DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because “a computer readable recording medium” can be a signal perse which is not one of the four statutory categories of subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Reception means, collation means, estimation means, output means in claim 1 and 19. An alert device in claim 5, 11 and 17. An alert management device claim 5, 11, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 13-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jolly et al (US 20200166607).
Regarding claim 1, 7, 13, and 19, Jolly teaches a radiowave information output device comprising one or more memories storing instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (para 9, “ the EW assets further comprise: at least one processor”) to: reception means for receiving receive radiowave information for a reception radiowave being a radiowave received by a radiowave sensor (para 46, “the measured identification data gathered by the scan may be compared with and/or combined with long term tracked identification data collected during information gathering efforts and used to identify the emitters present in theater 32. “), the radiowave information including identification information relating to a transmission source of the radiowave and position specification information being information to be used for estimating a position of the transmission source of the radiowave (para 46, “the measured identification data gathered by the scan may be compared with and/or combined with long term tracked identification data collected during information gathering efforts and used to identify the emitters present in theater 32. “ and para 48, “Once operator is armed with data relating to the number, type, and location of emitter, as well as the characteristics thereof, the operator may then assign a confidence level to each and every emitter present within theater 32”); execute collation in such a way as to determine whether reception meta data match with collation meta data, the reception meta data being information included in the received radiowave information and being identification information relating to the transmission source of the radiowave (para 50), the collation meta data being identification information relating to a transmission source of a known radiowave (para 10, “the one or more emitters having been previously detected in the theater; detecting electromagnetic signals originating from the one or more emitters present in the theater; communicating data from the detected electromagnetic signals originating from the one or more emitters from a receiving antenna included in the plurality of EW assets to a processor included in the plurality of EW asset”); estimate, for an unknown radiowave being the reception radiowave whose reception meta data do not match with any piece of the collation meta data, a position of a transmission source of the unknown radiowave, based on the position specification information included in the received radiowave information; and output unknown radiowave information being information relating to a position of the transmission source of the unknown radiowave (para 69, “the detection of a previously undetected emitter, which may trigger one or more steps of process 100 and/or process 200 to occur:”).
Regarding claim 2, 8, and 14 Jolly teaches the position specification information includes information relating to an arrival direction of the radiowave (para 30, “ having receiving antennas 20 spaced apart may allow discrimination of characteristics within an incoming radio signal that may indicative of the source direction and/or geolocation of the emitter producing the incoming signal”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jolly as applied to claim 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of Bashir (US 11310806).
Regarding claim 3, 9, and 15, Basher teaches the output means specifies a communication provider whose frequency band used in a service provided by the communication provider includes a frequency used in the unknown radiowave is specified, and outputs the unknown radiowave information is output to a notification destination of the specified communication provider (col 2, lines 5-51), and the unknown radiowave information includes information relating to a position of the transmission source of the unknown radiowave using a frequency included in a frequency band used in a service provided by the specified communication provider (col 2, lines 42-51). It would have been obvious to modify Jolly to include the output means specifies a communication provider whose frequency band used in a service provided by the communication provider includes a frequency used in the unknown radiowave is specified, and outputs the unknown radiowave information is output to a notification destination of the specified communication provider, and the unknown radiowave information includes information relating to a position of the transmission source of the unknown radiowave using a frequency included in a frequency band used in a service provided by the specified communication provider because it would help identify the unknown radio wave.
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jolly as applied to claim 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of Ray (US 20180074170).
Regarding claim 4, 10, and 16, Ray teaches the output means outputs unknown radiowave information is output to display means for displaying an image, the unknown radiowave information is image information for causing the display means to display the image, and the image includes a screen item indicating a transmission source, at a position of a transmission source of the unknown radiowave on a map (para 39, “characteristics of ground-based signal emitter 8 determined by signal processing methods implemented by signal processing platform 26 are displayed on at least one of a human machine interface (HMI) and a display, including, without limitation, as a map having a grid representative of a two-dimensional physical spatial domain including the surveillable area 30”). It would have been obvious to modify Jolly to include the output means outputs unknown radiowave information is output to display means for displaying an image, the unknown radiowave information is image information for causing the display means to display the image, and the image includes a screen item indicating a transmission source, at a position of a transmission source of the unknown radiowave on a map because it would show an operator of the aircraft where an unknown signal is located.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jolly as applied to claim 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of Kuzdeba et al (US 20220163629).
Regarding claim 5, 11, and 17, Kuzdeba teaches the output means specifies an alert device being present within a predetermined distance from a transmission source of the unknown radiowave is specified, and-outputs the unknown radiowave information is output to a notification destination of an alert management device managing the specified alert device, and the unknown radiowave information includes identification information relating to the alert device being present within a predetermined distance from the transmission source of the unknown radiowave, and the alert device broadcasts an alert (para 21-22). It would have been obvious to modify Jolly to include the output means specifies an alert device being present within a predetermined distance from a transmission source of the unknown radiowave is specified, and-outputs the unknown radiowave information is output to a notification destination of an alert management device managing the specified alert device, and the unknown radiowave information includes identification information relating to the alert device being present within a predetermined distance from the transmission source of the unknown radiowave, and the alert device broadcasts an alert because it would alert an operator of the aircraft that an unknown signal has been located
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jolly as applied to claim 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of Frank (US 20210279620).
Regarding claim 6 and 12, and 18, Frank teaches the output means refers to a correlation between information relating to a notification destination and information relating to an area is referred to specifies the notification destination belonging to the area including a position of the transmission source of the unknown radiowave is specified, and-outputs the unknown radiowave information is output to the specified notification destination (para 75 and 77). It would have been obvious to modify Jolly to include the output means refers to a correlation between information relating to a notification destination and information relating to an area is referred to specifies the notification destination belonging to the area including a position of the transmission source of the unknown radiowave is specified, and-outputs the unknown radiowave information is output to the specified notification destination because it would show an operator of the aircraft where an unknown signal is located.
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648