkins discloses the optical fiber cable as discussed above. Since the structure recited within the reference is substantially identical to the claimed invention, the properties or characteristics (e.g., “a bending stiffness in a radial direction of the optical fiber cable over an entire circumference of the optical fiber cable is within a range of 1.0 N.m² to 9.0 N.m²” and “a difference between maximum and minimum values of a bending stiffness in a radial direction of the optical fiber cable over an entire circumference of the optical fiber cable is within a range of 0.5 N.m² to 1.0 N-m²”) may be presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Debban et al. (US 4,743,085).
Re. Claim 1, Debban et al. discloses an optical fiber cable 10 comprising:
a plurality of optical fibers 16 (Figs. 1-4; col. 2 lines 46);
a cable sheath 14/22 covering the plurality of optical fibers (Figs. 1-2A; col. 4 lines 41-44); and
a plurality of tension members 24 embedded in the cable sheath,
wherein the plurality of tension members are arranged without gaps along a circumferential direction of the optical fiber cable to surround the plurality of optical fibers (Figs. 1-2A; col. 4 lines 41-45).
Re. Claim 3, Debban et al. discloses the plurality of tension members are stranded along a longitudinal direction of the optical fiber cable (Fig. 1 col. 4 lines 44-45).
Re. Claims 8-9, Debban discloses the optical fiber cable as discussed above. Since the structure recited within the reference is substantially identical to the claimed invention, the properties or characteristics (e.g., “a bending stiffness in a radial direction of the optical fiber cable over an entire circumference of the optical fiber cable is within a range of 1.0 N.m² to 9.0 N.m²” and “a difference between maximum and minimum values of a bending stiffness in a radial direction of the optical fiber cable over an entire circumference of the optical fiber cable is within a range of 0.5 N.m² to 1.0 N-m²”) may be presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Debban et al. (US 4,743,085).
Re. Claim 6, Debban et al. discloses the optical fiber cable as discussed above. Moreover, Debban et al. discloses the cable sheath comprises: an inner cable sheath 14; and an outer cable sheath 22 covering the inner cable sheath, wherein the plurality of tension members 24 are arranged between the inner cable sheath and the outer cable sheath, and wherein the outer cable sheath is made of flame-retardant polyethylene (Figs. 1-2A; col. 4 lines 41-47).
However, Debban et al. does not disclose the flame-retardant material of the outer cable sheath has a release agent added thereto. Also, Debban et al does not disclose the inner cable sheath is made of flame-retardant polyethylene to which no
release agent is added.
Each of the claimed materials is well known in the cable arts and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing a cable with desired fire suppression characteristics. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 8/13/26